The RCBC Library has many course textbooks on reserve. These books can be reserved for two hours at a time.
You can view which textbooks are available by subject on this guide:
Professional Security Management by
Historically, security managers have tended to be sourced from either the armed forces or law enforcement. But the increasing complexity of the organisations employing them, along with the technologies employed by them, is forcing an evolution and expansion of the role, and security managers must meet this challenge in order to succeed in their field and protect the assets of their employers. Risk management, crisis management, continuity management, strategic business operations, data security, IT, and business communications all fall under the purview of the security manager. This book is a guide to meeting those challenges, providing the security manager with the essential skill set and knowledge base to meet the challenges faced in contemporary, international, or tech-oriented businesses. It covers the basics of strategy, risk, and technology from the perspective of the security manager, focussing only on the 'need to know'. The reader will benefit from an understanding of how risk management aligns its functional aims with the strategic goals and operations of the organisation. This essential book supports professional vocational accreditation and qualifications, such as the Chartered Security Professional (CSyP) or Certified Protection Professional (CPP), and advises on pathways to higher education qualifications in the fields of security and risk management. It is ideal for any risk manager looking to further their training and development, as well as being complementary for risk and security management programs with a focus on practice.
This volume follows one man's revolutionary journey from deficient early education to his incarceration on North Carolina's death row, where he was given the opportunity to pursue higher education. By pairing Lyle May's engaging first-person account with current scholarly literature, this book examines the complex relationship between the United States' educational and penal systems. It also documents the role of education in May's contributions to society through writing, teaching, and activism. Flouting the stereotype that people sentenced to long prison terms lack an ability or desire for higher education, May's experience champions individualism as a means of overcoming most environmental challenges to learning, personal growth, and societal involvement. With the right amount of motivation and dedication, even prison walls do not preclude significant contributions to the community or participation in criminal justice reform. Granting access to higher education in places that often lack an academic apparatus, Ohio University's College Program for the Incarcerated provides an avenue for correctional students to enroll in accredited correspondence courses and earn an Associate or Bachelors of Specialized Studies degree. This book's recounting of May's experience with the program augments existing literature on higher education in prison by illustrating the tragic but common pitfall of the school-to-prison pipeline and one man's determination to pursue higher education despite the hindrances inherent in the prison environment. Informing both students and educators about aspects of prison life that are not always considered, this book is a valuable component of a well-rounded corrections course reading list. It is essential for educators and students, criminal justice reformers, criminologists, penologists, or any reader intent on understanding how independent learning is critical to unlocking the rehabilitative and reintegrative potential of higher education in prison.
Introduction to Forensic Science: The Science of Criminalistics is a textbook that takes a unique and holistic approach to forensic science. This book focuses on exploring the underlying scientific concepts as presented at the introductory college and senior high school levels. Chapters introduce readers to each of the important areas of forensic science, grouping chapters together by discipline and following a logical progression and flow between chapters. This systematically allows students to understand the fundamental scientific concepts, recognize their various applications to the law and investigations, and discern how each topic fits broadly within the context of forensic science. The writing is accessible throughout, maintaining students' interest - including both science and non-science majors - while inspiring them to learn more about the field. Concepts are demonstrated with numerous case studies and full-color illustrations that serve to emphasize the important ideas and issues related to a particular topic. This approach underscores scientific understanding, allowing the student to go beyond simple rote learning to develop deeper insights into the field, regardless of their scientific background. This book has been extensively classroom-tested to provide the most comprehensive and up-to-date survey of various forensic disciplines and the current state of the science, policies, and best practices. Key features: Presents a wholly new, fresh approach to addressing a broad survey of techniques and evidentiary analyses in the field of forensic science. All concepts - and the underpinnings of forensic practice - are explained in simple terms, using understandable analogies and illustrations to further clarify concepts. Introduces topics that other introductory texts fail to address, including serology, behavioral science, forensic medicine and anthropology, forensic ecology, palynology, zoology, video analysis, AI/computer forensics, and forensic engineering. Highly illustrated with over 1,000 full-color photographs, drawings, and diagrams to further highlight key concepts. Suitable for both high school senior-level instruction and two- and four-year university courses for majors, non-majors, and criminal justice students enrolled in introductory forensic science classes. Support Materials - including an Instructor's Manual with test bank and chapter PowerPoint lecture slides - are available to professors with qualified course adoption.
Physical Security Assessment Handbook: An Insider's Guide to Securing a Business, Second Edition has been fully updated to help you identify threats to your organization and be able to mitigate such threats. The techniques in this comprehensive book outline a step-by-step approach to: Identify threats to your assets Assess physical security vulnerabilities Design systems and processes that mitigate the threats Set a budget for your project and present it to company managers Acquire the products through competitive bidding Implement the recommended solutions Each chapter walks you through a step in the assessment process, providing valuable insight and guidance. There are illustrations and checklists that help simplify the process and ensure that the right course is taken to secure your company. This book provides seasoned advice on the competitive bidding process as well as legal issues involved in facility security. After reading it, you will know how to assess your security needs, specify the right products, and oversee and manage the project and installation. It concludes with project implementation, and the necessary follow-up after installation, to verify the proper use of the new security solutions. Physical Security Assessment Handbook, Second Edition provides a structure for best practices in both specifying system components as well as managing the acquisition and implementation process. It represents the culmination of the author's 44 years of experience in the design, installation, and project management of security system solutions. This is a valuable resource for security managers, security consultants, and even experienced industry professionals to best approach and organize security assessment projects.
Real Criminology offers:-The most thought-provoking pedagogy, such as "Challenging Your Assumptions" and data-analysis activities-Real-world cases and connections, straight from the headlines -Unique coverage of cybercrime and global crime networks-A seamless digital package, incorporating videos and assessmentsThis comprehensive resource for the Introduction to Criminology Course shows students how to think logically and critically about real, contemporary cases and issues in criminology, engaging each student in a dynamic process of discovery. Real Criminology draws on the latest literature from a range of fields to analyze and explain crime. Through this interdisciplinary lens, the textbook introduces students to criminology; types of crime; impacts of crime; theories explaining crime, criminality, and victimization; studies on crime, offenders, victims, and witnesses of crime; and the nature and extent of crime in the United States and abroad. In a reflowable enhanced ebook that works with your LMS, each section is a self-contained unit of pedagogy integrating text, media, and assessment, all corresponding to learning objectives. The text incorporates not only videos and assessments but references to popular films, TV shows, fiction books, music, and games, as well as discussions of well-known national and international crimes, drawing readers' attention to how crimes and criminal behavior are depicted in the media.
