Welcome to the research guide for Pharmacology for Nursing (NUR 303). This guide is designed to assist you in finding sources both for your research and for your career. Resources in this guide are freely available to current RCBC students.
Complementary and Alternative Medicine Sb, 7th Ed by
Complementary and Alternative Medicine Sourcebook, Seventh Edition provides updated information for people considering these therapies for general well-being or specific health conditions. It discusses how to select a CAM practitioner, talk with a primary healthcare provider about using CAM, evaluate information on the internet, and pay for CAM therapies. It describes whole medical systems, such as Ayurveda, traditional Chinese medicine, Native American medicine, acupuncture, homeopathy, and naturopathy. It also talks about the safe use of dietary supplements, including vitamins, minerals, and herbs. Information on biologically based therapies, mind-body medicine, manipulative and body-based therapies, and energy-based therapies is also included. A glossary of related terms and a directory of additional resources provide additional help and information.
Antidiabetic Medicinal Plants and Herbal Treatments by
Diabetes is a chronic condition associated with metabolic disorder. Persons suffering from diabetes have shown accelerated levels of blood sugar which often harms the heart, blood vessels, eyes, kidneys, and nerves. Over the past few decades, the prevalence of diabetes has been progressively increasing. Synthetic drugs are used to treat diabetic patients to help control the disorder, but it is shown that numerous medicinal plants and herbal drugs are widely used in several traditional systems of medicine to prevent and treat diabetes. They are reported to produce beneficial effects in combating diabetes and alleviating diabetes-related complications. These plants contain phtyonutrients and phytoconstituents demonstrating protective or disease preventive properties. In many developing countries, herbal drugs are recommended by traditional practitioners for diabetes treatment because the use of synthetic drugs is not affordable. Key Features: Provides botanical descriptions, distribution, and pharmacological investigations of notable medicinal and herbal plants used to prevent or treat diabetes Discusses phytochemical and polyherbal formulations for the management of diabetes and other related complications Contains reports on antidiabetic plants and their potential uses in drug discovery based on their bioactive molecules This volume in the Exploring Medicinal Plants series provides an overview of natural healing treatments in selected antidiabetic plants. The book presents valuable information to scientists, researchers, and students working with medicinal plants or for those specializing in areas of ethnobotany, natural products, pharmacognosy, and other areas of allied healthcare. It is also useful to pharmaceutical companies, industrialists, and health policy makers.
Understanding Pharmacology by
Understanding Pharmacology: Essentials for Medication Safety, 3rd Edition uses a unique combination of simplified language, easy-to-follow headers, and engaging boxes and icons - such as Memory Joggers, Critical Points for Safety, Do Not Confuse, and Drug Alerts - to help you really understand how drugs work, instead of simply memorizing drug information. Updated drug tables with nursing implications ensure you are equipped with all the tools and information you need to safely prepare and administer drugs. Online case studies help you prepare for the Next Generation NCLEX-PN® and NCLEX-RN®. Sections on "Priority Actions to Take Before," "Priority Actions to Take After," and "Teaching Priorities for Patients" emphasize important aspects of drug administration, monitoring, follow-up, and patient teaching. Life span considerations outline nursing implications for drugs used in children, older adults, and pregnant women. Math and dosage calculations review reinforces medication preparation safety. Get Ready for the NCLEX® Examination! sections at the end of each chapter summarize key points and provide review questions that reinforce important concepts learned in the chapter. An array of marginal cartoon icons in Common Side Effects boxes help visual learners remember essential drug side effects. Drug Alert and Do Not Confuse boxes highlight areas of common drug/dosage errors. Memory Jogger boxes help you retain important drug information. Try This! boxes in the math chapter allow you to practice dosage calculation concepts. NEW! Clinical Judgment questions at the end of each clinical chapter offer additional self-assessment on pharmacology and medication administration. NEW! Critical Point for Safety boxes emphasize very important pharmacologic concepts to remember. NEW! Approximately 40 animations on the companion Evolve website supplement important concepts related to understanding pharmacology. NEW! Printed answer key with rationales in the back of the book makes it easy to check your answers and assess your comprehension. UPDATED! Revised drug tables provide adult dosages and nursing implications for individual drugs.
Davis's Drug Guide for Nurses by
Perfect for this student nurse!"Seriously, I love this book. It has already helped me ace 2 assignments! Definitely a must-have for student nurses."--Amy L., Online Student Reviewer SAFETY FIRST WITH 'CURE & CARE'! Davis's Drug Guide for Nurses®, Eighteenth Edition delivers everything you need to administer medications safely across the lifespan--643 well-organized monographs encompassing hundreds of generic drugs and thousands of trade names. Its nursing-focused Cure & Care' approach explains what the drug does and describes what the nurse does and how the nursing process relates to the pharmacotherapeutics. BONUS! FREE DIGITAL ACCESS An access code inside new, printed texts unlocks your one-year, FREE 1-year subscription to DrugGuide.com, Davis's Drug Guide Online, powered by Unbound Medicine, information on more than 5,000 trade names and generic drugs, as well as audio pronunciations and color photographs, all updated regularly. LIFE-SAVING GUIDANCE AT A GLANCE In-depth coverage of patient safety, red tab for high-alert medications, red, capitalized letters for life-threatening side effects, and REMS (Risk Evaluation and Mitigation Strategies) icon Special considerations for patient populations Icon highlighting pharmacogenomic content IV administration coverage Patient and family teaching guidance Canadian-specific content identified with a maple leaf icon FREE ONLINE LEARNING, CARE PLANNING & PATIENT EDUCATION TOOLS Audio Pronunciation Library of 1,200+ drug names Tutorials with self-tests, Preventing Medication Errors and Psychotropic Drugs Calculators for body mass index (BMI), metric conversions, IV drip rates, dosage/KG and Fahrenheit/Celsius. Interactive Case Studies, each followed by a series of questions Eight audio podcasts covering must-know information, concepts, and considerations for safe drug administration Video clips illustrating the safe administration of medications
Healing Garden by
A comprehensive and lushly photographed guide to growing and using healing plants, including recipes, from the founder of the Chestnut School of Herbal Medicine This is the ultimate reference for anyone looking to bring the beauty and therapeutic properties of plants into their garden, kitchen, and home apothecary. Both informative and accessible, it covers how to plan your garden (including container gardening for small spaces); essential information on seed propagation, soil quality, and holistic gardening practices; 30 detailed profiles of must-know plants (including growing information, medicinal properties, and how to use them); foundational principles of herbalism; step-by-step photographic tutorials for preparing botanical medicine and healing foods; and 70 recipes for teas, tinctures, oils, salves, syrups, and more. Packed with sumptuous photography, this book will appeal to home gardeners who want to branch out to culinary and medicinal herbs, home cooks and those interested in natural wellness, and novice and skillful herbalists alike.
Here are some more research guides of interest:
Do you need help with finding sources? Not sure is a source is scholarly/academic? Need help citing a source? Ask a Librarian! Visit us during our open hours on the 2nd floor of the Student Success Center! Call us at (856)222-9311 ext. 2019! Chat with us by going to the RCBC Library homepage! Text ASKRCBC to 66746!
Do you need help writing your paper? Do you want someone to proofread your paper? Visit the Learning Center (room 209) on the 2nd floor of the Student Success Center. For tutoring hours of operation, visit their webpage or call (856) 222-9311, ext. 2096.
Need assistance? Contact us during our operating hours!
Our normal operating hours are:
Please check the RCBC Library homepage for closings and extended hours.
