LibGuides: Nursing: Medical Surgical

RCBC Books

Print books are arranged on the shelf in Library of Congress Call Number order. Each call number begins with an alphanumeric base (e.g., "BF109.J8") that is followed by a cutter and a date of publication (e.g., "A25 1993"). See a librarian if you need assistance.

Call Number Range (where to look on the bookshelves)

R - Medicine (General)
RD - Surgery
RT - Nursing

Empire of the Scalpel by Ira Rutkow From an eminent surgeon and historian comes the "by turns fascinating and ghastly" (The New York Times Book Review, Editors' Choice) story of surgery's development--from the Stone Age to the present day--blending meticulous medical research with vivid storytelling. There are not many life events that can be as simultaneously frightening and hopeful as a surgical operation. In America, tens-of-millions of major surgical procedures are performed annually, yet few of us consider the magnitude of these figures because we have such inherent confidence in surgeons. And, despite passionate debates about health care and the media's endless fascination with surgery, most of us have no idea how the first surgeons came to be because the story of surgery has never been fully told. Now, Empire of the Scalpel elegantly reveals surgery's fascinating evolution from its early roots in ancient Egypt to its refinement in Europe and rise to scientific dominance in the United States. From the 16th-century saga of Andreas Vesalius and his crusade to accurately describe human anatomy while appeasing the conservative clergy who clamored for his burning at the stake, to the hard-to-believe story of late-19th century surgeons' apathy to Joseph Lister's innovation of antisepsis and how this indifference led to thousands of unnecessary surgical deaths, Empire of the Scalpel is both a global history and a uniquely American tale. You'll discover how in the 20th century the US achieved surgical leadership, heralded by Harvard's Joseph Murray and his Nobel Prize-winning, seemingly impossible feat of transplanting a kidney, which ushered in a new era of transplants that continues to make procedures once thought insurmountable into achievable successes. Today, the list of possible operations is almost infinite--from knee and hip replacement to heart bypass and transplants to fat reduction and rhinoplasty--and "Rutkow has a raconteur's touch" (San Francisco Chronicle) as he draws on his five-decade career to show us how we got here. Comprehensive, authoritative, and captivating, Empire of the Scalpel is "a fascinating, well-rendered story of how the once-impossible became a daily reality" (Kirkus Reviews, starred review).
Call Number: RD19 .R87 2022
ISBN: 9781501163746
Publication Date: 2022-03-08
Ambulatory surgical nursing by edited by Theresa L. Clifford. Learn the multidisciplinary clinical knowledge and skills needed to provide effective nursing care in outpatient settings! Ambulatory Surgical Nursing reflects the advanced procedures being performed in ambulatory surgery today, as well as the latest medications and improvements in pain management techniques. Authored by the American Society of PeriAnesthesia Nurses (ASPAN) and edited by well-known perioperative nursing expert Theresa L. Clifford, this text addresses all aspects of patient care, from pre-admission to patient education, discharge, and recovery, with comprehensive coverage of surgical specialties in separate chapters for easy reference. Case studies in each chapter bring key concepts to life and offer an opportunity to apply information contained within the chapter. -- Provided by publisher.
Call Number: RD110.5 .A438 2024
ISBN: 9780323681445
Publication Date: 2024
Medical-Surgical Nursing by Holly Stromberg Build skills in clinical judgment and prepare for the Next-Generation NCLEX-PN® examination! Medical-Surgical Nursing: Concepts and Practice, 5th Edition provides a solid foundation in nursing concepts and skills essential to the LPN/LVN role. Complete coverage of common adult medical-surgical conditions includes all body systems and their disorders, addressing patient care in a variety of settings. Special attention is given to care of older adults, those with chronic illnesses, and residents in long-term care settings. Written by nursing educator Holly Stromberg, this text emphasizes evidence-based practice and reflects the expanding scope of practice for LPN/LVNs. What''s more, it makes exam prep easier with new Next-Generation NCLEX® case studies and an emphasis on developing critical thinking and clinical judgment. Nursing care plans show plans of care based on patient history and include patient goals and outcomes, with critical thinking questions allowing you to assess your