This book provides a comprehensive treatment of passive and active flow control in fluid dynamics, with an emphasis on utilizing fluid instabilities for enhancing control performance. Examples are given from a wide range of technologically important flow fields occurring in aerospace applications, from low-subsonic to hypersonic Mach numbers. This essential book can be used for both research and teaching on the topics of fluid instabilities, fluid measurement and flow actuator techniques, and problem sets are provided at the end of each chapter to reinforce key concepts and further extend readers' understanding of the field. The solutions manual is available as a online resource for instructors. The text is well suited for both graduate students in fluid dynamics and for practising engineers in the aerodynamics design field.
A comprehensive introduction to real-time computing for mechanical engineers and engineering students that integrates theory and application. There are many textbooks that cover real-time computing, but none designed specifically for mechanical engineering curricula. Filling this gap, Rico Picone, Joseph Garbini, and Cameron Devine provide mechanical engineers and engineering students with a comprehensive introduction to real-time computing that integrates theory and application. The book presents the key ideas required to realize mechatronic systems that include real-time computers as functional components. Learning is organized around a sequence of nine hands-on laboratory exercises. Topics include scheduling, interrupts, timing, real-time operating systems, computer hardware, C programming, device drivers, algorithms, digital electronics, communication, amplifiers, encoders, finite state machines, discrete dynamic systems, and digital feedback control. Leading readers through the process of designing and implementing real-time systems while applying the architecture and resources of a modern real-time development environment, this text provides an essential foundation that can be implemented and extended throughout an engineering career. The first real-time computing textbook designed for mechanical engineers Offers hands-on instruction in the design and programming of real-time mechatronic systems Introduces fundamental computing and programing topics Includes detailed coverage of user interaction, real-time program organization, timing control, and interface hardware Ideal for advanced undergraduate and first-year graduate students as well as for self-study
A fully comprehensive guide to thermal systems design covering fluid dynamics, thermodynamics, heat transfer and thermodynamic power cycles Bridging the gap between the fundamental concepts of fluid mechanics, heat transfer and thermodynamics, and the practical design of thermo-fluids components and systems, this textbook focuses on the design of internal fluid flow systems, coiled heat exchangers and performance analysis of power plant systems. The topics are arranged so that each builds upon the previous chapter to convey to the reader that topics are not stand-alone items during the design process, and that they all must come together to produce a successful design. Because the complete design or modification of modern equipment and systems requires knowledge of current industry practices, the authors highlight the use of manufacturer's catalogs to select equipment, and practical examples are included throughout to give readers an exhaustive illustration of the fundamental aspects of the design process. Key Features: Demonstrates how industrial equipment and systems are designed, covering the underlying theory and practical application of thermo-fluid system design Practical rules-of-thumb are included in the text as 'Practical Notes' to underline their importance in current practice and provide additional information Includes an instructor's manual hosted on the book's companion website
DIGITAL SIGNAL PROCESSING Understand the future of signal processing with the latest edition of this groundbreaking text Signal processing is a key aspect of virtually all engineering fields. Digital techniques enormously expand the possible applications of signal processing, forming a part of not only conventional engineering projects but also data analysis and artificial intelligence. There are considerable challenges raised by these techniques, however, as the gulf between theory and practice can be wide; the successful integration of digital signal processing techniques requires engineers capable of bridging this gulf. For years, Digital Signal Processing has met this need with a comprehensive guide that consistently connects abstract theory with practical applications. Now fully updated to reflect the most recent developments in this crucial field, the tenth* edition of this seminal text promises to foster a broader understanding of signal processing among a new generation of engineers and researchers. Readers of the new edition of Digital Signal Processing will also find: Exercises at the end of each chapter to reinforce key concepts A new chapter covering digital signal processing for neural networks Handy structure beginning with undergraduate-level material before moving to more advanced concepts in the second half Digital Signal Processing is a must-own for students, researchers, and industry professionals in any of the hundreds of fields and subfields that make use of signal processing algorithms. *This is the English language translation of the French original Traitement Numérique du Signal 10th edition by Maurice Bellanger © Dunod 2022 and is the 4th edition in English.
