The RCBC Library has many course textbooks on reserve. These books can be reserved for two hours at a time.
You can view which textbooks are available by subject on this guide:
This book is a first of its kind critical inter-disciplinary introduction to the economic, political, cultural, and technological dimensions of work in the rapidly growing digital media and entertainment industries (DMEI). Tanner Mirrlees presents a comprehensive guide to understanding the key contexts, theories, methods, debates and struggles surrounding work in the DMEI. Packed with current examples and accessible research findings, the book highlights the changing conditions and experiences of work in the DMEI. It surveys the DMEI's key sectors and occupations, and considers the complex intersections between labour and social power relations of class, gender, and race, as well as tensions between creativity and commerce, freedom and control, meritocracy and hierarchy, and precarity and equity, diversity, and inclusivity. Chapters also explore how work in the DMEI is being reshaped by capitalism and corporations, government and policies, management, globalization, platforms, A.I., and worker collectives such as unions and cooperatives. This book is a critical introduction to this growing area of research, teaching, learning, life, labour, and organizing, with an eye to understanding work in the DMEI and changing it, for the better. Offering a broad overview of the field, this textbook is an indispensable resource for instructors, undergraduates, postgraduates, and scholars.
This book provides guidance on how to build an independent, financially sustainable filmmaking career through channels such as crowdsourcing, crowdfunding, and community filmmaking concepts.
Print books are arranged on the shelf in Library of Congress Call Number order. Each call number begins with an alphanumeric base (e.g., "BF109.J8") that is followed by a cutter and a date of publication (e.g., "A25 1993"). See a librarian if you need assistance.
Call Number Range (where to look on the bookshelves)
Placing Shadows by
A mix of theory and practical applications, Placing Shadows: Lighting Techniques for Video Production 2E covers the physical properties of light and the selection of proper instruments and their placement for the best possible effect. For the advanced amateur and those pros looking to enhance the look of their productions, this book covers the fundamentals, as well as providing a solid reference for tips on better performance and how prepare for and avoid costly and time-consuming problems. The new edition includes an expanded section on location lighting, including the latest equipment and techniques to make location work easier, less expensive and using considerably less power. A section on studio lighting completes the work, including Hollywood-style lighting fixtures and techniques that will give interior work a balanced, professional appearance. The book includes all the latest lighting units available today.
Principles of Digital Audio by
Gain a thorough understanding of digital audio tools, techniques, and practices from this completely revised and expanded resource. Written by industry pioneer and Audio Engineering Society Fellow Ken C. Pohlmann, Principles of Digital Audio, Sixth Edition, describes the technologies behind today's audio equipment in a clear, practical style. Covering basic theory to the latest technological advancements, the book explains how to apply digital conversion, processing, compression, storage, streaming, and transmission concepts. New chapters on Blu-ray, speech coding, and low bit-rate coding are also included in this bestselling guide.
Sound Person's Guide to Video by
An essential guide to all aspects of video technology for sound technicians wishing to broaden their knowledge. It explains in a highly readable and engaging way, the key technologies and issues, as well as the terms, acronyms and definitions. Although intended for the sound professional, this book will also appeal to anyone involved in working with video. Everything is covered: from how television and video cameras work to digital video recording, electronic news gathering, nonlinear editing, video effects as well as telecine, widescreen technology and the home cinema. The book also takes a look at the impact of digital technology on production methods and examines the technology and rationale behind digital television, High Definition Television, and DVD. It concludes with the use of video in multimedia and the internet. Based on a series of popular articles in Audio Media magazine, this a vital introductory work for students and professionals wishing to broaden their knowledge of video.
Ebooks are accessible directly from the Library catalog. If you're interested in finding ebooks only, head to eBook Collection. To log in, use the barcode located on the back of your student ID and your pin number. You have the option to download ebooks to a device, but we strongly recommend reading them online to take advantage of the full suite of available tools. Create a personal account using your Library barcode and PIN to manage and organize your ebook reading and research.