This innovative text adapts the strategic management process to the police organizational environment, illustrating how to tailor responses to the unique problems and issues that professionals are likely to face in the field of law enforcement. The authors cover pioneering management techniques for leaders facing the challenges of today's complex environment, offering police executives guidance on planning, setting direction, developing strategy, assessing internal and external environments, creating learning organizations, and managing and evaluating the change process. The book also tackles how to handle the political, economic, social, and technical considerations that differ from one community to the next. Providing a foundation with which to adapt to an ever-changing criminal justice climate, this book trains leaders to search for solutions, rather than relying on old formulas and scientific management principles. It is an essential resource for forward-thinking police leadership courses in colleges and professional training programs.
Rather than simply giving students an overview of the elements of the criminal justice system--police, courts, and corrections--Foundations of Criminal Justice delves into the interdisciplinary ideas underlying those elements. With a new chapter on "Issues of Inequality in the Criminal Justice System," this edition delves even deeper into the larger questions and themes that govern our criminal justice system: Why is our justice system the way it is? How do we decide which actions are crimes? How is policy made? What is justice and is it achieved? The text features a robust pedagological apparatus to guide students in their learning: focusing and review questions appear throughout the text to focus student learning and solidify key concepts; chapter-ending Criminal Justice questions ask students to think critically and apply what they have learned to a real-life issue; and photo essays, which survey the broad range of issues in the chapters to come, open each Part.
Nelson/Phillips/Steuart's GUIDE TO COMPUTER FORENSICS AND INVESTIGATIONS, 7th Edition, blends reliable information from experts, robust instructor resources, and real-world applications -- delivering the most complete forensics resource available. -- Provided by publisher.
Better Crime Prevention provides a critical guide to theory, research, ethics, and politics in relation to crime prevention policy and practice. It concludes with an agenda for continuous improvement. The book also demonstrates what is involved in doing theoretically informed and realistically applied social science orientated to reducing harms. The focus throughout this book is on ethical and effective ways to reduce crime-related harms. There are chapters on how to target crime prevention efforts, crime prevention theories and frameworks, ethical issues in crime prevention, the practical conduct of crime prevention, evidence-based crime prevention, the politics of crime prevention, and the need for continuous adaptation in crime prevention. Student readers will obtain an overview of, and capacity critically to engage with, crime prevention theory and practice. Policymakers and practitioner readers will be able to make better-informed decisions about what to do and how to allocate crime prevention resources. Social scientists interested in contributing realistically to harm reduction will better understand how they can go about doing so.
Explore the growing concerns about security with this vital book Homeland Security has never been a more important part of the American social and political fabric. Risk assessment, attack prediction and prevention, preparedness measures, response to terrorist activity, and natural disaster management all fall under the purview of homeland security. It is a key focus of the US security state, which has expanded massively in recent decades. Introduction to Homeland Security provides an overview of this subject for professors, students, and practitioners in the field. Drawing upon a rich foundation of scholarship and academic literature, it focuses principally on terrorism prevention and protection, and offers new content related to novel threats and security concerns. Its practitioner-centered approach and attention to both governmental and non-governmental stakeholders make it an indispensable introduction to the subject. Readers will also find: Coverage of the four traditional phases of emergency management New and additional treatment of border control, drug trafficking, organized crime, mass shootings, protests, riots, pandemics, and climate change Companion websites including extensive pedagogical materials, student self-assessment tests, and an image gallery Introduction to Homeland Security is ideal for professors and students in homeland security and emergency management programs, as well as practitioners involved in this important profession.
Print books are arranged on the shelf in Library of Congress Call Number order. Each call number begins with an alphanumeric base (e.g., "BF109.J8") that is followed by a cutter and a date of publication (e.g., "A25 1993"). See a librarian if you need assistance.
Call Number Range (Where to Find Books on the Bookshelves)
Please check the catalog or databases, or contact RCBC Library to see if book is currently available. Here are a few suggestions:
When They Call You a Terrorist by
From one of the co-founders of the Black Lives Matter movement comes a poetic memoir and reflection on humanity. Necessary and timely, Patrisse Cullors' story asks us to remember that protest in the interest of the most vulnerable comes from love. Leaders of the Black Lives Matter movement have been called terrorists, a threat to America. But in truth, they are loving women whose life experiences have led them to seek justice for those victimized by the powerful. In this meaningful, empowering account of survival, strength, and resilience, Patrisse Cullors and asha bandele seek to change the culture that declares innocent black life expendable.
Refusal to Eat by
The first global history of hunger strikes as a tactic in prisons, conflicts, and protest movements. The power of the hunger strike lies in its utter simplicity. The ability to choose to forego eating is universally accessible, even to those living under conditions of maximal constraint, as in the prisons of apartheid South Africa, Israeli prisons for Palestinian prisoners, and the detention camp at Guantánamo Bay. It is a weapon of the weak, potentially open to all. By choosing to hunger strike, a prisoner wields a last-resort personal power that communicates viscerally, in a way that is undeniable--especially when broadcast over prison barricades through media and to movements outside. Refusal to Eat is the first book to compile a global history of this vital form of modern protest, the hunger strike. In this enormously ambitious but concise book, Nayan Shah observes how hunger striking stretches and recasts to turn a personal agony into a collective social agony in conflicts and contexts all around the world, laying out a remarkable number of case studies over the last century and more. From suffragettes in Britain and the US in the early twentieth century to Irish political prisoners, Bengali prisoners, and detainees at post-9/11 Guantánamo Bay; from Japanese Americans in US internment camps to conscientious objectors in the 1960s; from South Africans fighting apartheid to asylum seekers in Australia and Papua New Guinea, Shah shows the importance of context for each case and the interventions the protesters faced. The power that hunger striking unleashes is volatile, unmooring all previous resolves, certainties, and structures and forcing supporters and opponents alike to respond in new ways. It can upend prison regimens, medical ethics, power hierarchies, governments, and assumptions about gender, race, and the body's endurance. This book takes hunger strikers seriously as decision-makers in desperate situations, often bound to disagree or fail, and captures the continued frustration of authorities when confronted by prisoners willing to die for their positions. Above all, Refusal to Eat revolves around a core of moral, practical, and political questions that hunger strikers raise, investigating what it takes to resist and oppose state power.
