Successful Pathways for the Well-Being of Black Students by
A grassroots understanding of well-being can be an effective approach to meeting the needs of children in low-resource settings. Due to this, evidence on how to sustain such approaches is needed. Successful Pathways for the Well-Being of Black Students addresses a long-standing need for a book that focuses more on strength over weakness, inclusion over exclusion, health over neurosis, agency over passiveness, and future over the past of Black students' well-being. The book also articulates a vision for the kind of educational environment where Black students can thrive. Covering key topics such as community, workplace well-being, stress, and relationships, this premier reference source is ideal for administrators, policymakers, academicians, researchers, scholars, practitioners, librarians, instructors, and students.
Engaging Families in Higher Education by
"In today's colleges and universities, parents and families are increasingly important as partners to support students in enrolling and navigating the college experience. Tailored to higher education professionals who work with the families of college students, this book provides a solid foundation for establishing or enhancing parent and family initiatives across the institution and how to partner with families to foster student success. The chapter authors, seasoned professionals working in higher education, share best practices and relevant research related to partnering with families and addressing challenges that come with engaging families. Chapters also explore ways to make parent and family programming accessible for first generation families and families from underrepresented groups who may often feel left out of traditional activities, programs, and services. Chapters feature "Voices from the Field" sharing best practices as well as "Tough Talks" breaking down some of the more difficult interactions between families and students and staff. This book is a valuable resource to higher education and student affairs professionals seeking to strengthen their work with families in order to better support student success in college"-- Provided by publisher.
Becoming a Student-Ready College by
Reimagining the Culture of Leadership for Student Success A revision to the practical and popular guide, this book asks the crucial question within today's environment, "What's a student-ready college?" Higher education leaders are responsible for preparing their institutions to serve the students they admit in the best way possible. By asking ourselves how we can transform our institutions into student-ready colleges to create a new culture of leadership that is responsive to current challenges and focuses on understanding and utilizing student assets and social capital to achieve shared goals for student success. Becoming a Student-Ready College shows you how. Conversations in higher education tend to focus on defining college readiness for students. Too often, we forget to ask the question from the other side, and we miss important opportunities to develop institutions in ways that can help students thrive. Higher education leaders and educators can better serve today's college students through responsive and redesigned practices and policies. This updated edition features revisions and new material that speak to the social realities of today's incoming students and cover the latest strategies and techniques for connecting with learners to foster equity and success. Leverage existing resources to the benefit of students and deliver the right support at the right time to achieve equity in student outcomes and build on students' assets Design eco-systemic partnerships and support programs that nurture the relationship between the student and the institution Strengthen institutional capacity-building for achieving defined student-ready goals Build shared governance to promote agency and to foster change and collaboration Becoming a Student-Ready College explores leaders' shared responsibilities in advancing student success and provides practical recommendations for educators at all levels.
ASCEND to Higher Retention Rates by
Retention rates don’t just give institutions a calculated estimation of their graduation situation but also showcase their overall academic and financial health in addition to dictating their reputation. So if you are seeking to catapult your retention rates, you are well on your way to academic superiority, and this book will show you exactly how to get there. -- from Amazon
College Success for Students on the Autism Spectrum by
Helping both college faculty and student affairs staff enlarge their understanding of the experiences of students on the autism spectrum, this book provides guidance on putting supports in place to increase college success. Uniquely, the authors bring the perspective of neurodiversity to this work. Many individuals on the autism spectrum have been stigmatized by the diagnosis and experience autism as a negative label that brings with it marginalization and barriers through an emphasis on deficits. Autistic self-advocates within the neurodiversity movement are leading the charge to rethinking autism as neurodiversity, and to celebrating autism as central to identity. Neurodiversity is not a theory or a way of being, it is a fact, and neurological diversity should be valued and respected along with any other human variation such as race, ethnicity, gender, and sexuality. The book provides the practical guidance needed to help neurodivergent students succeed, with chapters that address a variety of key issues from the transition to college to career readiness after graduation. The authors address support services, faculty and staff roles, and enhancing academic success. They also cover navigating the social demands of college life, working with families, and mental health. The final chapter brings it all together, describing the elements of a comprehensive program to help this student population succeed. Difficulties with social interaction and communication are one of the defining characteristics of autism and often persist into adulthood. It can be assumed that difficulties with social interaction and communication may also impact college success, both socially and academically. But the answer for these students is not necessarily to try to "fix" these issues, since the fact that these students have been admitted to a degree-granting program shows that they can be successful students. Instead, there should be an emphasis on helping faculty, staff, and students understand the diversity of human behavior while helping autistic students achieve college success through a support system and by providing accommodations and services when needed.
The Role of Student affairs in Advancing Community College Student Success by
This collection brings together insightful chapters which explore diverse student success initiatives and programs in response to challenges faced by community colleges.
Each chapter of the collection magnifies a specific aspect of student affairs to illustrate how dedicated departments and practitioners have effectively supported student success via select projects or initiatives. Readers will gain a deeper insight into the contemporary applications, practices, and impacts of agendas such as the assessment of student affairs and services, student success programming, Guided Pathways, and The Completion Agenda. By demonstrating the meaningful involvement of student affairs practitioners in fulfilling institutional missions and visions, this collection contributes to an overarching dialogue about promoting community college student success.
This collection will be of interest to researchers, academics, graduates, and postgraduate students in the fields of higher education administration, educational leadership, adult education, and lifelong learning.
The Costs of Completion by
To improve community college success, we need to consider the lived realities of students. Our nation's community colleges are facing a completion crisis. The college-going experience of too many students is interrupted, lengthening their time to completing a degree--or worse, causing many to drop out altogether. In The Costs of Completion, Robin G. Isserles contextualizes this crisis by placing blame on the neoliberal policies that have shaped public community colleges over the past thirty years. The disinvestment of state funding, she explains, has created austerity conditions, leading to an overreliance on contingent labor, excessive investments in advisement technologies, and a push to performance outcomes like retention and graduation rates for measuring student and institutional success. The prevailing theory at the root of the community college completion crisis--academic momentum--suggests that students need to build momentum in their first year by becoming academically integrated, thereby increasing their chances of graduating in a timely fashion. A host of what Isserles terms "innovative disruptions" have been implemented as a way to improve on community college completion, but because disruptions are primarily driven by degree attainment, Isserles argues that they place learning and developing as afterthoughts while ignoring the complex lives that define so many community college students. Drawing on more than twenty years of teaching, advising, and researching largely first-generation community college students as well as an analysis of five years of student enrollment patterns, college experiences, and life narratives, Isserles takes pains to center students and their experiences. She proposes initiatives created in accordance with a care ethic, which strive to not only get students through college--quantifying credit accumulation and the like--but also enable our most precarious students to flourish in a college environment. Ultimately, The Costs of Completion offers a deeper, more complex understanding of who community college students are, why and how they enroll, and what higher education institutions can do to better support them.
Student Success in the Community College by
For much of the twentieth century, the definition of success for most community colleges revolved around student retention and graduation. This definition no longer works--if it ever did. In Student Success in the Community College: What Really Works? respected community college leaders, researchers, and innovators argue that student success is about redesigning community colleges in a manner that is consistent with each college's mission, goals, student population, and resources. Concluding that there is no one-size-fits-all approach to increasing student success, chapter authors analyze national, state, and regional efforts to increase student success; identify principles institutions can use to frame student success initiatives; and outline specific actions community colleges can take to increase student--and institutional--success. Student Success in the Community College: What Really Works? also provides concrete examples of effective student success initiatives in a variety of community college settings.
Workforce Development by
Many people who work in Workforce Development in Community Colleges have not had the benefit of courses or a degree program in Workforce Development. For that reason, when they join a community college, they often need a primer on the purpose, goals and nature of workforce development. This book is intended for that purpose. It can help newly-hired community college staff members, administrators, and even board of trustees members on the important workforce development mission of a community college.
