Print books are arranged on the shelf in Library of Congress Call Number order. Each call number begins with an alphanumeric base (e.g., "BF109.J8") that is followed by a cutter and a date of publication (e.g., "A25 1993"). See a librarian if you need assistance.
Call Number Range (where to look on the bookshelves)
Advanced Assessment by
Your essential guide in the assessment and diagnostic process. Step by step, you'll hone your ability to perform effective health assessments, obtain valid data, interpret the findings, and recognize the range of conditions that can be indicated by specific findings to reach an accurate differential diagnosis. You'll have coverage of 170 conditions and symptoms across the lifespan at your fingertips. ***** Powerful little clinical assessment tool!"Book required for graduate nursing course. Didn't disappoint! Especially helpful with formulating the differential diagnoses in the care plan..."--Susan, Online Reviewer ***** Really good organization. Helpful descriptions. Easy to find information."I actually really liked this text for my Advanced Assessment course. I liked how it was broken down by area or body system, and then further broken down my differential diagnosis. The information is organized in a way that makes sense and is super easy to skim to find exactly what you need."--Alexx, Online Reviewer Expanded, Revised & Updated! Thoroughly updated to reflect the art and the science of primary care practice as well as the newest evidence and changes in health care New Chapter!Differential Studies New & Expanded! Content in Chapter 1 on history taking-techniques and skills for special populations Expanded! Lab diagnostics information, as well as discussions of health disparities, cultural humility, and competency New Content! Genetic testing for pharmacologic prescriptions for psychiatric mental health conditions New! Diagnosis algorithm decision trees designed to help nurses assess and diagnose conditions such as chronic sore throat, chronic insomnia, and more Coverage of 170 conditions and symptoms across the life span--including children, older adults, and pregnant patients. Complaint-focused approach organized by body system, including discussions of complex conditions Step-by-step how tos for taking a focused history, performing a physical based on presenting complaints/problems, and interpreting the findings Guidance on selecting diagnostic tests and interpreting those studies to help narrow down the diagnoses Prediction rules for selected disorders Quick-reference features, including red flags Y assessment pearls Y medications causing symptoms Y and selected causes of symptoms
Netter's Infectious Diseases by
Widely used by students, residents, generalists, and specialists, Netter's Infectious Diseases, 2nd Edition delivers must-know information on infectious diseases in a highly illustrated, easily accessible format. Concise visual overviews of essential topics provide a convenient, trustworthy way to review the basics of a given infectious disease or issue or to share with patients or staff. Drs. Elaine Jong and Dennis Stevens cover the basics of this complex field using memorable illustrations by world-renowned artist Frank H. Netter and others, offering a time-saving, authoritative look at infectious diseases life cycles, clinical presentations, and pathophysiology. Covers major conditions and problems such as vaccine-preventable diseases, drug-resistant staph, community acquired pneumonia, surgical infections, pyelonephritis, viral hepatitis, and sexually transmitted infections-and provides updated approaches to diagnosis, treatment, prevention, and standards of care. Includes new clinical vignettes added to most chapters. Provides updated and expanded coverage of emerging infectious diseases such as multidrug resistant tuberculosis (MDR-TB), neuroangiostrongyliasis (rat lungworm disease), Ebola virus, Severe Acute Respiratory Disease (SARS), Middle East Respiratory Syndrome (MERS), Coronavirus Infectious Disease-2019 (COVID-19), and novel influenza viruses including public health concerns. Covers vector-borne diseases including malaria, yellow fever, Zika infections and congenital Zika syndrome, West Nile fever, Lyme disease, tick-borne encephalitis, and Chagas disease plus others. New chapters on travelers' diarrhea, cholera, and primary amebic meningoencephalitis debut in the section on international travel and outdoor activities. Contains memorable parasite life cycles and unforgettable parasite infection clinical vignettes. Features unparalleled illustrations by Drs. Frank H. Netter, Carlos Machado, and others, as well as radiologic images. Provides 24 printable patient education brochures in the enhanced ebook. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Care Planning in Children and Young People's Nursing by
Care Planning in Children and Young People's Nursing Develop a care program to meet a child's individual needs with this essential guide Even seemingly minor decisions can have a significant impact on the early development of a child, so it is essential for children to receive a carefully tailored program designed to meet the needs and concerns of each individual child. The second edition of Care Planning in Children and Young People's Nursing adds significant scope and material to the already vital first edition. Taking a child, young person and family-centred approach, it offers a comprehensive and accessible discussion of care planning with continuous reference to core principles and nursing values. This new edition continues to be a fundamental resource for the planning and execution of high-quality nursing care for children and young people. Readers of the second edition will also find: Detailed case scenarios designed to cultivate discussion and produce greater competence Increased emphasis on the voices of children and young people In-depth discussion of care planning for specific conditions including new chapters on Sickle Cell Disease, Mental Health and Wellbeing of Children and Young People, Transition from Children's to Adults' Services, and more Care Planning in Children and Young People's Nursing is a must-have for children's nurses or for any nursing professionals involved in the care of children and young people.
