Tracing uranium's past--and how it intersects with our understanding of other radioactive elements--Chain Reactions aims to enlighten readers and refresh our attitudes about the atomic world. Chain Reactions looks at the fascinating, often-forgotten stories that can be found throughout the history of uranium. From glassworks to penny stocks; from medicines to atomic weapons; from something to be feared to a powerful source of energy, this global history explores the scientific narrative of this unique element, but also shines a light on its cultural and social impact. By understanding our nuclear past, we can move beyond the ideological opposition to technologies and encourage a more nuanced dialogue about whether it is feasible--and desirable--to have a genuinely nuclear-powered future.
Need quick review and practice to help you excel in Chemistry? Barron's Chemistry Practice Plus features more than 400 online practice questions and a concise review guide that covers the basics of Chemistry. Inside you'll find: Concise review on the basics of Chemistry--an excellent resource for students who want a quick review of the most important topics Access to 400+ online questions arranged by topic for customized practice Online practice includes answer explanations with expert advice for all questions plus scoring to track your progress This essential guide is the perfect practice supplement for students and teachers!
The 105th Edition of the CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics has significant improved coverage that bring important data to serve researchers in academia, industry, and government laboratories in chemistry, physics, and other scientific disciplines. The updated contents include: New data sets in x-ray related analytical chemistry First-ever critical compilations of transition point data for metal (carbide)-carbon and metal oxyanions transitions Updated datasets for eight properties of water, heavy water, and steam Important environmental chemistry data Highlights of the 105th Edition of the CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics include: 369 different topics are included, with 771 distinct data tables and figures 8 new topics added in this 105th Edition 26 topics have major updates in the 105th Edition Harmonized property and variable names and symbols Wide range of property data on more than 20,000 compounds of greatest interest in research and industry The CRC Handbook is citable as a reliable data source, and the data in the Handbook are traceable Coverage of atomic elements and isotopes without peer Common properties on common compounds under common conditions Reliability for modeling, knowledge discovery New sections focused on important current topics including environmental chemistry and solid-state chemistry and physics
Providing a holistic overview of general chemistry and its foundational principles, this textbook is an essential accompaniment to students entering the field. It is designed with the reader in mind, presenting the historical development of ideas to frame and center new concepts as well as providing primary and summative sources for all topics covered. These sources help to provide definitive information for the reader, ensuring that all information is peer-reviewed and thoroughly tested. Features: The development of key ideas is presented in their historical context All information presented is supported through citations to chemical literature Problems are incorporated throughout the text and full, worked-out solutions are presented for every problem International Union of Pure and Applied Chemistry style and technical guidelines are followed throughout the text The problems, text, and presentation are based on years of classroom refinement of teaching pedagogy This textbook is aimed at an advanced high school or general college audience, aiming to engage students more directly in the work of chemistry. William Tucker's passion for chemistry was inspired by his high school teacher Gary Osborn. He left Maine to pursue Chemistry at Middlebury College, and after graduating in 2010 he decided to pursue a PhD in Organic Chemistry at the University of Wisconsin-Madison. At the University of Wisconsin-Madison, he worked in the laboratory of Dr. Sandro Mecozzi, where he developed semifluorinated triphilic surfactants for hydrophobic drug delivery. After earning his PhD in 2015, he took a fellowship at Boston University as a Postdoctoral Faculty Fellow. There he co-taught organic chemistry while working in the laboratory of Dr. John Caradonna. In the Caradonna l boratory, he worked on developing a surface-immobilized iron-oxidation catalyst for the oxidation of C-H bonds using dioxygen from the air as the terminal oxidant. Throughout all of this work, his passion has always been for teaching and working with students both in and out of the classroom. He has been lucky for the past six years to work at Concord Academy, where his students have, through their questions, pushed him to think deeper and more critically about chemistry. Their curiosity inspires him, and their inquisitiveness inspired his writing.
Human benefit from the organic chemistry of plants is incalculable in terms of health, food, comfort and security. Indeed, the future well-being of humanity rests in significant measure upon a responsible relationship with the plant kingdom in order to re-establish balance in the Earth's natural environmental systems. In a highly readable volume, Organic Chemistry: Miracles from Plants presents many fascinating points of entry to the organic chemistry of a wide range of crucially-important, naturally-occurring, chemical substances which are derived from plants. Features: 1. Presents many fascinating points of entry to the organic chemistry of a wide range of crucially important, natural chemical substances derived from plants. 2. Brings together organic chemistry in real life context and has information that will inspire organic chemists as well as non-scientific people with an interest in plant biochemistry. 3. The book will engage many people far and wide including its primary audience of young students. 4. It is beautifully organized and accessible and each chapter has its own story that entices the reader to continue. 5. This book will be a valuable adjunct to a course in chemistry (at any level) and also biology, with many illustrations, questions and exercises for students.
