The RCBC Library has many course textbooks on reserve. These books can be reserved for two hours at a time.
You can view which textbooks are available by subject on this guide:
Mud Flower: Surviving Schizophrenia and Suicide Through Art shows the perspective of a person who has a serious mental illness, who survives extreme treatments, who both family and the health system have given up on, but who defies all expectations and common beliefs of what is possible. Along the way, the author describes the role of art in her survival, grappling with how the life force can be either nurtured or destroyed by elements in our environment, such as nature, beauty, and art versus dehumanization and coercion. Mud Flower: Surviving Schizophrenia and Suicide Through Art has won numerous book awards including the Pencraft Award for Literary Excellence, the Literary Titan Award, the Firebird Award, International Book Awards Finalist, and First Place of the Book Fest Award.
School closures due to the COVID-19 pandemic, racial violence, injustice, and resource inequities highlight the need for multi-disciplinary strategies and practices that support evidence-based practices across a range of educational levels for leaders, professors, teachers, educational professionals, trauma survivors, and youth and government programs for both in-class and remote learning environments. Practical Strategies to Reduce Childhood Trauma and Mitigate Exposure to the School-to-Prison Pipeline provides practical strategies and tools focused on reducing childhood trauma while mitigating exposure to the school-to-prison pipeline. Covering a range of crucial topics such as social justice, trauma, mindfulness, and coaching, this reference work is ideal for researchers, scholars, practitioners, academicians, educators, leaders, administrators, school staff, youth programs, government organizations, students, and trauma survivors.
Integrating Spirituality into Counseling uses the Christian tradition as a starting point for developing a universal frame of reference and is predominantly based on an existential approach to counseling, one that is applicable to several faith traditions as well as spiritual but nonreligious audiences. The chapters of this book proceed from the theoretical toward the more practical, in a logical fashion, allowing a clear distinction between different topics, starting from meta-reflection and finishing with practical applications. The design of the book allows students to focus on whatever is of importance to them; each chapter is self-contained and can be read independently of the others. Integrating Spirituality into Counseling is designed for students of counseling, pastoral care, spirituality, theology, and chaplaincy. It will provide readers with the tools they need to work with spiritual issues across traditions. Students will also find advice for when to refer clients to religious leaders or ministers, and they'll also deepen their understanding of the ways in which spirituality influences one's life.
There is nothing prescriptive about Acceptance and Commitment Therapy or Art Therapy. Both involve the client and the therapist cultivating creativity and psychological flexibility by letting go of limited, constricted, or habitual ways of thinking and being. This leads us to think, create, respond, and behave in ways of our choosing, bringing richness and renewed meaning to our lives. Through this work you will be able to apply ACT-informed art therapy to your practice. Art activities both illustrate the concepts and exist as stand-alone interventions to heighten creative potential and mindful attention to the present moment. ACT is effective when treating psychological difficulties such as depression, anxiety, OCD and psychosis. Readers will develop a meaningful context for understanding how ACT and art therapy align to creatively achieve positive outcomes for you and your clients.
What might it look like for an Autistic, non-binary person who lives with mental illness to live well and with hope? In this book, author and advocate Yenn Purkis reflects on their experiences of life as an Autistic non-binary person who has a diagnosis of atypical schizophrenia. Exploring the intersecting areas of mental health and illness, neurodivergence and neurodiversity, and gender non-conformity, the narrative follows Yenn through experiences of incarceration, psychosis, employment, therapy both helpful and not, medication, diagnosis, stigma and anxiety. Illuminating reading for students of disability studies, Autism studies, queer studies, and related social sciences, this book will also bring important perspective to those in practice and in training: doctors, psychiatrists, policy makers, teachers, and social workers. Yenn will describe a life well-lived, with and alongside Autism and mental illness, that will provide a vital perspective to anyone studying or working people who share these social identities.
A comprehensive and up-to-date handbook that surveys the field of grief therapy. With contributions from leading international scholars and practitioners, it covers: Foundational matters such as clinical presentations in bereavement, the conceptualization of grief therapy and its evidence base; distinctive approaches to grief therapy including existential therapy, art therapy, CBT and narrative, psychodynamic and meaning-based approaches; specific circumstances of death such as violent death and suicide, and particular populations such as bereaved parents and grieving children; professional issues such as training in grief therapy and therapist self-care. The handbook is designed with students and practitioners in mind, with vivid case studies that bring theory and practice to life, key-point summaries at the end of each chapter and recommendations for further reading on each topic.