Please check the catalog or databases, or contact RCBC Library to see if book is currently available. Here are a few suggestions:
NPR's Podcast Start up Guide by
From NPR comes the definitive guide to podcasting-featuring step-by-step advice on how to find a unique topic, tell the best stories, and engage the most listeners, as well as the secrets that will take your pod to the next level. From NPR comes the definitive guide to podcasting-featuring step-by-step advice on how to find a unique topic, tell the best stories, and engage the most listeners, as well as the secrets that will take your pod to the next level. Whoever you are, whatever you love, there's a podcast audience waiting for you, and in today's booming audio storytelling landscape, it's never been easier to share your voice with the world. But while the barrier to entry for podcast production is relatively low (just the cost of a mic and a laptop), the learning curve is steep-and quality matters. That's where NPR comes in. InNPR's Podcast Start Up Guide,Glen Weldon draws on NPR's extensive educational materials and army of talent-from recognizable hosts, such as Guy Raz (How I Built This), Gene Demby (Code Switch), Linda Holmes (Pop Culture Happy Hour), and Yowei Shaw (Invisibilia), to indispensable behind-the-scenes players, such as producers, engineers, and editors-to guide aspiring podcasters through the conception, creation, and launch of a podcast. Part master class, part candid informational interview with the best in the business, this book is a must-read for anyone who wants to make their dream of starting a podcast a reality.
Profitable Podcasting by
The secret to making money in podcasting. The word is out: content marketing is king. But when nearly every business has a blog, it's tough to stand out. The real secret is that there's a much better tool for spreading influence and generating revenue-one with far less competition. Podcasting offers rich opportunities, especially if you get in early and do it right. Based on the author's experience building a $2 million venture from scratch, Profitable Podcasting lays out the precise formula for creating, launching, marketing and monetizing podcasts in any industry. Packed with priceless production help, software recommendations, web and social strategies, schedules, checklists, and examples, this indispensable guide explains exactly how to: Plan your podcast strategy * Choose the ideal format for your show * Be a great host * Get the best guests * Mastermind interview questions * Record and edit interviews like a pro * Navigate Libsyn, iTunes, Stitcher, and Sound Cloud with ease * Maximize buzz for the launch * Secure generous sponsorship * Achieve top rankings fast * Win fans * And more It's true podcasting may take more technical knowledge than other marketing and sales efforts, but lucrative rewards await once you conquer the learning curve. Profitable Podcasting gets you to the payoff quickly and painlessly.
An Introduction to the Entertainment Industry by
Entertainment is big business. Whether it's a favorite television show, an artist at the top of the music charts, a blockbuster film, or a hometown sports team, people love entertainment. In this introduction to the entertainment industry, Andi Stein and Beth Bingham Georges provide a glimpse inside the industry to show how each segment operates as well as the challenges and trends within the business. Each chapter addresses a different segment of the entertainment industry including: Film Television Radio Theatre Music Sports Theme Parks Shopping The book is designed as an introductory text for entertainment studies courses and as an overview of the industry for those looking to pursue careers in the field of entertainment.
