This page lists all of the textbooks on reserve for courses in the Health Sciences meta major.
For resources other than reserved textbooks, check out the Lib Guides for your course. Don't see yours? Ask the RCBC Library to make one! Email library@rcbc.edu.
What you need:
Loan Period: 2 Hours
NOTE: the library currently does not have any access to online textbooks
Need assistance? Contact us during our operating hours!
Our normal operating hours are:
Please check the RCBC Library homepage for closings and extended hours.
Illustrated Anatomy of the Head and Neck by
Featuring a robust collection of full-color illustrations and photographs, Illustrated Anatomy of the Head and Neck, 4th Edition, provides a complete look at head and neck anatomy, with an emphasis on the specific anatomy of the temporomandibular joint (TMJ). Chapters are organized by anatomical systems, including one covering the anatomical basis of local anesthesia and another on the spread of dental infection. Written by educators Margaret Fehrenbach and Susan Herring, this edition adds new illustrations and cutting-edge, evidence-based information on topics such as caries risk, periodontal disease, local anesthesia administration, and infection control. Combine this book with Illustrated Dental Embryology, Histology, and Anatomy, and you will gain the basic scientific knowledge needed for everyday clinical dental practice. Comprehensive coverage provides a solid foundation in head and neck anatomy, with in-depth discussion of the TMJ and its role in dental health and additional material on the anatomy of local anesthesia and the spread of dental infection. Approachable writing style presents cutting-edge content and the latest evidence-based information in a way that may be easily grasped and applied. More than 400 full-color illustrations and clinical photographs show models and patients within a clinical setting. 28 removable color flashcards offer on-the-go study, with key images on one side and corresponding labels on the back. Identification exercises in each chapter ask you to label the different structures to test your knowledge of anatomy. Multiple-choice review questions in each chapter include a mixture of knowledge- and application-based content, and prepare you for the national board examinations in dental assisting and dental hygiene. Easy-to-read tables and boxes summarize concepts and procedures. Key terms begin each chapter, accompanied by phonetic pronunciations, and are highlighted within the chapter. Learning objectives open each chapter with goals to be accomplished, also serve as checkpoints for comprehension, skills mastery, and study tools in preparation for examinations. A glossary offers quick and handy access to all the key terms and definitions used in the book. Updated content includes evidence-based information on hot topics such as caries risk, periodontal disease, local anesthesia administration, and infection control. NEW! Additional full-color illustrations and photographs support text descriptions and help ensure complete comprehension. Updated review questions are included in every chapter to correlate with new content. A companion Evolve website offers more practice with case studies, image identification, and flashcards.
Illustrated Anatomy of the Head and Neck by
Get the thorough understanding of head and neck anatomy needed to perform dental examinations and procedures! Illustrated Anatomy of the Head and Neck, 6th Edition provides complete coverage of oral biology and anatomy, with special emphasis on the anatomy of the temporomandibular joint (TMJ). Chapters are organized by body systems, and include coverage of the administration of local anesthesia and the spread of dental infection. Detailed images and a focus on clinical considerations make it easier to apply concepts to everyday dental practice. Written by noted educators Margaret J. Fehrenbach and Susan W. Herring, this book prepares you for success on certification exams and as a dental professional. Comprehensive, easy-to-understand coverage provides a solid foundation in head and neck anatomy with in-depth discussion of the TMJ, the spread of infection, and the anatomy of local anesthesia. About 400 full-color images include detailed and clearly labeled anatomic illustrations, skull photographs, and clinical images. Full-color format includes a clear depiction of the oral cavity and related gross anatomy. Key terminology is highlighted within the text and defined in a handy, back-of-book glossary. Expert authors Margaret J. Fehrenbach and Susan W. Herring provide knowledge that is useful in both classroom and clinical settings. Learning resources on the Evolve companion website reinforce your understanding with review questions and quizzes. NEW! Evidence-based research covers brain tissue layers and local anesthesia target areas. NEW! Coverage of the underlying relationship to patient systemic and oral conditions includes topics such as strokes, fractures, serious dental infections, and facial paralysis. NEW! Imaging techniques are updated with the latest protocols and guidelines. NEW! Clinical Considerations link more of the content to practical application. NEW! Easier-to-use pronunciation guide and updated structure mapping are tied to chapter objectives and to the CDA and NBDHE test blueprints. NEW! Student workbook reinforces learning with a wealth of practice opportunities such as review questions, identification exercises, case studies, and flash cards. Available separately.
Radiographic Interpretation for the Dental Hygienist by
Give your students the most comprehensive, thorough education on radiographic interpretation! Speifically tailored for the dental hygienist, this text arms your students with the skills to recognize and accurately interpret radiographs. Unique in its depth and breadth of coverage,, RADIOGRAPHIC INTERPRETATION FOR THE DENTAL HYGIENIST uses line drawings and dental radiographs to illustrate restorations, dental materials and foreign objects, dental caries, periodontal disease, trauma, pulpal and periapical lesions and more. Also covers film mounting and viewing, film exposure, processing, and technique errors. Heavily illustrated sections strongly emphasize normal anatomy on periapical and panoramic films - so students will easily recognize abnormalities!
Darby and Walsh Dental Hygiene by
Back and better than ever, Darby and Walsh's Dental Hygiene: Theory and Practice, 5th Edition offers everything you need to succeed in your coursework, at certification, and in clinical practice. No other dental hygiene text incorporates the clinical skills, theory, and evidence-based practice in such an approachable way. All discussions - from foundational concepts to diagnosis to pain management - are presented within the context of a unique patient-centered model that takes the entire person into consideration. New to this fifth edition is a much more streamlined approach - one that stays focused on need-to-know information, yet also houses expanded content on things like alternative practice settings, pediatric care, risk assessment, and dental hygiene diagnosis to give you added context when needed. This edition is also filled with new modern illustrations and new clinical photos to augment your learning. If you want a better grasp of all the dental hygienist's roles and responsibilities in today's practice, they Darby and Walsh's renowned text is a must-have. Focus on research and evidence-base practice provide proven findings and practical applications for topics of interest in modern dental hygiene care. Step-by-step procedure boxes with accompanying illustrations, clinical photos, and rationales outline the equipment required and the steps involved in performing key procedures. Critical thinking exercises, cases, and scenarios help hone your application and problem-solving skills. Feature boxes highlight patient education, law, ethics, and safety. UNIQUE! Discussions of theory provide a solid foundation for practice. Key terms are called out within chapters and defined in glossary with cross-references to chapters. Practice quizzes enable you to self-assess your understanding. NEW! Streamlined approach focuses on the information you need to know along with the practical applications. NEW! Added content covers alternative practice settings, new infection control guidelines, pediatric care, risk assessment, dental hygiene diagnosis, the electronic health record (EHR), and more. NEW! Modern illustrations and updated clinical photos give you a better picture of how to perform essential skills and utilize clinical technology. NEW! Online procedures videos guide you step-by-step through core clinical skills. NEW! Editorial team brings a fresh perspective and more than 30 years of experience in dental hygiene education, practice, and research.
Dental Radiography by
Set yourself up for success with this must-have oral radiography text. Dental Radiography: Principles and Techniques gives you a comprehensive foundation for the safe, effective use of radiation in the modern dental office. This combination textbook and training manual features easy-to-understand content combined with step-by-step techniques and a stellar art program to help you apply what you've learned to practice. Plus, new content focuses on pediatrics and the latest in digital and three-dimensional technology! Comprehensive coverage offers all the information you need to know to prepare for board exams. Step-by-step procedures help ensure technique mastery and serve as a valuable reference tool. Technique Tips help you to recognize and prevent the most common performance pitfalls. Quiz questions provide valuable self-assessment of important concepts. Key terminology is highlighted in chapter discussions and defined in a back-of-book glossary. Learning objectives and chapter summaries serve as goal-setting study tools. EXPANDED! Content on pediatrics/adolescents, digital imaging, and three-dimensional radiography ensures that you're prepared to practice in the modern dental office. UPDATED! Art program depicts the newest technology and equipment and includes new illustrations of anatomy and technique. UNIQUE! Helpful Hint boxes isolate challenging material and offer tips to aid your understanding. NEW! Laboratory Manual provides workbook-style questions and activities to reinforce concepts and step-by-step instructions for in-clinic experiences. UNIQUE! Chapter on three-dimensional imaging helps you to prepare to enter private practice. UNIQUE! Full-color presentation helps you comprehend complex content.
Illustrated Dental Embryology, Histology, and Anatomy by
Get a clear picture of oral biology and the formation and study of dental structures. Illustrated Dental Embryology, Histology, & Anatomy, 5th Edition is the ideal introduction to one of the most foundational areas in the dental professions - understanding the development, cellular makeup, and physical anatomy of the head and neck regions. Written in a clear, reader-friendly style, this text makes it easy for you to understand both basic science and clinical applications - putting the content into the context of everyday dental practice. New for the fifth edition is evidence-based research on the dental placode, nerve core region, bleeding difficulties, silver diamine fluoride, and primary dentition occlusion. Plus, high-quality color renderings and clinical histographs and photomicrographs throughout the book, truly brings the material to life. UPDATED! Test Bank with cognitive leveling and mapping to the dental assisting and dental hygiene test blueprints. UPDATED! User-friendly pronunciation guide of terms ensures you learn the correct way to pronounce dental terminology. Comprehensive coverage includes all the content needed for an introduction to the developmental, histological, and anatomical foundations of oral health. Hundreds of full-color anatomical illustrations and clinical and microscopic photographs accompany text descriptions of anatomy and biology. Clinical Considerations boxes relate abstract-seeming biological concepts to everyday clinical practice. Key terms open each chapter, accompanied by phonetic pronunciations, and are highlighted within the text, and ag glossary provides a quick and handy review and research tool. Expert authors provide guidance and expertise related to advanced dental content. NEW! Evidence-based research thoroughly discusses the dental placode, nerve core region, bleeding difficulties, silver diamine fluoride, and primary dentition occlusion. NEW! Photomicrographs, histographs, and full-color illustrations throughout text helps bring the material to life. NEW! The latest periodontal insights include biologic width, gingival biotype, gingival crevicular fluid quantitative proteomics, clinical attachment level, AAP disease classification, and reactive oxygen species therapy. NEW! Expanded coverage of key topics includes figures on tongue formation, developmental disturbances, root morphology, and TMJ cone beam CT.
