Interviews with Latin American Writers by
No other group of writers in the last twenty years has created so much interest throughout the world than have Latin American writers. Here in one volume are extensive interviews with fifteen of the most influential of them: novelists as well as poets, playwrights, and journalists. While each of the writers has specific concerns, the interviewer's careful use of recurring questions allows this collection to double as an invaluable forum on important themes: the presence of the occult in Latin American life and literature; the effect of censorship and exile on writing; the pressure exerted by North American politics and manners; the challenge of literary translation; the extent and nature of the so-called Boom in Latin American literature; and thoughts on the impending five hundredth anniversary of Columbus's discovery of the New World. With an introduction to the interviews by the editor, along with a ground-breaking work that will have an immediate appeal to anyone interested in this literature and will exercise a permanent influence on readers and critics for years to come. Marie-Lise Gazarian Gautier has a remarkable ability to bring out the best of these writers in an interview format, serving to introduce both the writer and the work.
A Hammock Beneath the Mangoes by
This collection of twenty-six stories is "a fine introduction to Latin American literature" (The Washington Post Book World). This splendid collection of stories by twenty-six Latin American authors features the new voices and celebrated masters of one of the world's foremost literatures. Explore the gothic sexual ambiguities of Carlos Fuentes' "The Doll Queen," the psychological compression of Clarice Lispector's "Love," or the baroque pyrotechnics of Machado de Assis and Adolfo Bioy Casares. Discover the parodically hard-boiled detective fiction of Ana Lydia Vega and some decidedly soft-boiled criminals in Rubem Fonesca's "Lonelyhearts." From erotic comedies by Isabel Allende and Jorge Amado to the playful labyrinths of Guillermo Cabrera Infante's London streets or Armonia Somers' roomful of clocks, A Hammock Beneath the Mangoes reveals the virtuosity of Latin American literature at its finest, and provides an illuminating journey into dreamlike and unexpected worlds.
Cool Salsa by
Growing up Latino in America means speaking two languages, living two lives, learning the rules of two cultures. Cool Salsa celebrates the tones, rhythms, sounds, and experiences of that double life. Here are poems about families and parties, insults and sad memories, hot dogs and mangos, the sweet syllables of Spanish and the snag-toothed traps of English. Here is the glory, and pain, of being Latino American.Latino Americans hail from Cuba and California, Mexico and Michigan, Nicaragua and New York, and editor Lori M. Carlson has made sure to capture all of those accents. With poets such as Sandra Cisneros, Martín Espada, Gary Soto, and Ed Vega, and a very personal introduction by Oscar Hijuelos, this collection encompasses the voices of Latino America. By selecting poems about the experiences of teenagers, Carlson has given a focus to that rich diversity; by presenting the poems both intheir original language and in translation, she has made them available to us all.As you move from memories of red wagons, to dreams of orange trees, to fights with street gangs, you feel Cool Salsa's musical and emotional cross rhythms. Here is a world of exciting poetry for you, y tú también.
The House on Mango Street by
In hardcover for the first time--on the tenth anniversary of its initial publication--the greatly admired and bestselling book about a young girl growing up in the Latino section of Chicago. Sometimes heartbreaking, sometimes deeply joyous, this novel depicts a new American landscape through its multiple characters.
Bridges, Borders, and Breaks by
This volume reassesses the field of Chicana/o literary studies in light of the rise of Latina/o studies, the recovery of a large body of early literature by Mexican Americans, and the "transnational turn" in American studies. The chapters reveal how "Chicano" defines a literary critical sensibility as well as a political one and show how this view can yield new insights about the status of Mexican Americans, the legacies of colonialism, and the ongoing prospects for social justice. Chicana/o literary representations emerge as significant examples of the local that interrogate globalization's attempts to erase difference. They also highlight how Chicana/o literary studies' interests in racial justice and the minority experience have produced important intersections with new disciplines while also retaining a distinctive character. The recalibration of Chicana/o literary studies in light of these shifts raises important methodological and disciplinary questions, which these chapters address as they introduce the new tools required for the study of Chicana/o literature at this critical juncture.
Latino/a Children's and Young Adult Writers on the Art of Storytelling by
Children's and young adult literature has become an essential medium for identity formation in contemporary Latino/a culture in the United States. This book is an original collection of more than thirty interviews led by Frederick Luis Aldama with Latino/a authors working in the genre. The conversations revolve around the conveyance of young Latino/a experience, and what that means for the authors as they overcome societal obstacles and aesthetic complexity. The authors also speak extensively about their experiences within the publishing industry and with their audiences. As such, Aldama's collection presents an open forum to contemporary Latino/a writers working in a vital literary category and sheds new light on the myriad formats, distinctive nature, and cultural impact it offers.
Latinx Literature Unbound by
Since the 1990s, there has been unparalleled growth in the literary output from an ever more diverse group of Latinx writers. Extant criticism, however, has yet to catch up with the diversity of writers we label Latinx and the range of themes about which they write. Little sustained scholarly attention has been paid, moreover, to the very category under which we group this literature. Latinx Literature Unbound, thus, begins with a fundamental question "What does it mean to label a work of literature or an entire corpus of literature Latinx?" From this question others emerge: What does Latinx allow or predispose us to see, and what does it preclude us from seeing? If the grouping--which brings together a heterogeneous collection of people under a seemingly homogeneous label--tells us something meaningful, is there a poetics we can develop that would facilitate our analysis of this literature? In answering these questions, Latinx Literature Unbound frees Latinx literature from taken-for-granted critical assumptions about identity and theme. It argues that there may be more salubrious taxonomies than Latinx for organizing and analyzing this literature. Privileging the act of reading as a temporal, meaning-making event, Ralph E. Rodriguez argues that genre may be a more durable category for analyzing this literature and suggests new ways we might proceed with future studies of the writing we have come to identify as Latinx.
Looking Out, Looking In by
The poems included in this comprehensive anthology run the gamut of styles and themes, but all are by Latinos writing from the mid- twentieth century to the present. Some deal with issues specific to the Hispanic experience, such as displacement, identity and language. Others ponder universal concerns, such as love, family and humanity. In "Letter to Arturo," Mexican-American poet Lucha Corpi pens a song of love to her son: "You've hardly left / and already I miss the light / caress of your hands / on my hair, / and your laughter and your tears, / and all your questions / about seas, / moons and deserts. / And all my poems / are tying themselves together / in my throat."More than 60 Latino poets are represented in this wide-ranging collection that focuses on poetry from the four largest groups in the United States: Mexican Americans, Cuban Americans, Puerto Ricans and Dominican Americans.Included are distinguished poets such as Julia Álvarez, Gloria Anzaldúa, Jimmy Santiago Baca, Martín Espada and Pedro Pietri, as well as less well-known writers who deserve more recognition. Whether writing about timeless issues or themes specific to their community, the poets in this volume craft a multilayered look at what it means to be Latino in the United States. Looking Out, Looking In is an indispensable and welcome addition to American and Latino literatures.