Print books are arranged on the shelf in Library of Congress Call Number order. Each call number begins with an alphanumeric base (e.g., "BF109.J8") that is followed by a cutter and a date of publication (e.g., "A25 1993"). See a librarian if you need assistance.
Call Number Range (where to look on the bookshelves)
Netter's Infectious Diseases by
Widely used by students, residents, generalists, and specialists, Netter's Infectious Diseases, 2nd Edition delivers must-know information on infectious diseases in a highly illustrated, easily accessible format. Concise visual overviews of essential topics provide a convenient, trustworthy way to review the basics of a given infectious disease or issue or to share with patients or staff. Drs. Elaine Jong and Dennis Stevens cover the basics of this complex field using memorable illustrations by world-renowned artist Frank H. Netter and others, offering a time-saving, authoritative look at infectious diseases life cycles, clinical presentations, and pathophysiology. Covers major conditions and problems such as vaccine-preventable diseases, drug-resistant staph, community acquired pneumonia, surgical infections, pyelonephritis, viral hepatitis, and sexually transmitted infections-and provides updated approaches to diagnosis, treatment, prevention, and standards of care. Includes new clinical vignettes added to most chapters. Provides updated and expanded coverage of emerging infectious diseases such as multidrug resistant tuberculosis (MDR-TB), neuroangiostrongyliasis (rat lungworm disease), Ebola virus, Severe Acute Respiratory Disease (SARS), Middle East Respiratory Syndrome (MERS), Coronavirus Infectious Disease-2019 (COVID-19), and novel influenza viruses including public health concerns. Covers vector-borne diseases including malaria, yellow fever, Zika infections and congenital Zika syndrome, West Nile fever, Lyme disease, tick-borne encephalitis, and Chagas disease plus others. New chapters on travelers' diarrhea, cholera, and primary amebic meningoencephalitis debut in the section on international travel and outdoor activities. Contains memorable parasite life cycles and unforgettable parasite infection clinical vignettes. Features unparalleled illustrations by Drs. Frank H. Netter, Carlos Machado, and others, as well as radiologic images. Provides 24 printable patient education brochures in the enhanced ebook. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
APA Handbook of Psychopharmacology by
The APA Handbook of Psychopharmacology provides a comprehensive working knowledge of basic pharmacology and psychopharmacology, examines the utility of pharmacotherapy for addressing different dimensions of human suffering, and highlights the broader professional and social issues surrounding this work in a language that is suitable for a broad readership. This 33-chapter handbook is designed as a library reference that captures the most current research to date on pharmacotherapy strategies for addressing emotional and behavioral conditions, as an informative guide for educators and students to strengthen their understanding of the scientific and professional issues associated with the field of psychopharmacology, and as an invaluable desk reference for both researchers and practicing clinicians. Chapters cover fundamental principles of pharmacology and psychopharmacology; psychopharmacology for the treatment of psychological disorders, substance use disorders, and addiction; and issues pertaining to professional training, policy, and industry. Most chapters include a tool kit of resources, providing recommended references that clinicians can use in practice and as educational and teaching tools to stay abreast of the latest developments on the pharmacological treatments for each disorder.
Calculation of Drug Dosages by
Learn to calculate drug dosages accurately with this practical workbook-textbook! Calculation of Drug Dosages, 12th Edition makes it easy to understand and master the three major methods of dosage calculation - dimensional analysis, ratio and proportion, and the formula method. A basic review of mathematics refreshes your math skills, and practice problems, worksheets, and practice tests help you gain confidence in making drug calculations. New to this edition are Next Generation NCLEX® (NGN) practice problems preparing you for the critical thinking questions on the NGN exam. Written by nursing experts Sheila Ogden and Linda Fluharty, this worktext is ideal for students and for nurses returning to practice Learning objectives keep you focused and explain what you should accomplish upon the completion of each chapter. Logical structure organizes the material from simple to complex, making it easier to build upon and retain knowledge. Extensive math review covers the basic math skills essential for accurate calculation of drug dosages and helps you identify your strengths and weaknesses. Chapter worksheets allow you to practice solving realistic problems. Post-tests at the end of each chapter allow you to assess your understanding of content. Alert boxes highlight information crucial to math calculation and patient safety. Comprehensive post-test at the end of the book offers additional practice and measures your overall understanding. 40 flash cards on the Evolve website make it easy to study and review abbreviations, formulas, and conversions from the book. NEW! Next Generation NCLEX® practice problems and case studies progress from simple to complex concepts and are included in chapters throughout the text. NEW! Coverage of heparin drip calculation describes how to calculate and administer an IV weight-based heparin bolus from the IV heparin. NEW! Added IV coverage is included in the IV Flow Rates and IV Flow Rates for Dosages Measured in Units chapters. NEW! Updated drug information and medication labels are added to this edition.
