Now you have herbs, fruits, and vegetables, how can you save them?
According to the USDA (2024) "Drying is the world's oldest and most common method of food preservation. Drying technology is both simple and readily available to most of the world's culture. Examples of dried foods are jerky, powdered milk, dried beans and peas, potatoes in a box, dried fruits and vegetables, pasta, and rice. Canning technology is just over 200 years old, and freezing became practical only during this century as electricity became increasingly available."
Nutrition, Food Safety & Health, CC0, via Wikimedia Commons
Benefits
Easy to do, easy to store, does not need to be refrigerated- shelf stable
Drawbacks
Change in nutritional value: According to the University of Missouri Extension (January 2021) "The nutritive value of food is affected by the dehydration process. Vitamins A and C are destroyed by heat and air. Using a sulfite treatment prevents the loss of some vitamins but causes the destruction of thiamin. Blanching vegetables before drying, while crucial to a better quality product, results in some loss of vitamin C and B-complex vitamins as well as the loss of some minerals, because these are all water soluble. Yet blanching reduces the loss of thiamin and vitamins A and C during dehydration and storage."
Considerations
Vassilik, CC BY-SA 3.0 <https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-sa/3.0>, via Wikimedia Commons
Ways to dehydrate food
Benefits
Best method to retain the color
Drawbacks
Extended power outages would mean loosing your freezer items to spoilage
Considerations
Benefits
Increases nutritional value
Drawbacks
Considerations
Your RCBC Student ID allows you to check out physical material from other BCLS branches. (A separate BCLS Library card is needed to access their online resources.)
Note: a book that shows up as being in another branch may be currently in use by another patron. Save yourself a trip and call to double check the book's availability!
The Ultimate Guide to Preserving Vegetables
by
Practical Methods & Recipes for Creating a Treasure Trove of Preserved Foods When veggies are at their peak of the season, this preserving compendium covering nearly every vegetable is your one-stop source. Brimming with 100 recipes, beautiful full-page color images, step-by-step preservation methods and handy reference charts, this foolproof guide will help you master canning & pickling, fermenting, dehydrating and freezing the most common garden produce. Angi Schneider is a master of preserving. She shares methods that emphasize simplicity yet keep the flavors exciting, and shares tips for working your preserved foods into your family's regular meal plan so nothing goes to waste. A sampling of Angi's everyday family-approved recipes featured in this book are: * Canned Dilly Asparagus * Fermented Corn Salsa * Dried Asian Broccoli Crisps * Frozen Carrot Top Pesto * Dried Scalloped Potatoes * Canned Marinara * Dried Pumpkin Pie Roll Ups * And so much more! Angi guides you through the basics of each preservation method, then shares an A to Z guide to preserving common garden vegetables, from asparagus to zucchini and everything in between. Each veggie's chapter includes Angi's growing tips, a reference chart and at least one recipe for each preservation method starring that vegetable. Whether you want to become a more self-sufficient household, reduce food waste for a greener planet or make the most of the fresh produce you have on hand, see how easy and fun it is to fill your pantry with preserved foods your family will be excited to eat.
The All New Ball Book of Canning and Preserving
by
From the experts at Jarden Home Brands, makers of Ball canning products, comes the first truly comprehensive canning guide created for today's home cooks. This modern handbook boasts more than 350 of the best recipes ranging from jams and jellies to jerkies, pickles, salsas, and more-including extender recipes to create brand new dishes using your freshly preserved farmer's market finds or vegetable garden bounty. Organized by technique, The All New Ball Book of Canning and Preserving covers water bath and pressure canning, pickling, fermenting, freezing, dehydrating, and smoking. Straightforward instructions and step-by-step photos ensure success for beginners, while practiced home canners will find more advanced methods and inspiring ingredient twists. Thoroughly tested for safety and quality by thermal process engineers at the Fresh Preserving Quality Assurance Lab, recipes range from much-loved classics -- Tart Lemon Jelly, Tomato-Herb Jam, Ploughman's Pickles -- to fresh flavors such as Asian Pear Kimchi, Smoked Maple-Juniper Bacon, and homemade Kombucha. Make the most of your preserves with delicious dishes including Crab Cakes garnished with Eastern Shore Corn Relish and traditional Strawberry-Rhubarb Hand Pies. Special sidebars highlight seasonal fruits and vegetables, while handy charts cover processing times, temperatures, and recipe formulas for fast preparation. Lushly illustrated with color photographs, The All New Ball Book of Canning and Preserving is a classic in the making for a new generation of home cooks.