Print books are arranged on the shelf in Library of Congress Call Number order. Each call number begins with an alphanumeric base (e.g., "BF109.J8") that is followed by a cutter and a date of publication (e.g., "A25 1993"). See a librarian if you need assistance.
Call Number Range (Where to Find Books on the Bookshelves)
Please check the catalog or databases, or contact RCBC Library to see if book is currently available. Here are a few suggestions:
Fluid Mechanics by
This successful textbook emphasizes the unified nature of all the disciplines of Fluid Mechanics as they emerge from the general principles of continuum mechanics. The different branches of Fluid Mechanics, always originating from simplifying assumptions, are developed according to the basic rule: from the general to the specific. The first part of the book contains a concise but readable introduction into kinematics and the formulation of the laws of mechanics and thermodynamics. The second part consists of the methodical application of these principles to technology. In addition, sections about thin-film flow and flow through porous media are included.
Mechanical Design by
Mechanical Design: Theory and Applications, Third Edition introduces the design and selection of common mechanical engineering components and machine elements, hence providing the foundational "building blocks" engineers needs to practice their art. In this book, readers will learn how to develop detailed mechanical design skills in the areas of bearings, shafts, gears, seals, belt and chain drives, clutches and brakes, and springs and fasteners. Where standard components are available from manufacturers, the steps necessary for their specification and selection are thoroughly developed. Descriptive and illustrative information is used to introduce principles, individual components, and the detailed methods and calculations that are necessary to specify and design or select a component. As well as thorough descriptions of methodologies, this book also provides a wealth of valuable reference information on codes and regulations.
Design of Thermal Energy Systems by
Design of Thermal Energy Systems Pradip Majumdar, Northern Illinois University, USA A comprehensive introduction to the design and analysis of thermal energy systems Design of Thermal Energy Systems covers the fundamentals and applications in thermal energy systems and components, including conventional power generation and cooling systems, renewable energy systems, heat recovery systems, heat sinks and thermal management. Practical examples are used throughout and are drawn from solar energy systems, fuel cell and battery thermal management, electrical and electronics cooling, engine exhaust heat and emissions, and manufacturing processes. Recent research topics such as steady and unsteady state simulation and optimization methods are also included. Key features: Provides a comprehensive introduction to the design and analysis of thermal energy systems, covering fundamentals and applications. Includes a wide range of industrial application problems and worked out example problems. Applies thermal analysis techniques to generate design specification and ratings. Demonstrates how to design thermal systems and components to meet engineering specifications. Considers alternative options and allows for the estimation of cost and feasibility of thermal systems. Accompanied by a website including software for design and analysis, a solutions manual, and presentation files with PowerPoint slides. The book is essential reading for: practicing engineers in energy and power industries; consulting engineers in mechanical, electrical and chemical engineering; and senior undergraduate and graduate engineering students.
Mechanical Tolerance Stackup and Analysis by
Use Tolerance Analysis Techniques to Avoid Design, Quality, and Manufacturing Problems Before They Happen Often overlooked and misunderstood, tolerance analysis is a critical part of improving products and their design processes. Because all manufactured products are subject to variation, it is crucial that designers predict and understand how these changes can affect form, fit, and function of parts and assemblies¿and then communicate their findings effectively. Written by one of the developers of ASME Y14.5 and other geometric dimension and tolerancing (GD&T) standards, Mechanical Tolerance Stackup and Analysis, Second Edition offers an overview of techniques used to assess and convey the cumulative effects of variation on the geometric relationship between part and assembly features. The book focuses on some key components: it explains often misunderstood sources of variation and how they contribute to this deviation in assembled products, as well as how to model that variation in a useful manner. New to the Second Edition: Explores ISO and ASME GD&T standards¿including their similarities and differences Covers new concepts and content found in ASME Y14.5-2009 standard Introduces six-sigma quality and tolerance analysis concepts Revamps figures throughout The book includes step-by-step procedures for solving tolerance analysis problems on products defined with traditional plus/minus tolerancing and GD&T. This helps readers understand potential variations, set up the problem, achieve the desired solution, and clearly communicate the results. With added application examples and features, this comprehensive volume will help design engineers enhance product development and safety, ensuring that parts and assemblies carry out their intended functions. It will also help manufacturing, inspection, assembly, and service personnel troubleshoot designs, verify that in-process steps meet objectives, and find ways to improve performance and reduce costs.
