LibGuides: Open Educational Resources, Open Access, & Public Domain: OA Links

Open Access

"Open Access is the free, immediate, online availability of research articles coupled with the rights to use these articles fully in the digital environment. Open Access ensures that anyone can access and use these results—to turn ideas into industries and breakthroughs into better lives." -SPARC*

Differentiating Between Open Access and Open Educational Resources

Differentiating Between Open Access and Open Educational Resources
Differentiating Between Open Access and Open Educational Resources is
(c) Anita Walz. Licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 license
https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/4.0 arwalz@vt.edu
Online at: http://hdl.handle.net/10919/94422

Open Access and Free Access Links

DOAJ - Directory of Open Access Journals
"DOAJ is a community-curated online directory that indexes and provides access to high quality, open access, peer-reviewed journals."
Google Books
You can find books that are out of copyright and in the public domain here. *Reminder: not all books are available in full text and are public domain
Internet Archive
"a non-profit library of millions of free books, movies, software, music, websites, and more"
Librivox
"LibriVox volunteers record chapters of books in the public domain, and then (they) release the audio files back onto the net for free."
OAPEN
European; "OAPEN works with publishers to build a quality controlled collection of open access books, and provides services for publishers, libraries and research funders in the areas of deposit, quality assurance, dissemination, and digital preservation." -OAPEN website
OMICS International
"Publishes 700+ Open Access Journals which contains over 50000 eminent personalities, reputed scientists as editorial board members."
OpenDOAR
"OpenDOAR is the quality-assured global directory of academic open access repositories"
PLoS- Public Library of Science
"PLOS was founded as a nonprofit Open Access publisher, innovator and advocacy organization with a mission to advance progress in science and medicine by leading a transformation in research communication. "
Project Gutenberg
"You will find the world's great literature here, with focus on older works for which U.S. copyright has expired."
Public Domain Review
"an online journal and not-for-profit project dedicated to the exploration of curious and compelling works from the history of art, literature, and ideas."
PubMed Central
"PubMed Central® (PMC) is a free full-text archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine (NIH/NLM)."
Unpaywall
"An open database of...free scholarly articles."

Library Services

Research assistance - help finding sources, evaluating sources
Online workshops for citing and plagiarism are held throughout the semester. To request a citing workshop, please email library@rcbc.edu