Medicine Management Skills for Nurses by
An invaluable nursing handbook to increase your confidence with medicine management In the newly revised Second Edition of Medicine Management Skills for Nurses, renowned nursing trainer Claire Boyd delivers a concise, pocket-sized companion to the subject of medicines management and drug administration that's perfect for student nurses, associate practitioners, and newly qualified registered nurses. Part of the popular Student Survival Skills series, this edition includes tips, advice, and words of wisdom from nursing students written for people working through the nursing curriculum. It mirrors the standards set by the Nursing and Midwifery Council and contains interactive student activities throughout the book. An ideal companion to the forthcoming Calculation Skills for Nurses, 2nd Edition, the latest edition of Medicine Management Skills for Nurses is packed with conversational, accessible guidance to help you understand and handle medicines with confidence and competence. It also includes: Thorough introductions to the general principles of drug administration and to pharmacokinetic and pharmacodynamic concepts Comprehensive explorations of oral drug administration and administration by injection Practical discussions of calculations for working out medicine dosages In-depth examinations of specific, commonly used drugs and individual medical conditions, as well as pain management Ideal for pre-registration nursing students and nursing associates, the latest edition of Medicine Management Skills for Nurses is an indispensable resource for anyone seeking practical and student-centered advice for managing medicines in a clinical environment.
Medical Use of Illicit Drugs by
With the legalization of medical marijuana becoming increasingly common in many states, the medicinal potential of formerly illicit drugs has caught the public's attention. However, marijuana is not the only drug being researched and used medicinally: MDMA, psilocybin, and ketamine have been found to have therapeutic qualities, which leads some to question whether the medical use of these substances may also be legal in the future. This volume helps readers explore issues like regulation, the ethics of using illicit drugs in medical and scientific research, and its place in the greater history of drug regulation in the United States.
Medicinal Cannabis by
This book provides instruction for health professionals wanting to gain knowledge about the clinical aspects of cannabis medicine. How to use cannabis with real patients, not just theoretically, its pitfalls and challenges, as well as rewards, is a vastly under-covered topic. Now that some form of medical cannabis is approved in almost all US states, health care providers and patients Need to Know how to achieve maximum benefits by best use of this versatile herbal medicine. Medicinal Cannabis: Pearls for Clinical Practice introduces the scientific background of how cannabis acts medicinally, its components and how cannabis affects a specific condition. Key Features: Provides instruction for health professionals wanting to understand the clinical practice of cannabis medicine Reviews the chemistry, physiology and mechanisms of action of cannabinoids, endocannabinoids and cannabis with a focus on clinical relevance Presents information on practice management of specific patient populations, including pediatric, youth, adult, elderly and pets Features over 150 case reports with learning "Pearls" from the author's clinical practice for 35 medical conditions Discusses specifics of dosing and delivery of cannabis in detail, with strategies to promote the benefit/risk ratio About the Author Deborah Malka, MD, PhD, is a holistic physician with certification in Integrative Holistic Medicine. Prior to clinical practice, Dr. Malka completed her PhD in Human Genetics from Columbia University, and studied both natural and traditional medicine, with degrees from the University of New Mexico School of Medicine and the Santa Fe College of Natural Medicine. She has specialized in cannabis medicine for the past 15 years, treating over 30,000 patients.
