Print books are arranged on the shelf in Library of Congress Call Number order. Each call number begins with an alphanumeric base (e.g., "BF109.J8") that is followed by a cutter and a date of publication (e.g., "A25 1993"). See a librarian if you need assistance.
Call Number Range (where to look on the bookshelves)
Basics of the U. S. Health Care System by
Basics of the U.S. Health Care System, Fourth Edition provides a broad, fundamental introduction to the workings of the U.S. healthcare industry. Engaging and activities-oriented, the text offers an accessible overview of the major concepts of healthcare operations, the role of government, public and private financing, as well as ethical and legal issues.Each chapter features review exercises and internet resources that make studying this complex industry both enjoyable and stimulating. Students of various disciplines--including healthcare administration, business, nursing, public health, and others--will discover a practical guide that prepares them for professional opportunities in this rapidly growing sector.Thoroughly updated, the Fourth Edition now includes:- Updated data throughout, including four new Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD) data dashboards on risk factors of health.- New material on the social determinants of health and prevention activities including quaternary prevention, organizational risk factors for workplace violence, dealing with active shooter situations, social media marketing, and more.- New chapter (6) on Long-term Care Services.- Expanded chapter (8) on health care finance that integrates Affordable Care Act and features a new discussion of chronic disease prevention and improving public health and transparency as it relates to healthcare expenditures.- New discussion of innovations in health care technology including mobile health, HIEs and RHIOS, Blockchain technology, and IBM Watson; and an expanded section on telemedicine.- In depth analysis of ACA legal issues and new discussion on cultural competency.- Access to Navigate 2 online learning materials, which include a comprehensive and interactive eBook, student practice activities and assessments, learning analytics reporting tools, and more.
Rowan College of Burlington County's Library has an agreement with the Burlington County Library System (BCLS) that allows our students to check out physical books from the BCLS system with their RCBC Library barcode. BCLS books can also be requested to be delivered to the RCBC Library for patron pickup and BCLS books can be returned to the RCBC Library.
Medicare for Dummies by
Medicare made simple Medicare brings valuable benefits to more than 58 million people and growing, but most of us don't even know the basics of how Medicare can work best for us. That's where Medicare For Dummies, 4th Edition comes in, explaining how this complex system functions and helping you confidently navigate your way through the maze to get the most out of your coverage. This indispensable resource untangles Medicare in friendly, straightforward language. Step by step, you'll learn when and how to enroll, ways to avoid costly mistakes, and how to find the plan that brings the most benefit to you and your family. Reduce out-of-pocket expenses Know your rights and protections Choose the best policy for you Using this reassuring and comprehensive guide, you'll be able to get the answers to all your questions, find guidance on how to act--and then get on with getting the benefits you need.
Social Security Handbook 2020 by
The Social Security Handbook: Overview of Social Security Programs, 2019 provides information about Social Security programs and services, and identifies rights and obligations under the Social Security laws. The completely updated Handbook, organized by section number, is a readable, easy-to-understand reference for comprehending complex Social Security programs and services and contains information on several topics relevant to Social Security policies: -How Social Security programs are administered -Who is and isn't covered under retirement, survivors, disability, and hospital insurance programs -Who is responsible for submitting the necessary evidence to support a claim -How claims are processed by the Social Security office -What Social Security benefits are owed to you -How to obtain information about your rights under Social Security policy The Handbook is designed to help users understand the gray areas of the Social Security Act, and to provide critical information about rights and obligations under Social Security laws. The Handbook outlines how to: -Protect your benefits and avoid benefit loss; -Monitor government agencies and get information about policy changes that will affect your benefits; -Make the most of hospital and Medicare coverage; -Determine the amount of benefits that are subject to federal income taxes; -Check Social Security earnings and benefits; and -Get up-to-date news about future Social Security programs and services.
If you're interested in finding ebooks only, head to Ebook Central. To log in, use the barcode located on the back of your student ID and your pin number. You have the option to download ebooks to a device, but we strongly recommend reading them online to take advantage of the full suite of available tools. Create a personal account using your Library barcode and PIN to manage and organize your ebook reading and research.
Not a complete listing of holdings. Check Ebook Central or eBook Collection or ask a librarian for help!
