LibGuides: Psychology: Find Articles

Tip

For a good in-depth look at how to use PsycArticles via ProQuest, check out this libguide by ProQuest

Subject Specific Databases

RCBC Psychology Databases

PsycARTICLES
Full-text, peer-reviewed articles from the American Psychological Association (APA) and allied organizations • Use advanced search to limit for gender, age and more

RCBC Health Science Databases

These databases are not primarily psychology, but psychological articles can still be found in these databases in relation to Health Sciences

CINAHL Complete
Collection of nursing and allied health journals • Full-text and peer-reviewed
Ovid
Nursing journals • Current subscriptions to AJN, MCN, Nursing and Nursing Made Incredibly Easy

Databases outside of RCBC

These databases may contain some open access or freely available articles

PubMed- US National Library of Medicine National Institutes of Health
Government resource, freely available, peer-reviewed articles

General Databases to Find Scholarly Articles- RCBC Students

These databases are great for finding advanced information, research, and data from scholarly, peer-reviewed articles.

Academic Search Premier (EbscoHost) All subject areas and disciplines
ProQuest Central Full-text journal articles • Extensive coverage across all subject areas and disciplines
Credo Reference General and subject-specific reference materials • Browse with Mind Map, and direct link to other RCBC digital resources

Online Journals

Addictive Behaviors Reports (Open Access) "Addictive Behaviors Reports is a companion title to Addictive Behaviors. This open access, peer-reviewed journal is online only and offers an interdisciplinary forum for the publication of research in addictive behaviors. The journal accepts submissions that are scientifically sound on all forms of addictive behavior (alcohol, drugs, gambling, Internet, nicotine and technology) with a primary focus on behavioral and psychosocial research. The emphasis of the journal is primarily empirical. That is, sound experimental design combined with valid, reliable assessment and evaluation procedures are a requisite for acceptance. We are particularly interested in 'non-traditional', innovative and empirically oriented research such as negative/null data papers, replication studies, case reports on novel treatments, and cross-cultural research. Studies that might encourage new lines of inquiry as well as scholarly commentaries on topical issues, systematic reviews, and mini reviews are also very much encouraged. We also welcome multimedia submissions that incorporate video or audio components to better display methodology or findings."- website
Behavioral (Open Access) "Behavioral Sciences (ISSN 2076-328X; CODEN: BSECCV) is an international peer-reviewed open access journal of psychology, neuroscience, cognitive science, behavioral biology and behavioral genetics published monthly online by MDPI." -website
BMC Psychology (Open Access) "BMC Psychology is an open access, peer-reviewed journal that considers manuscripts on all aspects of psychology, human behavior and the mind, including developmental, clinical, cognitive, experimental, health and social psychology, as well as personality and individual differences. The journal welcomes quantitative and qualitative research methods, including animal studies." -website
Child Development Research (Open Access) Journal Discontinued; Articles from 2011-2019 are still available
Cogent Psychology (Open Access) "Cogent Psychology is a pioneering and dynamic, Open Access journal for the psychology community, publishing original research, reviews and replications that span the full spectrum of psychological inquiry. Led by Professor Daryl O’Connor, across each of the dedicated sections, the journal’s editorial team aim to promote exciting, innovative and robust psychological science, and to work with authors to publish their research to the broadest possible audience."- website
Community Psychology in Global Perspective (Open Access) "Community Psychology in Global Perspective is a peer-reviewed journal devoted to research, theory and intervention, and review articles exploring human interactions in community settings across the globe. Its special focus is on making explicit the ways in which culture acts as a framework organizing and guiding our experiences, utilizing ecological perspectives to enhance our understanding and promotion of individual and community well-being, and advancing work aimed at the creation of positive social change and social justice." -website
Current Issues in Personality Psychology (Open Access) "Current Issues in Personality Psychology (CIPP) publishes high quality original articles and reviews of recognized scientists that deal with personality theories and research from the perspective of social science, law and medicine. CIPP promotes the study and application of personality psychology to various domains of individual and social functioning." -website
Depression Research and Treatment (Open Access) "Depression Research and Treatment publishes original research articles, review articles, and clinical studies related to all aspects of depression" -website
Europe's Journal of Psychology (Open Access) "Quarterly electronic publication of scientific psychology featuring original studies, research, critical contributions, interviews and book reviews written by and intended for psychologists worldwide." -website
Evolutionary Psychology (Open Access) "Evolutionary Psychology publishes original, empirical research addressing human psychology guided by an evolutionary perspective. The journal aspires to attract as readers faculty, students, and researchers from across the social, behavioral, and life sciences who have an interest in applying evolutionary perspectives to psychology and behavior." -website
Frontiers in Psychology (Open Access) "Frontiers in Psychology is the largest journal in its field, publishing rigorously peer-reviewed research across the psychological sciences, from clinical research to cognitive science, from perception to consciousness, from imaging studies to human factors, and from animal cognition to social psychology. " -website
Health Psychology Open (Open Access) "Health Psychology Open is a peer-reviewed, open access journal providing rapid publication. Health Psychology is dedicated to publishing cutting-edge research from around the world" -website
Health Psychology Report (Open Access) "Health Psychology Report (HPR) publishes high quality original articles and reviews of recognized scientists that deal with theories and research from the perspective of social and medicine medical science. HPR promotes the study and application of psychological approaches to health and illness. HPR opens the possibilities for young, capable scientists. The journal would like to give them a chance to have a publication following matter-of-fact, professional review by outstanding, famous scientists. Thanks to that they will have an opportunity to present their study results and/or receive useful advice about the mistakes they have made so far." -website