Preserving with a Purpose
by
In this next-gen guide to canning and preserving, get all the classic techniques and recipes plus global flavors, meal-prep tips, and green-living wisdom for today's world. Preserving with a Purpose is not your mama's or grandma's canning and preserving book. In 125 scrumptious and foolproof recipes, Sarah Thrush--whose inspiring, informative, and frequently viral videos on TikTok @peeliesnpetals have been seen by tens of millions of people--shows you the best and tastiest ways to put up the traditional canning foods, from tomatoes and green beans to apples and peaches, just like mama and grandma did. But she also ranges widely in the more robust flavor profiles that come from the best cuisines from all over the planet--all of which earlier preserving books neglect. Hers is the kind of food today's world citizens eat, diverse and glorious in its variety. If you are a rookie preserver, you will master canning and preserving quickly, safely, and thoroughly. If you are an experienced canner, you will discover amazing new recipes and techniques, along with advice on how to integrate canning and preserving into a self-sufficient, money-saving, and sustainable lifestyle. Sarah reveals her most beloved recipes--none of which are available online--in these beautifully photographed pages. The recipes include: Date and Fig Fermented Honey Aunt Madge's Dill Pickles DIY Teriyaki Sauce Pickled Peaches Pork Carnitas Meal-in-a-Jar Carrot Cake Jam Fresh Mint Jelly Spiced Apple Butter Alongside the recipes, Sarah shares: Hard-won wisdom on how to use canning to really save money and achieve a self-sufficient, nearly waste-free home Seasonal and monthly pantry-planning and meal-prepping tools A complete guide to safe water canning and pressure canning methods Troubleshooting guides Whether you grow some or all of your own food or seek out bargains at the store or farmers' market, this comprehensive guide will have you preserving with a purpose.
Naturally Sweet Food in Jars
by
Make all the Preserves You Love Sweeter than Ever, For Healthier Canning at Home! After years of addressing questions reducing sugar, substituting sugar, and leaving it out altogether, author Marisa McClellan began to rejigger her recipes, helping her home canners enjoy the flavors of the season without the refined sugars. The result is Naturally Sweet Food in Jars, preserving in the tenor of today's health-conscious audience. The inventive spreads, dips, pickles, and whole fruits in McClellan's third preserving book use only unrefined sweeteners: maple sugar and syrup coconut sugar dates agave honey dried fruits and juices . . . and less of them! The book is organized by sweeteners, and includes recipes like: Sriracha-style Hot Sauce (using honey) Date Pancake Syrup (with maple) Cantaloupe Basil Jam and Marinated Multicolored Peppers (both sweetened with agave) Fennel and Parsley Relish (sweetened with fruit juice) Her trademark flavor combinations, seasonal awareness, and manageable small batches are here, too, for her longtime readers and a whole new audience, and are just as sweet. It's the perfect addition to your collection, and will bring your preserving up to speed with a health-conscious diet.
The All New Ball Book of Canning and Preserving
by
From the experts at Jarden Home Brands, makers of Ball canning products, comes the first truly comprehensive canning guide created for today's home cooks. This modern handbook boasts more than 350 of the best recipes ranging from jams and jellies to jerkies, pickles, salsas, and more-including extender recipes to create brand new dishes using your freshly preserved farmer's market finds or vegetable garden bounty. Organized by technique, The All New Ball Book of Canning and Preserving covers water bath and pressure canning, pickling, fermenting, freezing, dehydrating, and smoking. Straightforward instructions and step-by-step photos ensure success for beginners, while practiced home canners will find more advanced methods and inspiring ingredient twists. Thoroughly tested for safety and quality by thermal process engineers at the Fresh Preserving Quality Assurance Lab, recipes range from much-loved classics -- Tart Lemon Jelly, Tomato-Herb Jam, Ploughman's Pickles -- to fresh flavors such as Asian Pear Kimchi, Smoked Maple-Juniper Bacon, and homemade Kombucha. Make the most of your preserves with delicious dishes including Crab Cakes garnished with Eastern Shore Corn Relish and traditional Strawberry-Rhubarb Hand Pies. Special sidebars highlight seasonal fruits and vegetables, while handy charts cover processing times, temperatures, and recipe formulas for fast preparation. Lushly illustrated with color photographs, The All New Ball Book of Canning and Preserving is a classic in the making for a new generation of home cooks.
Cold Canning
by
Discover this food preservation bible for the modern cook, with a collection of 425 recipes for small-batch jams, jellies, chili crisps, pickles, krauts, kimchis, and more that will safely keep for months to years in your fridge or freezer. Cold canning is a revolutionary new approach to preserving the best produce of the season, without the headache of traditional canning methods. Whether you're canning for convenience, frugality, or fun, these small-batch recipes are simple to make and can be safely stored for months or even years in your refrigerator or freezer. Home cooks will love cold canning because... It's easier, requiring no unwieldy tools It preserves fresher flavors in the jar It saves money with small batches It saves time with quick setup and cooking It's healthier because recipes use less sugar and salt It's completely safe Bestselling authors Bruce Weinstein and Mark Scarbrough are among America's most trusted culinary experts, and here they gather 425 recipes showing how to pickle and preserve the world--from strawberry jam to Sri Lankan lime pickles, from peach-ginger preserves to homemade sambal oelek. With Cold Canning, it is easier than ever to save a taste of the summer for any time of the year.
Preserving by the Pint
by
The perfect follow up to Food in Jars: More seasonal canning in smaller bites! If most canning recipes seem to yield too much for your small kitchen, Preserving by the Pint has smaller--but no less delicious--batches to offer. Author Marisa McClellan discovered that most "vintage" recipes are written to feed a large family, or to use up a farm-size crop, but increasingly, found that smaller batches suited her life better. Working with a quart, a pound, a pint, or a bunch of produce, not a bushel, allows for dabbling in preserving without committing a whole shelf to storing a single type of jam. Preserving by the Pint is meant to be a guide for saving smaller batches from farmer's markets and produce stands-preserving tricks for stopping time in a jar. McClellan's recipes offer tastes of unusual preserves like: Blueberry Maple Jam Mustardy Rhubarb Chutney Sorrel Pesto Zucchini Bread and Butter Pickles Organized seasonally, these pestos, sauces, mostardas, chutneys, butters, jams, jellies, and pickles are speedy, too: some take under an hour, leaving you more time to plan your next batch.
The Beginner's Guide to Dehydrating Food, 2nd Edition
by
This essential companion for putting your food dehydrator to work features instructions and techniques for drying all the most popular fruits and vegetables, along with meat and herbs. You'll learn to dry fruits and vegetables at their peak, giving you an easy and economical way to stock your pantry with apple rings, mango slices, banana chips, dried soup beans, tomatoes, and much more for year-round enjoyment. In addition, drying guidelines for specialty items like meat jerky, fruit leather, dried herb and spice mixtures, backpacking meals, and even baby food round out this friendly handbook.
