According to Murray, et al. (2023), there are five general themes regarding food justice "(1) social equity, (2) food security, (3) food systems transformation, (4) community participation and agency and (5) environmental sustainability."
Food Security is defined by the USDA (1/8/2025) as "access by all people at all times to enough food for an active, healthy life." You can find the Household Food Security in the United States in 2023 here.
Food Sovereignty defined in the Declaration of Nyeleni as: Food sovereignty is the right of peoples to healthy and culturally appropriate food produced through ecologically sound and sustainable methods, and their right to define their own food and agriculture systems.
Food Sovereignty the Navajo Way by
Around the world, indigenous peoples are returning to traditional foods and cooking methods to reestablish healthy lifeways to combat contemporary diseases such as diabetes and obesity. Food Sovereignty the Navajo Way is the first book to focus on the dietary practices of the Navajos from the earliest known times into the present and relate them to the Navajo Nation's participation in the Food Sovereignty movement. Charlotte J. Frisbie documents the traditional foods and recipes of a Navajo woman and her family over almost a century. She uses fieldwork as well as historical research to trace the transition from the days when Navajos first gathered and hunted for most of their sustenance, through times when dry farming and livestock-mainly sheep and goats-became dominant, and on to a time when their diet was dominated by highly processed foods. Frisbie not only provides a historical overview of the Navajo diet and reflections on the current international Food Sovereignty movement but also explores Tall Woman's own story, including many of her traditional Navajo recipes.
Building Community Food Webs by
Our current food system has decimated rural communities and confined the choices of urban consumers. Even while America continues to ramp up farm production to astounding levels, net farm income is now lower than at the onset of the Great Depression, and one out of every eight Americans faces hunger. But a healthier and more equitable food system is possible. In Building Community Food Webs, Ken Meter shows how grassroots food and farming leaders across the U.S. are tackling these challenges by constructing civic networks. Overturning extractive economic structures, these inspired leaders are engaging low-income residents, farmers, and local organizations in their quest to build stronger communities. Community food webs strive to build health, wealth, capacity, and connection. Their essential element is building greater respect and mutual trust, so community members can more effectively empower themselves and address local challenges. Farmers and researchers may convene to improve farming practices collaboratively. Health clinics help clients grow food for themselves and attain better health. Food banks engage their customers to challenge the root causes of poverty. Municipalities invest large sums to protect farmland from development. Developers forge links among local businesses to strengthen economic trade. Leaders in communities marginalized by our current food system are charting a new path forward. Building Community Food Webs captures the essence of these efforts, underway in diverse places including Montana, Hawai'i, Vermont, Arizona, Colorado, Indiana, and Minnesota. Addressing challenges as well as opportunities, Meter offers pragmatic insights for community food leaders and other grassroots activists alike.
Food Insecurity by
This comprehensive and authoritative one-stop resource examines the issue of food insecurity in the United States, including the various economic, social, political, and cultural factors that drive the problem.Social welfare agencies, schools, food banks, and other organizations have all put forth efforts to combat food insecurity, but it remains a serious risk for millions of poor Americans today. Food Insecurity: A Reference Handbook examines the reasons why food insecurity remains such a longstanding problem in American society.Beginning with a history of food insecurity from the country's origins to the present day, the book also delves into the problems and controversies related to food insecurity, such as urban food deserts, substance abuse impacts, nutrition education, and income inequality. One of the most valuable aspects of the book is that it surveys the history of food insecurity in a manner that helps the reader identify key issues in an easy-to-understand fashion. The book's Perspectives chapter presents a broad range of voices on various facets of food insecurity, providing crucial, diverse perspectives to round out the coverage and expertise of the authors.
Inequality in America by
This authoritative reference work explores the factors driving the much-debated increase in economic inequality in U.S. society, as well as the impact that this divide is having on U.S. culture, politics, families, communities, and institutions. This reference work provides an authoritative and comprehensive resource for both students and scholars who are interested in learning more about the rich-poor divide in the United States--a divide regarded by many lawmakers, researchers, pundits, and concerned citizens as one of the nation's most serious problems. The book provides important historical background for understanding how the nation has grappled with (or ignored) this issue in the past, examines specific causes of inequality identified by observers across the political spectrum, and summarizes the potential consequences (both present and future) of economic inequality. This book examines more than 25 issues frequently cited as factors contributing to the rapidly widening gap between socioeconomic classes in the U.S., ranging from such demographic factors as race and gender to tax code provisions and differences in access to quality education and health care. The book also provides both a retrospective and prospective look at government policies aimed at addressing inequality or assisting the poor. Finally, the book looks ahead to survey the future of inequality in America. Coverage of more than 25 distinct factors contributing to the widening rich-poor divide in the U.S. Evenhanded presentation of both progressive and conservative perspectives on key economic issues Authoritative but accessible entries that provide illumination and insights for academics and students alike
Stigma and Social Support on the Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program by
Stigma and Social Support on the Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program delves into the daily complex lives of individuals on the program and the hardships the program has on participants. The author provides examples of experiencing stigmatization while on SNAP and possible methods to help improve, or lessen, the stigma with the use of positive social support. The chapters include the author's personal experiences on SNAP, factors influencing enrollment, overall views of the program, stigma, disclosure concerns of enrollment, social support, and implications from the findings. Chapters addressing statistical findings and theory application are also included. Stigma and Social Support on the Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program provides an in-depth view on the themes of stigma while enrolled in SNAP such as embarrassment, feelings of failure, fear of being perceived as lazy, and feelings of judgment. This book serves as a useful tool for researchers of stigma and welfare programs, as well as for policy makers to improve aspects of the program that are causing some of the most vulnerable populations such as typically unrepresented and exploited groups (e.g., immigrants, migrant/temporary workers, and racial/ethnic minorities) to feel more stigmatized than other groups.
From Label to Table by
How did the Nutrition Facts label come to appear on millions of everyday American household food products? As Xaq Frohlich reveals, this legal, scientific, and seemingly innocuous strip of information can be a prism through which to view the high-stakes political battles and development of scientific ideas that have shaped the realms of American health, nutrition, and public communication. By tracing policy debates at the U.S. Food and Drug Administration, Frohlich describes the emergence of our present information age in food and diet markets and examines how powerful government offices inform the public about what they consume. From Label to Table explores evolving popular ideas about food, diet, and responsibility for health that have influenced what goes on the Nutrition Facts label--and who gets to decide that.
School food, equity and social justice : critical reflections and perspectives by