The RCBC Library has many course textbooks on reserve. These books can be reserved for two hours at a time.
You can view which textbooks are available by subject on this guide:
Print books are arranged on the shelf in Library of Congress Call Number order. Each call number begins with an alphanumeric base (e.g., "BF109.J8") that is followed by a cutter and a date of publication (e.g., "A25 1993"). See a librarian if you need assistance.
Call Number Range (Where to Find Books on the Bookshelves)
(the following list is a small selection of titles held by the RCBC Library)
Writing in the Biological Sciences by
"Writing in the Biological Sciences: A Comprehensive Guide to Scientific Communication" serves as a comprehensive "one-stop" reference guide to scientific writing and communication for budding professionals in the life sciences and related fields. The book is designed to function both as a free-standing textbook for a course on writing in the sciences and as an accompanying text or reference guide in courses with writing-intensive components. It covers all the basics of scientific communication that students need to know and master for successful scientific careers. The book lays the foundation for professional writing by starting with basic scientific writing principles and then by applying these principles to lab reports, summaries, and critiques and eventually also to full-fledged scientific research articles, review articles, and grant proposals. Practical advice for organizing academic presentations and posters as well as for putting together job applications is also included.
CRISPR People by
What does the birth of babies whose embryos had gone through genome editing mean--for science and for all of us? In November 2018, the world was shocked to learn that two babies had been born in China with DNA edited while they were embryos--as dramatic a development in genetics as the 1996 cloning of Dolly the sheep. In this book, Hank Greely, a leading authority on law and genetics, tells the fascinating story of this human experiment and its consequences. Greely explains what Chinese scientist He Jiankui did, how he did it, and how the public and other scientists learned about and reacted to this unprecedented genetic intervention. The two babies, nonidentical twin girls, were the first "CRISPR'd" people ever born (CRISPR, Clustered Regularly Interspaced Short Palindromic Repeats, is a powerful gene-editing method). Greely not only describes He's experiment and its public rollout (aided by a public relations adviser) but also considers, in a balanced and thoughtful way, the lessons to be drawn both from these CRISPR'd babies and, more broadly, from this kind of human DNA editing--"germline editing" that can be passed on from one generation to the next. Greely doesn't mince words, describing He's experiment as grossly reckless, irresponsible, immoral, and illegal. Although he sees no inherent or unmanageable barriers to human germline editing, he also sees very few good uses for it--other, less risky, technologies can achieve the same benefits. We should consider the implications carefully before we proceed.
Understanding Genes by
What are genes? What do genes do? These questions are not simple and straightforward to answer; at the same time, simplistic answers are quite prevalent and are taken for granted. This book aims to explain the origin of the gene concept, its various meanings both within and outside science, as well as to debunk the intuitive view of the existence of 'genes for' characteristics and disease. Drawing on contemporary research in genetics and genomics, as well as on ideas from history of science, philosophy of science, psychology and science education, it explains what genes are and what they can and cannot do. By presenting complex concepts and research in a comprehensible and rigorous manner, it examines the potential impact of research in genetics and genomics and how important genes actually are for our lives. Understanding Genes is an accessible and engaging introduction to genes for any interested reader.
Molecular Biology by
Molecular Biology: Principles of Genome Function offers a fresh, distinctive approach to the teaching of molecular biology. It is an approach that reflects the challenge of teaching a subject that is in many ways unrecognizable from the molecular biology of the 20th century - a discipline in which our understanding has advanced immeasurably, but about which many questions remain to be answered.KEY FEATURESA focus on the underlying principles equips students with a robust conceptual framework on which to add further detail from the vast amount of scientific information available to us todayAn emphasis on commonalities reflects the conserved molecular processes and components that we now know to exist between bacteria, archaea and eukaryotesExperimental Approach panels demonstrate the central importance of experimental evidence to furthering our understanding of molecular biology by describing research that has been particularly valuable in elucidating different aspects of the subjectOnline resources, for both instructors and students alike, enhance the educational value of the textNEW TO THIS EDITIONNew content on epigenetics, targeted genome editing and pre-mRNA splicingCutting-edge scientific breakthroughs in CRISPR technology, including a description of newly defined steps in the molecular mechanisms underlying CRISPR-mediated adaptation in bacterial adaptive immunity; and a description of a recently discovered transposable element family whose integration mechanism is closely related to and involves molecular relatives of the CRISPR-Cas bacterial adaptive immunity systemEnhanced coverage of DNA replication and regulatory RNAsSeven new Experimental Approach panelsThis title is available as an eBook. Visit VitalSource for more information or to purchase.