"Following the critically acclaimed Couples on the Couch, this volume offers further compelling ideas about couple psychotherapy from a psychoanalytic perspective. The book well represents the foundational basis of the Tavistock model and draws deeply from the work of Freud, Klein, Bion, Meltzer and the contemporary Kleinians, while expanding the theoretical model by featuring ideas about couple relationships written from a variety of psychoanalytic frameworks. These additional frameworks include Winnicottian theory, Fairbairn's Object Relations Theory, Link Theory, Self-Psychology, Attachment Theory, Mentalization Theory and Contemporary Relational Theory. This rich array of theoretical models, presented with exemplifying clinical material, results in a diverse assembly of papers that offer the reader an in-depth and complex view of a psychoanalytic approach to understanding and working with dynamics of couple relationships. With clear clinical guidance, this book will be invaluable for all psychoanalysts and psychotherapists working with couples"-- Provided by publisher.
The Handbook of Art Therapy has become the standard introductory text into the theory and practice of art therapy in a variety of settings. The comprehensive book concentrates on the work of art therapists and the way that art and therapy can combine in a treatment setting to promote insight and change. In this fourth edition, readers will gain both a historical overview of art therapy and insight into contemporary settings in which art therapists work, with a new chapter on the use of new technology and working online. The authors are highly experienced in the teaching, supervision and clinical practice of art therapy. Using first-hand accounts from therapists and patients, they look particularly at the role of the art work in the art process and setting in which it takes place. Chapters explore the theoretical background from which art therapy has developed and the implications for practice including the influence of art and psychoanalysis, creativity, aesthetics and symbolism, and the impact of different schools of psychoanalytic theory. Also featured is an extensive bibliography, encompassing a comprehensive coverage of the current literature on art therapy and related subjects. Covering basic theory and practice for clinicians and students at all levels of training, this book remains a key text for art therapists, counsellors, psychotherapists, psychologists and students at all levels, as well as professionals working in other arts therapies.
Forensic Art Therapy is designed as an educational and informative resource for individuals from a diverse array of disciplines that engage in investigatory undertakings, interview victims and witnesses, and provide evidentiary testimony. The material presented serves as a primer for professionals that may present in court on behalf of a client. Ethical issues inherent in the forensic arena, as well as the use of novel scientific evidence in the form of drawings, legal proceedings, testimonials, and practical tips and strategies for effective witnessing, are shared. Research regarding a forensic art therapy investigative interview process, the Common Interview Guideline, examines the facilitative factor associated with the effect of drawing. When utilized as a primary resource within investigative interviews, drawing has the potential to offer support, promote empowerment and enhance disclosure. Understanding how drawing functions in investigative interviews and what it offers for the child, the team and the process contributes to on-going research and best practice. The text serves as a resource and a handbook for students and professionals that investigate, interview, testify and intervene on behalf of child victims and witnesses from the domains of child protection, law enforcement, prosecution, the judiciary, creative arts therapies, social work and allied practitioners in medicine and mental health.
The Thriving Therapist provides an integrative, holistic, and developmentally sensitive path to assist therapists in assessing their unique needs and proactively structuring sustainable self-care practices, in alignment with their values. Self-care shouldn't feel like a burden. Professional self-care can be enjoyable, personally meaningful, and sustainably integrated into mental health practitioners' lives. Included in this book are diverse and vital resources that help practitioners: Go beyond one-off activities to create a self-caring lifestyle; Strengthen the guiding values by which they live and work, in order to prevent burnout and embody wellness; Cultivate mindful awareness of their needs both personal and professional, with special attention to the alignment of the person-practitioner-work environment; Build powerful inner resources such as gratitude, self-compassion, forgiveness, and humor to soothe in response to threats and bounce back from daily challenges; Implement and sustain healthy lifestyle habits that transform "simply getting by" into more easeful and meaningful living, including neurophysiological supports, meditation and subtle energy practices, mindful media consumption, and community-building.
Now in a fully updated second edition, this professional guidebook has been created to help adults provide emotional support for children who have experienced the loss of somebody they know, or something they loved. Written in an accessible style and with a sensitive tone, Helping Children with Loss provides adults with a rich vocabulary for mental states and painful emotions, paving the way for meaningful and healing conversations with children who are struggling with difficult feelings. Practical activities provide opportunities for conversation and will empower the child to find creative and imaginative ways of expressing themselves when words fail. Key features of this resource include: Targeted advice for children who defend against feeling their painful feelings by dissociating from grief Tools and strategies for helping children cope with loss, including engaging activities to help children explore their feelings in a non-threatening way Photocopiable and downloadable resources to help facilitate support Written by a leading child psychotherapist with over thirty years' experience, this book will support children to develop emotional literacy and connect with unresolved feelings affecting their behaviour. It is an essential resource for anybody supporting children aged 4-12 who have experienced loss.