Labeling Theory CrimComics Issue 11 by
CrimComics offers a new way to approach criminological theory by engaging students with impactful, highly visual illustrated texts. Each CrimComics Issue traces the development of the theory--placing it in social and political context--and demonstrates its application to the real world. Thelast page of each Issue features review questions and key terms.
When Women Kill by
A genre-bending feminist account of the lives and crimes of four women who committed the double transgression of murder, violating not only criminal law but also the invisible laws of gender. When Women Kill: Four Crimes Retold analyzes four homicides carried out by Chilean women over the course of the twentieth century. Drawing on her training as a lawyer, Alia Trabucco Zerán offers a nuanced close reading of their lives and crimes, foregoing sensationalism in order to dissect how all four were both perpetrators of violent acts and victims of another, more insidious kind of violence. This radical retelling challenges the archetype of the woman murderer and reveals another narrative, one as disturbing and provocative as the transgressions themselves: What makes women lash out against the restraints of gendered domesticity, and how do we--readers, viewers, the media, the art world, the political establishment--treat them when they do? Expertly intertwining true crime, critical essay, and research diary, International Booker Prize finalist Alia Trabucco Zerán (The Remainder), in a translation by Sophie Hughes, brings an overdue feminist perspective to the study of deviant women.
Police Brutality and White Supremacy by
An NBA veteran offers engaging interviews and reflections that explore police brutality, white supremacy, and the struggle for racial justice in America. "Thomas's interviews demand careful reading by all who want to expose racism, hold police accountable, and create an American society that practices social justice." --Library Journal, STARRED review "My family and I are extremely grateful for the support and love from my brother in the movement, Etan Thomas." --Emerald Garner, daughter of Eric Garner "I'm extremely grateful to Etan for continuing to shine a light on how police violence has harmed families across the nation. Our stories matter." --Dr. Tiffany Crutcher, twin sister of Terence Crutcher ETAN THOMAS, an eleven-year NBA veteran and lifelong advocate for social justice, weaves together his personal experiences with police violence and white supremacy with multiple interviews of family members of victims of police brutality like exonerated Central Park Five survivor Raymond Santana and Rodney King's daughter Lora Dene King; as well as activist athletes and other public figures such as Steph Curry, Chuck D, Isiah Thomas, Sue Bird, Jake Tapper, Jemele Hill, Stan Van Gundy, Kyle Korver, Mark Cuban, Rick Strom, and many more. Thomas speaks with retired police officers about their efforts to change policing, and white allies about their experiences with privilege and their ability to influence other white people. Thomas also examines the history of racism, white supremacy, and the prevalence of both in the current moment. He looks at the origins of white supremacy in the US, dating back to the country's inception, and explores how it was interwoven into Christianity--interviewing leading voices both in and outside of the church. Finally, with prominent voices in the media and education, Thomas discusses the continued cultivation of these injustices in American society. Police Brutality and White Supremacy demands accountability and justice for those responsible for and impacted by police violence and terror. It offers practical solutions to work against the promotion of white supremacy in law enforcement, Christianity, early education, and across the public sphere. Featuring original interviews with: Steph Curry, Chuck D, Yamiche Alcindor, Isiah Thomas, Jemele Hill, Craig Hodges, Stan Van Gundy, Mark Cuban, Jake Tapper, Mahmoud Abdul-Rauf, Sue Bird, Kyle Korver, Rick Strom, Cenk Uygur, Tim Wise, Chris Broussard, Breanna Stewart, Rex Chapman, Stephen Jackson, Kori Mccoy, Lora Dene King, Chikesia Clemons, Raymond Santana, Alissa Findley, Amber and Ashley Carr, Michelle and Ashley Monterrosa, Chairman Fred Hampton Jr., Abiodun Oyewole, Marc Lamont Hill, Officer Carlton Berkley, Pastor John K. Jenkins Sr., Officer Joe Ested, Captain Sonia Pruitt, and Bishop Talbert Swan.
Tangled up in Blue by
Named one of the best nonfiction books of the year by The Washington Post "Tangled Up in Blue is a wonderfully insightful book that provides a lens to critically analyze urban policing and a road map for how our most dispossessed citizens may better relate to those sworn to protect and serve." --The Washington Post "Remarkable . . . Brooks has produced an engaging page-turner that also outlines many broadly applicable lessons and sensible policy reforms." --Foreign Affairs Journalist and law professor Rosa Brooks goes beyond the "blue wall of silence" in this radical inside examination of American policing In her forties, with two children, a spouse, a dog, a mortgage, and a full-time job as a tenured law professor at Georgetown University, Rosa Brooks decided to become a cop. A liberal academic and journalist with an enduring interest in law's troubled relationship with violence, Brooks wanted the kind of insider experience that would help her understand how police officers make sense of their world--and whether that world can be changed. In 2015, against the advice of everyone she knew, she applied to become a sworn, armed reserve police officer with the Washington, DC, Metropolitan Police Department. Then as now, police violence was constantly in the news. The Black Lives Matter movement was gaining momentum, protests wracked America's cities, and each day brought more stories of cruel, corrupt cops, police violence, and the racial disparities that mar our criminal justice system. Lines were being drawn, and people were taking sides. But as Brooks made her way through the police academy and began work as a patrol officer in the poorest, most crime-ridden neighborhoods of the nation's capital, she found a reality far more complex than the headlines suggested. In Tangled Up in Blue, Brooks recounts her experiences inside the usually closed world of policing. From street shootings and domestic violence calls to the behind-the-scenes police work during Donald Trump's 2016 presidential inauguration, Brooks presents a revelatory account of what it's like inside the "blue wall of silence." She issues an urgent call for new laws and institutions, and argues that in a nation increasingly divided by race, class, ethnicity, geography, and ideology, a truly transformative approach to policing requires us to move beyond sound bites, slogans, and stereotypes. An explosive and groundbreaking investigation, Tangled Up in Blue complicates matters rather than simplifies them, and gives pause both to those who think police can do no wrong--and those who think they can do no right.