Practical Skills in Biomolecular Sciences by
"The primary aim of this revision of Practical Skills in Biomolecular Sciences was to update the text, but we also wished to respond to the helpful comments of several anonymous reviewers of the 5th edition, and in so doing, to reorganise the chapters and include significant new material. The main structural changes we have made are to (1) reorder and rewrite several chapters in the first two sections; (2) add three new chapters on working with bacteria, eukaryotic microbes and viruses; and (3) revise the material on use of software and online sources, to refl ect the greater level of knowledge and experience of today's students. In terms of the text itself, we have sought to use more positive phrasing throughout, to emphasise the active nature of learning in this discipline. Some details of further changes and additions are listed on the back cover. The text references and sources for further study have been updated, while the popular study exercises have been retained"-- Provided by publisher.
The Master Builder by
"An ingenious argument" (Kirkus) for a "novel thesis" (Publishers Weekly) that cells, not DNA, hold the key to understanding life's past and present   What defines who we are? For decades, the answer has seemed obvious: our genes, the "blueprint of life." In The Master Builder, biologist Alfonso Martinez Arias argues we've been missing the bigger picture. It's not our genes that define who we are, but our cells. While genes are important, nothing in our DNA explains why the heart is on the left side of the body, how many fingers we have, or even how our cells manage to reproduce. Drawing on new research from his own lab and others, Martinez Arias reveals that we are composed of a thrillingly intricate, constantly moving symphony of cells. Both their long lineage--stretching back to the very first cell--and their intricate interactions within our bodies today make us who we are. Engaging and ambitious, The Master Builder will transform your understanding of our past, present, and future--as individuals and as a species.
A Brief History of Disease, Science and Medicine by 
Pathophysiology by
Develop a strong understanding of pathophysiology. Pathophysiology, 6th Edition explores the etiology, pathogenesis, clinical manifestations, and treatment of diseases and disorders. Each section focuses on the major alterations in the homeostasis of the body systems in order to provide you with a unifying framework. Current scientific findings and relevant global research are integrated throughout the book, with chapters organized by body system, beginning with an illustrated review of anatomy and normal physiology. Each chapter includes a discussion on the disease processes and abnormalities that may occur, with a focus on the pathophysiologic concepts involved. Written by leading educators, this text simplifies a rigorous subject with practical learning resources, an emphasis on critical thinking, and coverage of the latest scientific findings and relevant research. Plus, more than 1,000 updated, full color illustrations and photos throughout, give you a chance to visualize disease and disease processes and gain a clearer understanding of the material. Easy-to-read style is simplified by input from readability experts, and includes many tables, boxes, and figures to highlight key content. Student-friendly learning resources in the text include chapter outlines, bolded key terms, key questions, Key Points boxes, and chapter summaries. Pediatric and Geriatric Considerations boxes include brief analyses of age-related changes associated with specific body systems. A comprehensive glossary defines terms and includes audio pronunciations on the Evolve companion website. NEW! Global Health Care boxes inform you about global healthcare concerns such as HIV/AIDS, Ebola, Tropical Diseases and more. Includes prevalence, mechanism of disease and transmission. NEW! Over 1,000 illustrations help clarify complex pathophysiological concepts and make the book visually appealing NEW! Thorough chapter updates include the latest information on new treatment advances, 100 new figures for improved clarity, and much more throughout the text.