DBT and Art for Youth Suicide Prevention by
Using art therapy, lived experience, and DBT skills in combination, this book offers insight into how, together, these methods can help prevent youth suicide. Practical advice for professionals and case studies will result in increased confidence in using DBT with young people. In this helpful and empowering book, readers are guided through the background, theory, and use of art therapy and DBT as a positive intervention. Schorr exemplifies these practices through The Arts in Recovery for Youth (AIRY) model - an art therapy model informed by research in suicidology and best practices in suicide prevention. Practical resources and a wide range of art therapy directives are included in order to seamlessly integrate DBT-informed art therapy into caring and therapeutic work with evidence-based measurable outcomes.
Working with Adolescents, Second Edition by
Noted for its multisystemic-ecological perspective, this accessible text and practitioner resource has now been revised and expanded with 60% new material. The book provides a comprehensive view of adolescent development and explores effective ways to support teens who are having difficulties. The authors examine protective and risk factors in the many contexts of adolescents' lives, from individual attributes to family, school, neighborhood, and media influences. Assessment and intervention strategies are illustrated with diverse case examples, and emphasize a social justice orientation. Useful pedagogical features include end-of-chapter reflection questions and concise chapter summaries. New to This Edition *Incorporates current research on brain development, resilience, gender diversity, mental health care, and more. *Chapters on new topics: the adolescent brain, trauma, and suicide and self-injury. *Fully rewritten chapters on substance use, queer youth, justice-involved youth, and the joys of working with adolescents. *Reflects the unique contexts and challenges facing Generation Z.
Correctional Counseling and Rehabilitation by
This text presents the foundations of correctional treatment and intervention, including overviews of the major therapeutic modalities that are effective when intervening with justice-involved individuals to reduce ongoing system involvement and improve well-being. The text also focuses on diagnosis of mental illness, correctional assessment and classification, case planning strategies, and the necessary counseling and human service skills for working alongside system-involved people. Specific chapters focus on working with women, individuals struggling with substance abuse, and clients with severely antisocial behavior such as psychopathy. Written to help students prepare for a career in correctional counseling or forensic social work, the book also assists working professionals (e.g., institutional and community corrections staff) to determine which strategies might be most effective with their clients. Revised using person-centered language, the 10th edition includes a new chapter focused on the necessary relational skills that probation and parole officers must have to be agents of behavior change. The content is divided into four parts: (1) A Professional Framework for Correctional Counseling; (2) Client Assessment, Diagnosis, Classification, and Case Planning; (3) Contemporary Approaches for Correctional Counseling and Treatment, and (4) Effective Correctional Interventions for Special Populations. This book is appropriate for upper-level undergraduates and graduate students in Criminal Justice and Criminology, Psychology, and Social Work programs, as well as correctional practitioners looking for professional development to enhance behavior change among clients.
A Therapist's Guide to Treating Eating Disorders by
All humans need space to think, to be, and to process without constant distraction. This is especially true of adolescents and young adults, for whom identity formation is a consuming task. Social media has generated both a place for the creation of identity and an audience. But constant connection leaves little space without intrusion from others. For those with body dissatisfaction and/or eating disorders, living in today's world can be especially challenging, and viewing images on social media and other online formats can be devastating. Shauna Frisbie utilizes phototherapy techniques to view client-selected images (whether they be of themselves or others) to help uncover underlying messages that are impacting their relationship to their bodies. Integrating concepts of healing narratives, neuroscience, and phototherapy, this book will help any therapist promote self-compassion, self-reflection, and healing in their clients.