Oral Pathology for the Dental Hygienist by
Oral Pathology for the Dental Hygienist is your source for the most trusted content in oral pathology. With more than 50 years of combined real-world experience, Olga Ibsen and Joan Phelan have created a text that offers the ideal combination of clinical photographs, radiographs and discussion to help you identify, understand, evaluate, and document the appearance of normal and disease states. This user-friendly, atlas-style text features the learning tools and updated content you need to prepare for success on your exams and throughout your professional career. More than 500 high-quality illustrations, radiographs, and photographs bring oral pathology to life with some of the best clinical examples available to help you learn to identify and differentiate disease states. Review questions at the end of each chapter, written in the style of the National Board Dental Hygiene Examination (NBDHE), reinforce your understanding of chapter content and provide excellent test preparation. Synopsis Tables break down and highlight the most important information from each chapter, helping you to differentiate among the various types of pathological conditions. The Evolve companion website offers a practice exam, interactive pathology identification exercises, case studies, and more study tools. NEW! Additional photos and illustrations help you clearly visualize abnormalities. NEW! Mobile downloads allow you to take photographs and radiographs with you on smartphones, tablets, and other mobile devices. NEW! Content on human papillomavirus (HPV) and diabetes keeps you up to date with the latest research and findings.
Dental Public Health and Research by
Written to reflect the changing role of the dental hygiene practitioner in the dental care delivery system, this brand new edition of Dental Public Health and Research 3/e provides students with the key tools needed to effectively position and practice dental hygiene in the public health setting. This book expands the knowledge base necessary for dental hygiene practitioners in the 21st century. Some new and exciting features of this updated edition include: The chapter on dental care funding is expanded to focus on the current issues in dental care financing and the government's role in this area. A chapter on the importance of collaboration in dental care, building coalitions to help advocate for the oral health of all people and an introductory discussion on grant writing are included. The chapter on cultural diversity follows the chapter on target populations. The research unit is greatly expanded to provide detailed information on the study of dental hygiene research. Areas of expansion include evidenced-based research, ethics in research, roles of government and private entities in dental research, oral epidemiology, and the measurement of oral diseases and conditions. Did you Know? boxes serve as a mental break for readers by providing interesting "gee whiz" information. This book is a perfect resource for dental hygiene practitioners.
Clinical Aspects of Dental Materials 5th Ed. by
Using a proven pedagogical organization, this updated Fifth Edition of Gladwin and Bagby's market-leading title focuses on providing students with a dental materials background that emphasizes the clinical aspects of dental materials, while also introducing concepts of materials science.The book's three-part structure addresses types of dental materials in the 22 chapters of Part I, includes laboratory and clinical applications (essentially a built-in lab manual) in Part II, and presents 11 case studies in Part III that serve as an overall review and help students strengthen their critical thinking skills when providing patient care.Up-to-date content that reflects the latest advances in dental materials, clinical photos, review questions, and online videos all combine to help students develop the understanding of dental materials they need for successful dental hygiene practice.
Clinical Aspects of Dental Materials 3rd Ed. by
Clinical Aspects of Dental Materials provides dental hygiene students with a practical understanding of dental materials and materials science. Part I, Theoretical Perspectives, covers the basics, science, and theory of dental materials. Part II, Laboratory/Clinical Applications, relates materials science to clinical dental hygiene practice. Part III, Case Studies, presents cases that help students integrate other dental hygiene knowledge with materials science. This Third Edition has a full-color insert containing photographs with descriptive captions. Two new chapters have been added: "Finishing and Polishing Composite Restorations" and "Tips for the New Hygienist". New review questions designed for course and national boards review have been added to Parts I and II.
Ethics, Jurisprudence, and Practice Management in Dental Hygiene by
Ethics, Jurisprudence and Practice Management in Dental Hygiene, 2eis designed to orient dental hygiene students to clinical practice and its many applications in an office setting. Although dentists, dental practices, and dental hygiene can be generalized, each practice will be unique in its daily operations and policies. This book explains how in this new millennium, the art and science of dental hygiene continues to progress and evolve. More states have entered into independent or alternative practice settings for experienced dental hygienists. Supervision laws have been relaxed that allow for increase access to care and help eliminate disparities among diverse and underserved population groups. Strategies are being developed to increase cultural competencies and multidisciplinary collaboration, as well as, to increase the number of minorities in the oral health workfoce. Dental hygienists are utilizing more of their skills as oral health is becoming an important entity of general health. And, dental hygienists are becoming more responsible for the regulation of the their profession, the profession of dental hygiene.
Sonography by
Without a thorough knowledge of the appearance of normal anatomy, you may have a tough time recognizing abnormalities in ultrasound images. Get a firm grounding in normal anatomy and physiology from an ultrasound perspective with Sonography: Introduction to Normal Structure and Function, 4th Edition. The new edition of this highly visual introductory text presents a wealth of ultrasound images, accompanied by labeled drawings with detailed legends, to increase your comfort with normal anatomy as it appears during scanning. Its consistent chapter format makes the content easy to navigate and reinforces the discipline of following a standard protocol to scan each area of the body. Detailed line drawings accompany most sonograms to explain what you should notice on each scan. If you do not see the structure, or are uncertain of it on the image, you can look at the diagram for confirmation. Over 1,500 images provide a thorough, visual understanding of sonography. Consistent organization with a standardized heading scheme helps you when searching for information. Content on quality control protocolsin the clinical setting shows you how to recreate the most optimal scanning settings and techniques. Evolve resources provide you with additional learning tools. NEW! Full 4-color design incorporates color images within the appropriate chapter to help you understand the concepts without having to flip to the front of the book - and highlights the important points within each chapter. NEW! Three all-new chapters bring you the most up-to-date information on fetal echocardiography, laboratory values, and ergonomics. NEW! Updated sonograms demonstrate the latest and best images from the newest equipment, including 3D and 4D images. NEW! Expanded Test Bank, with new questions for each chapter, provides 1,000 questions on the material.
Netter's Anatomy Coloring Book Updated Edition by
Learn and master anatomy with ease, while having fun, through the unique approach of Netter's Anatomy Coloring Book, 2nd Edition. You can trace arteries, veins, and nerves through their courses and bifurcations...reinforce your understanding of muscle origins and insertions from multiple views and dissection layers...and develop a better understanding of the integration of individual organs in the workings of each body system throughout the human form. Whether you are taking an anatomy course or just curious about how the body works, let the art of Netter guide you! Key Features Netter's Anatomy Coloring Book is a perfect companion to the Atlas of Human Anatomy by Frank H. Netter, MD as well as Netter's Anatomy Flash Cards and Netter's Clinical Anatomy textbook. Understand the correlation between structures. Outlines of Netter anatomical illustrations in multiple views, magnifications, and dissection layers, accompanied by high-yield information reinforce visual recognition and provide context. Master challenging structures through illustrations small enough for quick coloring, but large enough to provide you with important details. Facilitate learning by following tips for coloring key structures and quizzing yourself with end-of-section review questions. Quickly review key concepts with accompanying tables that review muscle attachments, innervation, and actions. Understand the role of anatomy in medicine through Clinical Notes which highlight examples.
Mosby's Diagnostic and Laboratory Test Reference by
Gain quick access to today's most important diagnostic tests and procedures with Mosby's Diagnostic & Laboratory Test Reference, 13th Edition! In this bestselling handbook, concise test entries are arranged alphabetically and reflect the latest in diagnostic testing and research. Each test includes vital information such as alternate or abbreviated test names, test explanation, normal and abnormal findings, possible critical values, and guidelines to patient care before, during, and after the test. To simplify lookup, related tests are cross-referenced. From the expert author team of Kathleen, Timothy, and Theresa Pagana, this reference offers convenient A-to-Z thumb tabs, a compact size, and a durable cover for everyday use on the job. UNIQUE! Each test entry begins on a new page, making tests easy to find. Alphabetically organized tests offer quick reference with A-to-Z thumb tabs, so you'll never have to search for a test by having to first determine its correct category or body system. User's Guide to Test Preparation and Performance provides an overview and guidelines for each type of laboratory test and diagnostic procedure, so you can minimize worry about having to repeat a test due to an error. Icon for patient teaching-related care indicates information that should be shared with patients and their families. Normal findings for adult, elderly, and pediatric patients are included where applicable. Abnormal findings are highlighted with directional arrows to show increased or decreased test results. Possible critical values are highlighted to alert you to situations requiring immediate intervention. Convenient appendix lists tests by body system and test type, making it easy to quickly locate related studies. Drug interference with test results is indicated by a mortar and pestle icon. Cross-referencing of related tests makes them easy to find. Abbreviations for tests are listed in the front and the back of the book, and symbols and units of measurement are listed in an appendix. A durable cover with rounded edges helps prevent the book from being damaged and makes it easier to handle. NEW test entries include the latest diagnostic tests and laboratory procedures. NEW! Updated coverage reflects the latest research on the diagnostic values of results, accuracy of testing, and patient care and education for each test.
