Print books are arranged on the shelf in Library of Congress Call Number order. Each call number begins with an alphanumeric base (e.g., "BF109.J8") that is followed by a cutter and a date of publication (e.g., "A25 1993"). See a librarian if you need assistance.
Call Number Range (Where to Find Books on the Bookshelves)
The RCBC Library has many course textbooks on reserve. These books can be reserved for two hours at a time.
You can view which textbooks are available by subject on this guide:
Secure your applications with help from your favorite Jedi masters In Threats: What Every Engineer Should Learn From Star Wars, accomplished security expert and educator Adam Shostack delivers an easy-to-read and engaging discussion of security threats and how to develop secure systems. The book will prepare you to take on the Dark Side as you learn--in a structured and memorable way--about the threats to your systems. You'll move from thinking of security issues as clever one-offs and learn to see the patterns they follow. This book brings to light the burning questions software developers should be asking about securing systems, and answers them in a fun and entertaining way, incorporating cybersecurity lessons from the much-loved Star Wars series. You don't need to be fluent in over 6 million forms of exploitation to face these threats with the steely calm of a Jedi master. You'll also find: Understandable and memorable introductions to the most important threats that every engineer should know Straightforward software security frameworks that will help engineers bake security directly into their systems Strategies to align large teams to achieve application security in today's fast-moving and agile world Strategies attackers use, like tampering, to interfere with the integrity of applications and systems, and the kill chains that combine these threats into fully executed campaigns An indispensable resource for software developers and security engineers, Threats: What Every Engineer Should Learn From Star Wars belongs on the bookshelves of everyone delivering or operating technology: from engineers to executives responsible for shipping secure code.
Please check the catalog or databases, or contact RCBC Library to see if book is currently available.
The Eight Essential People Skills for Project Management by
Being a team leader is a demanding job that is expected to get even more demanding in the coming years. You're expected to be part parent, part referee, part coach, part manager and part frustrated. And today's workforce is more diverse, more knowledgeable, more complex and more dynamic than ever before. So where are the new tools for this ever-more complex job? Drawing on decades of experience as a senior manager at Chevron, a management consultant, and an "Honored Instructor" at U.C. Berkeley, Zachary Wong identifies the top eight people skills that project team leaders need. To master these skills he doesn't prescribe specific habits or behaviors. Instead, he gives team leaders a tool or model to help them see and diagnose people problems more clearly and then offers different options and ideas to help them decide which actions best fit their situation and who they are--he empowers team leaders rather than constrains them. This book takes a uniquely flexible approach to the always-vexing problem of getting the best contributions from the people on your team.
Construction Management by
Essential reading for project owners and project managers.The author of several well regarded construction management books once again shares useful practical construction management information.Filled with invaluable tips, insights,examples and advice, this easy to read book takes you from project inception, where the project scope, size and location are decided. To planning, budgeting, appointing the project team, investigations, the design process, selecting the right contractor, dealing with project risks, preliminary work, dealing with project stakeholders, managing the construction process, and finally, commissioning and project completion. Chapters also cover project scheduling, financial aspects and contractual arrangements. You will be equipped with a comprehensive checklist to monitor each phase of your project.Whether you are seasoned project manager, maybe just starting in the construction management professions, perhaps launching a new project as a veteran property developer, or an owner contemplating a new project, or simply planning to build a new home, or preparing to renovate and extend your house, you will find this book filled with valuable information to help you plan, monitor and manage each project phase to ensure your project is a success. Get your copy of this indispensable guide; Construction Management: From Project Concept to Completion. Ensure the success of your next project.The author's previous books have been favourably received by those new to the construction industry as well as seasoned professionals. Reviews include: "this is the best book on project management I have read" and "this book is fun to read and full of examples of what to be aware of with project management".
