Print books are arranged on the shelf in Library of Congress Call Number order. Each call number begins with an alphanumeric base (e.g., "BF109.J8") that is followed by a cutter and a date of publication (e.g., "A25 1993"). See a librarian if you need assistance.
Call Number Range (where to look on the bookshelves)
Child and Adolescent Development in Cultural Context by
Human development doesnt occur in a vacuum. Rather, it is deeply rooted in, and affected by, culture. This textbook examines how culture affects several domains of development, including cognition, emotion, sociolinguistics, peer relationships, family relationships, and more. The chapters highlight differences between WEIRD cultures (Western, educated, and from industrialized, rich, and democratic countries) and non-WEIRD cultures, as well as differences with respect to gender, race/ethnicity, socioeconomic status, and other identity markers. Each chapter draws upon a large research base and highlights specific studies to engage students, illustrate key points, and convey the role of empirical research in psychology. As a result, students will learn that the development of behavior, values, social relationships, ways of seeing the world, language, and thought processes cannot be understood separate from culture.
Working with Adolescents, Second Edition by
Noted for its multisystemic-ecological perspective, this accessible text and practitioner resource has now been revised and expanded with 60% new material. The book provides a comprehensive view of adolescent development and explores effective ways to support teens who are having difficulties. The authors examine protective and risk factors in the many contexts of adolescents' lives, from individual attributes to family, school, neighborhood, and media influences. Assessment and intervention strategies are illustrated with diverse case examples, and emphasize a social justice orientation. Useful pedagogical features include end-of-chapter reflection questions and concise chapter summaries. New to This Edition *Incorporates current research on brain development, resilience, gender diversity, mental health care, and more. *Chapters on new topics: the adolescent brain, trauma, and suicide and self-injury. *Fully rewritten chapters on substance use, queer youth, justice-involved youth, and the joys of working with adolescents. *Reflects the unique contexts and challenges facing Generation Z.
A Population Health Approach to Health Disparities for Nurses by
Offers vivid narratives illuminating the challenges and opportunities health professionals and policymakers face Distinguished by abundant patient and health provider narratives highlighting the impact of health disparities on health outcomes worldwide, this scholarly yet practical text prepares RN-BSN, DNP, and PhD students to work toward improving community health for a variety of underserved and vulnerable populations. Grounded in the population health approach addressed in AACN Essentials, the text delivers practical steps nurses can take to address population health goals, including the improvement of quality of care, access to healthcare, improved outcomes, and cost management. The resource is also unique in its reflection of the interconnected points of view of the patient, the provider, and the health system. Written by lawyers, physicians, social workers, statisticians and economists, psychologists, ethicists, finance experts, population health specialists, anthropologists, and nurses, the text emphasizes an interdisciplinary approach to learning and all components of health care--delivery of care, policy, research, and teaching. It examines demographic differences, chronic and acute health conditions, and the health needs of the unserved/underserved across the life cycle. The book emphasizes the importance of understanding the social determinants of health and discusses ways to address health disparities through changes in public policy, attitudes, beliefs, education, research, and advocacy. Objectives, key terms, discussion questions, and exercises facilitate group discussion about best practices. Key Features: Delivers practical knowledge with detailed narratives and case studies of specific populations from experienced interprofessional authors Highlights the interwoven perspectives of patients, health providers, and health systems to promote cultural competence Pinpoints health disparities including a discussion of COVID-19 Presents selected historical landmarks and cases that influence population health outcomes among vulnerable groups Interdisciplinary approach includes the perspectives of other health and social science disciplines
Depression in new mothers by
"Depression in New Mothers, Volume 1: Causes, Consequences, and Risk Factors provides a comprehensive, evidence-based approach to understanding symptoms and risk factors of depression, anxiety, and posttraumatic stress disorder (PTSD) in perinatal women, which are common complications of childbirth. Depression in New Mothers, Volume 1 includes mothers' stories throughout, which provide examples of principles described in studies. Each chapter highlights key research findings and clinical takeaways. It is an essential resource for all healthcare practitioners working with mothers in the perinatal period, including nurses, midwives, doctors, lactation consultants and psychologists"-- Provided by publisher.