Introduction to Vascular Ultrasonography by
Now in its 6th edition, Introduction to Vascular Ultrasonography, by Drs. John Pellerito and Joseph Polak, provides an easily accessible, concise overview of arterial and venous ultrasound. A new co-editor and new contributors have updated this classic with cutting-edge diagnostic procedures as well as new chapters on evaluating organ transplants, screening for vascular disease, correlative imaging, and more. High-quality images, videos, and online access make this an ideal introduction to this complex and rapidly evolving technique. Find information quickly with sections organized by clinical rationale, anatomy, examination technique, findings, and interpretation. Get a thorough review of ultrasound vascular diagnosis, including peripheral veins and arteries, carotid and vertebral arteries, abdominal vessels, and transcranial Doppler. Quickly reference numerous tables for examination protocols, normal values, diagnostic parameters, and ultrasound findings for selected conditions. Visualize important techniques with hundreds of lavish line drawings and clinical ultrasound examples. Stay current with trending topics through new chapters on evaluation of organ transplants, screening for vascular disease, correlative imaging, and accreditation and the vascular lab. Experience clinical scenarios with vivid clarity through new color ultrasound images. Watch vascular ultrasound videos and access the complete contents online at www.expertconsult.com. Benefit from the fresh perspective and insight of a new co-editor, Dr. Joseph Polak. Improve your understanding of the correlation of imaging results with treatment goals in venous and arterial disease. Learn the principles of vascular ultrasonography from the most trusted reference in the field.
Textbook of Diagnostic Sonography by
Updated to reflect the newest curriculum standards, Textbook of Diagnostic Sonography, 8th Edition provides you with the pertinent information needed for passing the boards. This highly respected text enhances your understanding of general/abdominal and obstetric/gynecologic sonography, the two primary divisions of sonography, as well as vascular sonography and echocardiography. Each chapter covers patient history; normal anatomy, including cross-sectional anatomy; sonography techniques; pathology; and related laboratory findings. And more than 3,100 images and anatomy drawings guide you in recognizing normal anatomy and abnormal pathology. Full-color presentation, including color scans of gross pathology photos, where appropriate, enhances your learning expe1rience and the teaching value of the text. Pathology tables?give you quick access to clinical findings, laboratory findings, sonography findings, and differential considerations. Pedagogy, including chapter objectives and outlines, alerts you to the important information you will learn in each chapter. Evolve site includes PowerPoint slides, an image bank, review questions and a workbook answer key for students, and a test bank for faculty to aid in the reinforcement and teaching of sonography skills. Sonography Findings, highlighted with icon and special type, call attention to key clinical information. NEW! Full coverage of general/abdominal, transplantation, superficial structures, pediatrics, fetal heart, and obstetric/gynecologic sonography, along with several new chapters on vascular sonography, hemodynamics, and introduction to echocardiography, provides you with the information needed to pass the boards and succeed in clinicals. UPDATED! Content reflects the newest curriculum standards so you have the information you need to pass the boards. NEW! Updated images depict the latest advances in the field of sonography and help you prepare for the boards and clinicals. NEW! Key words in chapter openers focus your attention on the terms that you are required to know and understand. NEW! Bulleted summary lists at the end of each chapter reinforce important concepts. NEW! A condensed bibliography at the end of the book lists essential references and guides you in the direction to obtain more information in a given area.
Obstetric and Gynaecological Ultrasound by
Obstetric and Gynaecological Ultrasound is a highly illustrated manual ideal for both the trainee and experienced sonographer that covers the full range of obstetric and gynaecological ultrasound examinations undertaken within a secondary referral setting. It combines the practicalities of how to perform these examinations with the information needed to interpret the findings and construct a clinically useful report. The new edition of this well-established book expands its scope to provide an understanding of ultrasound imaging within the clinical management of the gynaecological patient. Elsewhere, its obstetric content has been fully updated with the latest technological, clinical and medico-legal information relevant to routine practice. Furthermore, its experienced sonographer authors continue to advise on the practical aspects of scanning as well as the role, value and limitations of ultrasound in the diagnosis of different diseases thus providing firm foundations in both obstetric and gynaecological imaging. Explains the principles of grey scale ultrasound, Doppler ultrasound and instrumentation Addresses problems from both practical and clinical viewpoints Provides comparative images showing results of good and bad scanning techniques Advises on how to communicate findings to a pregnant woman or gynaecological patient Discusses both the normal and abnormal ultrasound appearances for each of the relevant anatomical areas together Scope fully expanded to cover gynaecological ultrasound imaging including: the physiological changes taking place during the menstrual cycle the effects of exogenous hormones on the various ultrasound appearances during the menstrual cycle the ultrasound appearances of common abnormalities of the uterus, ovaries and adnexae the ultrasound assessment of an adnexal mass using a standardized approach New images to reflect the improvements in imaging technology New chapter on screening for Down's syndrome and Edwards' and Patau's syndromes in accordance with current national screening recommendations New chapter on the medico-legal issues relevant to performing and reporting ultrasound examinations
ACSM's Introduction to Exercise Science by
Succeed in your course and learn more about potential careers with ACSM's Introduction to Exercise Science, 3rd Edition. This proven book provides an engaging, up-to-date overview of exercise science and related areas, such as athletic training and sports medicine. In every chapter, the author illustrates the importance and clinical relevance of each topic in the curriculum and gives you an insider's view of the profession through fascinating interviews and online video profiles and fieldtrips. As an American College of Sports Medicine publication, this full-color resource offers the unsurpassed quality and excellence that has become synonymous with titles by the leading exercise science and sports medicine organization in the world. NEW! A brand-new chapter shows how research is conducted, provides an overview of research as a career pursuit, and explores the concept of evidence-base practice. Video fieldtrips take you into different real-world settings to learn about exercise science careers. UPDATED! Interviews and video profiles of rising stars in the exercise science profession and working healthcare professionals (a dietician, cardiologist, exercise physiologist, etc.) demonstrate the challenges and rewards of careers that begin with an exercise science degree. UPDATED! The "Future of Exercise Science" chapter now reflects the latest trends in the field. Features important updates related to the 10th edition of ACSM's Guidelines for Exercise Testing and Prescription . REVISED! The motor behavior chapter is now more meaningful, relevant, up-to-date, and understandable. Chapter objectives, key terms and definitions, chapter summaries, and Thinking Critically boxes help you master key concepts.
CCS Exam Preparation 10th Ed. by Certified Coding Associate (CCA) Exam Preparation 7th Ed. by Certified Coding Specialist-Physician-Based (CCS-P) Exam Preparation 10th Ed. by 
Fundamentals of Law for Health Informatics and Information Management by ICD-10-CM and ICD-10-PCS Coding Handbook 2020, without answers by 
ICD-10-PCS 2020: the Complete Official Codebook by
ICD-10-PCS 2020: The Complete Official Codebook contains the complete ICD-10-PCS code set and supplementary appendixes required for reporting inpatient procedures. This illustrated codebook presents the code set in 17 sections of tables arranged by general procedure type. Tables within the extensive Medical and Surgical section are additionally sectioned out by body system, indicated by color-coded page borders. ICD-10-PCS contains classifications for procedures, devices and technologies. Features and Benefits: Summary of changes. Quickly see how additions and deletions affect each section of ICD-10-PCS. Complete 2020 ICD-10-PCS code set. The code set is organized in 17 sections. Each section contains a code table by which a code can be built through character selections that reflect the procedure performed. A character meanings table and citations to American Hospital Association's Coding Clinic start each section. Official coding guidelines. Learn how to use the code set appropriately following the guidelines specific for each section. Illustrations. The full-color illustrations provide a visual explanation of anatomy and procedural approach. Approach illustrations show the access location, method, and instrumentation that determine the approach. - Body parts with indicators to applicable code characters (provided immediately after the character meaning tables in the Medical/Surgical sections) Visual alerts. This edition provides color-coding and symbols that identify male/female procedures and new/revised character values. Detailed information on structure and conventions of ICD-10-PCS. Learn about the unique structure and the specific definitions and functions of each character. Practice your skills with sample exercises (answers included). Color-coding and symbols for the Medicare Code Edits. This edition includes color-coding and symbols for the most comprehensive coverage of ICD10 MS-DRG MCEs for procedures including: Non-covered procedures; Limited coverage procedures; Combination only procedures; Non-operating room procedures affecting MS-DRG assignment; Non-operating room procedures NOT affecting MS-DRG assignment; Hospital acquired condition (HAC)-related procedures Procedure combination tables. Identify ICD-10-PCS code combination requirements needed to satisfy certain MS-DRG requirements.