Getting Great Sounds by
Getting Great Sounds: The Microphone Book imparts microphone tips and tricks of the pros to make them available to any sound engineer or home studio enthusiast. It explains aspects of all kinds of microphones, how they work, and how to use them in session recording. A well-known recording engineer with decades of industry experience, Tom Lubin presents technical information in a friendly, straightforward, and easy-to-grasp way, based on real-life experiences. This third edition includes a review of key practices at the end of chapters and a new section that provides an overview of microphone manufacturers you may not have heard of. There are now over one hundred and fifty companies making microphones for studio applications of one form or another, and most are small companies owned by people who are passionate about good sound. These companies feature high quality microphones, and many use classic designs with more affordable prices. How to choose and use microphones was once a skill passed down from senior sound engineers to their assistants as they would listen and learn by observation. Today, few large studios have assistant engineers, and an overwhelming number of studios are operated by their owners who are often self-taught and lack the benefit of the big-studio tutelage. This book is your guide to understanding the ins and outs of microphones and music studio production
Video Field Production and Editing by
In the eighth, revised edition of this book, Ronald J. Compesi offers a comprehensive and in-depth introduction to the aesthetics of small-scale, single-camera video production in field environments, from planning through postproduction, in a range of different programming formats. Written in an accessible, student-friendly style, this new edition has been significantly updated and revised throughout to reflect current technology and industry practices, including shooting with DSLR cameras, in HD and on smartphones, new methods and channels of distribution, and much more. Key features and updates to the eighth edition include: A focus on small-scale video production, involving a minimum amount of field equipment and a small crew, offering creative solutions for video producers with limited resources and personnel; Discussions of HD and 4K technology/acquisition, LED lighting, shooting with DSLR cameras and smartphones, new online distribution channels; Over 300 photos and line art, in full-color for the first time, illustrating production processes, technical issues and equipment, and illuminating key aesthetic elements; An eResource with downloadable production planning documents, links to further online resources, production project exercises, and sample test questions. With over 40 years of teaching and production experience, Ronald J. Compesi offers an up-to-date and essential introduction to the art of small-scale video production in field environments in the new edition of this groundbreaking text, in print since 1985. of HD and 4K technology/acquisition, LED lighting, shooting with DSLR cameras and smartphones, new online distribution channels; Over 300 photos and line art, in full-color for the first time, illustrating production processes, technical issues and equipment, and illuminating key aesthetic elements; An eResource with downloadable production planning documents, links to further online resources, production project exercises, and sample test questions. With over 40 years of teaching and production experience, Ronald J. Compesi offers an up-to-date and essential introduction to the art of small-scale video production in field environments in the new edition of this groundbreaking text, in print since 1985.
Master Handbook of Acoustics, Seventh Edition by
The classic guide to modern acoustics--fully updated for the latest advances Written by renowned experts in the field, this revised classic resource presents the fundamentals of acoustical properties as well as time-tested and cost-effective solutions to acoustical problems. New room designs added to this edition include a video teleconference room, and voice studio. The book also contains new design details on sound studio construction. Master Handbook of Acoustics, Seventh Edition, explains the art and science of room acoustics and architecture by combining theoretical instruction with matter-of-fact engineering advice. Readers will receive clear explanations of theory, and thorough descriptions of hands-on techniques. Numerous room designs, including floor plans and an analysis of their performance, can be built as presented, or adapted to meet particular needs. Presents a complete theoretical overview and practical examples for classroom or professional study Shows, with construction details, how to design and construct audiophile-quality sonic environments of all types Revised and updated from the classic text written by acoustics pioneer F. Alton Everest
Producing for TV and Emerging Media by
Gain a thorough understanding of the nuanced and multidimensional role producers play in television and emerging media today to harness the creative, technical, interpersonal, and financial skills essential for success in this vibrant and challenging field. Producing for TV and New Media, Fourth edition is your guide to avoiding the obstacles and pitfalls commonly encountered by new and aspiring producers. This fourth edition has been updated to include: "Focus on Emerging Media" sections that highlight emerging media, web video, mobile format media and streaming media Sample production forms and contracts Review questions accompanying each interview and chapter Interviews with industry professionals that offer practical insight into cutting-edge developments in television and emerging media production Fresh analysis of emerging media technologies and streaming media markets Written especially for new and aspiring producers with an insight that simply cannot be found in any other book, this new edition of a text used by professors and professionals alike is an indispensable resource for anyone looking to find success as a television or emerging media producer.
So You Want to Direct TV? by
Becoming a TV director is nothing like other professions. There is no road map. Traditionally, the only way to break in was through access to a powerful mentor to show you the way, but today creative people with a drive to direct are finding their own ways into the industry. In this book of interviews, working TV directors show you exactly how they did it. No two stories are exactly alike. These deeply personal interviews with a racially and culturally diverse range of eight women and eight men are candid and full of practical insights. For the first time in the 100-plus year history of the entertainment industry there are increasing opportunities to rise into the director's chair. This book reflects the hope and promise of a new era. Open the cover and discover the mentor you deserve.