Lippincott Nursing Procedures by
Confidently provide best practices in patient care, with the newly updated Lippincott® Nursing Procedures, 9th Edition. More than 400 entries offer detailed, evidence-based guidance on procedures ranging from the most basic patient care to assisting with intricate surgeries. The alphabetical organization allows you to quickly look up any procedure by name, and benefit from the clear, concise, step-by-step direction of nursing experts. Whether you're a nursing student, are new to nursing, or are a seasoned practitioner, this is your go-to guide to the latest in expert care and positive outcomes. Ensure a high level of nursing expertise with this practical, quick-reference guide. This edition offers: NEW entries with evidence-based direction on: Ankle-brachial index calculation Biohazardous waste handling Cultural assessment Elastomeric pump use Hazardous drug preparation and handling Hazardous drug spill management Nasal decolonization Opioid withdrawal management Post-traumatic stress disorder assessment Prone positioning for the awake patient Sepsis emergency patient care Wound photography Colored letter tabs at the top of each page that allow quick-and-easy locating of any entry Full-color photos and diagrams that illustrate procedure steps with a quick-read, bulleted format that walks you through each procedure Practices based on clinical evidence--recent studies supporting best practices are cited Colorful, eye-catching special alerts: Nursing Alerts - Potentially dangerous actions or clinically significant findings related to a procedure Pediatric Alerts - Special precautions to take while treating infants, young children, and adolescents Elder Alerts - Elder patient special needs Hospital-Acquired Condition Alerts - Conditions the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services have identified as events that may occur during hospitalization Procedures presented in a structured how-to format: Equipment - Types of equipment needed for procedure Preparation of equipment - Guidance on preparing any needed equipment for procedure Implementation - Step-by-step guidance for performing procedure Special considerations - Factors to keep in mind that can affect the procedure Troubleshooting - Methods for troubleshooting equipment issues, with step-by-step interventions Patient teaching - Helpful tips, reminders, and follow-up instructions before patient discharge Complications - Procedure-related complications to watch for Documentation - Everything needed to document the procedure fully
Reflective Practice in Nursing by
Reflective practice enables nursing students to make sense of, and learn from, the experiences they have each day and if nurtured properly can provide skills that they will come to rely on throughout their nursing careers. Using clear language and insightful examples, scenarios and case studies, the new fourth edition of this bestselling book shows readers what reflection is, why it is so important and how they can use it to improve their nursing practice. Key features include: *All chapters linked to the new 2018 NMC standards of proficiency for registered nurses *Updated learning features such as activities and case studies to help students apply the theory to practice.
Nursing interventions classification (NIC) by
Select nursing interventions with the book that standardizes nursing language! Nursing Interventions Classification (NIC), 8th Edition provides a research-based clinical tool to help you choose appropriate interventions. It standardizes and defines the knowledge base for nursing practice as it communicates the nature of nursing. More than 610 nursing interventions are described - from general practice to all specialty areas. From an expert author team led by Cheryl Wagner, this book is an ideal tool for practicing nurses and nursing students, educators seeking to enhance nursing curricula, and nursing administrators seeking to improve patient care. It's the only comprehensive taxonomy of nursing-sensitive interventions available!
614 research-based nursing intervention labels - with 60 new to this edition - are included, along with specific activities used to carry out interventions.
Specialty core interventions are provided for 57 specialties.
Descriptions of each intervention include a definition, a list of activities, a publication facts line, and references.
NEW! 60 interventions are added to this edition, including several related to the care of patients with COVID considerations.
UPDATED! Approximately 220 existing interventions have been revised.