Design of Mechanical Elements by
Provides a student-friendly approach for building the skills required to perform mechanical design calculations Design of Mechanical Elements offers an accessible introduction to mechanical design calculations. Written for students encountering the subject for the first time, this concise textbook focuses on fundamental concepts, problem solving, and methodical calculations of common mechanical components, rather than providing a comprehensive treatment of a wide range of components. Each chapter contains a brief overview of key terminology, a clear explanation of the physics underlying the topic, and solution procedures for typical mechanical design and verification problems. The textbook is divided into three sections, beginning with an overview of the mechanical design process and coverage of basic design concepts including material selection, statistical considerations, tolerances, and safety factors. The next section discusses strength of materials in the context of design of mechanical elements, illustrating different types of static and dynamic loading problems and their corresponding failure criteria. In the concluding section, students learn to combine and apply these concepts and techniques to design specific mechanical elements including shafts, bolted and welded joints, bearings, and gears. Provides a systematic "recipe" students can easily apply to perform mechanical design calculations Illustrates theoretical concepts and procedures for solving mechanical design problems with numerous solved examples Presents easy-to-understand explanations of the considerations and assumptions central to mechanical design Includes end-of-chapter practice problems that strengthen the understanding of calculation techniques Supplying the basic skills and knowledge necessary for methodically performing basic mechanical design calculations, Design of Mechanical Elements: A Concise Introduction to Mechanical Design Considerations and Calculations is the perfect primary textbook for single-semester undergraduate mechanical design courses.
Engineering Ethics and Design for Product Safety by
A systematic guide to product design and safety from an ethical engineering perspective This hands-on textbook offers a holistic approach to product safety and engineering ethics across many products, fields, and industries. The book shows, step by step, how to "design in" safety characteristics early in the engineering process using design for product safety (DfPS) methods. Written by a P.E. and skilled educator with industry experience, Engineering Ethics and Design for Product Safety addresses all aspects of the product system from the perspective of an active product-safety engineering manager. You will get detailed case studies, real-world examples, and side discussions that provide a deep dive into key topics. Coverage includes: Product safety Engineering ethics Product-safety components Hazards, risks, accidents, and outcomes A product-design process Product-safety engineering Engineering-design guidance Product-safety facilitators Product-safety engineering methods Product-safety defects and recalls
Schaum's Outline of Engineering Mechanics: Statics, Seventh Edition by
Publisher's Note: Products purchased from Third Party sellers are not guaranteed by the publisher for quality, authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product. Tough Test Questions? Missed Lectures? Not Enough Time? Fortunately, there's Schaum's. More than 40 million students have trusted Schaum's to help them succeed in the classroom and on exams. Schaum's is the key to faster learning and higher grades in every subject. Each Outline presents all the essential course information in an easy-to-follow, topic-by-topic format. You also get hundreds of examples, solved problems, and practice exercises to test your skills. This Schaum's Outline gives you: 628 fully solved problems to reinforce knowledge 1 final practice exam Hundreds of examples with explanations of statics concepts Extra practice on topics such as orthogonal triad of unit vectors, resultant of distributed force system, noncoplanar force systems, slope of the Shear diagram, and slope of the Moment diagram Support for all the major textbooks for statics courses Box in the middle: Access to revised Schaums.com website with access to 25 problem-solving videos and more. Schaum's reinforces the main concepts required in your course and offers hundreds of practice questions to help you suceed. Use Schaum's to shorten your study time-and get your best test scores!