Principles of CPT Coding, 9th Ed. by
The newest edition of this best-selling educational resource contains the essential information needed to understand all sections of the CPT codebook but now boasts inclusion of multiple new chapters and a significant redesign. The ninth edition of Principles of CPT® Coding is now arranged into two parts: * CPT and HCPCS coding * An overview of documentation, insurance, and reimbursement principles Part 1 provides a comprehensive and in-depth guide for proper application of service and procedure codes and modifiers for which this book is known and trusted. A staple of each edition of this book, these revised chapters detail the latest updates and nuances particular to individual code sections and proper code selection. Part 2 consists of new chapters that explain the connection between and application of accurate coding, NCCI edits, and HIPAA regulations to documentation, payment, insurance, and fraud and abuse avoidance. The new full-color design offers readers of the illustrated ninth edition a more engaging and far better educational experience. Features and Benefits * New content! New chapters covering documentation, NCCI edits, HIPAA, payment, insurance, and fraud and abuse principles build the reader's awareness of these inter-related and interconnected concepts with coding. * New learning and design features -- Vocabulary terms highlighted within the text and defined within the margins that conveniently aid readers in strengthening their understanding of medical terminology -- "Advice/Alert Notes" that highlight important information, exceptions, salient advice, cautionary advice regarding CMS, NCCI edits, and/or payer practices -- Call outs to "Clinical Examples" that are reminiscent of what is found in the AMA publications CPT® Assistant, CPT® Changes, and CPT® Case Studies -- "Case Examples" peppered throughout the chapters that can lead to valuable class discussions and help build understanding of critical concepts -- Code call outs within the margins that detail a code description -- Full-color photos and illustrations that orient readers to the concepts being discussed -- Single-column layout for ease of reading and note-taking within the margins -- Exercises that are Internet-based or linked to use of the AMA CPT® QuickRef app that encourage active participation and develop coding skills -- Hands-on coding exercises that are based on real-life case studies
CPT Professional 2020 by
CPT® 2020 Professional Edition is the definitive AMA-authored resource to help health care professionals correctly report and bill medical procedures and services. Providers want accurate reimbursement. Payers want efficient claims processing. Since the CPT® code set is a dynamic, everchanging standard, an outdated codebook does not suffice. Correct reporting and billing of medical procedures and services begins with CPT® 2020 Professional Edition. Only the AMA, with the help of physicians and other experts in the health care community, creates and maintains the CPT code set. No other publisher can claim that. No other codebook can provide the official guidelines to code medical services and procedures properly. Features and Benefits: The CPT® 2020 Professional Edition codebook covers hundreds of code, guideline and text changes and features: CPT® Changes, CPT® Assistant, and Clinical Examples in Radiology citations - provides cross-referenced information in popular AMA resources that can enhance your understanding of the CPT code set A comprehensive index - aids you in locating codes related to a specific procedure, service, anatomic site, condition, synonym, eponym or abbreviation to allow for a clearer, quicker search Anatomical and procedural illustrations - help improve coding accuracy and understanding of the anatomy and procedures being discussed Coding tips throughout each section - improve your understanding of the nuances of the code set Enhanced codebook table of contents - allows users to perform a quick search of the codebook's entire content without being in a specific section Section-specific table of contents - provides users with a tool to navigate more effectively through each section's codes Summary of additions, deletions and revisions - provides a quick reference to 2020 changes without having to refer to previous editions Multiple appendices - offer quick reference to additional information and resources that cover such topics as modifiers, clinical examples, add-on codes, vascular families, multianalyte assays and telemedicine services Comprehensive E/M code selection tables - aid physicians and coders in assigning the most appropriate evaluation and management codes Adhesive section tabs - allow you to flag those sections and pages most relevant to your work More full color procedural illustrations Notes pages at the end of every code set section and subsection
Maternity and Pediatric Nursing 4 by
Focus your course on essential concepts and establish the basis for the sound nursing care of women and children with Maternity and Pediatric Nursing, Fourth Edition. The latest edition of this trusted text has been designed with your curriculum in mind, helping you maximize your class time and establish the knowledge base and critical thinking skills students need to ensure safe, effective maternity and pediatric care and guide women and children toward higher levels of wellness throughout the life cycle. A nursing process approach provides relevant information in a concise, straightforward manner, streamlining coverage of a broad scope of maternity topics and clearly distinguishing the differences between the care of adults and children. Emphasizing commonly encountered clinical challenges in maternity and pediatric care, this practical text builds students' ability to anticipate, identify and address problems and provide timely, evidence-based interventions to reduce long-term sequelae. The updated Fourth Edition readies students for the realities of practice with unfolding case studies and patient stories that hone students' clinical judgment and challenge them to apply concepts to real-world scenarios they'll encounter throughout their nursing careers.
All-In-One Nursing Care Planning Resource by
The only book with nursing care plans for all core clinical areas, All-In-One Care Planning Resource, 3rd Edition, provides 100 care plans with the nursing diagnoses and interventions you need to know to care for patients in all settings. It includes care plans for pediatric, maternity, and psychiatric nursing in addition to medical-surgical nursing, so you can use just one book throughout your entire nursing curriculum. A new online care plan tutorial walks you through the steps of creating care plans, and updates keep you current with the latest clinical developments, new pharmacologic treatments, QSEN patient safety standards, and evidence-based practice guidelines. Edited by Pamela Swearingen, this book is known for its clear, straightforward approach, its practical and consistent format, and its detailed rationales. NANDA-I nursing diagnoses are incorporated throughout the text to keep you current with NANDA-I terminology and the latest diagnoses. Color-coded sections for medical-surgical, maternity, pediatric, and psychiatric-mental health nursing care plans make it easier to find information quickly. A consistent format for each care plan allows faster lookup of topics, with headings for Overview/Pathophysiology, Health Care Setting, Assessment, Diagnostic Tests, Nursing Diagnoses, Desired Outcomes, Interventions with Rationales, and Patient-Family Teaching and Discharge Planning. Prioritized nursing diagnoses are listed in order of importance and physiologic patient needs. A two-column format for nursing assessments/interventions and rationales makes it easier to scan information. Detailed rationales for each nursing intervention help you to apply concepts to specific patient situations in clinical practice. Outcome criteria with specific timelines help you to set realistic goals for nursing outcomes and provide quality, cost-effective care. NEW! Care plan for normal labor and birth addresses nursing care for the client experiencing normal labor and delivery. UPDATED content is written by practicing clinicians and covers the latest clinical developments, new pharmacologic treatments, patient safety considerations, and evidence-based practice guidelines. NEW full-color design makes the text more user friendly, and includes NEW color-coded tabs and improved cross-referencing and navigation aids for faster lookup of information. NEW! Leaf icon highlights coverage of complementary and alternative therapies including information on over-the-counter herbal and other therapies and how these can interact with conventional medications.
Taber's Cyclopedic Medical Dictionary (Thumb-Indexed Version) by
Taber's 22 brings meanings to life! In hand, online, or on your mobile device--anywhere and everywhere, Taber's 22 is the all-in-one, go-to source in the classroom, clinical, and beyond. Under the editorial direction of Donald Venes, MD, MSJ, a team of expert consulting editors and consultants, representing nearly every health care profession, ensures that the content reflects the most current healthcare information. A wealth of resources puts the language of nursing, medicine and the healthcare professions at your fingertips... FREE, 1-year subscription to Taber's Online, powered by Unbound Medicine, and now with annual updates--puts all of the knowledge of Taber's at your fingertips. FREE, Taber's Flash, a flash card app--simplifies studying. Web, mobile, and print platforms--ensure access in any setting. Crossword puzzles, flashcards, and listen-and-learn activities--meet the needs of visual, kinesthetic, and auditory learners. Over 30,000 audio pronunciations--build speaking confidence.
Pathophysiology by
Develop the strong foundation in pathophysiology you need to guide your patient care! Exploring the etiology, pathogenesis, clinical manifestations, and treatment of diseases and disorders, Pathophysiology, 7th Edition focuses on the major alterations in the homeostasis of body systems to provide you with a unifying framework. Current scientific findings and relevant global research are integrated throughout the book, with chapters organized by body system, beginning with an illustrated review of anatomy and normal physiology. Each chapter includes a discussion of the disease processes and abnormalities that may occur, with a focus on the pathophysiologic concepts involved. Practical learning resources emphasize critical thinking and help simplify this rigorous subject. Updated, full-color illustrations and photos throughout enable you to visualize disease and disease processes and gain a clearer understanding of the material. Easy-to-read style is simplified by input from readability experts, and includes many tables, boxes, and figures to highlight key content. Thorough content updates include the latest information on new treatment advances, over 100 new figures for improved clarity, and much more throughout the text. Global Health Care boxes highlight global healthcare concerns such as COVID-19, HIV/AIDS, Ebola, and more, with information on prevalence, mechanism of disease, and transmission. User-friendly learning resources in the text include chapter outlines, bolded key terms, key questions, Key Points boxes, Clinical Judgment challenges, and chapter summaries. Pediatric and Geriatric Considerations boxes include brief analyses of age-related changes associated with specific body systems. More than 1,000 illustrations help clarify complex pathophysiological concepts and make the book visually appealing. NEW! Next Generation NCLEX® (NGN)-style case studies on the companion Evolve website help strengthen your clinical judgment skills in preparation for the new item types on the exam. NEW! COVID-19 coverage includes the most current scientific findings, prevalence, mechanism of disease, transmission, and treatment implications.
