Here are some books and cookbooks dedicated to specific techniques
Roasting-A Simple Art by
When you're hungry, roast. When you're in a rush, roast. When you're in doubt, roast. When you're entertaining, roast. Crank up the oven and throw in a chicken; roasting is simply the easiest and best way to concentrate and deepen flavor, to seal in succulence, and make robust, crusty, and sweet all kinds of meats, birds, fish, fruits, and vegetables. Roasting offers more flavor on its own than any other cooking technique. Everything you need for a lifetime of happy roasting can be found here in the pages of Barbara Kafka's ground-breaking new book. Even baby goat, a suckling pig, and loin of buffalo make it into this bible of roasting. Roasting is absolutely essential, whether you're planning to roast a potato or leg of lamb, a turkey or a tomato, a pepper or a red snapper. Barbara's fussless high-temperature method caramelizes the surface of meat, the skin of birds or fish, or the outside of vegetables, transforming them into such savory sweet dishes as Roast Chicken with Pomegranate Glaze and Fresh Mint, aromatic Garlic Roast Pork Loin, moist and sweet Roasted Striped Bass with Fennel, and Whole Roasted Peaches with Ginger Syrup. Nearly one hundred stellar recipes for roasted vegetables attest to the fact that Barbara Kafka's new book is not for meat eaters alone. The recipes for roasted vegetables begin where other books leave off. Try the Roasted Sliced Fennel Bulb and the Roasted Chinese Eggplant with Balsamic Marinade, the Roasted Portobello Mushrooms with Garlic Marinade, and more. Roasting is packed with indispensable tips, techniques, and innovative cooking ideas. There are great recipes for marinades, salsas, vinaigrettes, and stuffings. You'll also find an inspiring assortment of simple but original recipes for sauces that will lift your everyday roasts into perfect party fare. You'll discover, too, the many joys of "companion roasting," learning when to add the carrots or the onions so they don't over- or undercook, and guaranteeing everything comes out at the same time. Never a believer in unnecessary work, Barbara Kafka is a cook's best friend. Barbara never follows; she blazes new trails, challenging the sacred rules of roasting by never trussing a chicken or basting a turkey. She proves you can actually walk away from your oven and enjoy your food and your guests. It's all so quick and easy, most dishes don't need to go into the oven until your guests walk in the door. Often the best part of the roast is the leftovers, and Roasting is overflowing with possibilities. In Barbara's knowing hands leftover onions become a smoky-flavored Roasted Onion Soup with Cannellini Beans; last night's roasted cod and boiled potatoes are transformed into a scrumptious Best Cod Hash; a deeply flavored Roast Duck Pasta Sauce is a rich reward to the cook for having made last night's duck dinner. Nearly one hundred recipes for leftovers show you how to build them into new meals of soups, salads, pasta sauces, hashes, fritters, fish cakes, and more. Replete with all the tables, timing charts, and the encyclopedic wisdom that are hallmarks of every Barbara Kafka book, Roasting: A Simple Art is a dream of a cookbook, one that will soon bear the soils, stains, and well-worn pages of constant and creative use.
Professional Baking by
Wayne Gisslen's Professional Baking, long the standard for bakers learning their craft, illuminates the art and science of baking with unmatched comprehensiveness and clarity. Packed with close to 900 recipes, this Fifth Edition continues to cover the basics of bread and cake making while also presenting higher-level techniques such as pastry, chocolate, and sugar work. Balancing theory and practice, Professional Baking gives you the understanding and fundamental skills you need to progress and develop in a successful baking career.
The Professional Pastry Chef by
Professional chefs are instructed on basic baking and pastry skills during two courses in culinary school, and many culinary schools now offer baking and pastry degree programs. In the professional kitchen, pastry chefs are responsible for the pro-duction of all baked goods, including desserts and breads. Pastry chefs create the dessert menu, which complements the chefs' style and gives the diner a grand finale after the main meal. Also of interest is the ever-increasing popularity for breads, home-style desserts and elegant designed desserts, all of which are covered in Friberg's basic book.
The Advanced Professional Pastry Chef by
This new advanced volume, which expands Bo Friberg's classic The Professional Pastry Chef, brings up-to-date coverage of advanced baking and pastry techniques to a new generation of pastry chefs and serious home bakers. Like its "sister" volume on the basics (The Professional Pastry Chef: Fundamentals of Baking and Pastry, 2002, 0-471-35925-4), this book, which covers such subjects as modernistic desserts, chocolate work, and sugar and marzipan creations, is designed to meet the needs of today's pastry kitchen. This definitive reference features clear explanations, step-by-step how-to photos, and meticulous recipes - all presented in a lively, reader-friendly style.