Humane Health Care for Prisoners by
A useful research resource and handy reference, this book discusses the many important ethical and legal issues that arise in the delivery of health care to prisoners at correctional facilities. It references national standards of professional practice as well as the advice of recognized experts. The mission of corrections is the care and custody of prisoners with a view to public safety within a place dedicated to punishment, while the mission of the medical and mental health professionals in a corrections facility is to care for the health and well-being of the prisoners. Both have a duty to provide care, but their differing roles and objectives give rise to ethical role conflict and disagreement regarding appropriate care strategies. Humane Health Care for Prisoners considers important ethical and legal issues that arise in the delivery of health care to prisoners, covering topics such as privacy, confidentiality, informed consent, extended isolation and solitary confinement, use of mace, strip searches and body cavity searches, and medical experimentation on prisoners as human subjects. It also considers participation by health care professionals in capital punishment, coerced substance abuse treatment, how much health care to provide, organizational structure and hierarchy, cooperation between correctional and health care staff, and the importance of recognizing mental illness as a chronic condition. This book is informative for professionals working in corrections facilities, such as physicians, psychiatrists, psychologists, nurses, wardens, jail administrators, sheriffs, and corrections officials, as well as legislators and decision makers, attorneys involved in correctional healthcare lawsuits, students of criminal justice, and those seeking to work in the field of correctional health care or in corrections. Additionally, students and professors of medical ethics will find this book helpful in illustrating real-life topics for research and discussion. Clearly lays out the ethical issues in role conflicts or difficult policy questions in correctional health care management Makes the argument that while correctional and medical care professionals have their own goals, policies, and practices in the correctional environment, a willingness to accommodate the key principles and needs of the other party benefits both disciplines Investigates the central theme of what is right and what is wrong, by using ethical principles, court decisions, and accepted national standards as a guide Provides an index designed to facilitate the book's use as a quick and ready reference
Criminal Trials and Mental Disorders by
The complicated relationship between defendants with mental health disorders and the criminal justice system The American criminal justice system is based on the bedrock principles of fairness and justice for all. In striving to ensure that all criminal defendants are treated equally under the law, it endeavors to handle similar cases in similar fashion, attempting to apply rules and procedures even-handedly regardless of a defendant's social class, race, ethnicity, or gender. Yet, the criminal justice system has also recognized exceptions when special circumstances underlie a defendant's behavior or are likely to skew the defendant's trial. One of the most controversial set of exceptions -often poorly articulated and inconsistently applied - involves criminal defendants with a mental disorder. A series of special rules and procedures has evolved over the centuries, often without fanfare and even today with little systematic examination, that lawyers and judges apply to cases involving defendants with a mental disorder. This book provides an analysis of the key issues in this dynamic interplay between individuals with a mental disorder and the criminal justice system. The volume identifies the various stages of criminal justice proceedings when the mental status of a defendant may be relevant, associated legal and policy issues, the history and evolution of these issues, and how they are currently resolved. To assist this exploration, the text also offers an overview of mental disorders, their relevance to criminal proceedings, how forensic mental health assessments are conducted and employed during these proceedings, and their application to competency and responsibility determinations. In sum, this book provides an important resource for students and scholars with an interest in mental health, law, and criminal justice.
Charged by
NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER * A renowned journalist and legal commentator exposes the unchecked power of the prosecutor as a driving force in America's mass incarceration crisis--and charts a way out. "An important, thoughtful, and thorough examination of criminal justice in America that speaks directly to how we reduce mass incarceration."--Bryan Stevenson, author of Just Mercy "This harrowing, often enraging book is a hopeful one, as well, profiling innovative new approaches and the frontline advocates who champion them."--Matthew Desmond, author of Evicted FINALIST FOR THE LOS ANGELES TIMES BOOK PRIZE * SHORTLISTED FOR THE J. ANTHONY LUKAS BOOK PRIZE * NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY NPR * The New York Public Library * Library Journal * Publishers Weekly * Kirkus Reviews The American criminal justice system is supposed to be a contest between two equal adversaries, the prosecution and the defense, with judges ensuring a fair fight. That image of the law does not match the reality in the courtroom, however. Much of the time, it is prosecutors more than judges who control the outcome of a case, from choosing the charge to setting bail to determining the plea bargain. They often decide who goes free and who goes to prison, even who lives and who dies. In Charged, Emily Bazelon reveals how this kind of unchecked power is the underreported cause of enormous injustice--and the missing piece in the mass incarceration puzzle. Charged follows the story of two young people caught up in the criminal justice system: Kevin, a twenty-year-old in Brooklyn who picked up his friend's gun as the cops burst in and was charged with a serious violent felony, and Noura, a teenage girl in Memphis indicted for the murder of her mother. Bazelon tracks both cases--from arrest and charging to trial and sentencing--and, with her trademark blend of deeply reported narrative, legal analysis, and investigative journalism, illustrates just how criminal prosecutions can go wrong and, more important, why they don't have to. Bazelon also details the second chances they prosecutors can extend, if they choose, to Kevin and Noura and so many others. She follows a wave of reform-minded D.A.s who have been elected in some of our biggest cities, as well as in rural areas in every region of the country, put in office to do nothing less than reinvent how their job is done. If they succeed, they can point the country toward a different and profoundly better future.
Concepts of Nonlethal Force by
* Is it ever justified to use lethal force to prevent nonlethal force from being used? * What is the difference between unreasonable force and excessive force? * If nonlethal weapons are more prevalent, why isn't the use of lethal force diminishing? * Why do agencies with the strictest policies for using canines frequently have higher dog bite ratios than others? * What is the difference between 1st and 2nd order effects regarding injuries from nonlethal weapons, and why should it matter? Most of these questions originated with students attending the U.S. military war colleges, where the author has taught nonlethal force for more than two decades. This short and tightly focused book examines the knowledge, experience, planning, and decision-making necessary to safely and effectively use nonlethal force. It provides strong, and even irrefutable, arguments and describes the challenges and explains the rationale for why one option is preferred over another. Hence, this is not so much a "how-to" book as a "why" book. Sid Heal has substantial personal experience in using, developing, defending, and teaching the many facets of nonlethal force and writes in the first-person not as a scholar to a student but rather "peer to peer." The book is written for people with "skin in the game," who personally suffer the consequences of mistakes and misfortune. Readers can expect trenchant and frank answers. Extensive endnotes for teachers, consultants, and those more scientifically inclined are provided for reference and further research.