Contemporary Nursing by
Ensure you are thoroughly prepared to work in the rapidly evolving world of nursing. Written by expert authors Barbara Cherry and Susan Jacob Contemporary Nursing: Issues, Trends, & Management, 8th Edition provides an overview of both issues within nursing practice and topics facing today's nurse managers and leaders. The 20th anniversary edition of this comprehensive guide emphasizes the importance of working in an interdisciplinary environment and takes you through the evolution of nursing, safe and effective decision-making, the nursing role, collaboration and communication, leadership, and job opportunities. New to this edition is coverage of health issues affecting the LGBTQ community, hospice care, how to respond to active shooter events, and a number of other timely issues affecting healthcare and nursing practice today. UPDATED Content on incivility, bullying and workplace violence, provides a short scenario about issues you might face in practice. Key terms, learning outcomes, chapter overviews, and chapter summaries help you focus your learning experience.' Unit on Leadership and Management in Nursing?includes content to prepare nurses to effectively function in the management roles expected of the professional nurse. Unit on Career Management?provides strategies on how to make the transition from student to practitioner and tips on how to pass the NCLEX-RN Examination. Case studies help you apply theory to clinical practice. Vignettes at the beginning of each chapter personalize nursing history and practice and help you to understand your place in the profession.'Questions to Consider While Reading This Chapter follow the vignettes and prepare'the reader for the topic to be discussed. Humorous cartoons open each chapter to illustrate the chapter themes. Full-color design enhances the narrative with a clear, visually appealing explanation of concepts. NEW! Coverage of the Nursys' program allows nurses, employers, and boards of nursing to verify that nursing licenses are current and in good standing. NEW! Coverage of LGBTQ Health Issues and other marginalized groups discusses how to improve the care of a diverse population. NEW! Integration of advanced technology into all aspects of clinical care and job placement focuses on the ever-changing role of technology in the workplace. NEW! Expanded coverage of working in an interdisciplinary team reflects the changing healthcare landscape and need to work in collaboration with a variety of healthcare specialists. NEW! Coverage of how to respond to active shooter events prepares you for what you might face during a mass casualty event. NEW! Coverage of current legal cases includes relevant examples of legal issues affecting nurses. NEW! Evolution of the nation's healthcare system based on healthcare reform covers alternative models of healthcare reimbursement to promote quality and cost effectiveness along with'new opportunities for nursing practice. NEW! Chapter on hospice care focuses on how to best provide patients with relief during end of life care, and how to support family members. NEW! The enhanced Nurse Licensure Compact (eNLC) keeps you up to date on the latest on multi-state licensing. NEW! Updated coverage reflects the most current data and references in the market.
RN Maternal Newborn Nursing Edition 12.0 by
This Review Module offers basic maternal newborn principles including: contraception and infertility, normal and high-risk antepartum, intrapartum, and postpartum care, newborn care, management of newborn complications, and special considerations. This review module is a component of the Comprehensive Assessment and Review Program and is designed to be used in conjunction with content area exams. It Includes key points and critical thinking exercises (with answer keys) for nursing management for a variety of conditions.
RN Mental Health Nursing Edition 12.0 by
This review module is a component of the Comprehensive Assessment and Review Program and is designed to be used in conjunction with content area exams. It Includes key points and critical thinking exercises (with answer keys) for nursing management for a variety of conditions.
RN Community Health Nursing Edition 9.0 by
This Review Module offers basic community health principles including: foundations of community health, assessment and diagnosis, health education, roles and settings, nursing care of aggregates, special community needs, and community protection and client safety. This review module is a component of the Comprehensive Assessment and Review Program and is designed to be used in conjunction with content area exams. It Includes key points and critical thinking exercises (with answer keys) for nursing management for a variety of conditions.
Psychiatric-Mental Health Nursing by
Awarded third place in the 2023 AJN Book of the Year Awards in the Psychiatric and Mental Health Nursing category! Created specifically to appeal to students' preferences and favored for its clear, practical approach and engaging learning features, Psychiatric-Mental Health Nursing, 9th Edition, makes the full spectrum of psychiatric nursing easier to understand and equips students with a confident grasp of the skills and concepts essential to their success in clinical practice. This 9th Edition has been extensively revised throughout, reflecting the latest evidence-based perspectives and practices while maintaining a strong foundation in the nursing process. Author Sheila Videbeck's concise, direct writing style makes challenging content digestible and is complemented by humorous illustrations that keep students engaged and reinforce comprehension. Accompanying study guide questions integrated in each chapter test students' retention and strengthen their critical thinking capabilities, and a robust suite of learning features hones the clinical judgment essential for a confident transition to practice. New and Updated Features NEW! Nursing Concepts listed at the beginning of each chapter help you apply content to a Concepts-based curricula. UPDATED! New and revised content equips students with the most current evidence-based approaches. UPDATED! Evidence-Based Practice boxes reinforce chapter content with relevant research examples for a wide variety of practice issues.
RN Pharmacology for Nursing Edition 9.0 by
This Review Module offers basic pharmacological principles including knowledge that relates to the safe administration and monitoring of prototype medications that include: nervous, respiratory, cardiovascular, hematological, gastrointestinal, reproductive, endocrine systems, pain & inflammation, immunity, and infections. This review module is a component of the Comprehensive Assessment and Review Program and is designed to be used in conjunction with content area exams. It Includes key points and critical thinking exercises (with answer keys) for nursing management for a variety of conditions.
RN Adult Medical Surgical Nursing Edition 12.0 by
This Review Module offers basic adult medical surgical concepts including principles that relate to the care of patients who have: respiratory, cardiovascular, hematologic, fluid and electrolyte, renal and urinary, endocrine, gastrointestinal, integumentary, neurosensory, musculoskeletal, lymph, immune, infectious, and integumentary disorders.
RN Pediatric Nursing Edition 12.0 by
This Review Module offers basic pediatric principles including: perspectives and social considerations, care of children who have body system disorders, pediatric emergencies, and psychosocial issues.This review module is a component of the Comprehensive Assessment and Review Program and is designed to be used in conjunction with content area exams. It Includes key points and critical thinking exercises (with answer keys) for nursing management for a variety of conditions.
Nursing Leadership and Management Edition 9.0 by
This Review Module offers basic leadership and management principles. Included is an emphasis on decision making skills regarding managing and prioritizing care: client and staff advocacy, provider of client care, supervisor of client care, and collaborator/planner of client care.
Nutrition for Nursing Edition 8.0 by
This Review Module offers basic nutrition principles including: nutrition across the lifespan, clinical nutrition, and therapeutic diets. This review module is a component of the Comprehensive Assessment and Review Program and is designed to be used in conjunction with content area exams. It Includes key points and critical thinking exercises (with answer keys) for nursing management for a variety of conditions.
Fundamentals for Nursing Edition 11.0 by
This Review Module offers basic nursing fundamental concepts including: foundations of practice, basic nursing care, support of psychosocial needs, support of physiologic needs, and health assessment. This review module is a component of the Comprehensive Assessment and Review Program and is designed to be used in conjunction with content area exams. It Includes key points and critical thinking exercises (with answer keys) for nursing management for a variety of conditions.
Brunner and Suddarth's Textbook of Medical-Surgical Nursing by
Selected as a Doody's Core Title for 2022! Brunner & Suddarth's Textbook of Medical-Surgical Nursing (Single Volume), 15th Edition Keeping tomorrow's nurses at the forefront of today's changing healthcare environment, Brunner & Suddarth's Textbook of Medical-Surgical Nursing, 15th Edition delivers the most comprehensive resource available for nursing students in the medical-surgical course. This bestselling text is designed for the way students like to learn, combining a highly readable approach with engaging case studies and learning tools to help students explore essential patient care practices in real-world terms and gain a more practical understanding of how they'll apply what they've learned in practice. Trusted by instructors, students, and practicing nurses for nearly 60 years, this landmark resource has been comprehensively updated for the 15th Edition to reflect the latest research, evidence-based practices, settings, issues, ethical challenges, and concerns of today's healthcare practice. Complete integration with Lippincott® CoursePoint+ allows you to easily map out your entire course, provide personalized student remediation, and simulate real-world nursing scenarios involving patients mentioned in vignettes in the text, giving your students unparalleled preparation for success in the medical-surgical nursing workforce. Also Available as a two-volume set (978-1-9751-6828-5)
Physical Examination and Health Assessment - Binder Ready by
Binder-Ready Edition: This loose-leaf copy of the full text is a convenient, accessible, and customizable alternative to the bound book. With this binder-ready edition, you can personalize the text to match your unique study needs! With an easy-to-follow approach and unmatched learning support, Jarvis' Physical Examination and Health Assessment, 8th Edition is the most authoritative, complete, and easily-implemented solution for health assessment courses in nursing. This tightly integrated learning package continues to center on Carolyn Jarvis's trademark clear, logical, and holistic approach to physical examination and health assessment across the patient lifespan. It's packed with vivid illustrations, step-by-step guidance and evidence-based content to provide a complete approach of health assessment skills and physical examination. With a fresh focus on today's need-to-know information, the 8th edition integrates QSEN and interprofessional collaboration, enhanced inclusion of LGBTQ issues, a new standalone Vital Signs chapter, and enhanced EHR and documentation content. The most trusted name in health assessment for nurses, now in its 8th edition! A clear, conversational, step-by-step, evidence-based approach to physical examination and health assessment of patients throughout the lifespan. A consistent format from chapter to chapter features sections on Structure and Function, Subjective Data, Objective Data, Documentation and Critical Thinking, and Abnormal Findings to help you learn to assess systematically. UPDATED! An unsurpassed collection of more than 1,100 full-color illustrations has been updated to vividly showcase anatomy and physiology, examination techniques, and abnormal findings. Enhanced content on the electronic health record, charting, and narrative recording exemplify how to document assessment findings using state-of-the-art systems with time-tested thoroughness. Engaging learning resources include assessment video clips; NCLEX® Exam review questions; case studies with critical thinking activities; audio clips of heart, lung, and abdominal sounds; assessment checklists, and much more. Promoting a Healthy Lifestyle boxes present opportunities for patient teaching and health promotion while performing the health assessment. Developmental Competence sections highlight content specific to infants, children, adolescents, pregnant women, and older adults. Culture and Genetics sections include information on biocultural and transcultural variations in an increasingly diverse patient population. NEW! Standalone Vital Signs chapter and refocused nutrition content includes an expanded emphasis on the national epidemic of obesity. NEW! Enhanced integration of QSEN and interprofessional collaboration emphasize how to ensure patient safety during the physical exam and how to collaborate with other health professionals to promote optimal health. NEW! Enhanced inclusion of LGBTQ issues and revamped and refocused Cultural Assessment chapter equip you with the skills to practice with greater sensitivity and inclusivity. NEW! Health Promotion and Patient Teaching sections underscore the unique role of nurses (especially advanced practice nurses) in health promotion.