Netter's Infectious Diseases by
Widely used by students, residents, generalists, and specialists, Netter's Infectious Diseases, 2nd Edition delivers must-know information on infectious diseases in a highly illustrated, easily accessible format. Concise visual overviews of essential topics provide a convenient, trustworthy way to review the basics of a given infectious disease or issue or to share with patients or staff. Drs. Elaine Jong and Dennis Stevens cover the basics of this complex field using memorable illustrations by world-renowned artist Frank H. Netter and others, offering a time-saving, authoritative look at infectious diseases life cycles, clinical presentations, and pathophysiology. Covers major conditions and problems such as vaccine-preventable diseases, drug-resistant staph, community acquired pneumonia, surgical infections, pyelonephritis, viral hepatitis, and sexually transmitted infections-and provides updated approaches to diagnosis, treatment, prevention, and standards of care. Includes new clinical vignettes added to most chapters. Provides updated and expanded coverage of emerging infectious diseases such as multidrug resistant tuberculosis (MDR-TB), neuroangiostrongyliasis (rat lungworm disease), Ebola virus, Severe Acute Respiratory Disease (SARS), Middle East Respiratory Syndrome (MERS), Coronavirus Infectious Disease-2019 (COVID-19), and novel influenza viruses including public health concerns. Covers vector-borne diseases including malaria, yellow fever, Zika infections and congenital Zika syndrome, West Nile fever, Lyme disease, tick-borne encephalitis, and Chagas disease plus others. New chapters on travelers' diarrhea, cholera, and primary amebic meningoencephalitis debut in the section on international travel and outdoor activities. Contains memorable parasite life cycles and unforgettable parasite infection clinical vignettes. Features unparalleled illustrations by Drs. Frank H. Netter, Carlos Machado, and others, as well as radiologic images. Provides 24 printable patient education brochures in the enhanced ebook. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Molecular Biology of Cancer by
Molecular Biology of Cancer: Mechanisms, Targets, and Therapeutics offers an accessible, engaging, and optimistic account of cancer biology for undergraduate and graduate students.Using the hallmarks of cancer as a starting point, the book looks at the cellular and molecular mechanisms underpinning the transformation of cells into cancer cells. After discussing the theory, each chapter then demonstrates how this knowledge can be directly applied to the development of newtargeted therapies, giving the reader a clear appreciation of how our understanding of the theory can be translated into new approaches for tackling the disease.The new edition draws on the latest research in cancer biology, highlighting fundamental concepts and re-emphasising pre-existing concepts. The book features a variety of learning features - 'Pause and think', 'How do we know that?', self-tests and activities - to help students engage with, andmaster, the concepts presented. The emphasis is on acquiring a solid understanding of the essentials and an appreciation of how a theoretical understanding can be transformed into therapeutic benefit.Molecular Biology of Cancer is supported by online resources and is available for students and institutions to purchase in a variety of formats.The e-book offers a mobile experience and convenient access along with functionality tools, navigation features and links that offer extra learning support: www.oxfordtextbooks.co.uk/ebooksThe online resources include:For students:- Multiple choice questions- Web links to additional cancer biology resourcesFor registered adopters of the book:DT Figures from the book, available to download
Review of Medical Microbiology and Immunology, Seventeenth Edition by
Ace your medical courses and pass the Boards with the most up-to-date review of medical microbiology and immunology! This trusted, popular guide provides a high-yield review of the most important aspects of microbiology and immunology in a concise yet comprehensive style. Review of Medical Microbiology and Immunology covers both basic and clinical aspects of bacteriology, virology, mycology, parasitology, and immunology. Important infectious diseases are discussed using an organ system approach. The effective mix of engaging narrative text, color images, tables, figures, Q&As, and clinical vignettes make this an invaluable, proven one-stop guide to mastering the application of microbiology and immunology to infectious diseases. This updated edition reflects the latest research, treatment, and developments, as well as a new chapter on COVID-19. Outstanding Tools for USMLE Studying: Facilitates any study objective or learning style Essential for USMLE review and medical microbiology coursework 654 USMLE-style practice questions test your knowledge Complete USMLE-style practice exam Pearls cover the basic science necessary for passing the USMLE 50 clinical cases illustrate the importance of basic science information in clinical diagnosis Concise summaries of medically important organisms Color images depict clinically important findings, such as infectious disease lesions Color micrographs of stained microorganisms Chapter-ending self-assessment questions and answers New chapter on COVID-19 with images
In order to access ebooks, you will need a RCBC Library barcode. RCBC ebooks are denoted by: Web Site: - Web Link RCBC access only
Note that any books marked "Overdrive" are county books and need a BCLS library card.