The Healthcare Quality Book by
Instructor Resources: Test bank, PowerPoint summaries, and teaching aids for each chapter, including answers to the end-of-chapter study questions. Every healthcare organization is on its own unique journey, but each one needs a road map to a common destination--quality. Improving the quality of care is an essential strategy for surviving--and thriving--in today's demanding healthcare environment. The Healthcare Quality Book: Vision, Strategy, and Tools provides the framework, strategies, and practical tactics that all healthcare leaders need as they learn, implement, and manage quality improvement efforts. With chapters by a group of leading contributors with significant expertise and breadth of experience, the book offers a detailed exploration of the components of quality, while incorporating techniques to continuously improve and transform healthcare organizations. The book is organized into four parts. Part I establishes the foundation for healthcare quality and examines the history of the quality movement. Part II speaks in depth about tools, measures, and their applications in the pursuit of quality. Part III focuses on the intersection of leadership and culture--which is central to the pursuit of quality and safety. Part IV concludes the book with a series of chapters that discuss many of the emerging trends that are shaping the contemporary quality landscape. Building on the success of the first three editions, this new edition has been significantly redeveloped and reimagined, with content strategically refined to focus on what is most essential for healthcare managers. It features new and expanded information on: Community health quality improvementQuality measures and leadershipProvider profiling and registriesCulture-of-safety and high-reliability organizingHealth information technology The Healthcare Quality Book is designed to be both an instructional guide and a conversation starter for all students of healthcare quality--all healthcare professionals, current and future.
Healthcare Quality Management by
Healthcare Quality Management: A Case Study Approach is the first comprehensive case-based text combining essential quality management knowledge with real-world scenarios. With in-depth healthcare quality management case studies, tools, activities, and discussion questions, the text will help build the competencies needed to succeed in quality management.Written in an easy-to-read style, Part One of the textbook introduces students to fundamentals of quality management, including history, culture, and different quality management philosophies, such as Lean and Six Sigma. Part One additionally explains the A3 problem-solving template, used to follow the Plan Do Study Act (PDSA) or Define, Measure, Analyze, Improve and Control (DMAIC) cycles, that guide your completion of the problem-solving exercises found in Part Two. The bulk of the textbook includes realistic and engaging case studies featuring common quality management problems encountered in a variety of healthcare settings. The case studies feature engaging scenarios, descriptions, opinions, charts, and data, covering such contemporary topics as provider burnout, artificial intelligence, the opioid overdose epidemic, among many more. Serving as a powerful replacement to more theory-based quality management textbooks, Healthcare Quality Management provides context to challenging situations encountered by any healthcare manager, including the health administrator, nurse, physician, social worker, or allied health professional. KEY FEATURES: 25 Realistic Case Studies - Explore challenging Process Improvement, Patient Experience, Patient Safety, and Performance Improvement quality management scenarios set in various healthcare settings Diverse Author Team - Combines the expertise and knowledge of a health management educator, a Chief Nursing Officer at a large regional hospital, and a health system-based Certified Lean Expert Podcasts - Listen to quality management experts share stories and secrets on how to succeed, work in teams, and apply tools to solve problems Quality Management Tools - Grow your quality management skillset with 25 separate quality management tools and approaches tied to the realistic case studies Competency-based Education Support - Match case studies to professional competencies, such as analytical skills, community collaboration, and interpersonal relations, using case-to-competency crosswalks for health administration, nursing, medicine, and the interprofessional team eBook Access - Included with the print purchase so you can continue your studies on the go on mobile devices and computers Comprehensive Instructor's Packet - Includes PPTs, extensive Excel data sets, an Instructor's Manual with completed A3 problem-solving solutions for each Case Application Exercise, and more!
Health Insurance, Third Edition by
Health insurance is the machinery that makes the financing of the US health system run. But what's going on under the hood? Health Insurance helps readers learn the underlying assumptions, facts, and variables that drive decision-making and choices on the payer side. Picking up where introductory economics courses often leave off, the book presents the foundational economic principles of health insurance to clarify insurance-related policy and management issues. Author Michael A. Morrisey clearly explains complex concepts such as adverse selection, moral hazard, managed care, and employer-sponsored health insurance. Also addressed are risk adjustment, demand, health savings accounts, selective contracting, the diversity of health insurance markets, and the functioning of Medicare and Medicaid. The book is distinguished by its in-depth discussion of research in health insurance, both cutting edge and classic. This third edition has been substantially revised to reflect the rapid evolution of the healthcare field stemming from the Affordable Care Act (ACA). Throughout, the most recent available data is used. Though health insurance has been a major player in the American healthcare system for decades, it's hardly static. This new edition of Health Insurance keeps pace with the changes, while also offering a thorough foundation on the basics.