Applied Pathophysiology by
5 Star Review from Doody's Review Service Presenting pathophysiology through the lens of body function, Applied Pathophysiology: A Conceptual Approach, 4th Edition, goes beyond memorization of facts to give students a thorough understanding of altered human function and a practical framework for applying concepts in clinical settings. By helping students understand that diseases are rarely confined to one body system, this novel approach conditions students to think like practitioners, working from symptom to cause to build an understanding of the disease process essential to successful practice. Supported by the latest clinical practices and research-based evidence, this 4th Edition has been updated to prepare students for today's changing healthcare environment. Engaging features and resources throughout the text emphasize active learning strategies and challenge students to apply their knowledge to a wide range of diseases.
Health Assessment in Nursing by
Now in its sixth edition, the innovative, systematic, and easy to understand Health Assessment in Nursing has already helped thousands of RN-seeking students develop the comprehensive knowledge base and expert nursing assessment skills necessary for accurate collection of client data. The authors provide in-depth, accurate information, a compelling Continuing Case Study that covers every step in the assessment process, a focus on diversity and health assessment through the lifespan, a striking photo and illustration program that includes photos of practicing nurses performing assessments, dynamic online video clips and animations, and much more. This book provides students everything needed to master the knowledge and assessment skills needed for a successful nursing career. KEY FEATURES" NEW! Focused/Specialized Assessments signaled with icons and introduced with explanatory text help differentiate between skills that are more specialized for specific settings NEW! Verbally Communicating Findings boxes include brief biographical information and the patient's chief concern followed by a report of "significant positives" and "significant negatives" to help students understand how to better communicate with colleagues Continuing Case Studies with COLDSPA mnemonic Evidence-Based Health Promotion and Disease Prevention boxes Assessment Guides Assessment Tools Safety Tips Clinical Tips Older Adult Considerations Cultural Considerations
The books listed below are on reserve for Nursing students only and require proof of current enrollment in a Nursing course (showing your current Blackboard courses is an accepted form of proof of enrollment)
Atlas of Emergency Medicine 5th Edition by
The most trusted visual guide to emergency medicine--with 2,100+ full-color images and clinical management guidance from leading experts The Atlas of Emergency Medicine is your "look quick, act fast" guide to accurately diagnosing acute medical problems in emergency practice settings. Packed with the highest-quality images available and fully updated clinical information, this is the definitive resource to assessing, diagnosing, and treating patients quickly, safely, and effectively. Top experts in their field, the authors cover basic and subtle diagnosis of a broad spectrum of typical and atypical conditions. Organized by organ-system/special populations/general issues and then by problem, The Atlas of Emergency Medicine includes one or more images per topic, succinct "need-to-know" information for each clinical problem, and management options and clinical pearls--making this the most efficient visual learning guide you'll find. This updated edition includes streamlined text to allow for more images, new chapters on Rheumatologic and Mental Health Conditions, and new video clips highlighting the most important topics.
The Color Atlas and Synopsis of Family Medicine, 3rd Edition by
Publisher's Note: Products purchased from Third Party sellers are not guaranteed by the publisher for quality, authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product. The updated visual atlas of family medicine--enhanced by more than 2,000 illustrations A Doody's Core Title for 2019! The Color Atlas and Synopsis of Family Medicine simplifies and supports visual diagnosis like no other guide. The text is bolstered by more than 2,000 illustrations, consisting of state-of-the-art photos and drawings, most in full color. Page after page, the book's precise clinical images are integrated with evidence-based diagnostic pearls presented in bulleted text--ideal for time-pressed physicians. Sections highlight specific diseases and disorders, organized by anatomic and physiologic systems, with each chapter opening with a patient story to connect the photographs with real-life clinical scenarios. Every condition features a consistent format that includes the patient story, Epidemiology, Etiology and Pathophysiology, Diagnosis, Differential Diagnosis, and Management to aid the reader in navigating to the right section with ease and efficiency. NEW TO THIS EDITION: * New chapters on Mental Health, the Opioid Crisis, Dementia, Sports-related Head Injury, and LGBT health issues * New chapter on Zika, Ebola and other emerging infections expand the insights in the Global Health chapter * New Foundations of Dermatology section contains a dermoscopy chapter, plus chapters on dermatology terminology, topical and intralesional steroids, and biopsy principles and techniques * Management section is now divided into first- and second-line therapies
Color Atlas of Clinical Hematology by
Provides coverage of the pathogenesis, clinical, morphologic, molecular and investigational aspects of a full range of blood disorders seen in daily practice The revised fifth edition of this renowned atlas presents readers with a comprehensive, visual guide to clinical hematology, featuring 2700 full-color photographs and figures depicting the spectrum of hematological diseases. Ranging from photographs of the clinical manifestations and key microscopic findings to diagrams of the molecular aspects of these diseases, the book provides up-to-date information of the blood diseases that clinicians encounter every day. Color Atlas of Clinical Hematology: Molecular and Cellular Basis of Disease offers the reader an understanding of normal cell machinery, and of the molecular basis for such processes as DNA and cell replication, RNA species, trafficking and splicing, protein synthesis, transcription factors, growth factor signal transduction, epigenetics, cell differentiation, autophagy, and apoptosis. The text goes on to explore how these processes are disturbed in the various diseases of the bone marrow, blood, and lymphoid systems. Helps solve difficult diagnostic challenges and covers complex principles using highly illustrative, full-color images Explores all aspects of benign and malignant hematology, including blood transfusion and coagulation with extensive coverage of the pathogenesis of common clinical entities Provides a quick and easy reference of key diagnostic issues in a comprehensive yet concise format Includes and illustrates the WHO Classification of Hematologic Malignancies Illustrates the new knowledge of the molecular basis of inherited and acquired blood diseases Color Atlas of Clinical Hematology: Molecular and Cellular Basis of Disease is the must-have resource for both trainee and practising hematologists, and for every department of hematology. "Substantially updated and now multi-authored so that all aspects of haematology are equally covered, including the newest developments in molecular biology and genomic sequencing" "There is a surplus of invention in communicating complex problems here and an admirable effort to keep the reader totally up-to-date"
Diagnosis and Management of Sleep Disorders by
The disorders that affect the sleep pattern of a person are referred to as sleep disorders. They negatively affect the normal physical, mental, social and emotional functioning of the person. Some of the common sleep disorders are bruxism, catathrenia, delayed sleep face disorder, hypopnea syndrome and idiopathic hypersomnia. The patient experiences involuntary grinding and clenching of teeth while sleeping in bruxism. Catathrenia causes nighttime groaning during exhalation. Delayed sleep phase disorder is an inability to awake and fall asleep at socially acceptable times. Sleep disorders are commonly diagnosed with the help of tests such as polysomnography and actigraphy. The treatment of sleep disorders depends on the diagnosis, the patient's medical and psychiatric history as well as the patient's preference. This book provides comprehensive insights into the field of sleep disorders. It presents researches and studies performed by experts across the globe. Those in search of information to further their knowledge will be greatly assisted by this book.
Handbook of Clinical Diagnostics by
The book covers basic theories, basic knowledge and basic skills on clinical diagnosis, basic requirements for doctors' ethical conduct, clinical reasoning and documentation of medical records during the process of making a diagnosis. It consists of six parts, including 'Symptoms', 'History Taking', 'Physical Examination', 'Supplementary Examination', 'Common Clinical Diagnosis Techniques', and 'Diagnostic Process and Clinical Reasoning'. A vocabulary index is included for easy reference at the end of the book. This book is compiled by authors of 14 Chinese medical schools and universities, whose years of experience in clinical diagnostics, rich overseas learning and working experiences. This book is included in the first round of English textbooks series for clinical medicine major of China's higher medical colleges; and is among "13th Five-Year" planning textbooks of National Health Commission of the People's Republic of China. It is also an ideal textbook for MBBS (Bachelor of Medicine and Bachelor of Surgery) student It is a co-publication book with People's Medical Publishing House (PMPH). The ISBN of PMPH version in China is 978-7-117-23852-6.
Handbook of Nonprescription Drugs by
Written and peer reviewed by experts in practice and academia, the 20th edition of the Handbook of Nonprescription Drugs: An Interactive Approach to Self-Care is an authoritative resource for students and for health care providers who counsel and care for patients undertaking self-treatment-nonprescription drugs, nutritional supplements, medical foods, nondrug and preventive measures, and complementary therapies. Its goal is to develop the knowledge and problem-solving skills needed to assess a patient's health status and current practice of self-treatment, to determine whether self-care is necessary or appropriate, and, if appropriate, to recommend safe and effective self-care measures. KEY FEATURES: Enhanced content in all chapters from the previous edition with up-to-date information beneficial to all health care providers and students. Updates to the universal objectives to complement the content in the chapters focused on medical disorders. Abstracts for each online chapter providing concise introductory material focused on key features of each chapter. Up-to-date content on nonprescription medications including indications, dosages, interactions, current evidence, medical conditions and prescription to nonprescription reclassifications. Quick-reference tools such as treatment algorithms (including exclusions for self-treatment), drug product tables, patient education sidebars, and product administration illustrations.