Living the audio life : a guide to a career in live entertainment audio by
"Living the Audio Life details the aspects and procedures necessary for one to have a successful career in live entertainment sound. Encompassing a wide range of topics, the text clearly guides anyone interested in working and position within the live entertainment audio field. The guide is broken into clearly defined sections allowing the reader to easily navigate through various subjects including jobs, career, business, creativity, lifestyle, and travel. Real world examples and documentation from the author and key industry experts allow the reader to gain insight into essential practices helpful throughout a career. Additional in-depth interviews provide details of careers from industry veterans. Whether considering a career in live entertainment audio or just starting out, readers will find the resources within key to success in audio. Students, those new to sound, and workers already within their career can refer to the text as a guide throughout their journey. With benefits to anyone interested in the audio field, Living the Audio Life is a key navigational resource for success"-- Provided by publisher.
Broadcast news in the digital age : a guide to reporting, producing and anchoring online and on TV by
Written by two award-winning broadcast journalists, this book offers a practical, hands-on guide to the modern digital TV newsroom. Pulling from extensive industry experience, the authors provide a comprehensive look at the key journalistic skills needed to excel in broadcast news today, including storytelling, writing, story pitching, video production, interviewing, and managing social media. The textbook is organized into five sections: building a foundation, storytelling and writing, producing, live performance, and ethics and career progression. The authors also provide step-by-step instructions on how to efficiently multitask while staying true to journalist ethics. Each chapter includes clear learning objectives, review questions, and practical assignments, making it ideal for classroom use. QR codes integrated in the text allow students to easily see and hear examples of the stories they are learning to write. Broadcast News in the Digital Age is an engaging, student-friendly guide for those seeking to become successful writers, producers, anchors, and journalists in today's newsrooms, both on-air and online.
The MIDI Manual 4e by
The MIDI Manual: A Practical Guide to MIDI within Modern Music Production, Fourth Edition, is a complete reference on MIDI. Written by David Miles Huber (a 4x Grammy-nominated musician, producer and author), this best-selling guide provides clear explanations of what MIDI 1.0 and 2.0 are, acting as a guide for electronic instruments, the DAW, MIDI sequencing and how to make best use of them. You will learn how to set up an efficient MIDI system and how to get the most out of your production room and ultimately ... your music. Packed full of useful tips and practical examples on sequencing and mixing techniques, The MIDI Manual also covers in-depth information on system interconnections, controllers, groove tools, the DAW, synchronization and more. For the first time, the MIDI 2.0 spec is explained in light of the latest developments and is accompanied with helpful guidelines for the long-established MIDI 1.0 spec and its implementation chart. Illustrated throughout with helpful photos and screenshots, this is the most readable and clearly explained book on MIDI available.
RCBC Library is part of the Burlington County Library Sysytem (BCLS)!
Your RCBC Library barcode allows you to check out physical material at other BCLS branches! (separate BCLS Library card needed to be able to access their online resources)
If another branch has a book that you are looking for, either call them to have it placed on hold for you, or we will be happy to call them to have them place a book on hold for you. Note: a book that shows up as being in another branch may be currently in use by another patron or otherwise not on the shelf, so save yourself a trip and call to double check the book's availability.
If another branch has a book that you want and you are not able to visit that branch, we can order it to be delivered to the RCBC Library for you! Note: this method may take 2 weeks or longer for the book to arrive at RCBC.
Inter-library Loans
If a book that you want is not available in the RCBC Library or BCLS, we can attempt to order the book from an outside library to be delivered to the RCBC Library. Note: this method may take 2 weeks or longer for the book to arrive at RCBC.
To order a book via inter-library loan, please either fill out a blank form from JerseyCat or contact Debbie Kolodziej at dkolodzie@rcbc.edu.
Faculty Book Requests
Please fill out this form. For more information, please contact Lanzhen Tian at ltian@rcbc.edu or ext. 1104.