Career Guide in Criminal Justice by
Career Guide in Criminal Justice is the guide to getting hired and working in the criminal justice system. Featuring a straightforward and accessible writing style, it covers the three main components of the criminal justice system - law enforcement, courts, and corrections - discussing careeropportunities in local, state, and federal government along with those in the private sector. The book also looks at careers in private investigations, the bond industry, forensic psychology, cybersecurity, and other related fields. Douglas Klutz helps students develop practical skills includingsucceeding as a student in higher education, acting ethically and professionally, writing cover letters and resumes, securing internships, preparing for interviews, and effective networking and career-building strategies. In addition, he addresses many of the common myths related to working in thecriminal justice system, offering students invaluable real-world guidance.
Trying to Make It by
Trying to Make It is R. V. Gundur's journey from the US-Mexico border to America's heartland, from America's prisons to its streets, in search of the true story of the drug trade and the people who participate in it. The book begins in the Paso del Norte area, encompassing the sister cities of Ciudad Juárez and El Paso, which has been in the public eye as calls for securing the border persist. From there, it moves on to Phoenix, which was infamously associated with the drug trade through a series of kidnappings. Finally, the book goes on to Chicago, which has been a lightning rod of criticism for its gangs and violence. Gundur highlights the similarities and differences that exist in the American drug trade within the three sites and how they relate to current drug trade narratives in the US. At each stop, the reader is transported to the city's historical and contemporary contexts of the drug trade and introduced to the individuals who have lived them. Drug retailers, street and prison gang members, wholesalers, and the law enforcement personnel who try to stop them offer readers a comprehensive look at how various illicit enterprises work together to supply the drugs that American users demand. Most importantly, through a combination of macro- and microlevel vantage points, and comparative analysis of three key sites in illicit drug operations, the stories in Trying to Make It remind us that the people involved in the drug trade, for the most part, do not deserve vilification. Far from being a seemingly uniform, widespread threat or an unlimited array of bogeymen and women, they are ordinary people, living ordinary lives, just trying to make it.
Crime in the United States 2021 by
Crime in the United States contains findings from the Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI) of the offenses known to law enforcement. This reference is the most comprehensive official compilation of crime statistics in the United States and is an important addition to your library's collection. While the FBI no longer prints these findings, Bernan Press continues to provide this practical information in convenient book form. In this intricately detailed source, legal and law enforcement professionals, researchers, and those who are just curious will find violent and property crime statistics for the nation as well as for regions, states, counties, cities, towns, and even college and university campuses. Crime in the United States includes statistics for: -Offenses known to police -Violent crime offenses: murder, forcible rape, robbery, and aggravated assault -Property crime offenses: burglary, larcency-theft, motor vehicle theft, and arson -Clearance data: crimes solved by police or cleared by exceptional means -Persons arrested -Police employees: sworn officers and civilian law enforcement personnel -Hate crimes with data by offense type, location, bias motivation, victim type, number of victims, and race of offender
Sex Crime, Offenders, and Society by
What "works" in preventing sex crime? How can policymakers respond to threats of sexual victimization in a manner that is effective, equitable, and sustainable? The second edition of Sex Crime, Offenders, and Society seeks to provide a knowledge base for addressing these questions. Based on feedback from reviewers and readers, the new edition retains the same structure as the first, examining three critical dimensions: the nature and extent of sex offending and explanations, societal responses, and sex crime policy and reform. It now includes updated statistics and references to influential scholarship throughout, a new chapter exploring sex crime in post-secondary institutions, and a concluding chapter that focuses on innovative policy and reform into the future.
Let the Lord Sort Them by
NEW YORK TIMES EDITORS' CHOICE * A deeply reported, searingly honest portrait of the death penalty in Texas--and what it tells us about crime and punishment in America "If you're one of those people who despair that nothing changes, and dream that something can, this is a story of how it does."--Anand Giridharadas, The New York Times Book Review WINNER OF THE J. ANTHONY LUKAS AWARD In 1972, the United States Supreme Court made a surprising ruling: the country's death penalty system violated the Constitution. The backlash was swift, especially in Texas, where executions were considered part of the cultural fabric, and a dark history of lynching was masked by gauzy visions of a tough-on-crime frontier. When executions resumed, Texas quickly became the nationwide leader in carrying out the punishment. Then, amid a larger wave of criminal justice reform, came the death penalty's decline, a trend so durable that even in Texas the punishment appears again close to extinction. In Let the Lord Sort Them, Maurice Chammah charts the rise and fall of capital punishment through the eyes of those it touched. We meet Elsa Alcala, the orphaned daughter of a Mexican American family who found her calling as a prosecutor in the nation's death penalty capital, before becoming a judge on the state's highest court. We meet Danalynn Recer, a lawyer who became obsessively devoted to unearthing the life stories of men who committed terrible crimes, and fought for mercy in courtrooms across the state. We meet death row prisoners--many of them once-famous figures like Henry Lee Lucas, Gary Graham, and Karla Faye Tucker--along with their families and the families of their victims. And we meet the executioners, who struggle openly with what society has asked them to do. In tracing these interconnected lives against the rise of mass incarceration in Texas and the country as a whole, Chammah explores what the persistence of the death penalty tells us about forgiveness and retribution, fairness and justice, history and myth. Written with intimacy and grace, Let the Lord Sort Them is the definitive portrait of a particularly American institution.
Wrestling with the Devil by
A New York Times Editors' Choice "A welcome addition to the vast literature produced by jailed writers across the centuries . . . [a] thrilling testament to the human spirit." --Ariel Dorfman, The New York Times Book Review "Wrestling with the Devil is a powerful testament to the courage of Ngũgĩ and his fellow prisoners and validation of the hope that an independent Kenya would eventually emerge." --Minneapolis Star Tribune "The Ngũgĩ of Wrestling with the Devil called not just for adding a bit of color to the canon's sagging shelf, but for abolition and upheaval." --Bookforum An unforgettable chronicle of the year the brilliant novelist and memoirist, long favored for the Nobel Prize, was thrown in a Kenyan jail without charge Wrestling with the Devil, Ngũgĩ wa Thiong'o's powerful prison memoir, begins literally half an hour before his release on December 12, 1978. In one extended flashback he recalls the night, a year earlier, when armed police pulled him from his home and jailed him in Kenya's Kamĩtĩ Maximum Security Prison, one of the largest in Africa. There, he lives in a prison block with eighteen other political prisoners, quarantined from the general prison population. In a conscious effort to fight back the humiliation and the intended degradation of the spirit, Ngũgĩ--the world-renowned author of Weep Not, Child; Petals of Blood; and Wizard of the Crow--decides to write a novel on toilet paper, the only paper to which he has access, a book that will become his classic, Devil on the Cross. Written in the early 1980s and never before published in America, Wrestling with the Devil is Ngũgĩ's account of the drama and the challenges of writing the novel under twenty-four-hour surveillance. He captures not only the excruciating pain that comes from being cut off from his wife and children, but also the spirit of defiance that defines hope. Ultimately, Wrestling with the Devil is a testimony to the power of imagination to help humans break free of confinement, which is truly the story of all art.