Mosby's Drug Guide for Nursing Students with 2022 Update by
From the most-trusted name in nursing comes the handbook designed to help you understand common drug families and interactions. Mosby's Drug Guide for Nursing Students, 14th Edition provides you with the latest information on more than 4,000 generic and trade-name drugs, along with the latest FDA-approved medications. Side-effects are organized by body system and identified as common or life threatening, informing you of what signs to watch for during assessments. In addition, drug monographs are arranged alphabetically, and each includes clear dosing, administration, and nursing process information so you are ready for clinicals. In fact, what sets this handbook apart is its detailed coverage of rationales and explanations, drug-specific nursing diagnoses, administration of IV drugs, and medication safety - helping you understand how families of drugs work together. More than 4,000 generic and trade-name drugs are profiled, covering almost every drug you will administer in practice or in clinicals. Black Box Warnings alert you to FDA warnings of dangerous or life-threatening drug reactions. Additional online-only drug monographson the companion Evolve website provide information on even more medications. Safety Alert icon denotes the most critical drug interactions and side effects. Bold headings in coverage of IV drug administration highlight dosage and IV administration instructions, including safety considerations, syringe, and additive compatibilities. Logical organization of side effects information shows you what signs to watch for during assessments. Nursing Process steps are used as the framework for organizing all nursing care information. Alphabetical organization by generic name provides quick and easy access to specific drugs, while the full-color design highlights important information. Complete pharmacokinetic information includes the mechanism and absorption of the drug, as well as its action, duration, and excretion. Cross-references indicate where drug information can be found in the appendixes. NEW! Appendix with new drugs for 2022. NEW! Updated Drug Categories that include the new 2022 drugs. NEW! The most up-to-date information on drug dosages, warnings, and patient information ensures you understand the safe administration of common classes of drugs, as well as their common side effects and interactions.
Basic Concepts in Pharmacology: What You Need to Know for Each Drug Class, Sixth Edition by
The up-to-date content and proven study techniques you need to pass one of the most difficult courses in medical school Presented in a style that makes learning and retaining key information effortless, Basic Concepts in Pharmacology clearly explains each fundamental principal of drug actions. This updated edition includes the popular Trivia Sorter, which helps you understand the mechanism of action for the class of drugs and its side effects; consider if the drug is for a disorder or symptom; determine the unique features of single drugs in this class; and know the side effects and drug interactions of the class of drugs. Walking you through the learning process in a way that helps you master each concept before moving on to the next, Basic Concepts in Pharmacology encourages you to organize and condense the drug information you must remember; review key information, which is conveniently presented in boxes, tables, and illustrations; and identify the most important drugs in each class. Features * 640 photos and illustrations * Includes study techniques not found in any other such resources * Key information presented in boxes, illustrations and tables
Pathophysiology, Physical Assessment, and Pharmacology by
Integrate the 3Ps for a real-world, holistic approach to nursing care. This first-of-its-kind text integrates the 3 Ps--pathophysiology, pharmacology, and physical assessment--into an integrative whole that reflects the real-world of how students learn and nurses practice. This groundbreaking approach promotes a deeper understanding of these three essential and often challenging content areas, paralleling the importance of integration in the planning, delivery, and evaluation of nursing care. Its lifespan approach features six major population-based sections cover the key conditions and disorders that nurses are likely to encounter in practice, reviewing the important pathophysiology, pharmacology, and physical exam and assessment information relative to each disorder. Each section concludes with a case study that presents a new disorder relative to the population in that section, reinforcing the authors' application-focused approach and developing must-have critical-thinking skills.
PCAT Prep Plus by
Kaplan's PCAT Prep Plus, Third Edition is up-to-date with the latest test changes and includes all the content and strategies you need to get the PCAT results you want. Kaplan Test Prep is the only Official Provider of PCAT Prep, as endorsed by the American Association of Colleges of Pharmacy (AACP). We are so certain that PCAT Prep Plus offers all the knowledge you need to excel at the PCAT that we guarantee it: After studying with the online resources and book, you'll score higher on the PCAT--or you'll get your money back. The Best Review 2 full-length, realistic practice tests online that provide you with scores and percentiles A guide to the current PCAT Blueprint to show you exactly what to expect on Test Day Additional practice questions for every subject, all with detailed answers and explanations Comprehensive review of all the content covered on the PCAT Kaplan's proven strategies for Test Day success Expert Guidance Kaplan's experts ensure our practice questions and study materials are true to the test. We invented test prep--Kaplan (kaptest.com) has been helping students for 80 years. Our proven strategies have helped legions of students achieve their dreams.