Please check the catalog or databases, or contact RCBC Library to see if book is currently available. Here are a few suggestions:
Solid State Chemistry and Its Applications by
SOLID STATE CHEMISTRY AND ITS APPLICATIONS A comprehensive treatment of solid state chemistry complete with supplementary material and full colour illustrations from a leading expert in the field. Solid State Chemistry and its Applications, Second Edition delivers an advanced version of West's classic text in solid state chemistry, expanding on the undergraduate Student Edition to present a comprehensive treatment of solid state chemistry suitable for advanced students and researchers. The book provides the reader with an up-to-date account of essential topics in solid state chemistry and recent developments in this rapidly developing field of inorganic chemistry. Significant updates and new content in this second edition include: A more extensive overview of important families of inorganic solids including spinels, perovskites, pyrochlores, garnets, Ruddlesden-Popper phases and many more New methods to synthesise inorganic solids, including sol-gel methods, combustion synthesis, atomic layer deposition, spray pyrolysis and microwave techniques Advances in electron microscopy, X-ray and electron spectroscopies New developments in electrical properties of materials, including high Tc superconductivity, lithium batteries, solid oxide fuel cells and smart windows Recent developments in optical properties, including fibre optics, solar cells and transparent conducting oxides Advances in magnetic properties including magnetoresistance and multiferroic materials Homogeneous and heterogeneous ceramics, characterization using impedance spectroscopy Thermoelectric materials, MXenes, low dimensional structures, memristors and many other functional materials Expanded coverage of glass, including metallic and fluoride glasses, cement and concrete, geopolymers, refractories and structural ceramics Overview of binary oxides of all the elements, their structures, properties and applications Featuring full color illustrations throughout, readers will also benefit from online supplementary materials including access to CrystalMaker® software and over 100 interactive crystal structure models. Perfect for advanced students seeking a detailed treatment of solid state chemistry, this new edition of Solid State Chemistry and its Applications will also earn a place as a desk reference in the libraries of experienced researchers in chemistry, crystallography, physics, and materials science.
The Beauty of Chemistry by
Images and text capture the astonishing beauty of the chemical processes that create snowflakes, bubbles, flames, and other wonders of nature. Chemistry is not just about microscopic atoms doing inscrutable things; it is the process that makes flowers and galaxies. We rely on it for bread-baking, vegetable-growing, and producing the materials of daily life. In stunning images and illuminating text, this book captures chemistry as it unfolds. Using such techniques as microphotography, time-lapse photography, and infrared thermal imaging, The Beauty of Chemistry shows us how chemistry underpins the formation of snowflakes, the science of champagne, the colors of flowers, and other wonders of nature and technology. We see the marvelous configurations of chemical gardens; the amazing transformations of evaporation, distillation, and precipitation; heat made visible; and more.
Princeton Review MCAT Prep, 2021-2022 by
ESSENTIAL SUBJECT REVIEW FOR YOUR TOP MCAT SCORE. This comprehensive, all-in-one resource preparesyou for the MCAT with in-depth content reviews, test-conquering strategies, a tear-out "cheat sheet" reference guide, and 4 full-length online practice exams for total test preparation. Walk into test day with confidence, armed with this resource designed to prepare you for MCAT scoring success. The Princeton Review MCAT Prep provides unparalleled MCAT content coverage, including- .Detailed coverage of MCAT test essentials, plus topic-by-topic subject reviews for Organic Chemistry, General Chemistry, CARS (Critical Analysis and Reasoning), Biology, Biochemistry, Physics & Math, and Psychology & Sociology . Specific strategies for tackling every question type . A full-color, 16-page tear-out reference guide with all the most important formulas, diagrams, information, concepts, and charts for every MCAT section . Tons of illustrations, diagrams, and tables . A comprehensive index PLUS! Access to 4 full-length practice exams with detailed answer explanations online
Chemistry and Energy by
This book focuses on the processes and materials behind energy technologies. The author details the underlying chemistry of renewable sources, such as biofuels and wind power, as well as the traditionally used coal and gas. Chapters on energy storage technologies and the connection between energy generation and climate change round off this uniquely concise overview of the relationship between chemistry and energy.