Dehydrating at Home
by
Dehydrating at Home is a practical guide to transforming perishable fruits, vegetables, meats, as well as nuts, seeds, herbs and spices into a pantry of nutritional wonders with a long shelf life. The book takes readers through the entire process for each type of dehydrating with delicious recipes and handy hints and tips. Practical step-by-step instructions ensure that dehydrations are perfect the first time and every time, and innovative flavor combinations will inspire dehydrated delicacies. The book gives experienced advice on all aspects of food dehydrating, including: The advantages of dehydrating at home How a food dehydrator works its magic while preventing bacteria growth Notes on food safety and retaining favor and color Foods best suited to dehydration Variables that affect drying time, such as humidity, food thickness, fat and sugar content Preparing food for dehydration How to prevent unwanted browning of fruits Safe storage How to purchase and maintain a dehydrator, plus the best accessories. Seven chapters cover all foods that can be dehydrated: Fruits -- Quick and easy recipes include Double-Dehydrated Coconut Bananas, Apple Pie Cookies, Watermelon Chips with Lime Vegetables -- Savory snacks and recipes for preserving a harvest include Kale Chips, Maple-Dipped Fiddleheads, Garlic Zucchini Chips, Honey Orange Beet Chips, Jalapenos Leathers -- Roll Ups that children (and adults) will love include Strawberry and Apple, Blueberry with Lemon Curd, Polka Dot Fruit Jerky -- Easy recipes for meat, poultry, and fish jerky include Classic Beef, Teriyaki Beef, Turkey, Smoked Salmon, Chinese Pork Nuts and Seeds -- Delicious high-protein snacks full of healthy fats include Cajun Pecans, Tamari Almonds, Flaxseed Crackers Herbs and Seasonings -- Delicious, long-lasting ingredients for aromatic additions to every meal include Herbs (Parsley, Chives, Thyme, etc.), Vegetable Powders, Ginger, Hot Chili Flakes Pet Treats -- The easy ways to watch the health of a pet include Sweet Potato Treats, Chicken Treats, Salmon Skin Nip. Dehydrating At Home is the ideal reference for cooks with beginning and extensive dehydrating experience alike.
Grillo's Presents Pickled
by
An ode to the beloved and mighty pickle from the brand that does it best, Grillo's Pickles! With 100 exciting and delicious recipes, this cookbook is perfect for pickle lovers everywhere. What Makes PICKLED Special? * Chef-Approved Recipes: Dive into 100 mouthwatering recipes curated by innovative chef Raphael Jacob Khutorsky (Chef Raph). From classic dill pickles to unexpected pickle-infused dishes, you'll find inspiration galore. * Home Pickling Tips: Learn how to create your own Grillo's Pickles at home! Get insider tips on brining, canning, and flavor combinations. Impress your friends and family with homemade pickles that burst with freshness. * Beyond the Burger: Pickles aren't just burger toppers! Explore creative ways to incorporate pickles into meals, snacks, and even cocktails. Devilish Eggs, Pickle Brine Spatchcock Chicken, and a boozy Pickleback Slush await your culinary adventures. Grillo's Pickles started as a wooden pickle cart in downtown Boston, and they've been changing the pickle game ever since. Chef Raph brings his culinary expertise to this delightful cookbook, adding a personal flair to every recipe.
The Complete Guide to Pickling
by
Master the art of pickling with 125 classic and creative recipes Pickling is the best (and most delicious!) way to preserve all kinds of food, so it's no wonder why it's popular around the world. Whether you're making your first pickle or you have years of experience, The Complete Guide to Pickling is packed with essential information and 125 flavorful recipes, including American classics and international flavors. From Honeyed Bread-and-Butter Chips to Classic Kimchi, Scratch-Made Sriracha, and Southern-Style Pickled Shrimp, there's something for everyone in this unique pickling how-to guide. You'll find straightforward and scrumptious recipes for quick, fresh, and fermented pickles, as well as sweet and fruity pickles, hot sauces, relishes, salsas, sauerkraut, chutney, and more. Happy pickling! The Complete Guide to Pickling includes: Intro to pickles & pickling--Build your foundational knowledge with a brief history of pickling and helpful info about the different types of pickles. Step-by-step instructions--Find detailed directions for canning and fermentation, choosing the right ingredients, and creating essential spice blends. Tips for gardeners--Learn how to plan your garden to maximize your pickle potential, and use the bumper crop label to find big batch recipes for common produce. Create your own delicious pickles with The Complete Guide to Pickling.