understanding of related nursing concepts. Concept maps illustrate how a disorder''s symptoms, treatments, and side effects relate to each other. Safety alerts emphasize safety precautions to protect patients, family, health care providers, and the public from accidents, spread of disease, and medication-related accidents. Focused Assessment boxes show how to collect patient data, including history and physical and psychosocial assessment, with guidance on collecting information for specific disorders. Communication boxes help in developing therapeutic communication skills in realistic patient care situations. Patient Teaching boxes provide instructions and guidelines for educating patients in self-care. Elder Care Points address the unique care issues that affect older adults and provide suggestions for assessment and interventions for long-term patients. Home Care Considerations focus on adapting medical-surgical nursing care to the home environment after discharge. Assignment Considerations cover task delegation from the RN to the LPN/LVN and from the LPN/LVN to unlicensed assistive personnel, as allowed by each state''s nurse practice act. Nutrition Considerations emphasize the role nutrition plays in disease and holistic nursing care. Cultural Considerations promote understanding of the needs of various ethnic groups and sensitivity to differing beliefs and practices. Legal and Ethical Considerations describe legal issues and ethical dilemmas that may face the practicing nurse. Get Ready for the Next-Generation NCLEX® Examination! section at the end of each chapter covers key points and includes review questions and critical thinking questions to help you prepare for class tests and the NCLEX-PN examination. Medication tables provide quick access to drug dosages and side effects of commonly used medications. Key terms include phonetic pronunciations and text page references, making learning easier with terms listed at the beginning of each chapter, appearing in blue at first mention or where defined in the text, and defined in the glossary. Concepts important to developing nursing knowledge for sound clinical thinking are identified for each chapter. Care for those who identify as LGBTQIA+ is discussed. Companion study guide further promotes clinical judgment through additional case studies, critical thinking opportunities, and interactive communication activities. Emphasis is placed on understanding and application of nursing knowledge. Available separately. NEW! Next-Generation NCLEX® case studies and new format questions help you prepare for the licensure examination. NEW! Discussion of the NCSBN Clinical Judgment Measurement Model helps in developing the decision-making skills needed to plan effective nursing interventions.
Call Number: RT41 .D445 2023
ISBN: 9780323810210
Publication Date: 2022-03-02
Swearingen's all-in-one nursing care planning resource : medical-surgical, pediatric, maternity, and psychiatric-mental health by Julie S. Snyder, MSN, RN-BC Christine A. Sump, DNP, RN, CNE. With more than 100 evidence-based, customizable care plans, Swearingen’s All-in-One Nursing Care Planning Resource: Medical-Surgical, Pediatric, Maternity, and Psychiatric-Mental Health is an easy-to-use, curriculum-wide reference to guide the development of patient-centered nursing care plans. The only nursing care planning reference book that covers all four core clinical areas, it features care plans for medical-surgical, maternity/OB, pediatrics, and psychiatric‒mental health to help you learn to care for patients in any setting. The interprofessional patient problems focus teaches you how to communicate patient problems using the standard terminology of the health professions rather than in nursing-specific language. Safety icons highlight assessments and interventions that focus on safety measures supported by national patient safety standards and goals. Care plans have been updated throughout to reflect the latest evidence-based treatment guidelines and protocols. Care plan components are now labeled as appropriate with the six cognitive skills identified in the National Council of State Boards of Nursing (NCSBN) Clinical Judgment Measurement Model (CJMM) to help you identify, develop, and implement the clinical judgment skills needed for success on the Next-Generation NCLEX® Exam (NGN) and in clinical practice. With new care plans on Infection, Breastfeeding, and Delirium, a clear, focused approach, an easy-to-use format, and straightforward rationales, this one book will meet your care planning needs throughout your entire nursing program and into clinical practice! -- Provided by publisher.
Call Number: RT49 .A45 2024
ISBN: 9780323825368
Publication Date: 2024