The Successful Construction Supervisor and Foreman by
Construction is desperate for good, experienced, skilled and dedicated supervisors and foremen. Construction needs you. Being a construction supervisor or foreman is challenging, it's hard work, but it's also rewarding watching projects take shape under your watch. A supervisor's job is never boring - every day is different, each project is different, different locations and different people, all presenting new challenges.A construction foreman, foreperson or supervisor, supervises a work crew, or manages a section of work. They're at the coalface of every construction project - the critical link in the construction process. Good foremen and supervisors are essential to the success of every construction project and every construction company, indeed, they're invaluable. Yet, few managers and supervisors are prepared to mentor and train the next generation of supervisors and foremen. Most supervisors and foremen have years of experience on the tools, learning their trade, sometimes through apprenticeships, but mostly learning from others. These skills are focused on a particular trade or skill. But, being a supervisor is a different ballgame. Where before, as a trades-person they were doing the work themselves, now as supervisor they must organise and manage others doing the work.I'm a construction professional with 30 years of experience and the author of several acclaimed construction books, including: 'Successful Construction Project Management: The Practical Guide' and 'Construction Management: From Project Concept to Completion'. As a young engineer and later as project manager, I was fortunate to learn from many excellent supervisors and foremen. I wouldn't have achieved what I did without the foremen on my projects. They were the powerhouse on my construction projects, and I only had to steer the project to a successful conclusion. Now it's my turn to share my 30 years of construction experience and knowledge with construction supervisors and foremen. To explain why things are done in a certain way, why good paperwork is essential, but more importantly, to help supervisors and foremen become the very best.
Occupational Safety and Health for Technologists, Engineers, and Managers by
Most complete guide to OSHA standards, for tomorrow's practitioners
Finite Element Analysis with SOLIDWORKS Simulation by
King's FINITE ELEMENT ANALYSIS WITH SOLIDWORKS SIMULATION prepares you for a range of professional applications using an innovative, efficient approach that combines presentation theory with solid mechanics calculations to confirm your configurations.The author demonstrates calculations in PTC Mathcad, providing an interactive "what-if" environment. You then build SOLIDWORKS simulations. The book focuses on 3D analysis of real-world designs while emphasizing fundamentals. You master critical concepts such as singular stiffness matrices, digital resolution, and rigid-body motion. You build a small FEA software program in PTC Mathcad that implements a 1D spring model. Investigations help you explore the effects of changing your analyses as you compare solutions, identify errors, make decisions and examine alternative configurations and new models as problem solvers and critical thinkers.
Electrical Safety Handbook by
Publisher's Note: Products purchased from Third Party sellers are not guaranteed by the publisher for quality, authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product. On-the-job electrical safety essentials--thoroughly revised for the latest procedures and standards This fully updated electrical safety guide is a practical, illustrated source of life-saving information designed for specific work environments. The book has been fully revised and expanded to conform to every current major electrical standard, including NEC, NESC, NFPA70E, IEEE 1584, and OSHA. Written by experts in electrical operations, maintenance, engineering, construction, and safety, Electrical Safety Handbook, Fifth Edition provides the most up-to-date safety strategies in an easy-to-use format. The book delivers complete details on electrical hazards, safety equipment, management, training, regulatory and legal requirements, accident prevention, and much more. You will find new sections on electrical grounding, heat transfer theory as it relates to the human body, and the medical aspects of electrical trauma. * Contains comprehensive coverage of every subject on the exam * Includes updated electrical grounding concepts and applications * Written by a team of electrical safety experts
Electronic Circuits by
Electronics explained in one volume, using both theoretical and practical applications. Mike Tooley provides all the information required to get to grips with the fundamentals of electronics, detailing the underpinning knowledge necessary to appreciate the operation of a wide range of electronic circuits, including amplifiers, logic circuits, power supplies and oscillators. The 5th edition includes an additional chapter showing how a wide range of useful electronic applications can be developed in conjunction with the increasingly popular Arduino microcontroller, as well as a new section on batteries for use in electronic equipment and some additional/updated student assignments. The book's content is matched to the latest pre-degree level courses (from Level 2 up to, and including, Foundation Degree and HND), making this an invaluable reference text for all study levels, and its broad coverage is combined with practical case studies based in real-world engineering contexts. In addition, each chapter includes a practical investigation designed to reinforce learning and provide a basis for further practical work. A companion website at http://www.key2electronics.com offers the reader a set of spreadsheet design tools that can be used to simplify circuit calculations, as well as circuit models and templates that will enable virtual simulation of circuits in the book. These are accompanied by online self-test multiple choice questions for each chapter with automatic marking, to enable students to continually monitor their own progress and understanding. A bank of online questions for lecturers to set as assignments is also available.