Machine Methods by
This book, using an easy-to-follow, question and answer format provides readers with a brief introduction to the methods used in machine design. With over 1000 questions and answers on a variety of topics, it is an ideal resource for exam prep and for reviewing all of the key concepts in machine methods. Selected topics include: engineering drawing, soldering, welding, cutting tools, grinding, numerically controlled methods, turning and lathe work, measuring instruments, applied mechanics, automobile engines, refrigeration, and more.
Basics of CNC (Computer Numerical Control) Programming by
CNC machines are everywhere in the industries. The ever-increasing use of CNC in industry has created a need for personnel who are knowledgeable about and capable of preparing the programs which guide the machine tools to produce parts the required shape and accuracy. With this in mind the author has put effort to bring about the basics of CNC programming with 10 examples. Each block in the program is explained in detail. By the time you end reading this book, you will be definitely able to program a CNC machine operation your own.
Fundamentals of Thermodynamics by
This book provides a concise coverage of the basic concepts of thermodynamics, as it is used to solve the energy, power, and propulsion related issues. Reversible and regenerative principles from thermodynamics, high-pressure combustion processes, fuel cells, and renewable energy sources find application today in mitigating waste heat. The modeling can be used for prediction of cyclones, tornadoes, and other phenomena taking place in nature. It also derives the mathematical expressions about reversibility, work, and equilibrium from physical and intuitive considerations. The treatment is not restricted to ideal gases, and ideal gas assumption is imposed as a particular case of a real gas. Reversible paths between equilibrium states are obtained using reversible heat engines and reversible heat pumps to determine the entropy changes and obtain reversible work. The conditions of thermodynamic equilibrium are addressed for different systems. The molecular basis for temperature, internal energy changes, entropy, reversibility, and equilibrium are discussed. The book serves as a reference for undergraduate and graduate students alongside thermodynamics textbooks.
Mechanical Engineering Design (si Edition) by
Mechanical Engineering Design, Third Edition strikes a balance between theory and application, and prepares students for more advanced study or professional practice. Updated throughout, it outlines basic concepts and provides the necessary theory to gain insight into mechanics with numerical methods in design. Divided into three sections, the text presents background topics, addresses failure prevention across a variety of machine elements, and covers the design of machine components as well as entire machines. Optional sections treating special and advanced topics are also included. Features: Places a strong emphasis on the fundamentals of mechanics of materials as they relate to the study of mechanical design Furnishes material selection charts and tables as an aid for specific utilizations Includes numerous practical case studies of various components and machines Covers applied finite element analysis in design, offering this useful tool for computer-oriented examples Addresses the ABET design criteria in a systematic manner Presents independent chapters that can be studied in any order Introduces optional MATLAB(R) solutions tied to the book and student learning resources Mechanical Engineering Design, Third Edition allows students to gain a grasp of the fundamentals of machine design and the ability to apply these fundamentals to various new engineering problems.
RCBC Library is part of the Burlington County Library System (BCLS)!
Your RCBC Library barcode allows you to check out physical material at other BCLS branches. (A separate BCLS Library card is needed to access their online resources.)
If another branch has a book that you are looking for, either call them to place it on hold for you, or as a RCBC librarian to call for you.
Note: a book that shows up as being in another branch may be currently in use by another patron. Save yourself a trip and call to double check the book's availability!
Inter-library Loans
If a book that you want is not available in the RCBC Library or BCLS, we can attempt to order the book from an outside library to be delivered to the RCBC Library. Note: this method may take 2 weeks or longer for the book to arrive at RCBC.
To order a book via inter-library loan, please either fill out a blank form from JerseyCat or contact Debbie Kolodziej at dkolodzie@rcbc.edu.
Faculty Book Requests
Research assistance - help finding sources, evaluating sources
Online workshops for citing and plagiarism are held throughout the semester. To request a citing workshop, please email library@rcbc.edu