Ackley and Ladwig's Nursing Diagnosis Handbook by
Create individualized nursing care plans with ease and confidence! Ackley and Ladwig's Nursing Diagnosis Handbook, 13th Edition uses an easy, three-step system to guide you through client assessment, nursing diagnosis, and care planning. Step-by-step instructions show how to implement care and evaluate outcomes, and help you build skills in diagnostic reasoning and critical thinking. To make care planning easier, this handbook allows you to look up nursing diagnoses and care plans for more than 1450 client symptoms, as well as interventions from NIC (Nursing Interventions Classification) and outcomes from NOC (Nursing Outcomes Classification). Edited by noted nursing educators Mary Beth Flynn Makic and Marina Reyna Martinez-Kratz, this reference provides everything you need to write nursing care plans in just one book! Easy-to-follow Sections I and II guide you through the nursing process and selection of appropriate nursing diagnoses. Step-by-step instructions show how to use the Guide to Nursing Diagnoses and Guide to Planning Care sections to create a unique, individualized plan of care. UNIQUE! Care plans are provided for each NANDA-International© (NANDA-I©) -approved nursing diagnosis. Evolve website includes a care plan template, case studies, review questions, and more! Evidence-based interventions and rationales include research studies and references supporting the use of each intervention. Examples of and suggested NIC interventions and NOC outcomes are presented in each care plan. Quality and safety content emphasizes what must be considered to provide safe patient care, and includes QSEN content in Section I. Pediatric, geriatric, multicultural, and home care interventions are included as appropriate for plans of care. Index of NANDA-I© Diagnoses on the inside back cover of the book provides quick reference to page numbers. Alphabetical thumb tabs allow quick access to specific symptoms and nursing diagnoses. NEW! Updated content is based on the 2021-2023 NANDA-I©-approved nursing diagnoses and reflects new diagnoses, revised diagnoses, and retired diagnoses. NEW! Updated nursing diagnoses include class and domain information as consistent with the current NANDA-I.
NANDA International Nursing Diagnoses by
The quintessential guide to nursing diagnoses from NANDA-I experts in new updated edition Fully updated and revised by editors T. Heather Herdman, Shigemi Kamitsuru, and Camila Takáo Lopes, NANDA International Nursing Diagnoses: Definitions and Classification, 2021-2023, 12th Edition is the definitive guide to nursing diagnoses, as reviewed and approved by the NANDA International (NANDA-I) Diagnosis Development Committee (DDC). In this new edition of a seminal text, the editors have revised all introductory chapters, providing critical information needed for nurses to understand assessment, its link to diagnosis and clinical reasoning, and the purpose and use of taxonomic structure for nurses at the bedside. Researchers will also find new recommendations to improve the terminology. Additional Key Updates 46 new nursing diagnoses and 67 revised diagnoses Changes to 17 nursing diagnosis labels, ensuring they are consistent with current literature and reflect a human response Refinement of the vast majority of the nursing diagnosis related/risk factors Standardization of diagnostic indicator terms (defining characteristics, related factors, risk factors) to further aid clarity for students and clinicians Coding of all terms for those using electronic versions of the terminology Web-based resources include reference lists for new and revised diagnoses New chapter on revised Level of Evidence Criteria for diagnosis submission Rigorously updated and revised, the new edition of this acclaimed text is a must-have resource for all nursing students, professional nurses, nurse educators, nurse informaticists, nurse researchers, and nurse administrators. This book includes complimentary access to a digital copy on https://medone.thieme.com.
Swearingen's all-in-one nursing care planning resource : medical-surgical, pediatric, maternity, and psychiatric-mental health by
With more than 100 evidence-based, customizable care plans, Swearingen’s All-in-One Nursing Care Planning Resource: Medical-Surgical, Pediatric, Maternity, and Psychiatric-Mental Health is an easy-to-use, curriculum-wide reference to guide the development of patient-centered nursing care plans. The only nursing care planning reference book that covers all four core clinical areas, it features care plans for medical-surgical, maternity/OB, pediatrics, and psychiatric‒mental health to help you learn to care for patients in any setting. The interprofessional patient problems focus teaches you how to communicate patient problems using the standard terminology of the health professions rather than in nursing-specific language. Safety icons highlight assessments and interventions that focus on safety measures supported by national patient safety standards and goals. Care plans have been updated throughout to reflect the latest evidence-based treatment guidelines and protocols. Care plan components are now labeled as appropriate with the six cognitive skills identified in the National Council of State Boards of Nursing (NCSBN) Clinical Judgment Measurement Model (CJMM) to help you identify, develop, and implement the clinical judgment skills needed for success on the Next-Generation NCLEX® Exam (NGN) and in clinical practice. With new care plans on Infection, Breastfeeding, and Delirium, a clear, focused approach, an easy-to-use format, and straightforward rationales, this one book will meet your care planning needs throughout your entire nursing program and into clinical practice! -- Provided by publisher.
