New Book Collection is located in the back of the library.
NEW!!
American Sign Language Dictionary for Beginners by
A user-friendly dictionary with 800+ ASL signs Whatever your reason for learning the richly expressive language of American Sign Language (ASL), this book will guide you through the initial stages of your signing journey. It's filled with everything you need to master more than 800 essential vocabulary words, including detailed directions that make it simple to develop your ASL skills. What sets this dictionary apart from other sign language books for beginners: No experience required--Find comprehensive, clearly written guidance that makes sense of American Sign Language for beginners, with helpful explanations of more difficult concepts, plus plenty of tips for success. Instructional photographs--See ASL in action with full-color photographs that illustrate how to sign each vocabulary word. Easy-to-find signs--Study each sign in alphabetical order or search by category with a handy index that organizes signs by activities, animals, emotions, places, events, and more. Build up your ASL vocabulary with the American Sign Language Dictionary for Beginners.
American Sign Language for beginners : learning signing essentials in 30 days by
From letters and numbers to essential vocabulary and grammar basics, this beginner's guide provides the essentials needed to develop a solid foundation for American Sign Language in the real world. Each daily lesson takes less than 30 minutes to complete and focuses on a single set of vocabulary or ASL grammar. Throughout the course, you'll find key phrases, helpful memory tips, signing practice activities, and insight into deaf culture. Start your ASL masterclass today. -- From Amazon
Hands that speak : learn essential American Sign Language in 30 days by
Embark on a remarkable journey into the world of American Sign Language (ASL) with our comprehensive 30-day beginner's guide. American Sign Language for Beginners offers a seamless path to acquiring the skills necessary for effective communication with individuals in your household, community, and educational settings. This meticulously designed program equips you with the fundamental building blocks of ASL, spanning from learning letters and numbers to mastering essential vocabulary and grammar. By immersing yourself in this beginner's guide, you will establish a solid foundation in American Sign Language, enabling you to engage confidently in real-world interactions. Each daily lesson requires less than 30 minutes of your time and focuses on a specific set of vocabulary or ASL grammar, ensuring efficient and enjoyable progress.
Say It by Signing Learner's Dictionary and Guidebook by
Teaches the basics needed to start conversing in American Sign Language (ASL), with illustrations of each sign and the manual alphabet for finger spelling.
The Book of Name Signs by
Unveiling fascinating insights about the origins of American Sign Language name signs, this book shows how they serve the same function as proper names used in the hearing community. It also details how the history of the name sign system dates back to the early years of deaf education. Included for reference is a list of more than 500 name signs available for appropriate selection and illustrated charts.
The Syntax of American Sign Language by
Recent research on the syntax of signed language has revealed that, apart from some modality-specific differences, signed languages are organized according to the same underlying principles as spoken languages. This book addresses the organization and distribution of functional categories in American Sign Language (ASL), focusing on tense, agreement and wh-constructions.
The Gallaudet Dictionary of American Sign Language by
Created by an unparalleled board of experts led by renowned ASL linguist and poet Clayton Valli, The Gallaudet Dictionary of American Sign Language contains over 3,000 illustrations. Each sign illustration, including depictions of fingerspelling when appropriate, incorporates a complete list of English synonyms. A full, alphabetized English index enables users to cross-reference words and signs throughout the entire volume. The comprehensive introduction lays the groundwork for learning ASL by explaining in plain language the workings of ASL syntax and structure. It also offers examples of idioms and describes the antecedents of ASL, its place in the Deaf community, and its meaning in Deaf culture. This extraordinary reference also provides a special section on ASL classifiers and their use. Readers will find complete descriptions of the various classifiers and examples of how to use these integral facets of ASL. The Gallaudet Dictionary of American Sign Language is an outstanding ASL reference for all instructors, students, and users of ASL. *Please note that this paperback edition does not include the DVD found in the hardcover edition.
The American Sign Language Handshape Dictionary by
This unique reference can help users locate a sign whose meaning they have forgotten, or help them find the meaning of a new sign they have just seen for the first time. It organizes more than 1,900 ASL signs by 40 basic handshapes and includes detailed descriptions on how to form these signs to represent the different English words that they might mean. Users can begin to track down a sign by determining whether it is formed with one hand or two. Further distinctions of handshape, palm orientation, location, movement, and nonmanual signals help them pinpoint their search while also refining their grasp of ASL syntax and grammar. A complete English word index provides the option of referring to an alphabetical listing of English terms to locate an equivalent sign or choice of signs. This dictionary features: More than 1,900 sign illustrations, organized by handshape Complete index of English vocabulary for all signs An introduction to Deaf culture and ASL structure The American Sign Language Handshape Dictionary is a one-of-a-kind resource for learning ASL and enhancing communication skills in both ASL and English.
Transliterating: Show Me The English by 
American Sign Language by
Best known as the Green Books, the American Sign Language books provide teachers and students of American Sign Language (ASL) with the complete means for learning about the culture, community, and the native language of Deaf people. A group of 15 ASL teachers and linguists reviewed all five books to ensure that they were accurate and easy to comprehend. The three Student Texts are designed to help students acquire conversational ability in ASL and an awareness and appreciation of deaf people. Each text contains nine instructional units that present major grammatical features of ASL through dialogues, introduce students to the intricate features of ASL structure, and discuss individual grammatical features, with sample drills to reinforce mastery of each one.
What's Your Sign for Pizza? by
Lucas, Valli (both Gallaudet U.) and Bayley (U. of Texas, San Antonio) present materials designed to introduce members of the Deaf community and the general public to the sociolinguistic variation in American Sign Language (ASL). These materials are a part of the resulting products from a seven-year
Master ASL! -- Level One by
Text and DVD combination teaches grammatical competence and communicative skills along with an awareness and sensitivity to the sociocultural patterns and use of American Sign Language.
Master ASL by
While this book is designed to accompany the Master ASL! curriculum, it can be used independently to develop and improve fingerspelling, numbers and glossing skills.
The RCBC Library has many course textbooks on reserve. These books can be reserved for two hours at a time.
You can view which textbooks are available by subject on this guide: