Welcome to the Faculty, Staff, and Administration Resource Guide!
Did you know that the RCBC Library has resources not just for students, but also for you?
Library services include (but are not limited to):
Check out our Professional Development Collection! Located in the back of the library, in the Quiet Zone
Written by a teacher for teachers, Teaching Resilience and Mental Health Across the Curriculum is an integrative approach to pedagogy for educators at the high school and college level to survive, thrive, and sustain in the profession. Blending theory, research, and practice for a comprehensive program for teachers to incorporate well-being tools into the classroom, each of the book's five foundations includes engaging information, strategies, real-world examples, interactive reflection questions, and activities that can be directly applied to teaching and life. Practical guidance in designing real-world curriculum is offered alongside accessible strategies for engagement, investment, and active learning in student-centered classrooms. An essential guide for teachers, it includes techniques for incorporating well-being that are grounded in culturally responsive teaching, trauma-informed instruction, mental health, resilience, and emotional literacy. Teachers will also gain insight on how to make the career sustainable through practices for self-compassion and authentic self-care so they can not only survive, but flourish in and out of school. For all the challenges that students and teachers face, this book defines what it means, and what it takes, to teach in today's classrooms.
Designing Personalized Learning Experiences offers theoretically grounded and pragmatic approaches to designing personalized learning initiatives for higher education and organizational contexts. With current research concluding that a multitude of variables can enable learners to direct their own experiences and achieve their goals, new guidance is needed to hone the range of instructional approaches, activities, and interactions available to support adult learners. This book offers practical strategies on how to design and implement effective personalized learning interventions, advance learning and engagement, encourage ownership over the learning process, and decrease attrition. Professionals in instructional design, learning and development, organizational development, consultancies, and beyond will be emboldened by the work to leverage a mix of technology-enabled social and content interactions.
"In today's colleges and universities, parents and families are increasingly important as partners to support students in enrolling and navigating the college experience. Tailored to higher education professionals who work with the families of college students, this book provides a solid foundation for establishing or enhancing parent and family initiatives across the institution and how to partner with families to foster student success. The chapter authors, seasoned professionals working in higher education, share best practices and relevant research related to partnering with families and addressing challenges that come with engaging families. Chapters also explore ways to make parent and family programming accessible for first generation families and families from underrepresented groups who may often feel left out of traditional activities, programs, and services. Chapters feature "Voices from the Field" sharing best practices as well as "Tough Talks" breaking down some of the more difficult interactions between families and students and staff. This book is a valuable resource to higher education and student affairs professionals seeking to strengthen their work with families in order to better support student success in college"-- Provided by publisher.
Artificial Intelligence and Learning Futures: Critical Narratives of Technology and Imagination in Higher Education explores the implications of artificial intelligence's adoption in higher education and the challenges to building sustainable instead of dystopic schooling. As AI becomes integral to both pedagogy and profitability in today's colleges and universities, a critical discourse on these systems and algorithms is urgently needed to push back against their potential to enable surveillance, control, and oppression. This book examines the development, risks, and opportunities inherent to AI in education and curriculum design, the problematic ideological assumptions of intelligence and technology, and the evidence base and ethical imagination required to responsibly implement these learning technologies in a way that ensures quality and sustainability. Leaders, administrators, and faculty as well as technologists and designers will find these provocative and accessible ideas profoundly applicable to their research, decision-making, and concerns.
First-Generation Faculty of Color: Reflections on Research, Teaching, and Service is the first book to examine the experiences of racially minoritized faculty who were also the first in their families to graduate college in the United States. From contingent to tenured faculty who teach at community colleges, comprehensive, and research institutions, the book is a collection of critical narratives that collectively show the diversity of faculty of color, attentive to and beyond race. The book is organized into three major parts comprised of chapters in which faculty of color depict how first-generation college student identities continue to inform how minoritized people navigate academe well into their professional careers, and encourage them to reconceptualize research, teaching, and service responsibilities to better consider the families and communities that shaped their lives well before college.
"This book discusses how it is imperative that all teachers, not only special education teachers, be prepared to teach and engage students with disabilities in remote learning platforms, providing research-based strategies and recommendations for supporting students with disabilities in a broad learning context"--
"Inclusive College Classrooms provides instructors with research-based practices and tools to create an effective and inclusive classroom environment. This important book responds to the current obstacles facing higher education institutions by filling a visible gap in pedagogical training books, as well as in graduate pedagogy courses and new faculty pedagogy orientations, to help instructors improve the methods they are already using, identify new methods that could enhance their courses, and become more confident overall as they develop a discourse for talking about teaching. The authors intersectional approach to teaching, which is informed by both critical and inclusive pedagogy, explains the systemic practices and attitudes in education that exclude oppressed groups and creates an accessible and equitable classroom, where students from historically marginalized groups can feel heard and represented. This timely volume is packed full of example lessons for across a range of disciplines, tips for moving classes online, questions to stimulate thinking about various methods, and appendices on lesson planning. With this book in hand, all instructors, even those who have been teaching for decades, can adapt their current pedagogy to be more inclusive and accessible"--
This edited collection explores diverse perspectives about today's college students from a variety of higher education stakeholders--including faculty, researchers, policymakers, administrators, parents, and students themselves. All too often, those concerned with higher education make assumptions based on outdated information; the voices in this volume provide a grounded and real understanding of college students and explore how we might better support them in our colleges and universities. Each section includes a series of essays, with a culminating chapter written by scholars who analyze, contextualize, and ground these perspectives in theory. Multiple Perspectives on College Students brings current data and experience to light in a way that helps readers understand the needs and opportunities for supporting all college students for success.