Health Policy, Power and Politics by
In the context of substantial changes in health service policy and public health policy in England over the last two decades, Health Policy, Power and Politicsfills an important gap by providing an up-to-date and accessible account of recent trends in health policies and a sociological analysis of why these policies have taken the shape they have. This book provides a theoretically informed analysis of key recent policy changes in England and how the interplay of powerful structural interests has influenced policy in health. It includes chapters on recent reforms in the NHS and the drift towards privatisation, policies aimed at enhancing public and patient involvement, the regulation of the drug industry, medicalisation and mental health policy, the role and effect of the media and recent changes in social and environmental health policy. The analysis examines the influence of the State, professional medicine, the media, commercial interests such as those of the pharmaceutical, food and fossil fuel industries, patient's groups and the wider global environment. While the key focus of the book is on England, the analysis drawn on by the author comes from a plethora of policy examples in health systems in high and low to middle income countries across the world. This widened context shines a light on the influence of globalisation and highlights both the distinctive character of health policy in England, as well as the common themes it shares in a world-wide context.
Jonas' Introduction to the U.S. Health Care System, Ninth Edition by
Note to Readers: Publisher does not guarantee quality or access to any included digital components if book is purchased through a third-party seller. This revised ninth edition of the best-selling introductory text to the U.S. health care system is fully updated to reflect changes to health care services, delivery, and financing resulting from new policies affecting the Affordable Care Act (ACA). Valued for its concise and balanced survey of the U.S. health care system, this book describes how the American health care system currently functions, the major factors that led to its present day structure, and a forecasting of how the industry is likely to change over the course of the next few years. This practical text highlights an array of influences shaping the future of health care, such as the use of big data and analytics, new policies and trends tied to pharmaceuticals and medical devices, and innovations to mental health and substance abuse. With an emphasis on policy development, the authors underscore the fluidity of the system and examine the debates and conflicts that have shaped health care changes and influenced American values and belief systems. This accessible text defines the most essential elements of the health care system, including its components, organization, services, and financing. An ideal text for undergraduate courses, graduate survey courses, and courses introducing the subject to medical students, it describes the ongoing evolution of the system, taking into consideration future directions given proposed changes to the ACA and other health laws by Congress, the Trump administration, and the political landscape in general. Organized to facilitate an understanding of concepts at work, Jonas’ Introduction to the U.S. Health Care System equips public health and health administration students as well as medical, nursing, and allied health professionals with a deeper understanding of the field in which they will practice, so they can position themselves to navigate upcoming changes that affect health care quality, value, and access. New to the Ninth Edition: Updated to address changes to health care services, delivery, and financing in the United States An expanded section on future trends in health care A full description of the health care reform politics under the Obama and Trump administrations and those being promoted in political campaigns New chapter on medicines, devices, and health care technology Increased coverage of mental health and substance abuse, long-term care, and other institutionalized populations Digital ancillaries include access to the eBook, an annual update on U.S. health policy, and new student exercises utilizing publicly available data Key Features: The most concise and balanced introduction to the U.S. health care system Provides a framework for examining how each structure and stakeholder within the health system interacts and how changes to policy would affect them Numerous cartoons, graphs, and tables break up the text and serve as meaningful context with pertinent data Each chapter utilizes learning objectives and discussion questions to guide student reading Includes a full suite of Instructor ancillaries including an Instructor’s Manual, PowerPoints, Test Bank, and other exercises
The Law of Healthcare Administration, Ninth Edition by
A hacker accesses the medical records of more than 250,000 patients in a hospital-based clinic. Despite being counseled not to, staff in a psychiatric unit continually refer to a transgender boy using feminine pronouns, causing him acute depression and leading to his suicide. Citing moral objections and fearing prosecution, a physician refuses to prescribe lethal medication for a terminally ill cancer patient who wants to end her suffering. These kinds of situations don't just shock us with their drama; they also present serious legal challenges that healthcare leaders must be equipped to deal with. The Law of Healthcare Administration helps readers think through the issues, applying current legal principles and relevant judicial decisions. Author J. Stuart Showalter surveys the pressing issues that have resulted from two centuries of US policy, court decisions, and regulation. He writes from a management perspective, emphasizing a practical understanding of legal concepts, in a style that is clear and accessible to readers without a legal background. The ninth edition retains this authoritative book's many absorbing sidebars, surprising court records, and challenging discussion questions that have made it so engaging to past readers. The Law of Healthcare Administration prepares future leaders for the many legal challenges their institutions will likely face.