(the following list is a small selection of titles held by the RCBC Library)
Microbiology and Technology of Fermented Foods by
The revised and expanded text on food fermentation microbiology With this second edition of Microbiology and Technology of Fermented Foods, Robert Hutkins brings fresh perspectives and updated content to his exhaustive and engaging text on food fermentations. The text covers all major fermented foods, devoting chapters to fermented dairy, meat, and vegetable products, as well breads, beers, wines, vinegars, and soy foods. These insights are enhanced by detailed explanations of the microbiological and biochemical processes that underpin fermentation, while an account of its fascinating history provides readers with richly contextualizing background knowledge. New to this edition are two additional chapters. One discusses the role that fermentation plays in the production of spirits and other distilled beverages, whereas another focuses on cocoa, coffee, and fermented cereal products. Furthermore, key chapters on microorganisms and metabolism have been expanded and elaborated upon, and are complemented by other relevant revisions and additions made throughout the book, ensuring that it is as up-to-date and applicable as possible. This essential text includes: Discussions of major fermented foods from across the globe Background information on the science and history behind food fermentation Information on relevant industrial processes, technologies, and scientific discoveries Two new chapters covering distilled spirits and cocoa, coffee, and cereal products Expanded chapters on microorganisms and metabolism Microbiology and Technology of Fermented Foods, Second Edition is a definitive reference tool that will be of great interest and use to industry professionals, academics, established or aspiring food scientists, and anyone else working with fermented foods.
Molecular Techniques in Food Biology by
Molecular Techniques in Food Biology: Safety, Biotechnology, Authenticity & Traceability explores all aspects of microbe-food interactions, especially as they pertain to food safety. Traditional morphological, physiological, and biochemical techniques for the detection, differentiation, and identification of microorganisms have severe limitations. As an alternative, many of those responsible for monitoring food safety are turning to molecular tools for identifying foodborne microorganisms. This book reviews the latest molecular techniques for detecting, identifying, and tracing microorganisms in food, addressing both good foodborne microbes, such as those used for fermentation and in probiotics, and harmful ones responsible for foodborne illness and food quality control problems. Molecular Techniques in Food Biology: Safety, Biotechnology, Authenticity & Traceability brings together contributions by leading international authorities in food biology from academe, industry, and government. Chapters cover food microbiology, food mycology, biochemistry, microbial ecology, food biotechnology and bio-processing, food authenticity, food origin traceability, and food science and technology. Throughout, special emphasis is placed on novel molecular techniques relevant to food biology research and for monitoring and assessing food safety and quality. Brings together contributions from scientists at the leading edge of the revolution in molecular food biology Explores how molecular techniques can satisfy the dire need to deepen our understanding of how microbial communities develop in foods of all types and in all forms Covers all aspects of food safety and hygiene, microbial ecology, food biotechnology and bio-processing, food authenticity, food origin traceability, and more Fills a yawning gap in the world literature on food traceability using molecular techniques This book is an important working resource for professionals in agricultural, food science, biomedicine, and government involved in food regulation and safety. It is also an excellent reference for advanced students in agriculture, food science and food technology, biochemistry, microbiology, and biotechnology, as well as academic researchers in those fields.
Essentials of Medical Microbiology by
The new edition of this comprehensive guide provides students with the latest information and advances in medical microbiology. Divided into seven sections, the book begins with discussion on general microbiology, followed by immunology, systematic bacteriology, virology and mycology. The second edition has been fully revised and features two new sections covering hospital acquired infections and clinical microbiology. The extensive text is further enhanced by more than 600 clinical photographs, diagrams and tables. The book concludes with annexures on emerging and re-emerging infections, bioterrorism, laboratory acquired infections, and zoonosis (the transmission of disease between humans and animals). Key points Comprehensive guide to medical microbiology for students Fully revised, second edition featuring many new topics Highly illustrated with clinical photographs, diagrams and tables Previous edition (9789351529873) published in 2015
Microbial Ecology by
The development of metagenomics, metatranscriptomics, metaproteomics, metametabolomics and other related methods has made a significant contribution to the understanding of the complexity of the interactions among microorganisms and of the interaction of microorganisms with their environment and with other organisms. The field of microbial ecology is experiencing a new era of discovery leading to a greater understanding of the patterns, processes and mechanisms governing the structure and dynamics of microbiomes.
