LibGuides: Accounting: Find Articles

Database Search Tips

Search operators can be used within the Basic Search:

AND = Allows you to narrow you search
- Business AND Accounting
Or = Used to connect two or more similar concepts
- America OR USA
"Subject" = Quotes allow you to search for exact phrases.
- "Debt Refinancing"

Accounting Keywords

Here are some examples of keywords for accounting:

Accountant	CPA, Certified Public Accountant
Accounting	Credit
Accounting Cycle	Debit
Accounts Payable	Debt Refinancing
Accounts Receivable	Diversification
Asset Class	Expenses (fixed, variable, accrued, operation)
Assets (fixed and current)	Equity
Audit, Auditor, Auditing	Financial Statements
Balance Sheet	Income
Billing	Liabilities
Bookkeeping	Loss
Budget, Budgeting	Payroll
Capital	Present Value
Cash Flow	Profit
Corporation Tax	Return On Investment
Cost Accounting	Taxation

Subject Specific Databases

Check out these subject specific databases for your research.

Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Business periodicals and magazines • Trade publications and top management journals
Small Business Reference Center This link opens in a new window
State-specific resources including start-up kits and business plans • Full-text of periodicals and books
Regional Business News This link opens in a new window
News coverage composed of metropolitan and rural area news outlets • Includes transcripts, trade publications and news wires

General Databases

These general databases may also help you find relevant articles.

Academic Search Premier (EbscoHost)
All subject areas and disciplines
ProQuest Central
Full-text journal articles • Extensive coverage across all subject areas and disciplines

Online Publications

Check out these online publications for more articles.

CPA Technology Blog Accounting Tech News and Commentary for Trusted Advisors
Don't Mess With Taxes Translating taxes into money-saving English
The Economist The Economist has been published since September 1843 to take part “in a severe contest between intelligence, which presses forward, and an unworthy, timid ignorance obstructing our progress”. This mission continues to guide our coverage: we publish it every week in the newspaper.
Fortune Fortune is a global media organization dedicated to helping its readers, viewers, and attendees succeed big in business through unrivaled access and best-in-class storytelling.
Nicholas J. Pennewell, CPA-Where Every Penny Matters Maintained by a certified public accountant, this blog is a regularly updated resource for tax regulations, something that students in the field may greatly appreciate.
The International Journal of Accounting 1996 - 2018 This site contains articles published until 2018. The International Journal of Accounting (TIJA) aims at publishing high-quality research in accounting that has some international dimensions. The primary criteria for manuscript evaluation are the incremental contribution to accounting literature and the attention to the impact of the unique institutional arrangements in a country or region.
International Journal of Accounting 2019 - present This site contains articles published from 2019 onwards. The International Journal of Accounting (TIJA) aims at publishing high-quality research in accounting that has some international dimensions. The primary criteria for manuscript evaluation are the incremental contribution to accounting literature and the attention to the impact of the unique institutional arrangements in a country or region.