IAFOR Journal of Psychology & the Behavioral Sciences (Open Access) "The IAFOR Journal of Psychology & the Behavioral Sciences is an internationally reviewed and editorially independent interdisciplinary journal associated with IAFOR’s international conferences on psychology and the behavioral sciences. " -website
International Journal of Child Development and Mental Health (Open Access) "The main aim of the journal is to encourage scholars, health providers, and child development and Mental health specialists to publish scholarly articles that include original and review articles, case studies, case reports, miscellany and systemic reviews related to child development and mental health. The Journal is published twice a year in January - June, and July - December by Rajanagarindra Institute of Child Development, Department of Mental Health, Ministry of Public Health, Thailand. This journal is the peer-reviewed journal." -website
Journal of European Psychology Students (Open Access) "The Journal of European Psychology Students (JEPS) is an open-access, double-blind, peer-reviewed journal for psychology students worldwide. JEPS is run by highly motivated European psychology students and has been publishing since 2009. By ensuring that authors are always provided with extensive feedback, JEPS gives psychology students the chance to gain experience in publishing and to improve their scientific skills. Furthermore, JEPS provides students with the opportunity to share their research and to take a first step toward a scientific career." -website
Journal of Organizational Behavior (Some Open Access) "The Journal of Organizational Behavior aims to publish empirical reports and theoretical reviews of research in the field of organizational behavior, wherever in the world that work is conducted. The journal will focus on research and theory in all topics associated with organizational behavior within and across individual, group and organizational levels of analysis" -website
Journal of Social and Political Psychology (Open Access) "The Journal of Social and Political Psychology (JSPP) is a peer-reviewed open-access journal (without author fees). It publishes articles at the intersection of social and political psychology from different epistemological, methodological, theoretical, and cultural perspectives and from different regions across the globe that substantially advance the understanding of social problems, their reduction, and the promotion of social justice." -website
Judgment and Decision Making (Open Access) "The study of judgment and decision making (JDM) concerns normative, descriptive and prescriptive analysis of human judgments and decisions. These topics may be studied from theoretical or applied perspectives, with the use of experiments, surveys, analysis of existing data, and other necessary approaches. Contributions to the journal will fall within these bounds and reflect issues central to JDM, including, but not limited to those in this list. The field of JDM is inter-disciplinary, so the journal covers relevant content from several fields, including cognitive psychology, experimental economics, and experimental philosophy. We expect contributions to be accessible to readers in at least these fields." -website
Psychological Research on Urban Society (Open Access) "Psychological Research on Urban Society (PRoUSt) welcomes excellent empirical and theoretical contributions to applied research related to the psychology of urban issues. Reviews are also welcome, as are replications of previous research. Articles deal with all fields on urban society, such as urban mental health and well-being, educational and child development in urban society, intergroup relation, acculturation, and identity formation in urban contexts, urban social issues (e.g., poverty, traffic, crime and violence), urban culture, and urban issues on employment and organizational behavior. As these topics are closely related to issues in other disciplines, this journal is open to contributions of an interdisciplinary nature." -website
Psychology and its Contexts (Open Access) "Peer-reviewed journal for theoretical and practical issues of the psychology in modern life" -website
Psychology Research and Behavior Management (Open Access) "Psychology Research and Behavior Management is an international, peer-reviewed, open access journal with a focus on the science of psychology and its application in behavior management and learning." -website
Scandinavian Journal of Child and Adolescent Psychiatry and Psychology (Open Access) "an international scientific journal of research and practice covering a broad scope of high value articles in the field of child and adolescent psychiatry and psychology. The journal publishes quantitative and qualitative research on: diagnosis, assessment, psychotherapeutic and psychopharmacological treatments, behavior, cognition, epidemiology, development, training, cross cultural issues, neuroscience and genetic aspects related to mental disorders in children, adolescents and families. The journal also welcomes interdisciplinary and transdisciplinary submission if relevant for childhood psychopathology. The journal’s readership covers all disciplines relevant to the field, and thus publishes concise and well written papers only, avoiding jargon and technicism. The Journal publishes short and full length original papers, systematic and narrative reviews, case studies, letters, theoretical articles including perspectives and debate, and book reviews." -website
Tutorials in Quantitative Methods for Psychology (Open Access) "The mission of the journal is to help both novice and expert researchers acquire methods related to the implementation of experimental paradigms, the description and analysis of data, and the development of quantitative models." -website
Voices: A World Forum for Music Therapy (Open Access) "Voices is an Open Access peer reviewed journal that invites interdisciplinary dialogue and discussion about music, health, and social change. The journal nurtures a critical edge that refines the focus on inclusiveness, socio-cultural awareness, and social justice. " -website

Online Publications (non-scholarly)

The Inquisitive Mind online magazine and blog
New York Times Online (get a free, one-year pass. Avaialable to all RCBC students, faculty, and staff) Online newspaper
PsyBlog blog
Psychology Today online magazine

Physical Periodicals

(located near the computer stations)

Psychology Today (non-peer-reviewed)
Journal of Psychosocial Nursing (peer-reviewed)

Library Services

Research assistance - help finding sources, evaluating sources
Online workshops for citing and plagiarism are held throughout the semester. To request a citing workshop, please email library@rcbc.edu