LibGuides: Sociology: Find Articles

ProQuest Central

ProQuest Central, like Ebscohost, has a number of different databases. ProQuest has a database specifically dedicated to sociology. If you want items for sociology only, go to ProQuest Central. In the upper, gray, toolbar click on Change Databases.

Uncheck the box next to Select All. Scroll down and check the box next to Sociology Database.

Scroll down and click on Use selected databases button.

Subject Specific Databases

CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
In-depth reports on hot topics • Topic overviews, background, pro/con, and research on issues
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
General and subject-specific reference materials • Browse with Mind Map, and direct link to other RCBC digital resources
Issues & Controversies This link opens in a new window
Summary of major issues in the news • Includes argument comparisons and historical overview
Opposing Viewpoints In Context This link opens in a new window
Research on social issues • News and academic journal articles, statistics, multiple viewpoints on topics
Points of View Reference Center This link opens in a new window
Information on current issues • Includes overview, arguments and guides for critical analysis

General Databases to Find Scholarly Articles (for RCBC Students)

These databases are great for finding advanced information, research, and data from scholarly, peer-reviewed articles:

Academic Search Premier (EbscoHost) This link opens in a new window
All subject areas and disciplines
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
Full-text journal articles • Extensive coverage across all subject areas and disciplines

Online Journals

Library Services

Research assistance - help finding sources, evaluating sources
Online workshops for citing and plagiarism are held throughout the semester. To request a citing workshop, please email library@rcbc.edu