Chemistry by
The trusted, innovative, calibrated leader-now tightly-integrated with MasteringChemistry® . Unrivaled problems, notable scientific accuracy and currency, and remarkable clarity have made Chemistry: The Central Science the leading general chemistry text for more than a decade. Trusted, innovative, and calibrated, the text increases conceptual understanding and student success in general chemistry by building on the expertise of the dynamic author team of leading researchers and award-winning professors. The new Thirteenth Edition builds on the Twelfth Edition's major revision, in which every word and piece of art was scrutinized by all the authors to increase its effectiveness. Placing a greater emphasis on research, this edition is more tightly integrated with MasteringChemistry, the leading online homework, tutorial, and assessment program-- resulting in an unparalleled teaching and learning package that personalizes learning and coaches students toward understanding and mastery of tough chemistry topics. This program presents a better teaching and learning experience--for you and your students. It provides: Superior support beyond the classroom with MasteringChemistry: Students benefit from personalized, interactive learning through MasteringChemistry's self-paced tutorials that guide them through the text's most challenging topics; provide immediate, specific feedback; and keep students engaged and on track. Enhanced learning from a dynamic author team of leading researchers and award-winning professors: Each member of this well-respected author team brings their expertise in a wide range of areas to the pages of this popular text. All authors have been active researchers and have taught general chemistry for many years. Improved conceptual understanding through stepped up, relevant pedagogy: Students get numerous opportunities to test their knowledge through Give It Some Thought (GIST) exercises, Go Figure questions, and A Closer Look essays, now integrated with clicker questions and in MasteringChemistry. Invaluable aids that ensure problem-solving success: By using a consistent process, a unique Analyze/Plan/Solve/Check format, dual-column problem-solving approach in certain areas, a new practice exercise following each worked example, and the Strategies in Chemistry feature, students are placed on the right path from the very start to excel at problem solving and comprehension. Clarity through visualization from a variety of perspectives, including macroscopic, microscopic, and symbolic: Included are Visualizing Concepts exercises, with models, graphs, and other visual materials; sample exercises with molecular illustrations; and conceptual questions in the end-of-chapter questions. Note: You are purchasing a standalone product; MasteringChemistry does not come packaged with this content. If you would like to purchase both the physical text and MasteringChemistry search for ISBN-10: 0321864409/ISBN-13: 9780321864406. That package includes ISBN-10: 0321910419/ISBN-13: 9780321910417 and ISBN-10: 0321934245/ISBN-13: 9780321934246. MasteringChemistry is not a self-paced technology and should only be purchased when required by an instructor.
Thermodynamics of Chemical Processes OCP by
The renowned Oxford Chemistry Primers series, which provides focused introductions to a range of important topics in chemistry, has been refreshed and updated to suit the needs of today's students, lecturers, and postgraduate researchers. The rigorous, yet accessible, treatment of each subjectarea is ideal for those wanting a primer in a given topic to prepare them for more advanced study or research. Moreover, cutting-edge examples and applications throughout the texts show the relevance of the chemistry being described to current research and industry.This new edition of Thermodynamics of Chemical Processes is the only self-contained text to cover the thermodynamics of chemical processes at a level appropriate for undergradutes. Describing the basic principles which govern reactivity and phase equilibria in chemical systems, the text is writtenat the first year undergraduate level and contains a number of worked examples and problems to help students through this introductory material. It shows the application of the theory to disciplines such as biochemistry, materials science, environmental science, forensic and analytical sciences.This new edition places an emphasis on applying the principles and solving problems rather than on formal proof of theorems and detailed mathematical understanding. The ideas of enthalpy, internal energy and entropy are covered to lead into Gibbs free energy and how it can be used to correlate andpredict the equilibrium position and properties of chemical reactions and multi-phase systems. Background mathematical ideas are introduced as needed, and the text includes material describing how the physicochemical principles can be applied to related areas such as materials science orbiochemistry.