The Joy of Pickling, 3rd Edition
by
Whether you're making a pint of sauerkraut or a peck of pickled peppers, The Joy of Pickling provides all the tools for pickling success! "By working a special kind of magic on an abundance of produce," Christopher Kimball writes in the foreword to this inspiring, comprehensive, and eminently practical book, "Linda Ziedrich has transformed what might have become a lost art into something both necessary and delightful." Putting up pickles is a time-honored technique for preserving the harvest and getting the most out of fresh produce, whether you grow it yourself or purchase it at the supermarket or farmers market. But pickling isn't just about preserving: It's a way to create mouthwatering condiments and side dishes that add endless variety and loads of big, vibrant flavors to the table. Making these salty, sour, sweet, and tangy treats isn't hard, as long as you have this authoritative and user-friendly volume to guide you. This new edition includes 50 brand-new recipes, many focused on the latest trend in pickling: fermentation. It also includes: Pickles from all over the globe, from down-home American favorites to adventuresome new ideas from Asia, the Middle East, and Europe Recipes for canned and put-up pickles and also for super-easy quick pickles for the fridge or freezer New techniques for preventing yeast and mold growths on fermented pickles Recipes for using pickled produce in chutneys, salsas, relishes, and more Expert safety guidance and tips From Lower East Side Full-Sour Dills to Cabbage and Radish Kimchi, Pickled Whole Watermelons to Quick Pickled Baby Corn, the 300 recipes in The Joy of Pickling make the harvest last, deliciously and freshly, all year round.
Our Fermented Lives
by
Food historian and fermenting expert Julia Skinner explores the fascinating roots of a wide range of fermented foods in cultures around the world, with a focus on the many intersections of fermented foods with human history and culture, from the evolution of the microbiome to food preservation techniques, distinctive flavor profiles around the globe, and the building of community. Fans of fermentation, chefs, and anyone fascinated with the origins of various foods will enjoy this engaging popular history, which is accompanied by 42 recipes adapted from historic sources, including sauerkraut, corn beer, uji (fermented grain porridge), pickles and relishes, vinegars, ketchup, soy sauce, Tepache (fermented pineapple drink), vinegars, beet kvass, and more.
A Beginner's Guide to Japanese Fermentation
by
Join the fermentation revolution--Japanese style! "The benefits loom large: fermented foods are anti-diabetic, anti-hypertensive, and antioxidant...and are swarming with vitamins." --Discover magazine This comprehensive do-it-yourself home fermentation guide centers on the amazing superfoods at the heart of the healthy Japanese diet. Author and fermentation expert Hiroko Shirasaki starts with easy preparations for shio koji, amazake, nukazuke and three types of miso. Then she shows you how to harness the probiotic power of these and other fermented ingredients in scores of delicious home-style recipes. Some of these fermented foods you may already know: kimchi, gochujang, mirin. Others--like umeboshi, natto, sake lees, fermented ginger and kastsuobushi--offer new perspectives on the flavorful powers of fermentation. The seasonal menus in this book contain over 95 recipes catering to a broad range of tastes: "Easy Nukazuke Pickles" (vegetables cured in a bed of fermented rice bran) offers a completely new way to unleash the power of pickling! "Amazake Fruit Yogurt" makes the perfect probiotic breakfast or snack "Shio Koji (a fermented rice-based marinade) Mushroom Soup" creates a super-nutritious and delightfully delicious twist on a favorite dish "Sea Bream and Clams Steamed in White Miso and Wine" pairs the briny sea with the natural umami of a homemade miso made with soybeans and rice "Root Vegetable Soup with Brown Rice Miso" offers a healthful twist on a classic comfort food "Mixed Sushi with Fermented Ginger" ups the antioxidant ante in a familiar favorite "Amazake Gochujang Bibimbap" brings Korean flavors to a classic lunch box dish And many more! Let miraculous microbes work their magic, infusing your daily diet with vitamins and nutrients that promote gut health, reduce hypertension and boost the immune system. The easy recipes in A Beginner's Guide to Japanese Fermentation showcase the health benefits and amazing flavors these superfoods have to offer!
Disclaimer: this guide is not intended to be complete directions or instructions for growing, treating, or preserving preserving specific foods. This guide is an aid to learning about the subject matter.