Histology for Pathologists by
Selected as a Doody's Core Title for 2022! Filled with more than 1,000 images, the latest edition of this award-winning comprehensive classic--written by anatomic pathologists for anatomic pathologists--has been updated with new information on surgical principles and techniques. Like previous editions, the book is designed to bridge the gap between normal histology and pathologic alterations. Now featuring the latest developments and advances made since the previous edition five years ago. Unique among pathology textbooks in using human--as opposed to animal--tissues for discussions on histology. Essential reading for all anatomic pathologists, and particularly helpful for pathology residents throughout their training. Chapters and sections organized by biological system as well as body region. Enhance Your eBook Reading Experience: Read directly on your preferred device(s), such as computer, tablet, or smartphone. Easily convert to audiobook, powering your content with natural language text-to-speech.
LeMone and Burke's Medical-Surgical Nursing by
For courses in medical-surgical nursing. The novice nurse's guide to whole-patient care LeMone and Burke's Medical-Surgical Nursing: Clinical Reasoning in Patient Care offers the skills and knowledge needed to provide safe, evidence-based care for the diseases and disorders the new nurse will most likely encounter, based on incidence and prevalence data. The theme is that patient care should address the whole person, not just the malfunction of body systems. Rather than memorize medical conditions, readers build the clinical reasoning skills they need to safely perform simple to complex tasks. The 7th edition has a new section on transitions of care and a new chapter linking sleep and health. It is now organized with a more consistent chapter structure for easier navigation. Also available with MyLab Nursing By combining trusted author content with digital tools and a flexible platform, MyLab personalizes the learning experience and improves results for each student. MyLab Nursing helps students master key concepts, prepare for success on the NCLEX-RN ® exam, and develop clinical reasoning skills. Note: You are purchasing a standalone product; MyLab Nursing does not come packaged with this content. Students, if interested in purchasing this title with MyLab Nursing, ask your instructor to confirm the correct package ISBN and Course ID. Instructors, contact your Pearson representative for more information.
Olds' Maternal-Newborn Nursing and Women's Health Across the Lifespan by
For courses in maternal-newborn nursing. A humanistic approach to maternal-newborn care and women's health Olds' Maternal-Newborn Nursing & Women's Health Across the Lifespan acknowledges the central role of nurses in all aspects of childbearing. Relatable and engaging, it promotes holistic, evidence-¿based care grounded in patient-family partnerships, while supporting the clinical reasoning skills nurses need to care for patients in an ever-¿changing health care system. The 11th edition includes a new Reproductive Genetics chapter and a new Case Study feature, plus access to Pearson's new MAP app with nursing strategies for educating patients and families in various situations and settings. Also available with MyLab Nursing By combining trusted author content with digital tools and a flexible platform, MyLab personalizes the learning experience and improves results for each student. MyLab Nursing helps students master key concepts, prepare for success on the NCLEX-RN® exam, and develop clinical reasoning skills. Note: You are purchasing a standalone product; MyLab Nursing does not come packaged with this content. Students, if interested in purchasing this title with MyLab Nursing, ask your instructor to confirm the correct package ISBN and Course ID. Instructors, contact your Pearson representative for more information.
Red Book Atlas of Pediatric Infectious Diseases by
The fourth edition of this best-selling Red Book® image companion aids in the diagnosis and treatment of more than 160 of the most commonly seen pediatric infectious diseases. This edition features Zika virus, chikungunya, serious bacterial infections caused by Enterobacteriaceae, Moraxella catarrhalis, human parechovirus, rhinovirus, staphylococcal food poisoning, Staphylococcus aureus, coagulase-negative staphylococcal infections, Ureaplasma urealyticum, and Ureaplasma parvum. Streamline disease recognition and clinical decision-making with hundreds of finely detailed color images, combined with updated step-by-step guidelines. Concise text descriptions walk the reader through the diagnosis, evaluation, and management essentials for each condition. Clinical manifestations Epidemiology Diagnostic tests Etiology Incubation period Treatment Contents include: Adenovirus Infections Bacteroides and Prevotella Infections Bartonella henselae (Cat-Scratch Disease) Candidiasis Cystosporiasis (formerly Isosporiasis) Diphtheria Epstein-Barr Virus Infections (Infectious Mononucleosis) Giardia intestinalis Infections (Giardiasis) Human Herpesvirus 6 (including Roseola) and 7 Lyme Disease (Lyme borreliosis, Borrelia burgdorferi Infection) Meningococcal Infections Nocardiosis Onchocerciasis (River Blindness, Filariasis) Human Papillomaviruses Pediculosis Capitis (Head Lice) Pelvic inflammatory disease Pneumococcal Infections Rabies Respiratory Syncytial Virus Rocky Mountain Spotted Fever Salmonella Infections Shigella Infections Group A Streptococcal Infections Staphylococcus aureus Syphilis Tinea Corporis (Ringworm of the Body) Trichinellosis (Trichinella spiralis) Tuberculosis Endemic Typhus (Flea-borne Typhus or Murine Typhus) West Nile Virus Zika virus Plus much more...
Radiographic Positioning and Procedures by
The gold-standard in imaging, Merrill's Atlas of Radiographic Positioning and Procedures, 14th Edition, is revised to fit the image of the modern curriculum. This thoroughly updated text has been reorganized to emphasize all procedures found on the ARRT Radiography Exam and in the ASRT Radiography curriculum. Separate chapters for each bone group and organ system enables you to learn cross-section anatomy along with anatomical anatomy - helping you make more accurate diagnoses. All outdated material has been removed and specialized content has been updated and moved to chapters more relevant to modern practice. With more than 400 projections, Merrill's is not just the most widely used imaging text, but the most comprehensive radiographic positioning product on the market! Comprehensive, full-color coverage of anatomy and positioning makes Merrill's Atlas the most in-depth text and reference available for radiography students and practitioners. Frequently performed essential projections identified with a special icon to help you focus on what you need to know as an entry-level radiographer. Summary of Pathology table now includes common male reproductive system pathologies. Coverage of common and unique positioning procedures includes special chapters on trauma, surgical radiography, geriatrics/pediatrics, and bone densitometry, to help prepare you for the full scope of situations you will encounter. Collimation sizes and other key information are provided for each relevant projection. Numerous CT and MRI images enhance comprehension of cross-sectional anatomy and help in preparing for the Registry examination. UPDATED! Positioning photos show current digital imaging equipment and technology. Summary tables provide quick access to projection overviews, guides to anatomy, pathology tables for bone groups and body systems, and exposure technique charts Bulleted lists provide clear instructions on how to correctly position the patient and body part when performing procedures. NEW! Updated content in text reflects continuing evolution of digital image technology NEW! Updated positioning photos illustrate the current digital imaging equipment and technology (lower limb, scoliosis, pain management, swallowing dysfunction). NEW! Added digital radiographs provide greater contrast resolution for improved visualization of pertinent anatomy. NEW! Revised positioning techniques reflect the latest ASRT standards.
Principles of Radiographic Imaging, 6th Ed. by
Fascinated by X-rays and medical imaging technology? Drawn to work that helps others? PRINCIPLES OF RADIOGRAPHIC IMAGING: AN ART AND A SCIENCE, 6th Edition reveals the inner workings of radiography careers, including radiologist assistants, radiologic technologists, ultrasound techs, CT and MRI techs, and other imaging roles in health care. Some books dump too much on you too fast, but this one moves at your pace, delivering the math and physics behind radiology before advancing to complex subjects. And it�s designed around actual job skills like creating the beam, running scans and tests, and analyzing images--so you can pass accreditation exams and work in emergency rooms and hospitals. Reader-friendly yet packed with information, this text offers all you need to know about digital radiography systems, digital exposure factors, instrumentation and so much more!
Bontrager's Textbook of Radiographic Positioning and Related Anatomy by
Master radiographic positioning with this comprehensive, user-friendly text. Focusing on one projection per page, Bontrager's Textbook of Radiographic Positioning and Related Anatomy, 9th Edition includes all of the positioning and projection information you need to know in a clear, bulleted format. Positioning photos, radiographic images, and radiographic overlays, presented side-by-side with the explanation of each procedure, show you how to visualize anatomy and produce the most accurate images. Updated to reflect the latest ARRT competencies and ASRT curriculum guidelines, it features more than 200 of the most commonly requested projections to prepare you for clinical practice. Labeled radiographs (radiographic overlays) identify key radiographic anatomy and landmarks to help you recognize anatomy and determine if you have captured the correct diagnostic information on your images. Positioning chapters, organized with one projection per page, present a manageable amount of information in an easily accessible format. Unique page layout with positioning photos, radiographic images, and radiographic overlays presented side-by-side with the text explanation of each procedure to facilitate comprehension and retention. Pathologic Indications list and define the pathologies most likely to be encountered during procedures covered in each chapter to help you understand the whole patient and improve your ability to produce radiographs that make diagnosis easy for the physician. Pathology Demonstrated sections explain why a particular projection is needed, or what pathology might be demonstrated, to give you a larger frame of reference and a better understanding of the reasoning behind each projection. Radiographic Criteria on positioning pages provide standards for evaluating the quality of each radiograph, helping you develop a routine for evaluating radiographic quality. Pediatric Applications prepare students for clinical success - and prepare technologists to deal competently with the special needs of their pediatric patients. Geriatric Applications include general information on positioning techniques and patient handling for geriatric patients, fostering an understanding of the challenges these patients present to the technologist. Critique Radiographs demonstrate positioning errors and help you avoid similar errors in clinicals. Instructor resources include an accompanying Evolve website with PowerPoint slides, an image collection, and a test bank to help instructors prepare for class. Student resources include a workbook and handbook to help you better understand and retain complicated material. NEW! Updated art visually demonstrates the latest digital technology used in radiography with approximately 250 new radiographs, positioning, and equipment images. NEW and UPDATED! Increased emphasis on radiation safety practices arms you with the information you need to know to succeed in clinical practice. NEW! Obese Patient Considerations include general information on positioning techniques and positioning modifications for obese patients to show you how to position this subset of patients accurately. UPDATED! Reflects the latest ARRT competencies and ASRT curriculum guidelines to prepare you for boards and clinical practice. UPDATED! Completely revamped surgical procedures chapter reflects current ARRT competencies and ASRT curriculum guidelines. UPDATED! Routine and Special Procedures sections moved to an appendix so you can refer to this necessary material quickly and efficiently.