"This fourth edition of Depression in New Mothers, Volume 2: Screening, Assessment, and Treatment Alternatives provides a comprehensive and evidence-based approach to understanding the assessment for treatment and treatment of postpartum depression. Depression in New Mothers, Volume 2 (4th Edition) includes more case illustrations throughout and retains its focus on moving research into practice. It is an essential resource for all healthcare practitioners working with mothers in the perinatal period, including mental health providers, nurses, midwives, doctors, lactation consultants, and peer supporters"-- Provided by publisher.
Davis Advantage for Maternal-Newborn Nursing by
Davis Advantage for Maternal-Newborn Nursing combines an easy-to-read textbook with an innovative online program to create an immersive learning experience for students and an integrated solution for instructors, whether you're teaching traditionally or virtually. An access code inside new, printed textbooks unlocks an eBook, as well as access to Davis Advantage. Or choose the all-digital Instant Access option, which includes the eBook and immediate access to Davis Advantage. The TEXTBOOK An easy-to-read, need-to-know approach, with student-friendly features focuses on delivering the critical content to today's learners. A visually engaging design that features bulleted content, flow charts, diagrams, and tables make it easy to understand. ONLINE (Davis Advantage) Using a unique and proven approach across a Learn-Apply-Assess continuum, Davis Advantage engages students to help them make the connections to key topics. Whether teaching in-person or online, this complete, integrated solution aligns seamlessly with the textbook and equips instructors with actionable analytics to track students' progress, remediate where needed, and facilitate an active learning environment. LEARN--Personalized Learning The foundation of the Davis Advantage platform, Personalized Learning, immerses students in an online learning experience tailored to their needs. Students are assessed on their comprehension of key topics from the text, and then are guided through animated mini-lecture videos and dynamic activities to reinforce learning and bring concepts to life. APPLY--Clinical Judgment Clinical Judgment develops students' critical thinking and clinical reasoning, helping them to build the clinical judgment skills they need to practice safe and effective nursing care and to prepare for the Next Generation NCLEX® with confidence. Progressive case studies featuring real-life, complex clinical situations challenge students to apply knowledge, make informed decisions, and evaluate outcomes. ASSESS--Quizzing Quizzing uses NCLEX®-style questions for assessment and remediation. Its adaptive, question-based format provides the additional practice students need to test their knowledge, master course content, and perform well on course and board exams. PLUS! Brand-new standalone questions that mimic the format of the Next Generation NCLEX® further prepare students for certification and practice.
Health and Wellbeing for Babies and Children by
This evidence-based text explores children's health and wellbeing from birth to adolescence, taking into account the familial, cultural, social, economic, environmental and global contexts of their lives. Divided into three parts, this book draws on an international body of research and theoretical perspectives on the determinants of health, such as hereditary, socioeconomic, environmental, geopolitical, gender and cross-cultural factors. It begins with an overview of child health and wellbeing before exploring global influences on health. The second part of the book focuses on health promotion and safeguarding. The final part looks at a range of health conditions that may impact children's health, including infectious diseases, chronic health conditions and mental health. The book ends with a discussion of the role and contribution of families, carers, health professionals, hospitals, the wider community, charities and government, and examines how children with health needs and their families can best be supported. Each chapter includes critical questions, case studies and reflection points, all followed by a commentary to help the reader to think through the issues. Designed for all those working with children, or studying to work with children, Health and Wellbeing for Babies and Children: Contemporary Issues is ideal for students undertaking courses on public health nursing, children's nursing, early years education, childhood studies and social work, among others.