Ulrich and Canale's Nursing Care Planning Guides, 8th Edition Revised Reprint with 2021-2023 NANDA-I® Updates by
Confidently plan individualized care for clients in acute care, extended care, and home care environments with Ulrich & Canale's Nursing Care Planning Guides: Prioritization, Delegation, and Clinical Reasoning, 8th Edition. This in-depth nursing care planning guide features 31 detailed nursing diagnosis care plans and 63 disease/disorder care plans that are keyed to specific expected outcomes and interventions. With updated content and the most recent NANDA-I(R) nursing diagnoses, NIC(R) interventions, and NOC(R) outcomes, it reflects the latest nursing taxonomies and evidence-treatment protocols. You'll also receive access to a popular Online Care Planner that allows you to edit and print standardized nursing diagnosis care plans.The most in-depth care plans of any nursing care planning book foster clinical reasoning and promote effective clinical decision-making.31 nursing diagnosis care plans provide detailed interventions with rationales and documentation guidelines for the most common NANDA-I(R) nursing diagnoses.63 in-depth disease/disorder care plans serve as a complete reference for the most common disorders in acute care, extended care, and home care settings.UNIQUE Care plan format with a focus on prioritized nursing interventions, interventions that can be delegated, and documentation criteria, as well as differentiation between independent and collaborative nursing actions, provides a comprehensive and practical care planning tool.Online Care Planner on Evolve allows you to customize each of the 31 nursing diagnosis care plans.In-depth patient teaching content, with each disorder care plan, concluding with a Deficient Knowledge diagnosis with extensive discharge teaching information, serves as a guideline for planning client education.A complete discussion of caring for older adult clients and changes that occur with aging helps you understand the unique considerations of caring for this growing population group.Nursing and collaborative diagnoses are linked to actions and rationales.Animations, additional care plans, and skills videos on Evolve offer additional help in care planning.Body system organization makes content easy to locate.NEW and UNIQUE A completely new chapter on nursing-sensitive indicators features care plans devoted to measures and indicators that reflect the structure, processes and outcomes of nursing care (American Nurses Association, 2004), as well as financial implications for healthcare organizations.NEW The most recent NANDA-I(R) nursing diagnoses, NIC(R) interventions, and NOC(R) outcomes reflect the most up-to-date nursing taxonomies.NEW Updated content throughout reflects the latest evidence-treatment protocols and national and international guidelines.
Care Plans in Reality by
Shiree White is an author, nurse, wife, mother, inventor and entrepreneur. She has an adult son and a two year old. She brought up her adult son single handedly whilst going to college and university to achieve her nursing qualification. She now works part-time as a nurse to spend more time caring for her two year old Xavier. She believes that her gift stems from carrying these two boys e.g. in high school she liked Mathematics more than English and she would never read a book from start to finish. Whilst being pregnant with her first child, her cousin took her to the charity shop and bought her several novels. She was ecstatic when she read her first book from cover to cover then she kept reading. This led to her pursuing a career in nursing rather than accounting. Ok, with Xavi she got deep into playing card games. The night before delivering Xavier while in hospital she played cards with her husband and older son before going off to sleep. Few months later whilst watching a morning television programme she heard the presenter telling the guest that it would be amazing to find a way to make the times tables easier. This led to her developing the Multiply-tt Maths Card Game. She feels as though she is a hard working nurse who is passionate about caring for others. Her goal in life is to keep helping. She was born in Jamaica and now she lives in the United Kingdom. She feels as though she has experienced real rough times starting life in the UK and wants anyone out there that would like to write her story to get in touch.