The periodic table : past, present, and future by
'This is an an absolutely wonderful book that is full of gems about the elements and the periodic table ... All in all, the book is highly recommended to philosophers of chemistry. As philosophers we have a natural tendency to concentrate on generalities and not to get too involved in the specifics and the details. Above all else, this new book reminds us that such an approach needs to be tempered by a detailed knowledge of the exceptions and features that go against the simplified generalities which we so cherish.' [Read Full Review]Eric ScerriFoundations of Chemistry'Many questions are dealt with in a clearly written way in this stimulating and innovative book. The reader will quickly become interested in the subject and will be taken on tour through this Periodic Table in a very readable way, both for students and teachers ... The number of illustrations is good, and clear. This book is indeed unique and quite thought-provoking ... This book is highly recommended for students, teachers, researchers and not only chemists! Geologists, biochemist and also physicists will find it very interesting to read.' [Read Full Review]Chemistry InternationalThat fossilized chart on every classroom wall -- isn't that The Periodic Table? Isn't that what Mendeléev devised about a century ago? No and No. There are many ways of organizing the chemical elements, some of which are thought-provoking, and which reveal philosophical challenges. Where does hydrogen 'belong'? Can an element occupy more than one location on the chart? Which are the Group 3 elements? Is aluminum in the wrong place? Why is silver(I) like thallium(I)? Why is vanadium like molybdenum? Why does gold form an auride ion like a halide ion? Does an atom 'know' if it is a non-metal or metal? Which elements are the 'metalloids'? Which are the triels? So many questions! In this stimulating and innovative book, the Reader will be taken on a voyage from the past to the present to the future of the Periodic Table. This book is unique. This book is readable. This book is thought-provoking. It is a multi-dimensional examination of patterns and trends among the chemical elements. Every reader will discover something about the chemical elements which will provoke thought and a new appreciation as to how the elements relate together.
Introduction to Stereochemistry by
CHEMISTRY STUDENT GUIDES. GUIDED BY STUDENTS Why did the drug thalidomide cause birth defects? What is the chemical difference between sucrose and lactose in your food? Stereochemistry holds the answer and is essential to the understanding of the chemistry of life. Stereochemistry is an important concept that often causes confusion amongst students when they learn it for the first time. Unlike most other areas of chemistry, it requires the chemist to visualise molecules in 3D, which can be difficult. In this book we deal with tricky concepts like conformation and configuration, how to represent them accurately and how to use the correct terms to describe them in both organic and inorganic chemistry. We involved students in the writing process to ensure we deal with areas that you find difficult, in an understandable language. With problems designed to focus on common errors and misconceptions, real life examples, and practical hands-on exercises coupled with visualisation tips, our intention is to give you the tools to become confident in stererochemistry. Complementing mainstream organic textbooks, or self-study, this book is for anyone who has struggled with describing alkenes as E or Z, assigning R and S absolute configurations, drawing Newman projections or chair representations of cyclohexanes, axial chirality, understanding the stereochemistry of octahedral metal complexes and indeed explaining complexities observed in NMR spectra. Chemistry Student Guides are written with current students involved at every stage, guiding the books towards the most challenging aspects of the topic. Student co-authors for Introduction to Stereochemistry are Caroline Akamune, Michael Lloyd and Matthew Taylor.
Electrochemistry by
The renowned Oxford Chemistry Primers series, which provides focused introductions to a range of important topics in chemistry, has been refreshed and updated to suit the needs of today's students, lecturers, and postgraduate researchers. The rigorous, yet accessible, treatment of each subjectarea is ideal for those wanting a primer in a given topic to prepare them for more advanced study or research. Moreover, cutting-edge examples and applications throughout the texts show the relevance of the chemistry being described to current research and industry.The learning features provided, including questions at the end of every chapter and online multiple-choice questions, encourage active learning and promote understanding. Furthermore, frequent diagrams, margin notes, further reading, and glossary definitions all help to enhance a student'sunderstanding of these essential areas of chemistry.This brand new addition to the series provides the most accessible first introduction to electrochemistry, combining explanation of the fundamental concepts with practical examples of how they are applied in a range of real-world situations.