Streaming Videos

The following streaming videos can be found in the RCBC Databases. To access streaming videos, you will need your activated library barcode and pin.

Practical Suturing Techniques Animated Demonstrations Transcript: Hold the needle holder with your ring finger and thumb in the finger holes. Support the instrument using your middle finger. Use your index finger to give stability at the joint. Always use the instruments to pick up the needle. Do not use your fingers as this could risk a needlestick injury. Use the forceps to position the needle in the tips of the needle holder. Grasp it approximately two-thirds along from the point of the needle. For small wounds, start suturing at one side of the incision. Use the toothed forceps to gently lift the skin edges and hold the skin when inserting the needle. As a rough guide, the distance from the edge of the wound to the needle entry point should be approximately equal to the depth of the tissue to be sutured. Insert the needle with the point at 90 degrees to the skin. This will help to evert the skin edges. Rotate the needle smoothly through the skin by supinating your forearm. Pick up the needle with the forceps, and remount it on the needle holder in the correct position. Then insert the needle through the skin on the opposite side of the wound. You should space the sutures evenly, and at right angles to the direction of the wound. When tying the knot, first make a double forward throw by wrapping the suture twice around the tip of the needle holder. Grasp the end of the suture with the needle holder, and pull it through the loops as shown. Next, make a single backwards throw around the needle holder. Again, pull the end of the suture through the loop as it slips off the needle holder. Add a single forward throw in the same way to complete the squared knot. Tie the knot securely, but without excess tension. Leave all the knots on one side of the wound, and trim the ends to 6 to 8 mm in length. The distance between each suture is approximately equal to the overall width of each completed suture. Continue until the wound is completely closed. Dispose of all sharps safely. Hold the needle holder correctly with the ring finger and thumb in the finger holes, the middle finger supporting the instrument, and the index finger giving stability at the joint. Always use the instruments to pick up the needle, and never use fingers, risking a needlestick injury. Use the forceps to position the needle in the tips of the needle holder, grasping it approximately two-thirds along from the point of the needle. For small wounds, start suturing at one end of the incision. Use the toothed forceps to very gently lift the skin edges and hold the skin when inserting the needle. Take a slightly larger bite than normal to start the vertical mattress suture. Insert the needle with the point at 90 degrees to the skin. Rotate the needle smoothly through the skin by supinating the forearm. Pick up the needle with the forceps, and remount it on the needle holders in the correct position, and pass it through the opposite wound edge, taking an equally sized bite. Hold the needle with the forceps, and rotate it in the needle holder to prepare for the backhand part of the mattress suture. Now take a small bite, approximately halfway between the exit point and the skin edge. Using the backhand technique, enter the needle at 90 degrees to the skin, and rotate the needle through the tissue by pronating the forearm. Repeat on the opposite side of the wound from inside to outside. Pull the suture through, and then tie a standard knot without excess tension. When tying the knot, make a double forward throw first, by wrapping the suture twice around the tip of the needle holder. Grasp the end of the suture with the needle holder, and pull it through the loops as shown. This is then followed by single backwards throw around the needle holder. And again, the end of the suture is pulled through the loop as it slips off the needle holder. Add a single forward throw in the same way to complete the squared knot. Trim the ends and then continue with equally spaced vertical mattress sutures until the wound is closed. Hold the needle holder correctly with the ring finger and thumb in the finger holes, the middle finger supporting the instrument, and the index finger giving stability at the joint. Always use the instruments to pick up the needle, and never use fingers risking a needlestick injury. Use the forceps to position the needle in the tips of the needle holder, grasping it approximately two-thirds along from the point of the needle. For small wounds, start suturing at one end of the incision. Use the toothed forceps to very gently lift the skin edges and hold the skin when inserting the needle. Take a normally sized bite as if inserting a standard interrupted suture. Insert the needle with the point at 90 degrees to the skin. Rotate the needle smoothly through the skin by supinating the forearm. Pick up the needle with the forceps, and remount it on the needle holders in the correct position, and insert through the opposite wound edge, taking an equally sized bite. Hold the needle with the forceps, and rotate it in the needle holder to prepare for the backhand part of the mattress suture. Insert the backhand stitch the same distance along the skin edge as the overall width of the suture, taking an equally sized bite on the same side. Using the backhand technique, enter the needle at 90 degrees to the skin, and rotate the needle through the tissue by pronating the forearm. Repeat on the opposite side of the wound from inside to outside. Pull the suture through and then tie a standard knot without excess