Lifespan Development by
Provides fundamental knowledge while challenging readers to question, evaluate, and consider contextual factors when applying developmental theoriesThis unique and refreshing text imbues lifespan development theories, concepts, and research with unaccustomed energy and life-while meeting the rigorous academic standards required for accreditation in the helping professions. Going beyond mere memorization, the book illuminates the contextual and cultural dimensions of human development by underscoring current and relevant research; considering the racial, social, and economic factors that impact human development; offering the perspectives of a broad spectrum of esteemed helping professionals; and incorporating case studies, podcasts, vivid graphics, and interactive activities. Highlighting the ways in which developmental theories are applicable to contemporary life, the text uses case studies to demonstrate how clinicians can use their knowledge of development to support client growth, the expertise of multidisciplinary health professionals to highlight different developmental theories and approaches, and analyzes foundational theories against a backdrop of current research that factors in contextual and cultural dimensions. These include a focus on racial and social inequality, social media, children with special needs, persons with disabilities, poverty, and development in time of pandemic. Chapters are organized by lifespan development phases and begin with a case study emphasizing cultural and contextual considerations followed by relevant theories and models to conceptualize the particular phase. Supportive teaching tools include Instructor's Manual, PowerPoints, and Test Bank. Purchase includes digital access for use on most mobile devices or computers. Key Features: Delivers engaging approach to lifespan development while maintaining strict academic standards Illuminates the contextual and cultural dimensions of human development by underscoring contemporary research Offers the perspectives of multidisciplinary experts who highlight varied theories and approaches Written by authors of different ages, cultural backgrounds, and professional identities to ensure diverse, culturally responsive perspectives Provides podcasts for most chapters from experts focusing on cultural and contextual dimensions of specific theories Uses student reflection boxes to focus on specific and current factors impacting development Includes abundant graphics, interactive activities, and links to outside resources to reinforce learning
A Clinician's Guide to Gender Actualization by
A Clinician's Guide to Gender Actualization provides an essential guide for mental health professionals working with gender diverse clients, delivering material that challenges clinicians to provide affirming specialized care for their clients. Gender actualization is the social, expressive, and existential process of becoming and integrating one's authentic self through the context of gender identity, and this book introduces an effective clinical model for competent gender therapy care. Building upon the reader's foundational knowledge, chapters provide useful assessment tools, interventions, and treatment strategies to implement in their clinical practice, with accompanying personal narratives and client experiences woven throughout. Challenging readers to explore intersectionality and the crucial awareness of their own privileges, this book is a critical read for providers working with or seeking to educate themselves regarding gender diverse clients.
Communication and Interpersonal Skills in Social Work by
Communication and Interpersonal Skills in Social Work are at the heart of effective social work practice. This book offers students a solid grounding in the core knowledge and skills of communication needed for effective practice. The book takes the key theories in communication and explains them in a systematic and practice-related way, essential for both undergraduate and postgraduate students to develop a critical understanding of the subject. This crucial fifth edition supports students with core communication skills by providing in-depth coverage closely interwoven with learning features that engage, stimulate and challenge. Working with children, adults and those with learning difficulties are all fundamental aspects of the book making it useful to students of all disciplines.
Cops, Teachers, Counselors by
Since the 1980s, street-level bureaucracy research and theory has deeply shaped scholarship and practice in the US and globally and in a wide-range of disciplines: public administration, political science, law and society, social work, education, criminal justice, to name just the most prominent. The 2003 edition of Cops, Teachers, Counselors has become one of the more visible books in this field of research. It was based on NSF-supported field research in two US states and five different agencies. This research employed an innovative story collection and analysis approach that examined how frontline workers understand and interpret fairness in the delivery of government services. The 2003 book gave voice to these police officers, teachers, and social workers. It also provided an initial theoretical framing that began to move scholarly attention away from seeing frontline workers as exclusively agents of the state and more as defining their judgements in their direct interactions with various publics. This new edition wraps an expanded theoretical framing around the original chapters. Steven Maynard-Moody and Michael Musheno's "reframing of frontline inquiry" is based on a reinterpretation of the original stories and fieldwork that was guided by scholarly conversations since the 2003 publication and by their own separate and original research on schools and policing.
Becoming a Mental Health Counselor by
Becoming a Mental Health Counselor is a guide for students on the path to becoming licensed mental health therapists, as well as those just starting their careers. Filled with practical advice and tips, this book guides the reader through early career milestones of psychotherapists, including professional identity development, applying for jobs, and obtaining licensure. Volungis also discusses the reality of the profession, emphasizing the importance of self-care, ethics, personal identity, and managing expectations. The book concludes with an exploration of private practice and the next steps in the career ladder. Ideally suited for professional development courses, this volume helps students prepare for life outside of school. It shows them how to transform the knowledge they've gained into a successful career.