The Impact of Covid-19 on Prison Conditions and Penal Policy by
Revealing many notable and interesting changes in prison life and in release programmes, this book is essential reading for students and scholars of Penology, Criminology, Law, Sociology and Public Health. It will also appeal to Criminal Justice practitioners and policy makers.
Drugs and Thugs by
A sweeping and highly readable work on the evolution of America's domestic and global drug war How can the United States chart a path forward in the war on drugs? In Drugs and Thugs, Russell Crandall uncovers the full history of this war that has lasted more than a century. As a scholar and a high-level national security advisor to both the George W. Bush and Obama administrations, he provides an essential view of the economic, political, and human impacts of U.S. drug policies. Backed by extensive research, lucid and unbiased analysis of policy, and his own personal experiences, Crandall takes readers from Afghanistan to Colombia, to Peru and Mexico, to Miami International Airport and the border crossing between El Paso and Juarez to trace the complex social networks that make up the drug trade and drug consumption. Through historically driven stories, Crandall reveals how the war on drugs has evolved to address mass incarceration, the opioid epidemic, the legalization and medical use of marijuana, and America's shifting foreign policy.
Indefinite by
An intimate, first-hand account of the emotional and physical experience of doing time in jail and the strategies for enduring it. Jails are the principal people-processing machines of the criminal justice system. Mostly they hold persons awaiting trial who cannot afford or have been denied bail. Although jail sentences max out at a year, some spend years awaiting trial in jail-especially in counties where courts are jammed with cases. City and county jails, detention centers, police lockups, and other temporary holding facilities are regularly overcrowded, poorly funded, and the buildings are often in disrepair. American jails admit over ten million people every year, but very little is known about what happens to them while they're locked away. Indefinite is an ethnographic study of a California county jail that reflects on what it means to do jail time and what it does to men. Michael L. Walker spent several extended spells in jail, having been arrested while trying to pay parking tickets in graduate school. This book is an intimate account of his experience and in it he shares the routines, rhythms, and subtle meanings that come with being incarcerated. Walker shows how punishment in jail is much more than the deprivation of liberties. It is, he argues, purposefully degrading. Jail creates a racial politics that organizes daily life, moves men from clock time to event time, normalizes trauma, and imbues residents with substantial measures of vulnerability. Deputies used self-centered management styles to address the problems associated with running a jail, some that magnified individual conflicts to potential group conflicts and others that created divisions between residents for the sake of control. And though not every deputy indulged, many gave themselves over to the pleasures of punishment.
Understanding Homicide by
In this engaging and accessible book, Brookman draws upon several decades of her own research on homicide and violence, including ethnographic research on homicide investigation in the UK and USA and interviews with violent offenders, in order to unravel the characteristics and causes of homicide, how police and forensic scientists investigate it and how it can be prevented. Synthesising bespoke new analysis of the Home Office Homicide Index with case studies of homicides and international debate and literature, this comprehensive textbook will be a valuable resource for students studying homicide, violence, its investigation and responses to it, as well as researchers and practitioners interested in homicide and violence.
Cops, Teachers, Counselors by
Since the 1980s, street-level bureaucracy research and theory has deeply shaped scholarship and practice in the US and globally and in a wide-range of disciplines: public administration, political science, law and society, social work, education, criminal justice, to name just the most prominent. The 2003 edition of Cops, Teachers, Counselors has become one of the more visible books in this field of research. It was based on NSF-supported field research in two US states and five different agencies. This research employed an innovative story collection and analysis approach that examined how frontline workers understand and interpret fairness in the delivery of government services. The 2003 book gave voice to these police officers, teachers, and social workers. It also provided an initial theoretical framing that began to move scholarly attention away from seeing frontline workers as exclusively agents of the state and more as defining their judgements in their direct interactions with various publics. This new edition wraps an expanded theoretical framing around the original chapters. Steven Maynard-Moody and Michael Musheno's "reframing of frontline inquiry" is based on a reinterpretation of the original stories and fieldwork that was guided by scholarly conversations since the 2003 publication and by their own separate and original research on schools and policing.
Ebooks are accessible directly from the Library catalog. If you're interested in finding ebooks only, head to eBook Collection. To log in, use the barcode located on the back of your student ID and your pin number. You have the option to download ebooks to a device, but we strongly recommend reading them online to take advantage of the full suite of available tools. Create a personal account using your Library barcode and PIN to manage and organize your ebook reading and research.
Exception by
One of the key premises for creating a separate criminal justice system for juveniles was that juveniles were not the same as adults, and could therefore be rehabilitated. Despite this premise, still largely held today, the rate of recidivism for juveniles is dismal. The history of a supposedly rehabilitative juvenile justice system in the United States is a failed history of incarceration, much like that of adult corrections. Rehabilitation by incarceration has proved to be an ineffective and unsustainable strategy. A robust amount of research shows that treating juveniles closer to home, in fact in their communities, is the most effective tool for rehabilitating juvenile offenders. This book not only makes an argument for juvenile justice within a young person's community; it provides a model. From the beginning, Tarrant County Juvenile Services has been an exception to the national norm. This book traces the history of Texas's oldest juvenile probation department and the legacy left by the leaders of this agency from its inception. The reader will take away vivid pictures of the leaders who transformed the system and real-life examples of the key concepts underlying an effective and sustainable juvenile justice system, with accountability both for juvenile offenders and for their communities.
Rowan College of Burlington County's Library has an agreement with the Burlington County Library System (BCLS) that allows our students to check out physical books from the BCLS system with their RCBC Library barcode. BCLS books can also be requested to be delivered to the RCBC Library for patron pickup and BCLS books can be returned to the RCBC Library.