Relationship-Rich Education by
A mentor, advisor, or even a friend? Making connections in college makes all the difference. What single factor makes for an excellent college education? As it turns out, it's pretty simple: human relationships. Decades of research demonstrate the transformative potential and the lasting legacies of a relationship-rich college experience. Critics suggest that to build connections with peers, faculty, staff, and other mentors is expensive and only an option at elite institutions where instructors have the luxury of time with students. But in this revelatory book brimming with the voices of students, faculty, and staff from across the country, Peter Felten and Leo M. Lambert argue that relationship-rich environments can and should exist for all students at all types of institutions. In Relationship-Rich Education, Felten and Lambert demonstrate that for relationships to be central in undergraduate education, colleges and universities do not require immense resources, privileged students, or specially qualified faculty and staff. All students learn best in an environment characterized by high expectation and high support, and all faculty and staff can learn to teach and work in ways that enable relationship-based education. Emphasizing the centrality of the classroom experience to fostering quality relationships, Felten and Lambert focus on students' influence in shaping the learning environment for their peers, as well as the key difference a single, well-timed conversation can make in a student's life. They also stress that relationship-rich education is particularly important for first-generation college students, who bring significant capacities to college but often face long-standing inequities and barriers to attaining their educational aspirations. Drawing on nearly 400 interviews with students, faculty, and staff at 29 higher education institutions across the country, Relationship-Rich Education provides readers with practical advice on how they can develop and sustain powerful relationship-based learning in their own contexts. Ultimately, the book is an invitation--and a challenge--for faculty, administrators, and student life staff to move relationships from the periphery to the center of undergraduate education.
Complete Guide to Blended Learning by
Skillfully shifting between online and in-person learning has become expected of teachers. In this essential guide, you will learn how to harness technology to enhance student learning in both realms. Combining theory, reflection, and personal experience, author Catlin R. Tucker equips educators with a wide variety of strategies and tools to support student and educator success in blended environments and beyond. K-12 teachers and administrators will: Gain insight on why blended instruction provides paths for effective, student-centered teaching Learn to navigate flexible learning landscapes Understand different collaborative and community-oriented strategies for successful blended teaching Utilize thoughtful reflection questions to examine your own school or district Discover strong theoretical frameworks and models for online and offline instruction Contents: Introduction Chapter 1: Blended Learning Chapter 2: Building Your Blended Learning Technology Toolbox Chapter 3: Teachers as Designers of Learning Experiences Chapter 4: Teachers as Instructors and Content-Area Experts Chapter 5: Teachers as Facilitators of and Partners in Learning Chapter 6: Developing a Dynamic Learning Community Chapter 7: The 5Es Instructional Model and Student-Centered Inquiry Chapter 8: Taking Blended Learning to the Next Level Conclusion Appendix: Glossary References and Resources Index
The Norton Guide to Equity-Minded Teaching by
Written by renowned teaching and learning experts, this guide offers concrete steps to help any instructor striving to ensure that all students--and, in particular, historically underserved students--have an equal chance for success. Here you'll find actionable tips, grounded in research, for teaching college classes online, in person, and everywhere in between. While we are pleased to offer this title as a print book, this title is also available as a free ebook for educators. To learn more and register for access, visit https://seagull.wwnorton.com/equityguide Praise for The Norton Guide to Equity-Minded Teaching "Sometimes resistance to change comes less from a difference in values than from simply not knowing how to change. This guide is a remedy to that conundrum--a lucid and inspiring collection of useful strategies and actionable know-how's on exactly how to make teaching more equitable and effective at the same time. A must-read for all teaching communities, it is a book whose time has come!" --Claude M. Steele, author of Whistling Vivaldi: How Stereotypes Affect Us and What We Can Do "Colleges are racialized organizations whose practices maintain inequalities in academic opportunities and outcomes for Black, Latinx, Indigenous, and marginalized Asian American and Pacific Islander students. This book gifts practitioners and their students with the knowledge and practices needed to transform the classroom into a site of racial justice." --Estela Mara Bensimon, founder, USC Center for Urban Education "I can't praise this book highly enough. The authors have produced a thoughtful and well-written guide to creating equity-minded college courses. Into their deft summaries of the research and theory they have woven well-chosen examples, plenty of starter tips, and material for further reflection. Change the lives of your students, and reshape your teaching, with the help of this essential book." --James M. Lang, author of Small Teaching: Everyday Lessons from the Science of Learning
The Blended Course Design Workbook by
This user-friendly workbook equips faculty and administrators with best practices, activities, tools, templates, and deadlines to guide them through the process of revising traditional location-based courses into a blended format. Providing a step-by-step course design system that emphasizes active learning and student engagement, this book walks readers through the development of course goals and learning objectives, assignments, assessments, and student support mechanisms with an eye toward technology integration. New to this edition are the most up-to-date research on blended courses, fresh templates, tips on the latest pedagogical trends related to artificial intelligence, and two additional chapters on facilitation strategies and group work and collaboration. The authors engage in equity-minded approaches to supporting student success throughout and address the needs of specific groups, such as students with disabilities, working students, and students who are parents or caregivers. Offering detailed instructions for each stage of course design, this book is a must-have for college instructors looking for a blended course design blueprint.