Mechanical Tolerance Stackup and Analysis by
Use Tolerance Analysis Techniques to Avoid Design, Quality, and Manufacturing Problems Before They Happen Often overlooked and misunderstood, tolerance analysis is a critical part of improving products and their design processes. Because all manufactured products are subject to variation, it is crucial that designers predict and understand how these changes can affect form, fit, and function of parts and assemblies¿and then communicate their findings effectively. Written by one of the developers of ASME Y14.5 and other geometric dimension and tolerancing (GD&T) standards, Mechanical Tolerance Stackup and Analysis, Second Edition offers an overview of techniques used to assess and convey the cumulative effects of variation on the geometric relationship between part and assembly features. The book focuses on some key components: it explains often misunderstood sources of variation and how they contribute to this deviation in assembled products, as well as how to model that variation in a useful manner. New to the Second Edition: Explores ISO and ASME GD&T standards¿including their similarities and differences Covers new concepts and content found in ASME Y14.5-2009 standard Introduces six-sigma quality and tolerance analysis concepts Revamps figures throughout The book includes step-by-step procedures for solving tolerance analysis problems on products defined with traditional plus/minus tolerancing and GD&T. This helps readers understand potential variations, set up the problem, achieve the desired solution, and clearly communicate the results. With added application examples and features, this comprehensive volume will help design engineers enhance product development and safety, ensuring that parts and assemblies carry out their intended functions. It will also help manufacturing, inspection, assembly, and service personnel troubleshoot designs, verify that in-process steps meet objectives, and find ways to improve performance and reduce costs.
AutoCAD 2022 Beginning and Intermediate by
This book is the most comprehensive book you will find on AutoCAD 2022 - 2D Drafting. Covering all of the 2D concepts, it uses both metric and imperial units to illustrate the myriad drawing and editing tools for this popular application. Use the companion disc to set up drawing exercises and projects and see all of the book's figures in color. AutoCAD 2022 Beginning and Intermediateincludes over 100 exercises or "mini-workshops," that complete small projects from concept through actual plotting. Solving all of the workshops will simulate the creation of three projects (architectural and mechanical) from beginning to end, without overlooking any of the basic commands and functions in AutoCAD 2022. FEATURES: Covers only the basics and uses both metric and imperial unitsto illustrate the myriad tools for this popular application Companion files can be used to set up in-text drawing exercises and projects and to see the book's figures in color Helps you to prepare for the AutoCAD Certified Professionalexam The companion files are also available online by emailing the publisher with proof of purchase at info@merclearning.com.