All Day by
ALL DAY is a behind-the-bars, personal glimpse into the issue of mass incarceration via an unpredictable, insightful and ultimately hopeful reflection on teaching teens while they await sentencing. Told with equal parts raw honesty and unbridled compassion, ALL DAY recounts a year in Liza Jessie Peterson's classroom at Island Academy, the high school for inmates detained at New York City's Rikers Island. A poet and actress who had done occasional workshops at the correctional facility, Peterson was ill-prepared for a full-time stint teaching in the GED program for the incarcerated youths. For the first time faced with full days teaching the rambunctious, hyper, and fragile adolescent inmates, "Ms. P" comes to understand the essence of her predominantly Black and Latino students as she attempts not only to educate them, but to instill them with a sense of self-worth long stripped from their lives. "I have quite a spirited group of drama kings, court jesters, flyboy gangsters, tricksters, and wannabe pimps all in my charge, all up in my face, to educate," Peterson discovers. "Corralling this motley crew of bad-news bears to do any lesson is like running boot camp for hyperactive gremlins. I have to be consistent, alert, firm, witty, fearless, and demanding, and most important, I have to have strong command of the subject I'm teaching." Discipline is always a challenge, with the students spouting street-infused backtalk and often bouncing off the walls with pent-up testosterone. Peterson learns quickly that she must keep the upper hand-set the rules and enforce them with rigor, even when her sympathetic heart starts to waver. Despite their relentless bravura and antics-and in part because of it-Peterson becomes a fierce advocate for her students. She works to instill the young men, mostly black, with a sense of pride about their history and culture: from their African roots to Langston Hughes and Malcolm X. She encourages them to explore and express their true feelings by writing their own poems and essays. When the boys push her buttons (on an almost daily basis) she pushes back, demanding that they meet not only her expectations or the standards of the curriculum, but set expectations for themselves-something most of them have never before been asked to do. She witnesses some amazing successes as some of the boys come into their own under her tutelage. Peterson vividly captures the prison milieu and the exuberance of the kids who have been handed a raw deal by society and have become lost within the system. Her time in the classroom teaches her something, too-that these boys want to be rescued. They want normalcy and love and opportunity.
The Dope by
A myth-busting, 100-year history of the Mexican drug trade that reveals how an industry founded by farmers and village healers became dominated by cartels and kingpins. The Mexican drug trade has inspired prejudiced narratives of a war between north and south, white and brown; between noble cops and vicious kingpins, corrupt politicians and powerful cartels. In this first comprehensive history of the trade, historian Benjamin T. Smith tells the real story of how and why this one-peaceful industry turned violent. He uncovers its origins and explains how this illicit business essentially built modern Mexico, affecting everything from agriculture to medicine to economics--and the country's all-important relationship with the United States. Drawing on unprecedented archival research; leaked DEA, Mexican law enforcement, and cartel documents; and dozens of harrowing interviews, Smith tells a thrilling story brimming with vivid characters--from Ignacia "La Nacha" Jasso, "queen pin" of Ciudad Juárez, to Dr. Leopoldo Salazar Viniegra, the crusading physician who argued that marijuana was harmless and tried to decriminalize morphine, to Harry Anslinger, the Machiavellian founder of the American Federal Bureau of Narcotics, who drummed up racist drug panics to increase his budget. Smith also profiles everyday agricultural workers, whose stories reveal both the economic benefits and the human cost of the trade. The Dope contains many surprising conclusions about drug use and the failure of drug enforcement, all backed by new research and data. Smith explains the complicated dynamics that drive the current drug war violence, probes the U.S.-backed policies that have inflamed the carnage, and explores corruption on both sides of the border. A dark morality tale about the American hunger for intoxication and the necessities of human survival, The Dope is essential for understanding the violence in the drug war and how decades-old myths shape Mexico in the American imagination today.
The FBI Way by
NATIONAL BESTSELLER "A must read for serious leaders at every level." --General Barry R. McCaffrey (Ret.) The FBI's former head of counterintelligence reveals the Bureau's field-tested playbook for unlocking individual and organizational excellence Frank Figliuzzi was the "Keeper of the Code," appointed the FBI's Chief Inspector by then-Director Robert Mueller. Charged with overseeing sensitive internal inquiries and performance audits, he ensured each employee met the Bureau's exacting standards. Now, drawing on his distinguished career, Figliuzzi reveals how the Bureau achieves its extraordinary track record of excellence--from the training of new recruits in "The FBI Way" to the Bureau's rigorous maintenance of its standards up and down the organization. All good codes of conduct have one common trait: they reflect the core values of an organization. Individuals, companies, schools, teams, or any group seeking to codify their rules to live by must first establish core values. Figliuzzi has condensed the Bureau's process of preserving and protecting its values into what he calls "The Seven C's". If you can adapt the concepts of Code, Conservancy, Clarity, Consequences, Compassion, Credibility, and Consistency, you can instill and preserve your values against all threats, internal and external. This is how the FBI does it. Figliuzzi's role in the FBI gave him a unique opportunity to study patterns of conduct among high-achieving, ethical individuals and draw conclusions about why, when and how good people sometimes do bad things. Unafraid to identify FBI execs who erred, he cites them as the exceptions that prove the rule. Part pulse-pounding memoir, part practical playbook for excellence, The FBI Way shows readers how to apply the lessons he's learned to their own lives: in business, management, and personal development.
The Hard Sell by
The inside story of a band of entrepreneurial upstarts who made millions selling painkillers--until their scheme unraveled, putting them at the center of a landmark criminal trial. "A fast-paced and maddening account.... Until I read The Hard Sell, about the outrageous behavior of an obscure drug company, I hadn't appreciated the full extent of the filth or the dark stain the opioid sector has left on the entire industry.... What's most surprising and powerful about The Hard Sell is not one company's criminality--we've grown inured to corporations behaving badly--as much as how institutionalized these practices were across the modern drug industry." --New York Times Book Review John Kapoor had already amassed a small fortune in pharmaceuticals when he founded Insys Therapeutics. It was the early 2000s, a boom time for painkillers, and he developed a novel formulation of fentanyl, the most potent opioid on the market. Kapoor, a brilliant immigrant scientist with relentless business instincts, was eager to make the most of his innovation. He gathered around him an ambitious group of young lieutenants. His head of sales--an unstable and unmanageable leader, but a genius of persuasion--built a team willing to pull every lever to close a sale, going so far as to recruit an exotic dancer ready to scrape her way up. They zeroed in on the eccentric and suspect doctors receptive to their methods. Employees at headquarters did their part by deceiving insurance companies. The drug was a niche product, approved only for cancer patients in dire condition, but the company's leadership pushed it more widely, and together they turned Insys into a Wall Street sensation. But several insiders reached their breaking point and blew the whistle. They sparked a sprawling investigation that would lead to a dramatic courtroom battle, breaking new ground in the government's fight to hold the drug industry accountable in the spread of addictive opioids. In The Hard Sell, National Magazine Award-finalist Evan Hughes lays bare the pharma playbook. He draws on unprecedented access to insiders of the Insys saga, from top executives to foot soldiers, from the patients and staff of far-flung clinics to the Boston investigators who treated the case as a drug-trafficking conspiracy, flipping cooperators and closing in on the key players. With colorful characters and true suspense, The Hard Sell offers a bracing look not just at Insys, but at how opioids are sold at the point they first enter the national bloodstream--in the doctor's office.