Child and Adolescent Behavioral Health by
Research has shown that a range of adult psychiatric disorders and mental health problems originate at an early age, yet the psychiatric symptoms of an increasing number of children and adolescents are going unrecognized and untreated--there are simply not enough child psychiatric providers to meet this steadily rising demand. It is vital that advanced practice registered nurses (APRNs) and primary care practitioners take active roles in assessing behavioral health presentations and work collaboratively with families and other healthcare professionals to ensure that all children and adolescents receive appropriate treatment. Child and Adolescent Behavioral Health helps APRNs address the mental health needs of this vulnerable population, providing practical guidance on assessment guidelines, intervention and treatment strategies, indications for consultation, collaboration, referral, and more. Now in its second edition, this comprehensive and timely resource has been fully updated to include DSM-5 criteria and the latest guidance on assessing, diagnosing, and treating the most common behavioral health issues facing young people. New and expanded chapters cover topics including eating disorders, bullying and victimization, LGBTQ identity issues, and conducting research with high-risk children and adolescents. Edited and written by a team of accomplished child psychiatric and primary care practitioners, this authoritative volume: Provides state-of-the-art knowledge about specific psychiatric and behavioral health issues in multiple care settings Reviews the clinical manifestation and etiology of behavioral disorders, risk and management issues, and implications for practice, research, and education Offers approaches for interviewing children and adolescents, and strategies for integrating physical and psychiatric screening Discusses special topics such as legal and ethical issues, cultural influences, the needs of immigrant children, and child and adolescent mental health policy Features a new companion website containing clinical case studies to apply concepts from the chapters Designed to specifically address the issues faced by APRNs, Child and Adolescent Behavioral Health is essential reading for nurse practitioners and clinical nurse specialists, particularly those working in family, pediatric, community health, psychiatric, and mental health settings. *Second Place in the Child Health Category, 2021 American Journal of Nursing Book of the Year Awards*
If you are interested in finding ebooks only, head to Ebook Central or eBook Collection. To log in, use the barcode located on the back of your student ID and your pin number. You have the option to download ebooks to a device, but we strongly recommend reading them online to take advantage of the full suite of available tools. Create a personal account using your Library barcode and PIN to manage and organize your ebook reading and research.
Mosby's® Pocket Guide to Fetal Monitoring by
Find real-world, clinically useful information on all aspects of electronic fetal monitoring! Written by clinicians for clinicians, Mosby's Pocket Guide to Fetal Monitoring: A Multidisciplinary Approach, 9th Edition provides an evidence-based, collaborative approach to fetal heart monitoring during labor and in the antepartum period. It covers the physiologic basis for FHR monitoring, methods and instrumentation, standardized terminology, pattern recognition and interpretation, and management of care. Authored by a nurse-midwife, a perinatologist, and a nurse, this compact guide prepares you for success on the EFM certification exam and for success in today's clinical practice. Pocket-sized format makes this guide ideal to carry and use in the clinical setting, and a colorful design makes information easier to find. Coverage of fetal heart rate assessment, evaluation, interpretation, and management is supported by evidence-based practice and literature, helping you prioritize care and make clinical decisions. Patient safety and risk management strategies include case studies and legal commentary, plus guidelines for providing safe and competent care. Information on the relationship between fetal heart rate patterns and neonatal outcomes provides a guide to the correct use of fetal monitoring. Illustrations, tables, and fetal monitor tracings highlight critical information. Coverage of innovative practices supports patient safety and improved outcomes through the use of a common language for fetal heart rate patterns, a standardized approach to interpretation, a discussion of emergency preparedness, and a discussion of human factor issues such as improved communication, situational awareness, no-fault/just culture, and teamwork. Practical appendices offer a guide to FHR tracings and interpretation as well as self-assessment questions for credentialing and certification exam preparation. Expert author team provides clinical insight along with international presence. NEW information on Category II tracing management is included. NEW! Expanded section on common misconceptions and myths includes evidence supporting factual EFM characteristics. NEW! Detailed information on documentation and legal issues is added. NEW EFM tracings with interpretation are added.
The following streaming videos can be found in the RCBC Databases. To access streaming videos, you will need your activated library barcode and pin.