It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Theatre: Find Books
Students who earn degrees in Theatre often find careers in sales, marekting, broadcasting, public relations, and law or pursue higher degrees in communications. Students learn effective oral and written communication skills, while developing critical pers
Some physical textbooks are available on reserve. Check your syllabus for the textbook and the edition. The library may have an older edition than what is required for your class. A RCBC student ID with a current semester sticker and an account balance under $10 of fines is required to check out a reserve textbook. Reserve textbooks can be borrowed for up to 2 hours (exactly). Reserve textbooks returned late (even by 1 minute) will result in fines. Reserve textbooks are not allowed to leave campus.
NOTE: the library currently does not have any access to online textbooks
Theatre Brief by Robert Cohen; Donovan Sherman"You Be the Star in the Classroom Cohen and Sherman's Theatre Brief allows you to be the star in the classroom and puts students in the front row through an experiential approach. When students successfully master concepts with McGraw-Hill Education's LearnSmart and SmartBook, you spend more class time focusing on theatre as a performing art, fostering a greater appreciation for the course, and inspiring students to become life-long audience members. Mastering Concepts Cohen and Sherman's Theatre Brief offers an insider's guide to the world of theatre. Through the coverage of design, acting, and directing, students are given a behind-the-scenes look at professional theatre artists performing their craft. And, with LearnSmart/SmartBook, students are better able to understand and retain these important concepts"--
Call Number: Reserves
Publication Date: 2018-12-01
Waiting for Godot by Samuel BeckettA seminal work of twentieth-century drama, Waiting for Godot was Samuel Beckett's first professionally produced play. It opened in Paris in 1953 at the tiny Left Bank Theatre de Babylone, and has since become a cornerstone of twentieth-century theater. The story line revolves around two seemingly homeless men waiting for someone--or something--named Godot. Vladimir and Estragon wait near a tree on a barren stretch of road, inhabiting a drama spun from their own consciousness. The result is a comical wordplay of poetry, dreamscapes, and nonsense, which has been interpreted as a somber summation of mankind's inexhaustible search for meaning. Beckett's language pioneered an expressionistic minimalism that captured the existentialism of post-World War II Europe. His play remains one of the most magical and beautiful allegories of our time.
Call Number: Reserves
Publication Date: 1994-01-18
Hedda Gabler by Henrik Ibsen; Michael Meyer (Translator)Hedda is an intelligent and ambitious woman, trapped in the stifling environment of a bourgeois 19th-century marriage. When writer Eilert Loevborg, an old flame returns to Hedda's life with a masterpiece that might threaten her husband's career, Hedda decides to take drastic and fatal action. Universally condemned in 1890 when it was written, Hedda Gabler has since become one of Ibsen's most frequently performed plays. Its title role is elusive and complex: Hedda is an intelligent and ambitious woman, who has no means of finding personal fulfilment in the stifling world of late nineteenth-century bourgeois society. Too frightened of scandal to become involved with a brilliant, wayward writer, she opts for a conventional but loveless marriage in the hope of finding surrogate satisfaction through her husband's career. Blending comedy and tragedy disconcertingly together, Ibsen probes the thwarted aspirations and hidden anxieties of his characters against a background of contemporary social conditions and attitudes.
Ebooks are accessible directly from the Library catalog. If you're interested in finding ebooks only, head toeBook Collection. To log in, use the barcode located on the back of your student ID and your pin number. You have the option to download ebooks to a device, but we strongly recommend reading them online to take advantage of the full suite of available tools. Create a personal account using your Library barcode and PIN to manage and organize your ebook reading and research.
Please check the catalog or databases, or contact RCBC Library to see if book is currently available. Here are a few suggestions:
"[Our Town] leaves us with a sense of blessing, and the unspoken but palpable command to achieve gratitude in what remains of our days on earth." -- The New Yorker Thornton Wilder's Pulitzer Prize-winning drama of life in the mythical village of Grover's Corners, New Hampshire--an allegorical representation of all life--is an American classic. It is the simple story of a love affair that asks timeless questions about the meaning of love, life, and death. Our Town explores the relationship between two young neighbors, George Gibbs and Emily Webb, whose childhood friendship blossoms into romance, and then culminates in marriage. When Emily loses her life during childbirth, the circle of life portrayed in each of the three acts--childhood, adulthood, and death--is fully realized. Widely considered one of the greatest American plays of all time, Our Town debuted on Broadway in 1938 and continues to be performed daily on stages around the world. This special edition includes an afterword by Wilder's nephew, Tappan Wilder, with illuminating documentary material about the playwright and his most famous drama.
This text is a welcome and helpful resource whether you are a major looking forward to a career in the theatre, or a nonmajor interested in an overview to help you better appreciate theatre as an audience member. Written by highly respected theatre historians, THE ESSENTIAL THEATRE has established a reputation as one of the most comprehensive, authoritative surveys of the theatre in colleges nationwide. Its vibrant treatment of theatre practice-past and present-range from the origins of theatre to postmodernism and performance art. Chapter after chapter, this book will encourage you and get you excited about becoming an active theatergoer, while providing the insight and understanding that will enrich your theatre experience throughout your life.