This book presents selected recent hot-topics in the application of advanced omics methods to the field of microbial ecology. Written by specialist scientists under the experienced editorial guidance of Diana Marco, the book covers both the theoretical and applied aspects of microbial ecology. Topics include the investigation of the patterns, processes and mechanisms in microbial ecology, microbiome sequencing, soil microbiology, insular microbiogeography, sediment microbial communities, and wildlife microbial genomics and endocrinology.
This timely volume is indispensable for scientific researchers, educators and advanced students interested in approaching the microbial ecology field by utilizing the most recent and advanced omics methods. The book is invaluable for everyone working in the field of microbial ecology and is recommended reading for all microbiologists.
Enteroviruses by
Members of the enterovirus genus are positive-stranded RNA viruses encompassing important human pathogens and include poliovirus, coxsackievirus and rhinovirus. Several enteroviruses, such as enterovirus-71 and enterovirus-D68, have emerged from relative obscurity to become worldwide public health threats, highlighting the need to develop effective therapeutic strategies to combat these important viruses. To do this, understanding the genomics and the cellular and molecular biology of infection of enteroviruses is critical.
This book represents a comprehensive tour of the current most important enterovirus research. The editors, Dr. Jackson and Dr. Coyne, have assembled a group of enteropviral experts who cover topics including viral entry and the hijacking of host functions; the dynamic analysis of ever-evolving virus genomes; the cellular membrane changes promoting virus assembly and release. This volume is a must-read for anyone with an interest in this family of viruses and an important acquisition for all microbiology libraries.
Bacterial Diseases by
Bacterial Diseases provides readers an overview of a broad variety of bacterial infections. Chapters cover the description of specific disease and its causative agent, followed by information about symptoms, diagnosis and clinical management. This easy-to-read resource is a suitable introductory textbook for pharmacy, medical, and dental students, as well as M Phil, and Ph.D. candidates for Pharmacology, Botany, Zoology, Microbiology, Pharmacy, Biotechnology and allied health science programs. Readers interested in a simple clinical summary of bacterial diseases can also benefit from the information provided. Key Features:- Coverage of a broad spectrum of bacterial infections over 41 topical chapters- Easy-to-read presentation which provides a basic description of diseases covered to clinical diagnosis and management- Emphasis on the route of infection- References for further reading
Microbiological Sensors for the Drinking Water Industry by
This most up-to date book addresses the interdisciplinary area of drinking water quality monitoring by microbiological sensors. It is edited and written by leading water professionals and experts, and binds together interests and competences within sensing technology, system behavior, business needs, legislation, education, data handling, and intelligent response algorithms. The book contains chapters on:- the history of water monitoring and early sensors- the current landscape of microbiological sensors and different measuring concepts - needs from the water industry - detailed description of several state-of-the-art sensor technologies- water industry case stories with operator experience - examples of on-line data collection and data handling - microbiological sensors applied in education and industry workshops- regulator aspects of introducing microbiological sensors It is the hope that the book will be widely used by water utility managers, technical staff working with drinking water safety, educators in the field of water quality and regulators in this field worldwide. Furthermore, that it will help bridge the gaps between these diverse and otherwise differently oriented water professionals.
RCBC Library is part of the Burlington County Library System (BCLS)!
Your RCBC Library barcode allows you to check out physical material at other BCLS branches. (A separate BCLS Library card is needed to access their online resources.)
If another branch has a book that you are looking for, either call them to place it on hold for you, or as a RCBC librarian to call for you.
Note: a book that shows up as being in another branch may be currently in use by another patron. Save yourself a trip and call to double check the book's availability!
Inter-library Loans
If a book that you want is not available in the RCBC Library or BCLS, we can attempt to order the book from an outside library to be delivered to the RCBC Library. Note: this method may take 2 weeks or longer for the book to arrive at RCBC.
To order a book via inter-library loan, please either fill out a blank form from JerseyCat or contact Debbie Kolodziej at dkolodzie@rcbc.edu.
Faculty Book Requests