Professional Cooking by
Study from the best for guaranteed career success! Wayne Gisslen's Professional Cooking has led the way as "simply the best" resource for new and practicing chefs! It is the best-selling undergraduate food preparation textbook in the marketplace. With its clear and effective approach to mastering basic skills and concepts through understanding and practice, Professional Cooking has earned a permanent place in the lives of millions of chefs whose careers it has helped launch. Wayne Gisslen's reputation for being able to simply, yet comprehensively, communicate information to beginning chefs is unsurpassed. This College Edition of Professional Cooking, Seventh Edition, includes CulinarE-Companion(tm) Recipe Management software, which is yours to download and keep. No subscriptions fees or temporary trial access--CulinarE-Companion gives you digital versions of all 1,300 recipes in the print text, plus 90 bonus recipes. With CulinarE-Companion you can: Resize and edit recipes Add and organize your own recipes and related content Convert measurements from US to metric, and vice versa Create shopping lists, and Analyze the nutritional content of ingredients and recipes. CulinarE-Companion also includes audio pronunciations and illustrated procedures for additional learning support. Once CulinarE-Companion is installed on your computer's hard drive, it's yours to keep and never expires! Building on this text's hallmark features---simple and clear language, professional recipe format, instructional photo program, and understanding basic concepts to achieve mastery of essential skills, the Seventh Edition also features: Enhanced visual program with over 220 new color photos, including plated dishes, procedures, and products. Approximately 100 new recipes, for a total of 650 recipes plus another 600 variations. More focus on international recipes and variations. Enhanced topical coverage on such things as: food science, molecular gastronomy, international recipes, and culinary math. Chapter 10, Understanding Meats, now includes all information on meat fabrication in one convenient place.
Barbecue America by
For the uninitiated and the aficionado alike, here is a guide to the pageantry, the tastes, the scents, and the secrets of a peculiarly American phenomenon.
How to Grill by
Winner of an IACP Cookbook Award, How to Grill is "the definitive how-to guide for anyone passionate about grilling, from the newest beginner to the most sophisticated chef" (Tom Colicchio). A full-color, photograph-by-photograph, step-by-step technique book, How to Grill gets to the core of the grilling experience by showing and telling exactly how it's done. With more than 1,000 full-color photographs, How to Grill shows 100 techniques, from how to set up a three-tiered fire to how to grill a prime rib, a porterhouse, a pork tenderloin, or a chicken breast. There are techniques for smoking ribs, cooking the perfect burger, rotisserieing a whole chicken, barbecuing a fish; for grilling pizza, shellfish, vegetables, tofu, fruit, and s'mores. Bringing the techniques to life are over 100 all-new recipes--Beef Ribs with Chinese Spices, Grilled Side of Salmon with Mustard Glaze, Prosciutto-Wrapped, Rosemary-Grilled Scallops--and hundreds of inside tips.
Smokin' by
Get that great taste of wood-smoked food using the top of your kitchen stove. Contains everything you need to know about smoking foods at home, using a stovetop smoker. Chris serves up 36 master recipes for smoking everything from whole chickens to shrimp, plus 95 recipes for soups, salads, and sides that use smoked ingredients. There's Tea-Smoked Duck; Smoked Eggplant Soup; and Fettuccine with Smoky Salmon, Peas, and Leeks to name just a few. The possibilities are limited only by your imagination and your love for smoky flavor. With Chris Styler's tips, techniques, and pointers, smoking food is simple, fast, and the taste speaks for itself. Smokin' -- it's well, smokin'.
Food Frying by
A wide-ranging exploration of the science and practice of food frying Frying is one of the world's most popular methods of food preparation. Whether using oils or fats, it is valued for the particular flavors and textures it can bring, and represents a multibillion-dollar sector of the global economy. Food Frying: Chemistry, Biochemistry and Safety explores this important cooking technique in its scientific dimensions, charting the relationships between the chemical reactions produced during frying, the changes in food quality that these engender, and associated digestive and health-related issues. By outlining these connections, the author provides an aid to a safer, healthier approach to food frying. Topics covered range from culturally specific forms of frying to detailed analyses of the chemical and biochemical processes involved in its practice. Delivering these insights in a practical and easy-to-follow manner, this unique text includes: A complete survey of food frying, encompassing cultural, chemical, biochemical, and toxicological concerns Guidance on the accurate assessment of health, quality, and safety issues associated with food frying Coverage of the latest technologies and methods involved with frying Information on the possible future development of fried foods Food Frying: Chemistry, Biochemistry and Safety is an invaluable resource for all those who work with fried foods, whether they be food industry professionals, food scientists, or workers in the oil and fat industries.