Engineering Ethics and Design for Product Safety by
A systematic guide to product design and safety from an ethical engineering perspective This hands-on textbook offers a holistic approach to product safety and engineering ethics across many products, fields, and industries. The book shows, step by step, how to "design in" safety characteristics early in the engineering process using design for product safety (DfPS) methods. Written by a P.E. and skilled educator with industry experience, Engineering Ethics and Design for Product Safety addresses all aspects of the product system from the perspective of an active product-safety engineering manager. You will get detailed case studies, real-world examples, and side discussions that provide a deep dive into key topics. Coverage includes: Product safety Engineering ethics Product-safety components Hazards, risks, accidents, and outcomes A product-design process Product-safety engineering Engineering-design guidance Product-safety facilitators Product-safety engineering methods Product-safety defects and recalls
Engineered to Speak by
Engineered to Speak: Helping You Create and Deliver Engaging Technical Presentations Technical expertise alone is not enough to ensure professional success. Twenty-first century engineers and technical professionals must master making the complex simple and the simple interesting. This book helps engineers do what they love most: take a complicated system and create a stronger solution. You will learn tips and strategies that help you answer one essential question, "How can I get better at sharing my ideas with a variety of audiences?" In Engineered to Speak, Alexa Chilcutt and Adam Brooks combine their expertise in messaging and public speaking with research that illustrates how effective communication contributes to career advancement. Each chapter contains inspiring stories from practicing engineers around the world as well as useful examples, exercises and repeatable processes for creating compelling messages. This book helps technical talent become better speakers, better communicators, and ultimately better leaders. This helpful guide demystifies the art of oral communication by breaking it down into ten easy-to-follow-processes that can improve the ability of professionals at any level. By the end of Engineered to Speak, you'll understand how to gain buy-in, identify and expand your Sphere of Influence, amplify your message, deliver compelling presentations, and learn from those who've embrace these skills and enjoyed professional success.
Don't force it, solve it! : how to design meaningful and efficient design processes by 
Introduction to Finite Elements in Engineering by
Thoroughly updated with improved pedagogy, the fifth edition of this classic textbook continues to provide students with a clear and comprehensive introduction the fundamentals of the finite element method. New features include enhanced coverage of introductory topics in the context of simple 1D problems, providing students with a solid base from which to advance to 2D and 3D problems; expanded coverage of more advanced concepts, to reinforce students' understanding; over 30 additional solved problems; and downloadable MATLAB, Python, C, Javascript, Fortran and Excel VBA code packages, providing students with hands-on experience, and preparing them for commercial software. Accompanied by online solutions for instructors, this is the definitive text for senior undergraduate and graduate students studying a first course in the finite element method and finite element analysis, and for professional engineers keen to shore up their understanding of finite element fundamentals.
Engineering design process by
Gain a clear understanding of engineering design as ENGINEERING DESIGN PROCESS, 3E outlines the process into five basic stages -- requirements, product concept, solution concept, embodiment design and detailed design. Discover how these five stages can be seamlessly integrated. The book illustrates how the design methods can work together coherently, while the book�s supporting exercises and labs help you navigate the design process. The text leads the beginner designer from the basics of design with very simple tasks -- the first lab involves designing a sandwich -- all the way through more complex design needs. This approach to the design model equips you with the skills to apply engineering design concepts both to conventional engineering problems as well as other design problems.
CRC handbook of materials science. Volume II, Metals, composites, and refractory materials by
Published in 1974: The CRC Handbook of Materials Science provides a current and readily accessible guide to the physical properties of solid state and structural materials.