Clinical Reasoning Cases in Nursing by
Learn to make sound clinical nursing judgments with the concept-based, case study approach in Harding & Snyder's Clinical Reasoning Cases in Nursing, 8th Edition. Awarded second place in the 2019 AJN Book of the Year Awards in the Medical-Surgical category, this time-tested case study resource is highly regarded for its clinically relevant and thought-provoking cases. Approximately150 true-to-life case studies cover all four clinical practice areas - medical-surgical, pediatric, OB/maternity, and psychiatric-mental health nursing - all organized to facilitate a conceptual approach to teaching and learning. Each case covers a common patient problem drawn from actual clinical experiences and written by nurses who are clinical experts and includes a strong focus on interprofessional collaboration competencies. Cases include integrated content on pharmacology, nutrition, and diagnostic/laboratory tests to encourage you to think critically about all aspects of patient care. The 8th edition has been updated throughout to reflect the most current standards of clinical practice, including readiness for practice in the COVID-19 era. Also new to this edition, concepts and terminology related to the Next Generation NCLEX® Exam (NGN) are introduced in the Preface and integrated throughout to help you prepare for the new exam. Approximately 150 case studies draw from actual clinical experiences in medical-surgical, pediatric, OB/maternity, and psychiatric-mental health clinical areas to help you learn to think clinically, prioritize, and deliver proactive nursing care. UNIQUE! Concept-based organization mirrors the growing popularity of concept-based curricula and conceptual approaches to teaching and learning in nursing education. Clinical judgment approach helps you learn to identify changes, anticipate possible complications, and initiate therapeutic interventions. Progressive case complexity builds on previous learning to help you gradually develop clinical judgment skills. Strong QSEN safety emphasis is highlighted with an icon to communicate "caution" or "safety." Icons identify questions that resemble new NCLEX-RN® item types. Strong emphasis on sepsis and antibiotic resistance addresses the growing problem of sepsis (a recent Joint Commission "core measure") and antibiotic resistance, where appropriate. UNIQUE! Concepts and terminology related to the Next Generation NCLEX® Exam (NGN) are introduced in the Preface and integrated throughout to help you prepare for the new exam. All questions for the NGN are highlighted with a special icon for quick reference. UPDATED! Content reflects the latest evidence-based clinical practice, including national and international treatment guidelines and the latest guidelines for COVID-19 and other infectious diseases. NEW! Additional case studies and expanded content in key areas includes breastfeeding, obstetric emergency (umbilical cord prolapse or abruptio placentae) with emergency C-section, sickle cell pain crisis, and head/neck trauma with tracheostomy. Expanded pharmacology content reflects the importance of a clear understanding of drug therapy on patient safety. Additional illustrations and expanded use of image-related question types visually reinforce the material, while also promoting clinical utility and patient diversity in a sensitive and clinically relevant way. Enhanced interprofessional collaboration content emphasizes the importance of identifying opportunities for collaboration with other health professions.
Ross and Wilson Anatomy and Physiology in Health and Illness by
Now in its fourteenth edition, this best-selling textbook has been honed over many years to provide a clear, straightforward introduction to the human body for students of nursing, allied health or biomedical and paramedical science. The book covers the core essentials of anatomy and physiology, including basic pathology and pathophysiology of important diseases and disorders. This new edition presents additional illustrations to enhance understanding of key concepts, including pathophysiology and diagnostics. Included for the first time is an introduction to surface anatomy, while other updating reflects current scientific knowledge and developments, including coronavirus. Enhanced learning features and an extensive online resource help you grasp all the important areas. Like millions of readers before you, you will treasure Ross & Wilson as a go-to resource that you will refer to time and again to support this critical aspect of your healthcare education. Clear and easy to read - suitable for students new to the area and anyone whose first language is not English Hundreds of stunning illustrations and images to make learning easy Helpful learning features such as Learning Outcomes boxes, colour coding and orientation icons to facilitate navigation Definitions of common prefixes, suffixes and roots, examples, glossary and an appendix of normal biological values Self-assessment activities in each chapter, including 'spot check' questions for each section and case studies with answers to develop understanding of key principles Accompanying website with animations, videos, audio-glossary and other self-assessment material Evolve Study Resources Online content offered with Ross & Wilson Anatomy and Physiology in Health and Illness 14th edition includes: New for this edition - a set of expert-narrated 3D videos summarizing key topics in the book, powered by Complete Anatomy: the world's most advanced 3D anatomy platform Over 120 animations clarifying underlying principles and make learning fun More than 1700 audio glossary entries Body Spectrum © online colouring and self-test software Self-assessment questions to help students test their knowledge
Understanding Person-Centred Care for Nursing Associates by
Understanding how to deliver effective, person-centred care is vital for a future career as a Nursing Associate. In this book, trainee nursing associates are introduced to the principles of person-centred care, with case studies from a variety of healthcare settings and guidance on caring for different patient groups, from acute care to long-term and palliative care. This allows TNAs to see how the theory can be directly applied to their daily practice, regardless of where they work. The book also covers key issues in relation to providing care, such as inclusivity, ethics, legal issues, and health inequalities. Key features: Fully mapped to the new NMC standards of proficiency for nursing associates (2018) Case studies, activities and other learning features help TNAs understand the theory and apply it to practice Designed around a Nursing Associate course, this book demonstrates how person-centred care feeds into each core module ABOUT THE SERIES: The Understanding Nursing Associate Practice series (UNAP) is a new collection of books uniquely designed to support trainee Nursing Associates throughout their training and into a professional career.
If you're interested in finding ebooks only, head to Ebook Central. To log in, use the barcode located on the back of your student ID and your pin number. You have the option to download ebooks to a device, but we strongly recommend reading them online to take advantage of the full suite of available tools. Create a personal account using your Library barcode and PIN to manage and organize your ebook reading and research.
Not a complete listing of holdings. Check Ebook Central or eBook Collection or ask a librarian for help!