Intimate Partner Violence by
Intimate Partner Violence: Clinical Interventions with Partners and Their Children brings into focus an ecological and clinical frame for addressing the resulting psychological effects of intimate partner violence (IPV). Aymer presents a perspective that is often omitted from social science textbooks which are geared to policy practice, tending to expose students to macro-systemic ideas (including criminal justice policies and procedures) relative to IPV. However, this book expands clinical practice pedagogy by reinforcing the need for students to go beyond macro issues in order to deliver competent clinically-based interventions that help partners and their children work through the consequential effects of partner violence. Designed for graduate students in social work, psychology, gender studies and allied mental health programs, it expands the discourse, arguing that IPV is a complex psycho-social-political-relational problem that must be understood from a multi-theoretical perspective. Through case studies, theory, research, and the author's clinical practice wisdom, this text will: increase understanding of how to work clinically with women affected by IPV, increase knowledge of how to work with abusive men, heighten knowledge of how IPV affects children and adolescents, expand knowledge of social and cultural notions, and explore men's role in terms of advocating against gender-based violence.
Multicultural Child Maltreatment Risk Assessment by
Multicultural Child Maltreatment Risk Assessment provides detailed descriptions of child maltreatment assessment and key strategies for culturally informed risk assessment in families. The book presents a new model for evaluating families that includes cultural competence, a conceptualization of adequate parenting, and strategies for reflective decision making. Chapters address a range of factors including race, ethnicity, religion, gender, and sexuality. Ten case studies, each including discussion prompts, challenge the reader to apply forensic evaluation techniques for effective and ethical decision making in complex and ambiguous cases. Both experienced mental health providers and students will come away from the book with a deeper understanding of child maltreatment and its effects, models and modes of assessment, and factors that place families at greater risk.
The Renfrew Unified Treatment for Eating Disorders and Comorbidity by
The majority of individuals with eating disorders also experience symptoms of anxiety, depression, post-traumatic reactions, and/or obsessive-compulsive disorders. Most research-supported treatments for eating disorders, however, do not integrate interventions for these co-occurring conditionsin a unified way.The Renfrew Unified Treatment for Eating Disorders and Comorbidity was developed to help people who struggle with any type of eating disorder as well as intense emotions like anxiety, sadness, anger, and guilt. Eating disorders include symptoms such as efforts to restrict eating, binge eating orovereating, and compulsive or unhealthy efforts to lose weight, alongside strong, distressing feelings about the importance of shape, weight, or eating control. The goal of this Workbook, which is designed to accompany the companion Therapist Guide, is to help people overcome their individual eatingand emotional issues using a common set of scientifically tested tools. The steps and exercises in this book are intended to help readers identify and better understand how eating and emotional issues interact, to address some of the core thoughts and behaviors that underpin both eating andemotional disorders, and to develop new flexibility and capacity in areas of life that have been affected. The strategies included in this book are based on common principles found in existing empirically supported psychological treatments, and have been extensively tested in research studies. Theresearch to support these interventions is included in the companion Therapist Guide.
To find books that are available to you through the RCBC Library and the Burlington County Library System (BCLS), click on My Account & Catalog on the library homepage.
Enter your search terms in the keyword search box.
To see books only at the RCBC Library, check the box on the left for "RCBC - Mount Laurel".
Click "Find it" to see the book's call number. The call number tells you where to find the book in the library. If you need assistance, just ask a librarian!
Click "Request it" to put the book on hold. You will need to sign in with your library barcode. Don't have a barcode yet? Fill out the form here or speak to a librarian.
If you're interested in finding ebooks only, head to Ebook Central or eBook Collection. To log in, use the barcode located on the back of your student ID and your pin number. You have the option to download ebooks to a device, but we strongly recommend reading them online to take advantage of the full suite of available tools. Create a personal account using your Library barcode and PIN to manage and organize your ebook reading and research.
RCBC Library is part of the Burlington County Library System (BCLS)!
Your RCBC Library barcode allows you to check out physical material at other BCLS branches. (A separate BCLS Library card is needed to access their online resources.)
If another branch has a book that you are looking for, either call them to place it on hold for you, or as a RCBC librarian to call for you.
Note: a book that shows up as being in another branch may be currently in use by another patron. Save yourself a trip and call to double check the book's availability!
Inter-library Loans
If a book that you want is not available in the RCBC Library or BCLS, we can attempt to order the book from an outside library to be delivered to the RCBC Library. Note: this method may take 2 weeks or longer for the book to arrive at RCBC.
To order a book via inter-library loan, please either fill out a blank form from JerseyCat or contact Debbie Kolodziej at dkolodzie@rcbc.edu.
Faculty Book Requests
Research assistance - help finding sources, evaluating sources
Online workshops for citing and plagiarism are held throughout the semester. To request a citing workshop, please email library@rcbc.edu