My Time Will Come by
"My story has been told many times and by highly regarded experts in their fields-judges, prosecutors, juvenile probation officers, sociologists, journalists. But I would like to try to tell it to you myself. I have reason to believe the experts may be wrong about me. You see, today, thirty years later, I am neither in prison nor dead." -from My Time Will Come The inspiring story of activist and poet Ian Manuel, who at the age of fourteen was sentenced to life in prison. He survived eighteen years in solitary confinement-through his own determination and dedication to art-until he was freed as part of an incredible crusade by the Equal Justice Initiative. "Ian is magic. His story is difficult and heartbreaking, but he takes us places we need to go to understand why we must do better.He survives by relying on a poetic spirit, an unrelenting desire to succeed, to recover, and to love. Ian's story says something hopeful about our future." -Bryan Stevenson, author of Just Mercy The United States is the only country in the world that sentences thirteen- and fourteen-year-old offenders, mostly youth of color, to life in prison without parole. In 1991, Ian Manuel, then fourteen, was sentenced to life without parole for a non-homicide crime. In a botched mugging attempt with some older boys, he shot a young white mother of two in the face. But as Bryan Stevenson, attorney and executive director of the Equal Justice Initiative, has insisted, none of us should be judged by only the worst thing we have ever done. Capturing the fullness of his humanity, here is Manuel's powerful testimony of growing up homeless in a neighborhood riddled with poverty, gang violence, and drug abuse-and of his efforts to rise above his circumstances, only to find himself, partly through his own actions, imprisoned for two-thirds of his life, eighteen years of which were spent in solitary confinement. Here is the story of how he endured the savagery of the United States prison system, and how his victim, an extraordinary woman, forgave him and bravely advocated for his freedom, which was achieved by an Equal Justice Initiative push to address the barbarism of our judicial system and bring about "just mercy." Full of unexpected twists and turns as it describes a struggle for redemption, My Time Will Come is a paean to the capacity of the human will to transcend adversity through determination and art-in Ian Manuel's case, through his dedication to writing poetry.
Our Class by
A powerfully moving book that "could make graspable why today's prisons are contemporary slave plantations" (Alice Walker, author of The Color Purple), giving voice to the poorest among us and laying bare the cruelty of a penal system that too often defines their lives. Pulitzer Prize-winning journalist Chris Hedges has taught courses in drama, literature, philosophy, and history since 2013 in the college degree program offered by Rutgers University at East Jersey State Prison and other New Jersey prisons. In his first class at East Jersey State Prison, where students read and discussed plays by Amiri Baraka and August Wilson, among others, his class set out to write a play of their own. In writing the play, Caged, which would run for a month in 2018 to sold-out audiences at The Passage Theatre in Trenton, New Jersey, and later be published, students gave words to the grief and suffering they and their families have endured, as well as to their hopes and dreams. The class's artistic and personal discovery, as well as transformation, is chronicled in heartbreaking detail in Our Class. This "magnificent" (Cornel West, author of Race Matters) book gives a human face and a voice to those our society too often demonizes and abandons. It exposes the terrible crucible and injustice of America's penal system and the struggle by those trapped within its embrace to live lives of dignity, meaning, and purpose.
The Violence Project by
"Groundbreaking." ―Rachel Louise Snyder, bestselling author of No Visible Bruises An examination of the phenomenon of mass shootings in America and an urgent call to implement evidence-based strategies to stop these tragedies Winner of the 2022 Minnesota Book Award Using data from the writers' groundbreaking research on mass shooters, including first-person accounts from the perpetrators themselves, The Violence Project charts new pathways to prevention and innovative ways to stop the social contagion of violence. Frustrated by reactionary policy conversations that never seemed to convert into meaningful action, special investigator and psychologist Jill Peterson and sociologist James Densley built The Violence Project, the first comprehensive database of mass shooters. Their goal was to establish the root causes of mass shootings and figure out how to stop them by examining hundreds of data points in the life histories of more than 170 mass shooters--from their childhood and adolescence to their mental health and motives. They've also interviewed the living perpetrators of mass shootings and people who knew them, shooting survivors, victims' families, first responders, and leading experts to gain a comprehensive firsthand understanding of the real stories behind them, rather than the sensationalized media narratives that too often prevail. For the first time, instead of offering thoughts and prayers for the victims of these crimes, Peterson and Densley share their data-driven solutions for exactly what we must do, at the individual level, in our communities, and as a country, to put an end to these tragedies that have defined our modern era.
RCBC Library is part of the Burlington County Library System (BCLS)!
Your RCBC Library barcode allows you to check out physical material at other BCLS branches. (A separate BCLS Library card is needed to access their online resources.)
If another branch has a book that you are looking for, either call them to place it on hold for you, or as a RCBC librarian to call for you.
Note: a book that shows up as being in another branch may be currently in use by another patron. Save yourself a trip and call to double check the book's availability!
Inter-library Loans
If a book that you want is not available in the RCBC Library or BCLS, we can attempt to order the book from an outside library to be delivered to the RCBC Library. Note: this method may take 2 weeks or longer for the book to arrive at RCBC.
To order a book via inter-library loan, please either fill out a blank form from JerseyCat or contact Debbie Kolodziej at dkolodzie@rcbc.edu.
Faculty Book Requests
Research assistance - help finding sources, evaluating sources
Online workshops for citing and plagiarism are held throughout the semester. To request a citing workshop, please email library@rcbc.edu