tension. When tying the knot, make a double forward throw first, by wrapping the suture twice around the tip of the needle holder. Grasp the end of the suture with the needle holder, and pull it through the loops as shown. This is then followed by a single backwards throw around the needle holder. And again, the end of the suture is pulled through the loop as it slips off the needle holder. Add a single forward throw in the same way to complete the squared knot. The finished suture should be approximately square. Trim the ends and then continue with equally spaced horizontal mattress sutures until the wound is closed. Hold the needle holder correctly with the ring finger and thumb in the finger holes, the middle finger supporting the instrument, and the index finger giving stability at the joint. Always use the instruments to pick up the needle, and never use fingers risking a needlestick injury. Use the forceps to position the needle in the tips of the needle holder, grasping it approximately two-thirds along from the point of the needle. Begin in the corner of the wound by placing an inverted anchoring stitch in the dermis. Pass the needle from inside to outside initially, followed by outside to inside, and then tie a standard knot, which will remain buried under the skin. Cut off the loose end of the suture. Now begin inserting the subcuticular suture sequentially along the wound edge, starting in the corner. Gently lift the skin with the fine toothed forceps and use the curve of the needle to rotate it horizontally through the dermis only. Pick up the needle from the wound edge with the forceps, and reposition in the needle holder. Place an equally sized bite starting in the dermis of the skin edge opposite the exit point of the last suture, while gently lifting the skin with fine toothed forceps. Use the curve of the needle and supination of the forearm to rotate it horizontally through the dermis only. Repeat along the wound edge, taking equal and opposite bites of the dermis only, avoiding button-holing the skin. Loosely tighten the suture as progress is made along the wound, and then tighten the suture fully after the last stitch is placed, keeping the last loop long in order to tie the knot. Tie an Aberdeen knot with several throws. With the thumb and forefinger of the right hand, grasp the needle end of the suture from within the loop. Pull on the suture until the loop tightens and a new loop is formed. Do not let go of the needle end of the suture at this point. Repeat by grasping the end of the suture through the new loop, and tightening again. After seven throws, let go the end of the suture with the left hand, and pull the needle through the loop, and then tighten the completed Aberdeen knot. Bury the knot by passing the needle into the corner of the wound, and out through the skin edge, beyond the apex of the incision. Pull the suture tight and cut the suture flush with the skin. Hold the needle holder correctly with the ring finger and thumb in the finger holes, the middle finger supporting the instrument, and the index finger giving stability at the joint. Always use the instruments to pick up the needle, and never use fingers risking a needlestick injury. Use the forceps to position the needle in the tips of the needle holder, grasping it approximately two-thirds along from the point of the needle. Start suturing at one end of the wound. Use the toothed forceps to very gently grasp the edges of the fascia and hold it when inserting the needle. Take a normally sized bite, as if inserting a standard interrupted suture. Insert the needle with the point at 90 degrees to the fascia. Rotate the needle smoothly through the tissues by supinating the forearm. Pick up the needle with the forceps, and remount it on the needle holders in the correct position, and insert through the opposite wound edge, taking an equally sized bite. Make a standard instrument tie, but add more throws to ensure a secure knot, especially if using monofilament. When tying the knot, make a double forward throw first, by wrapping the suture twice around the tip of the needle holder. Grasp the end of the suture with the needle holder, and pull it through the loops as shown. This is then followed by single backwards throw around the needle holder. And again, the end of the suture is pulled through the loop as it slips off the needle holder. Add a single forward throw in the same way to complete the squared knot. Continue by placing equally sized bites opposite each other, equally spaced along the wound. The overall width of each stitch should be varied to prevent the facsia tearing along the lines of the fibres. Keep moderate tension on the suture at all times to prevent weak areas in the repair. The assistant should follow, keeping the tension even, and holding the trailing suture out of the way. At the end of the closure, perform an instrument tie by grasping the last loop of the suture with the needle holders, while tying in an otherwise standard fashion, again adding extra throws for security. Alternatively, hand tie an Aberdeen knot. The last loop of the suture is left long after the rest of the suture is tightened. With the thumb and forefinger of the right hand, grasp the needle end of the suture from within the loop. Pull on the suture until the loop tightens and a new loop is formed. Do not let go of the needle end of the suture at this point. Repeat by grasping the end of the suture through the new loop, and tightening again. After seven throws, let go the end of the suture with the left hand, and pull the needle through the loop, and then tighten the completed Aberdeen knot. Trim the suture before continuing to the rest of the repair.