This book provides case studies written by practitioners from four organizations serving diverse adult learners in equitable, inclusive, and just ways. Their work employs an adapted version of the Education Deans for Justice and Equity Framework for Assessment and Transformation, a comprehensive tool grounded in research on equity and justice. This is one of the first published uses of that framework. The editors situate this book in the history and need for increased equity and justice in adult education. They apply participatory action research to assist the four organizations in telling their stories. Authors of the organization chapters highlight their history and context in relation to their organizational structures, systems, policies, and procedures. Editors provide a cross-case analysis of the four case studies. This book will appeal to academics in adult education, social justice education, qualitative research methods, and organizational development. Organizations and practitioners will find exemplars of how to live into their intentions to be equitable and just.
Higher education is characterized by ubiquitous digital technologies and e-learning that are inevitably influencing the development of core competencies and professional skills requirements. There is a need to focus on the synergy between responsive curriculum implementation and e-learning delivery in the context of effective pedagogical practices and optimal integration of digital technologies. Similarly, we need to reexamine higher education practices towards innovative pedagogies and effective e-learning design. Competence-Based Curriculum and E-Learning in Higher Education brings together researchers in the field of education and professionals who design and deliver online learning in higher education to share paradigms, perspectives, insights, contextualized experiences, challenges, and best practices. Covering topics such as mobile learning activities, student interaction promotion, and social media technologies, this major reference work is a comprehensive resource for instructional designers, faculty, administrators and educators of higher education, students in teaching programs, IT managers, librarians, researchers, and academicians.
Retention rates don’t just give institutions a calculated estimation of their graduation situation but also showcase their overall academic and financial health in addition to dictating their reputation. So if you are seeking to catapult your retention rates, you are well on your way to academic superiority, and this book will show you exactly how to get there. -- from Amazon
This timely volume documents the immediate, global impacts of the coronavirus pandemic (COVID-19) on teaching and learning in higher education. Focusing on student and faculty experiences of online and distance education, the text provides reflections on novel initiatives, unexpected challenges, and lessons learned. Responding to the urgent need to better understand online teaching and learning during the COVID-19 pandemic, this book investigates how the use of information and communication technologies (ICT) impacted students, faculty, and staff experiences during the COVID-19 lockdown. Chapters initially look at the challenges faced by universities and educators in their attempts to overcome the practical difficulties involved in developing effective online programming and pedagogy. The text then builds on these insights to highlight student experiences and consider issues of social connection and inequality. Finally, the volume looks forward to asking what lessons COVID-19 can offer for the future development of online and distance learning in higher education. This engaging volume will benefit researchers, academics, and educators with an interest in online teaching and eLearning, curriculum design, and more, specifically those involved with the digitalization of higher education. The text will also support further discussion and reflection around pedagogical transformation, international teaching and learning, and educational policy more broadly.
"Designing Learning for Multimodal Literacy addresses the need to design learning for multimodal literacy in a world that is increasingly saturated with print and digital media. In the current age, communication and interactions on social media are seldom made with language alone, but are often accompanied with emojis, images, and videos, making meanings multimodally. Young people, including children, are also increasingly active in making videos of themselves, their ideas and their experiences as part of their out-of-school literacy activities. In particular, for language teachers, the present shifts in our world require that teachers re-examine what they teach and how they can meaningfully and effectively teach the students in their classes today. At eight years old, Alden created his own rap music video and shared it with the world. He wrote his own lyrics and set it against the music he remixed and meshed from a music download site. Alden is in your classroom today. As his teacher, what would you teach him? How would you engage him? Alden, and children like him, is the inspiration for why the authors have written this book. The changing times and changing learners place a demand on educators to continually reflect on what and how teachers are teaching their students - to ensure that learning in school remains relevant, relatable, and would prepare them for the world of the future. Lim's book outlines how teachers can design learning for multimodal literacy. It is a result of a collaboration between an educational researcher and a curriculum developer, and offers practical resources for practitioners but also design principles and considerations based on practice with a range of students to inform and inspire academics and postgraduate students. It is poised to contribute to the global conversation and interest on how educators can reflect on the zeitgeist of the digital age and design learning for multimodal literacy"-- Provided by publisher.
Racial Subjection Theory in Higher Education contributes to the "third wave" of college student development theory by drawing upon cultural studies, critical and postmodern theory, and Critical Race Theory. The theory offers a new approach for analyzing racial identities, interests, and inequities in higher education contexts.
Research assistance - help finding sources, evaluating sources
Online workshops for citing and plagiarism are held throughout the semester. To request a citing workshop, please email library@rcbc.edu