Essentials of Semiconductor Device Physics by
ESSENTIALS OF SEMICONDUCTOR DEVICE PHYSICS An introductory semiconductor device physics textbook that is accessible to readers without a background in statistical physics The subject of this book is the physics of semiconductor devices, which is an important topic in engineering and physics because it forms the background for electronic and optoelectronic devices, including solar cells. The author aims to provide students and teachers with a concise text that focuses on semiconductor devices and covers the necessary background in statistical physics. This text introduces the key prerequisite knowledge in a simple, clear, and friendly manner. It distills the key concepts of semiconductor devices down to their essentials, enabling students to master this key subject in engineering, physics, and materials. The subject matter treated in this book is directly connected to the physics of p-n junctions and solar cells, which has become a topic of intense interest in the last decade. Sample topics covered within the text include: Chemical potential, Fermi level, Fermi-Dirac distribution, drift current and diffusion current. The physics of semiconductors, band theory and intuitive derivations of the concentration of charge carriers. The p-n junction, with qualitative analysis preceding the mathematical descriptions. A derivation of the current vs voltage relation in p-n junctions (Shockley equation). Important applications of p-n junctions, including solar cells The two main types of transistors: Bipolar Junction Transistors (BJT) and Metal Oxide Semiconductor Field Effect Transistors (MOSFET) For students and instructors, it may be used as a primary textbook for an introductory semiconductor device physics course and is suitable for a course of approximately 30-50 hours. Scientists studying and researching semiconductor devices in general, and solar cells in particular, will also benefit from the clear and intuitive explanations found in this book. I wish this book had been available when I needed to make a Semiconductor class myself a few years ago [...] A very nice aspect is that some concepts (e.g. density of states) are explained in a way that I have not seen elsewhere. These types of unconventional approaches are very valuable for a teacher. (Bjorn Maes, University of Mons, Belgium) [...] the author offers an accessible description of statistical analysis and adopts it to explain the core properties of semiconductors. [...] [He] uses interesting metaphors and analogies to exemplify some of the most difficult notions, in an innovative and engaging way. (Andrea di Falco, University of St. Andrews, UK)
Modern Manufacturing Technology by
Modern Manufacturing Technology: Spotlight on Future summarizes the emergence and development of modern manufacturing techniques (MMTs) with a focus on metallic and advanced material-based additive manufacturing technologies and their potential applications. Further, it explores advanced machining techniques for production of novel nanomaterials. The book also covers modern sophisticated techniques for the fabrication of ultrafine electronic devices such as micro-electromechanical systems (MEMS), nano-electromechanical systems (NEMS), semiconductors, and optical systems. A dedicated chapter on manufacturing technology for Industry 4.0 is included. Features: Describes the background of manufacturing techniques in brief including the advent of and introduction to MMTs Reviews various types of MMTs established in recent years and their accelerated growth and development innovation-driven applications Overviews the physical and chemical techniques used for nanomaterials production Explores the fabrication mechanisms of MEMS, NEMS, semiconductors and optical devices Provides a conceptual overview of additive manufacturing technologies This book is geared to undergraduate and postgraduate students and professionals in mechanical and manufacturing engineering, and the manufacturing industry.
Ebooks are accessible directly from the Library catalog. If you're interested in finding ebooks only, head to eBook Collection. To log in, use the barcode located on the back of your student ID and your pin number. You have the option to download ebooks to a device, but we strongly recommend reading them online to take advantage of the full suite of available tools. Create a personal account using your Library barcode and PIN to manage and organize your ebook reading and research.
Designing Climate Solutions by
With the effects of climate change already upon us, the need to cut global greenhouse gas emissions is nothing less than urgent. It's a daunting challenge, but the technologies and strategies to meet it exist today. A small set of energy policies, designed and implemented well, can put us on the path to a low carbon future. Energy systems are large and complex, so energy policy must be focused and cost-effective. One-size-fits-all approaches simply won't get the job done. Policymakers need a clear, comprehensive resource that outlines the energy policies that will have the biggest impact on our climate future, and describes how to design these policies well. Designing Climate Solutions: A Policy Guide for Low-Carbon Energy is the first such guide, bringing together the latest research and analysis around low carbon energy solutions. Written by Hal Harvey, CEO of the policy firm Energy Innovation, with Robbie Orvis and Jeffrey Rissman of Energy Innovation, Designing Climate Solutions is an accessible resource on lowering carbon emissions for policymakers, activists, philanthropists, and others in the climate and energy community. In Part I, the authors deliver a roadmap for understanding which countries, sectors, and sources produce the greatest amount of greenhouse gas emissions, and give readers the tools to select and design efficient policies for each of these sectors. In Part II, they break down each type of policy, from renewable portfolio standards to carbon pricing, offering key design principles and case studies where each policy has been implemented successfully. We don't need to wait for new technologies or strategies to create a low carbon future--and we can't afford to. Designing Climate Solutions gives professionals the tools they need to select, design, and implement the policies that can put us on the path to a livable climate future.