Pharmacology by
Get the pharmacology guidance proven to help aspiring nurses succeed on the NCLEX and later as a professional nurse. Using a streamlined prototype approach, an emphasis on nursing care, plus a wealth of other trademark features, Pharmacology: A Patient-Centered Nursing Process Approach, 10th Edition makes it easy for you to really understand pharmacology. Prototype drug charts summarize the need-to-know information about key drugs, including dosage, side effects, interactions, and more. Images of current drug package labels reinforce your understanding of text content using relevant, true-to-life learning. Bulleted nursing process summaries relate nursing care to drug therapy in addition to highlighting patient teaching, patient safety, and relevant cultural content. Finally, the unique and thorough drug calculations section features math review as well as step-by-step instructions for drug calculations using the four general methods of dosage calculation. All in all this text has all the tools you need to better understand the complicated subject of pharmacology. UNIQUE! Prototype drug charts provide easy access to key information for representative drugs, including dosages, contraindications, drug-lab-food interactions, pharmacokinetics, and more. UNIQUE! Extensive chapter on drug calculations presents six methods of dosage calculation, providing a helpful review and supplement to a dosage calculations textbook. UNIQUE! Nursing process summaries highlight important nursing considerations within the framework of the nursing process. Consistent RN-standard chapter pedagogy includes: online learning resources on the companion Evolve website, objectives, and outline. Critical thinking case studies challenge you to apply your knowledge and analytical skills to realistic patient scenarios. Answer guidelines are provided on the Evolve website. Application-level NCLEX study questions include at least one alternate-format question included per chapter. Chapter on safety and quality discusses medication errors, specific nursing measures to promote safety, National Patient Safety Goals, and many other safety issues and concerns. Prioritization coverage throughout the text helps you learn to prioritize nursing care and differentiate need-to-know from nice-to-know content. NEW! Thoroughly updated drug content reflects the very latest FDA drug approvals, withdrawals, and therapeutic uses, as well as corresponding updated nursing content. NEW! New nursing concepts have been added to the nursing processes to further support conceptual learning and higher-level thinking. NEW! New chapter on pharmacogenetics details how a patient's genetic makeup may affect his or her response to drugs. NEW! Additional student review questions have been added to thoroughly prepare you for the growing pharmacology coverage on the NCLEX Exam. NEW! Updated antihypertensive guidelines (published in November 2017) ensure you are up to date on the latest best practices regarding drugs used to treat high blood pressure. NEW! Updated nursing processes have been added for more consistency from chapter to chapter.
If you're interested in finding ebooks only, head to eBook Collection. To log in, use the barcode located on the back of your student ID and your pin number. You have the option to download ebooks to a device, but we strongly recommend reading them online to take advantage of the full suite of available tools. Create a personal account using your Library barcode and PIN to manage and organize your ebook reading and research.
Not a complete listing of holdings. Check Ebook Central or eBook Collection or ask a librarian for help!