College Success for Students on the Autism Spectrum by
Helping both college faculty and student affairs staff enlarge their understanding of the experiences of students on the autism spectrum, this book provides guidance on putting supports in place to increase college success. Uniquely, the authors bring the perspective of neurodiversity to this work. Many individuals on the autism spectrum have been stigmatized by the diagnosis and experience autism as a negative label that brings with it marginalization and barriers through an emphasis on deficits. Autistic self-advocates within the neurodiversity movement are leading the charge to rethinking autism as neurodiversity, and to celebrating autism as central to identity. Neurodiversity is not a theory or a way of being, it is a fact, and neurological diversity should be valued and respected along with any other human variation such as race, ethnicity, gender, and sexuality. The book provides the practical guidance needed to help neurodivergent students succeed, with chapters that address a variety of key issues from the transition to college to career readiness after graduation. The authors address support services, faculty and staff roles, and enhancing academic success. They also cover navigating the social demands of college life, working with families, and mental health. The final chapter brings it all together, describing the elements of a comprehensive program to help this student population succeed. Difficulties with social interaction and communication are one of the defining characteristics of autism and often persist into adulthood. It can be assumed that difficulties with social interaction and communication may also impact college success, both socially and academically. But the answer for these students is not necessarily to try to "fix" these issues, since the fact that these students have been admitted to a degree-granting program shows that they can be successful students. Instead, there should be an emphasis on helping faculty, staff, and students understand the diversity of human behavior while helping autistic students achieve college success through a support system and by providing accommodations and services when needed.
Breaking Barriers: Student Success in Community College Mathematics by
Math is a four-letter word -- The framework for developmental and introductory college-level math: why are so many students unsuccessful? -- The study, settings, and the participants -- Prior experiences in math -- Attempting math and community college -- Navigating the first developmental math course -- Math pathways and completing developmental math -- The end of the rainbow -- I need math classes... now what? -- Lessons learned in the aftermath -- Appendix A: analyzing the results -- Appendix B: pre-algebra and introduction to algebra course content -- Appendix c: stand-along quantway 1 and statway 1 content -- Appendix D: elementary algebra (all half semester) content -- Appendix E: intermediate algebra content -- Appendix F: sample outline for introduction to statistics with the corequisite from Arnold Community College -- Appendix G: sample outline for quantitative reasoning with the corequisite from Walsh Community College -- Appendix H: lead questions for student participants -- Appendix I: lead questions for the Lester community college faculty -- Appendix J: samples of teaching practices.
Relationship-Rich Education by
A mentor, advisor, or even a friend? Making connections in college makes all the difference. What single factor makes for an excellent college education? As it turns out, it's pretty simple: human relationships. Decades of research demonstrate the transformative potential and the lasting legacies of a relationship-rich college experience. Critics suggest that to build connections with peers, faculty, staff, and other mentors is expensive and only an option at elite institutions where instructors have the luxury of time with students. But in this revelatory book brimming with the voices of students, faculty, and staff from across the country, Peter Felten and Leo M. Lambert argue that relationship-rich environments can and should exist for all students at all types of institutions. In Relationship-Rich Education, Felten and Lambert demonstrate that for relationships to be central in undergraduate education, colleges and universities do not require immense resources, privileged students, or specially qualified faculty and staff. All students learn best in an environment characterized by high expectation and high support, and all faculty and staff can learn to teach and work in ways that enable relationship-based education. Emphasizing the centrality of the classroom experience to fostering quality relationships, Felten and Lambert focus on students' influence in shaping the learning environment for their peers, as well as the key difference a single, well-timed conversation can make in a student's life. They also stress that relationship-rich education is particularly important for first-generation college students, who bring significant capacities to college but often face long-standing inequities and barriers to attaining their educational aspirations. Drawing on nearly 400 interviews with students, faculty, and staff at 29 higher education institutions across the country, Relationship-Rich Education provides readers with practical advice on how they can develop and sustain powerful relationship-based learning in their own contexts. Ultimately, the book is an invitation--and a challenge--for faculty, administrators, and student life staff to move relationships from the periphery to the center of undergraduate education.