Workbook for Textbook of Radiographic Positioning and Related Anatomy by
Master radiographic positioning and produce quality radiographs! Bontrager's Workbook for Textbook of Radiographic Positioning and Related Anatomy, 9th Edition offers opportunities for application to enhance your understanding and retention. This companion Workbook supports and complements Lampignano and Kendrick's text with a wide variety of exercises including situational questions, laboratory activities, self-evaluation tests, and film critique questions, which describe an improperly positioned radiograph then ask what corrections need to be made to improve the image. A wide variety of exercises include questions on anatomy, positioning critique, and image evaluation, with answers at the end of the workbook, to reinforce concepts and assess learning. Situational questions describe clinical scenarios then ask a related question that requires you to think through and apply positioning info to specific clinical examples. Chapter objectives provide a checklist for completing the workbook activities. Film critique questions describe an improperly positioned radiograph then ask what corrections need to be made to improve the image, preparing you to evaluate the quality of radiographs you take in the clinical setting. Laboratory exercises provide hands-on experience performing radiographs using phantoms, evaluating the images, and practicing positioning. Self-tests at the end of chapters help you assess your learning with multiple choice, labeling, short answer, matching, and true/false questions. Answers are provided on the Evolve site. NEW! Updated content matches the revisions to the textbook, supporting and promoting understanding of complex concepts. NEW and UPDATED! Stronger focus on computed and digital radiography, with images from the newest equipment to accompany related questions, prepares you for the boards and clinical success.
Radiographic Pathology for Technologists by
Radiographic Pathology for Technologists, 6th Edition concisely covers the injuries and abnormalities most frequently diagnosed using medical imaging to prepare you for what you are most likely to encounter on the job. This essential text also features background discussions of key anatomy and physiology principles, along with imaging considerations for each disease categorized by type followed by a description of its radiographic appearance, signs and symptoms, and treatment. Concise coverage presents approximately 150 injuries and abnormalities most frequently diagnosed using medical imaging to keep you focused on what you are most likely to encounter in practice. Correlative and differential diagnosis discussions explain the diagnostic process and demonstrate the importance of high quality images. Chapter outlines and objectives, key terms, and multiple choice and discussion questions for each chapter with answers provided in the back of the text highlight the most important concepts within each chapter. Summary tables at the end of each chapter list pathologies covered and the preferred imaging modalities for diagnosis. Trauma chapter emphasizes the multi-system implications of traumatic injuries. NEW! Replacement images and illustrations reflect current practice for general radiography and alternative modalities, such as CT, MR, and fusion imaging. NEW! Updated coverage of digital radiography gives you the most up-to-date information on 3-D reconstructions, PET imaging, molecular imaging, monoclonal antibody technology, advances in cardiac imaging, and fusion technologies. NEW! Information on the Human Genome Project in introductory chapter reflects advances in molecular medical leading to more personalized treatment of disease. NEW! Virtual endoscopic images in GI chapter illustrate the latest in endoscopic imaging techniques. NEW! Coverage of interventional procedures in hepatobiliary and urinary systems help you diagnose and treat patients using the least invasive techniques. NEW! Expansion of neoplastic disease content in respiratory system chapter highlights the important role radiographic pathology plays in diagnosis and treatment.
Radiologic Science for Technologists by
Develop the skills you need to safely and effectively produce high-quality medical images with Radiologic Science for Technologists: Physics, Biology, and Protection, 11th Edition. Reorganized and updated with the latest advances in the field, this new edition aligns with the ASRT curriculum to strengthen your understanding of key concepts, and prepare you for success on the ARRT certification exam and in clinical practice. Firmly established as a core resource for medical imaging technology courses, this text gives you a strong foundation in the study and practice of radiologic physics, imaging and exposure, radiobiology, radiation protection, and more. Expanded coverage of radiologic science topics, including radiologic physics, imaging, radiobiology, radiation protection, and more, allows this text to be used over several semesters. Chapter introductions, summaries, outlines, objectives, and key terms help you to organize and pinpoint the most important information. Formulas, conversion tables, and abbreviations are highlighted for easy access to frequently used information. "Penguin" boxes recap the most vital chapter information. End-of-chapter questions include definition exercises, matching, short answer, and calculations to help you review material. Key terms and expanded glossary enable you to easily reference and study content. Highlighted math formulas call attention to key mathematical information for special focus. NEW! Chapters on Radiography/Fluoroscopy Patient Radiation Dose and Computed Tomography Patient Radiation Dose equip you to use the most current patient dosing technology. NEW! Streamlined physics and math sections ensure you're prepared to take the ARRT exam and succeed in the clinical setting.
Radiation Protection in Medical Radiography by
A full-color resource, Radiation Protection in Medical Radiography, 7th Edition makes it easy to understand both basic and complex concepts in radiation protection, biology, and physics. Concise coverage promotes the safe use of ionizing radiation in all imaging modalities, including the effects of radiation on humans at the cellular and systemic levels, regulatory and advisory limits for human exposure to radiation, and the implementation of radiation safety practices for patients and personnel. This edition includes NEW content on the impact of radiation levels during the nuclear power plant crisis that followed the 2011 earthquake/tsunami in Japan. From an author team led by well-known radiation protection expert Mary Alice Statkiewicz Sherer, this text has consistently helped students perform well on the ARRT exam! "...well written and easy to comprehend". Reviewed by Kirsten Farrell on behalf of RAD Magazine, March 2015 Full-color illustrations reinforce important information. Convenient, easy-to-use features include chapter outlines and objectives, highlighting of key terms, and bulleted summaries and review questions to enhance comprehension and retention. Clear and concise writing style covers complex concepts in radiation protection, biology, and physics in a building-block approach from basic to more complex concepts. Review questions are included at the end of chapters to assess your comprehension, with answers on the Evolve companion website. Coverage of historical radiological disasters includes photos and text on Hiroshoma, Chernobyl, and Three-Mile Island. UPDATED! NCRP and ICRP content includes guidelines, regulations, and radiation quantities and units, explaining the effects of low-level ionizing radiation, demonstrating the link between radiation and cancer and other diseases, and providing the regulatory perspective needed for practice. NEW! Discussion of Total Effective Dose Equivalent (TEDE) covers the radiation dosimetry quantity defined by the U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission to monitor and control human exposure to ionizing radiation. NEW! Coverage of the Fukushima Daiichi Nuclear Plant Crisis addresses the impact of radiation levels following Japan's earthquake/tsunami in March 2011. NEW! TRACE section covers the Tools for Radiation Awareness and Community Education program, a two-phase approach to radiation dose awareness and overall patient dose reduction through a joint venture of AHRA and Toshiba's Putting Patients First. NEW! Discussion of the FDA white paper: Initiative to Reduce Unnecessary Exposure from Medical Imaging promotes the safe use of medical imaging devices, supports informed clinical decision making, and leads to increased patient awareness.
Introduction to Radiologic Technology by
Here's everything a beginning radiography student needs to know! Introduction to Radiologic Technology, 7th Edition offers a solid overview of your exciting career as a radiologic technologist. After covering basic learning skills, this guide provides a historical perspective on radiology and insight into key topics such as the language of medicine, digital and conventional imaging, patient care, and radiation safety. Expert authors LaVerne T. Gurley and William J. Callaway describe the classes you will take in your radiography program, the latest changes in the Registry exam, what will be required in the practice setting, and your opportunities for advancement throughout your career. An introduction to radiologic technology includes a concise overview of what to expect in your coursework. Critical thinking skills are highlighted, with four important steps to take in assessing situations and making informed decisions. Career guidelines discuss customer service, ethics and professionalism, how to join professional organizations, and how to keep up with continuing education requirements after graduation. A clear, easy-to-read style does not assume you have prior knowledge of the subject matter. New photographs accurately depict current equipment and practice standards. An increased focus on digital imaging keeps you on the cutting edge of technology. Updates include: Positioning terminology Program accreditations Demographic information for better communication with culturally diverse patients A closer alignment of the book's topics with ASRT Core Curriculum's section on fundamentals.
Principles of Radiographic Imaging, 5th Ed. by
An overview of imaging modalities, PRINCIPLES OF RADIOGRAPHIC IMAGING: An Art & a Science, 5th Edition delivers essential information on radiographic contrast, density, detail, and distortion, as well as the latest instrumentation and technology used in the imaging sciences. Building logically from the simplest concepts to the more complex, the text ties lessons together visually and conceptually in a student-friendly and thorough presentation of radiographic exposure.