Create individualized nursing care plans with ease and confidence! Ackley and Ladwig's Nursing Diagnosis Handbook, 13th Edition uses an easy, three-step system to guide you through client assessment, nursing diagnosis, and care planning. Step-by-step instructions show how to implement care and evaluate outcomes, and help you build skills in diagnostic reasoning and critical thinking. To make care planning easier, this handbook allows you to look up nursing diagnoses and care plans for more than 1450 client symptoms, as well as interventions from NIC (Nursing Interventions Classification) and outcomes from NOC (Nursing Outcomes Classification). Edited by noted nursing educators Mary Beth Flynn Makic and Marina Reyna Martinez-Kratz, this reference provides everything you need to write nursing care plans in just one book! Easy-to-follow Sections I and II guide you through the nursing process and selection of appropriate nursing diagnoses. Step-by-step instructions show how to use the Guide to Nursing Diagnoses and Guide to Planning Care sections to create a unique, individualized plan of care. UNIQUE! Care plans are provided for each NANDA-International© (NANDA-I©) -approved nursing diagnosis. Evolve website includes a care plan template, case studies, review questions, and more! Evidence-based interventions and rationales include research studies and references supporting the use of each intervention. Examples of and suggested NIC interventions and NOC outcomes are presented in each care plan. Quality and safety content emphasizes what must be considered to provide safe patient care, and includes QSEN content in Section I. Pediatric, geriatric, multicultural, and home care interventions are included as appropriate for plans of care. Index of NANDA-I© Diagnoses on the inside back cover of the book provides quick reference to page numbers. Alphabetical thumb tabs allow quick access to specific symptoms and nursing diagnoses. NEW! Updated content is based on the 2021-2023 NANDA-I©-approved nursing diagnoses and reflects new diagnoses, revised diagnoses, and retired diagnoses. NEW! Updated nursing diagnoses include class and domain information as consistent with the current NANDA-I.
Learn to make sound clinical nursing judgments with the concept-based, case study approach in Harding & Snyder's Clinical Reasoning Cases in Nursing, 8th Edition. Awarded second place in the 2019 AJN Book of the Year Awards in the Medical-Surgical category, this time-tested case study resource is highly regarded for its clinically relevant and thought-provoking cases. Approximately150 true-to-life case studies cover all four clinical practice areas - medical-surgical, pediatric, OB/maternity, and psychiatric-mental health nursing - all organized to facilitate a conceptual approach to teaching and learning. Each case covers a common patient problem drawn from actual clinical experiences and written by nurses who are clinical experts and includes a strong focus on interprofessional collaboration competencies. Cases include integrated content on pharmacology, nutrition, and diagnostic/laboratory tests to encourage you to think critically about all aspects of patient care. The 8th edition has been updated throughout to reflect the most current standards of clinical practice, including readiness for practice in the COVID-19 era. Also new to this edition, concepts and terminology related to the Next Generation NCLEX® Exam (NGN) are introduced in the Preface and integrated throughout to help you prepare for the new exam. Approximately 150 case studies draw from actual clinical experiences in medical-surgical, pediatric, OB/maternity, and psychiatric-mental health clinical areas to help you learn to think clinically, prioritize, and deliver proactive nursing care. UNIQUE! Concept-based organization mirrors the growing popularity of concept-based curricula and conceptual approaches to teaching and learning in nursing education. Clinical judgment approach helps you learn to identify changes, anticipate possible complications, and initiate therapeutic interventions. Progressive case complexity builds on previous learning to help you gradually develop clinical judgment skills. Strong QSEN safety emphasis is highlighted with an icon to communicate "caution" or "safety." Icons identify questions that resemble new NCLEX-RN® item types. Strong emphasis on sepsis and antibiotic resistance addresses the growing problem of sepsis (a recent Joint Commission "core measure") and antibiotic resistance, where appropriate. UNIQUE! Concepts and terminology related to the Next Generation NCLEX® Exam (NGN) are introduced in the Preface and integrated throughout to help you prepare for the new exam. All questions for the NGN are highlighted with a special icon for quick reference. UPDATED! Content reflects the latest evidence-based clinical practice, including national and international treatment guidelines and the latest guidelines for COVID-19 and other infectious diseases. NEW! Additional case studies and expanded content in key areas includes breastfeeding, obstetric emergency (umbilical cord prolapse or abruptio placentae) with emergency C-section, sickle cell pain crisis, and head/neck trauma with tracheostomy. Expanded pharmacology content reflects the importance of a clear understanding of drug therapy on patient safety. Additional illustrations and expanded use of image-related question types visually reinforce the material, while also promoting clinical utility and patient diversity in a sensitive and clinically relevant way. Enhanced interprofessional collaboration content emphasizes the importance of identifying opportunities for collaboration with other health professions.
What is Clinical Judgement?
"Clinical judgment is defined as the observed outcome of critical thinking and decision making. It is an iterative process that uses nursing knowledge to observe and assess presenting situations, identify a prioritized client concern and generate the best possible evidence-based solutions in order to deliver safe client care"
Clinical Judgment Measurement Model. (2019). Next Generation NCLEX News, Winter 2019, 1. https://www.ncsbn.org/NGN_Winter19.pdf
Here is a brief look at the recent history of Clinical Judgement.
The articles can be found either in the RCBC databases with a link to the corresponding database or freely available online. Articles in the RCBC databases need a registered library barcode to be able to view articles.
Scholarly Articles
Scholarly Articles
Scholarly Articles
Trade Journals
Scholarly Articles
Magazine Articles
Magazine Articles
Magazine Articles
Trade Journals
Scholarly Articles
Scholarly Articles
Tables below are from: Clinical Judgment Measurement Model. (2019). Next Generation NCLEX News, Winter 2019, 1. https://www.ncsbn.org/NGN_Winter19.pdf
Comparison of the Nursing Process with Tanner’s Clinical Judgment Model and the NCSBN Clinical Judgment Measurement Model (NCJMM)
| Nursing Process (ADPIE/AAPIE) | Tanner’s CJ Model | NCJMM |
| Assessment | Noticing | Recognize Cues |
| Diagnosis/Analysis | Interpreting | Analyze Cues |
| Diagnosis/Analysis | Interpreting | Prioritize Hypotheses |
| Planning | Responding | Generate Solutions |
| Implementation | Responding | Take Action |
| Evaluation | Reflecting | Evaluate Outcomes |
| Nursing Process Step | NCJMM Cognitive Skill |
| Diagnosis/Analysis: The nurse identifies the actual and potential client problem(s) based on review and interpretation of the client data. | Analyze Cues: The nurse reviews the relevant client data and determines what they mean. For example, the nurse may identify certain data that are consistent with common diseases or disorders. Or, the nurse may identify potential complications for which the client is at risk based on the assessment data. |
| Implementation: The nurse performs appropriate interventions to meet the desired client outcomes. For example, if the client reports acute postoperative ORIF pain of 8/10, the nurse might administer an analgesic. | Take Action: The nurse performs an action which could be an intervention or an assessment. For example, if a client reports acute postoperative ORIF pain of 8/10, the nurse might perform a neurovascular assessment of the extremity to determine if the pain is due to decreased peripheral perfusion or the surgical incision. While that action is an assessment, it is also an action or intervention. |