Game Changer by
How has technology challenged the notion of unadulterated athletic performance? We like to think of sports as elemental: strong bodies trained to overcome height, weight, distance; the thrill of earned victory or the agony of defeat in a contest decided on a level playing field. But in Game Changer, Rayvon Fouché argues that sports have been radically shaped by an explosion of scientific and technological advances in materials, training, nutrition, and medicine dedicated to making athletes stronger and faster. Technoscience, as Fouché dubs it, increasingly gives the edge (however slight) to the athlete with the latest gear, the most advanced training equipment, or the performance-enhancing drugs that are hardest to detect. In this revealing book, Fouché examines a variety of sports paraphernalia and enhancements, from fast suits, athletic shoes, and racing bicycles to basketballs and prosthetic limbs. He also takes a hard look at gender verification testing, direct drug testing, and the athlete biological passport in an attempt to understand the evolving place of technoscience across sport. In this book, Fouché: * Examines the relationship among sport, science, and technology * Considers what is at stake in defining sporting culture by its scientific knowledge and technology * Provides readers and students with an informative and engagingly written study Focusing on well-known athletes, including Michael Phelps, Oscar Pistorius, Caster Semenya, Usain Bolt, and Lance Armstrong, Fouché argues that technoscience calls into question the integrity of games, records, and our bodies themselves. He also touches on attempts by sporting communities to regulate the use of technology, from elite soccer's initial reluctance to utilize goal-line technology to automobile racing's endless tweaking of regulatory formulas in an attempt to blur engineering potency and reclaim driver skill and ability. Game Changer will change the way you look at sports--and the outsized impact technoscience has on them.
New Space Frontiers by
Take a journey into the New Space Frontier! It is easy to imagine that the space shuttle's retirement has edged the Space Age toward closure, at least in terms of human flight beyond the bounds of earth. In fact, there are more people-carrying ships being constructed now than at any time since Yuri Gagarin became the first man in space half a century ago. Some are already servicing the International Space Station - which, incidentally, has ensured a permanent human presence in space for the last two decades, and is set to continue and expand for decades yet to come. What's more, NASA is no longer the only big player in the space game. Commercial, non-governmental space exploration is becoming a reality rather than just a pipe dream. What orbital adventures await us in the next five decades? Will humans ever again head into deep space, as the Apollo astronauts once did? NASA's new hardware is aimed toward asteroid missions, and ultimately, Mars, but there is a significant chance that a government funded space agency will not be the only - or even the first - organization to send humans across the solar system. Get ready to experience the excitement of adventure with New Space Frontier. Through gorgeous photography and engaging writing, noted space and science author Piers Bizony speculates beyond just today's hardware and explores what might be possible for the next generation.
RCBC Library is part of the Burlington County Library System (BCLS)!
Your RCBC Library barcode allows you to check out physical material at other BCLS branches. (A separate BCLS Library card is needed to access their online resources.)
If another branch has a book that you are looking for, either call them to place it on hold for you, or as a RCBC librarian to call for you.
Note: a book that shows up as being in another branch may be currently in use by another patron. Save yourself a trip and call to double check the book's availability!
Inter-library Loans
If a book that you want is not available in the RCBC Library or BCLS, we can attempt to order the book from an outside library to be delivered to the RCBC Library. Note: this method may take 2 weeks or longer for the book to arrive at RCBC.
To order a book via inter-library loan, please either fill out a blank form from JerseyCat or contact Debbie Kolodziej at dkolodzie@rcbc.edu.
Faculty Book Requests
Research assistance - help finding sources, evaluating sources
Online workshops for citing and plagiarism are held throughout the semester. To request a citing workshop, please email library@rcbc.edu