Dictionary of Pharmaceutical Dosage Forms by
The study of pharmaceutical dosage forms has many connections to biological and medical sciences including physiology, biochemistry, pharmacology, pharmacotherapy, therapeutics, pharmacodynamics, pharmacokinetics, and pharmacognosy. Dictionary of Pharmaceutical Dosage Forms is a collection of terms and definitions prepared to assist healthcare practitioners and students as a companion or reference resource when reading notes and completing routine care. It can also provide reference material for hospital and medical staff, consultants, nursing instructors, and pharmaceutical science students. This first edition classifies and organizes the forms in an easily readable format, so readers will find it a quick and simple reference. Features Collects terms and definitions to assist healthcare practitioners and students as a companion or reference resource when reading notes and completing routine care Focuses on product dosage forms and includes supplementary information, providing readers, particularly pharmacy and medical students and professionals, insights into choices of dosage forms made during drug product development Offers information on the indications, contraindications, side effects, and more, for a given drug Classifies and organizes the forms in a readable format, providing a quick and simple reference
Pharmacological Properties of Plant-Derived Natural Products and Implications for Human Health by
Medicinal plants and their derived products remain as an indispensable source of bioactive molecules that serve as either drug candidates or lead compounds for drug design and discovery. There are several advantages for plant-derived therapeutics including wide availability, diverse pharmacological actions and a generally good profile of safety and tolerability. Over the recent years, there have been numerous reports from clinical studies testifying to the efficacy and safety of medicinal plants and phytochemicals in ameliorating several human diseases. A plethora of basic studies has also unravelled molecular mechanisms underlying the health benefits of herbal medicines. Nevertheless, issues such as identification of bioactive ingredients, standardization of the products and drug interactions remain to be further studied. In this book, we aim to put together several chapters on the medicinal properties and pharmacological action of medicinal plants, plant species and phytochemicals. The goal is to present a comprehensive collection on most of the therapeutic aspects of plant-derived natural products and molecular mechanisms thereof.
Pharmacology Case Studies for Nurse Prescribers by 
Pharmacology for the Prehospital Professional by
Fully revised to meet current guidelines, Pharmacology for the Prehospital Professional, Second Edition offers a complete and practical understanding of pharmacology in the prehospital setting.The Second Edition provides a unique problem-based approach to ensure that you, as a prehospital provider, are prepared to effectively administer the drugs your patients need. Clinical scenarios present case information just as you will learn it in the classroom and encounter it in the field. By placing each drug in its relevant context, this text teaches you to identify the proper drug for a specific patient in a specific situation.This Second Edition includes:Contextualized profiles of over 90 drugs used in prehospital care for quick identification at critical moments.Problem-oriented approaches to real scenarios encountered in the field.Step-by-step procedural descriptions of pharmacologic processes commonly performed in the prehospital setting.A Medication Math chapter that strengthens your dosage-calculation skills.Legal Aspects and Risk Management coverage to help you avoid common mistakes made in prehospital care.Review questions that reinforce important chapter concepts and test your understanding.
Pharmacy Technician Certification Review and Practice Exam by
Whether you are studying for one of the national pharmacy technician certification exams for the first time or need practice for recertification, the new Pharmacy Technician Certification Review and Practice Exam is your reliable resource for exam prep. What's New in the Fourth Edition: Expanded content to reflect the revised Pharmacy Technicians Certification Exam (PTCE) Brand new and updated self-assessment questions and exercises Two new practice exams containing over 200 questions Pop quiz questions throughout New chapters on medication safety, inventory management, and billing and information systems Alone or with the new edition of the Manual for Pharmacy Technicians, 5th Edition and the all-new Workbook for the Manual for Pharmacy Technicians, the Pharmacy Technician Review Guide and Practice Exam is your trusted resource to help you achieve certification!
Understanding Pharmacology for Pharmacy Technicians by
Using language and organization aimed directly at pharmacy technicians, Understanding Pharmacology for Pharmacy Technicians offers more than 700 pages of practical applications, safety issues and error prevention, and illustrative cases that not only explain how but why. Throughout the book, anatomy and physiology are discussed in relation to various disorders and associated pharmacotherapies to give the pharmacy technician students a context for how drugs work. Students using this book will learn the therapeutic effects of prescription medications, nonprescription medications, and alternative therapies commonly used to treat diseases affecting that system, and their adverse effects. An emphasis is placed on practical applications for the technician. What types of issues will technicians encounter at work? What is their role in patient education? How do they work with the pharmacist? Key features throughout the book: 77 case studies, including 249 case study questions More than 1,200 drugs discussed Pronunciations for difficult terms or words such as disease names Numerous figures and illustrations Alerts that point out areas of potential dangers or errors, including look-alike/sound-alike drugs. 335 practice points, including mention of any FDA-required patient medication guides, and any ""special"" drug storage and dispensing considerations, including beyond-use dating of open multi-use products. 110 commonly used and comprehensive drug tables. Chapter review questions The book's content is written to meet ASHP accreditation standards and, therefore, is one of the most comprehensive books on the market related to pharmacology for technicians.