Alexander Dumas * Christopher Durang * Beth Henley * Kenneth Lonergan * Donald Margulies * Steve Martin * Nicky Silver * Bernard Shaw * Alfred Uhry * Paula Vogel A collection of the greatest scenes and monologues ever written-ranging from Elizabethan to Tony Award-winning plays-this comprehensive anthology spans over five hundred years of theatre.Play the Scene: The Ultimate Collection of Contemporary and Classic Scenes and Monologues by coauthors Michael Schulman and Eva Mekler includes scenes and monologues from classic plays by such notable authors as Edith Wharton as well as the best in contemporary theatre, such as Margaret Edson's Wit. * Blight Spirit * Camille * The Chosen * The Graduate * How I Learned to Drive * The Last Night of Ballyhoo * The Lisbon Traviata * This Is Our Youth * Vincent in Brixton * And many more!
Print books are arranged on the shelf in Library of Congress Call Number order. Each call number begins with an alphanumeric base (e.g., "BF109.J8") that is followed by a cutter and a date of publication (e.g., "A25 1993"). See a librarian if you need assistance.
Call Number Range (where to look on the bookshelves)
No exit, and three other plays. by Jean Paul SatreNo exit (Huit clos) & The flies (Les mouches) translated from the French by S. Gilbert.--Dirty hands (Les mains sales) & The respectful prostitute (La putain respectueuse) translated from the French by L. Abel.
Call Number: PQ2637.A82 H82 1949
Publication Date: 1949
The Oedipus Plays of Sophocles by Paul Roche (Translator); SophoclesA collection that includes the complete texts of Sophocles' Oedipus the King, Oedipus at Colonus, and Antigone--translated by Paul Roche. Revising and updating his classic 1958 translation, Paul Roche captures the dramatic power and intensity, the subtleties of meaning, and the explosive emotions of Sophocles' great Theban trilogy. In vivid, poetic language, he presents the timeless story of a noble family moving toward catastrophe, dragged down from wealth and power by pride, cursed with incest, suicide, and murder. William Carlos Williams called the Roche translation of Antigone "brilliantly successful...as spirited and powerful as the original must have been." Roche's versions of the Oedipus plays are both stunning and sympathetic, awe-inspiring and intimate, and bring the elemental myths of ancient Greece to life for modern readers. Included in this edition are a glossary of classical names, notes on pronunciation and meter, suggestions for production and acting, and historical material, which offer the reader a greater appreciation of Sophocles' dramatic genius.
Call Number: PA4414.A2 R6 1991
Publication Date: 1996-05-01
Othello by William Shakespeare; Edward Pechter (Editor)"Sources and Contexts" reprints the sixteenth-century story by Giraldi Cinthio that Shakespeare used for the plot of Othello and for many of its details. Edward Pechter's essay provides context for readers through its discussion of the play's central topics--Moors, Turks, Venetians, marriage and domesticity, fathers and daughters, and female sexuality.Seventeen wide-ranging interpretive essays are reprinted. Contributors include Samuel Johnson, William Hazlitt, T. S. Eliot, Kenneth Burke, Lynda E. Boose, Mark Rose, and Patricia Parker.An annotated Selected Bibliography is also included.
Call Number: PR 2829 A2 P43 2004
Publication Date: 2003-12-05
Samuel Beckett's Waiting for Godot by Harold Bloom (Introduction by)-- Presents the most important 20th-century criticism on major works from The Odyssey through modern literature -- The critical essays reflect a variety of schools of criticism -- Contains critical biographies, notes on the contributing critics, a chronology of the author's life, and an index
Call Number: PQ 2603 E378 E677 1987
Publication Date: 1988-01-01
Shakespeare, Feminism and Gender by Kate ChedgzoyOver the last quarter-century, feminist criticism of Shakespeare has greatly expanded and enriched the range of interpretations of the Shakespearean texts, their original historical location, and subsequent reinterpretation. Characteristically it weaves between past and present, driven by a commitment both to intervene in contemporary cultural politics and to recover a fuller sense of the sexual politics of the literary heritage. Collecting together essays which offer detailed accounts of particular plays with others that take a broader overview of the field, this Casebook showcases the range of critical strategies used by feminist criticism, and illustrates how vital attention to the politics of gender and sexuality is to a full understanding and appreciation of Shakespearean drama.
Call Number: PR 2991 S54 2001
Publication Date: 2000-12-06
Research assistance- help finding sources, evaluating sources
Online workshops for citing and plagiarism are held throughout the semester. To request a citing workshop, please email firstname.lastname@example.org
Your RCBC Library barcode allows you to check out physical material at other BCLS branches! (separate BCLS Library card needed to be able to access their online resources)
If another branch has a book that you are looking for, either call them to have it placed on hold for you, or we will be happy to call them to have them place a book on hold for you. Note: a book that shows up as being in another branch may be currently in use by another patron or otherwise not on the shelf, so save yourself a trip and call to double check the book's availability.
If another branch has a book that you want and you are not able to visit that branch, we can order it to be delivered to the RCBC Library for you! Note: this method may take 2 weeks or longer for the book to arrive at RCBC.
If a book that you want is not available in the RCBC Library or BCLS, we can attempt to order the book from an outside library to be delivered to the RCBC Library. Note: this method may take 2 weeks or longer for the book to arrive at RCBC.
To order a book via inter-library loan, please either fill out a blank form from JerseyCat or contact Debbie Kolodziej at email@example.com.
Faculty Book Requests
Please fill out this form. For more information, please contact Rachel Pieters at firstname.lastname@example.org or ext. 1269.