Matter: a Very Short Introduction by
What is matter? Matter is the stuff from which we and all the things in the world are made. Everything around us, from desks, to books, to our own bodies are made of atoms, which are small enough that a million of them can fit across the breadth of a human hair. Inside every atom is a tinynucleus and orbiting the nucleus is a cloud of electrons. The nucleus is made out of protons and neutrons, and by zooming in further you would find that inside each there are even smaller particles, quarks. Together with electrons, the quarks are the smallest particles that have been seen, and arethe indivisible fundamental particles of nature that have existed since the Big Bang, almost 14 billion years ago. The 92 different chemical elements that all normal matter is made from were forged billions of years ago in the Big Bang, inside stars, and in violent stellar explosions.This Very Short Introduction takes us on a journey from the human scale of matter in the familiar everyday forms of solids, liquids, and gases to plasmas, exotic forms of quantum matter, and antimatter. On the largest scales matter is sculpted by gravity into planets, stars, galaxies, and vastclusters of galaxies. All the matter that that we normally encounter however constitutes only 5% of the matter that exists. The remaining 95% comes in two mysterious forms: dark matter, and dark energy. Dark matter is necessary to stop the galaxies from flying apart, and dark energy is needed toexplain the observed acceleration of the expansion of the universe. Geoff Cottrell explores the latest research into matter, and shows that there is still a lot we don't know about the stuff our universe is made of.ABOUT THE SERIES: The Very Short Introductions series from Oxford University Press contains hundreds of titles in almost every subject area. These pocket-sized books are the perfect way to get ahead in a new subject quickly. Our expert authors combine facts, analysis, perspective, new ideas, andenthusiasm to make interesting and challenging topics highly readable.
Understanding Properties of Atoms Molecules and Materials by
In a technology driven civilization the quest for new and smarter materials is everlasting. They are required as platforms for developing new technologies or for improving an already existing technology. The discovery of a new material is no longer chance driven or accidental, but is based on careful reasoning structured by deep understanding of the microconstituents of materials - the atoms and molecules in isolation or in an assembly. That requires fair amount of exposure to quantum and statistical mechanics. Understanding Properties of Atoms, Molecules and Materials' is an effort (perhaps the first ever) to bring all the necessary theoretical ingredients and relevant physical information in a single volume. The book introduces the readers (first year graduates) or researchers in material chemistry/engineering to elementary quantum mechanics of atoms, molecules and solids and then goes on to make them acquainted with methods of statistical mechanics (classical as well as quantum) along with elementary principles of classical MD simulation. The basic concepts are introduced with clarity and illustrated with easy to grasp examples, thus preparing the readers for an exploration through the world of materials - the exotic and the mundane. The emphasis has been on the phenomena and what shapes them at the fundamental level. A comprehensive description of modern designing principles for materials with examples is a unique feature of the book. The highlights of the book are comprehensive introduction and analysis of Quantum states of atoms and molecules The translational symmetry and quantum states in periodic and amorphous solids Band structure and tuning Classical and quantum statistics with applications to ideal gases (photons, phonons and electrons, molecules) Quantum states in type-I and type-II superconductors (elementary theory included) Magnetic materials, materials with GMR and CMR Shape memory effects in alloys and materials 2D materials (graphene and graphene analogus) NLO and photovoltaic materials Hydrogen storage material for mitigating the looming energy crisis Quantum states in low and high band gap semiconductors Semimetals Designer materials, etc. The volume is designed and organized to create interest in the science of materials and the silent revolution that is redefining the goals and boundaries of materials science continuously.
Chemical Bonding by
The renowned Oxford Chemistry Primers series, which provides focused introductions to a range of important topics in chemistry, has been refreshed and updated to suit the needs of today's students, lecturers, and postgraduate researchers. The rigorous, yet accessible, treatment of each subjectarea is ideal for those wanting a primer in a given topic to prepare them for more advanced study or research.The learning features provided, including questions at the end of every chapter and online multiple-choice questions, encourage active learning and promote understanding. Furthermore, frequent diagrams, margin notes, and glossary definitions all help to enhance a student's understanding of theseessential areas of chemistry.Chemical bonding gives a clear and succinct explanation of this fundamental topic, which underlies the structure and reactivity of all molecules, and therefore the subject of chemistry itself. Little prior knowledge or mathematical ability is assumed, making this the perfect text to introducestudents to the subject.
Understanding General Chemistry by
Understanding General Chemistry details the fundamentals of general chemistry through a wide range of topics, relating the structure of atoms and molecules to the properties of matter. Written in an easy-to-understand format with helpful pedagogy to fuel learning, the book features main objectives at the beginning of each chapter, get smart sections, and check your reading section at the end of each chapter. The text is filled with examples and practices that illustrate the concepts at hand. In addition, a summary, and extensive MCQs, exercises and problems with the corresponding answers and explanations are readily available. Additional features include: Alerts students to common mistakes and explains in simple ways and clear applications how to avoid these mistakes. Offers answers and comments alongside sample problems enabling students to self-evaluate their skill level. Includes powerful methods, easy steps, simple and accurate interpretations, and engaging applications to help students understand complex principles. Provides a bridge to more complex topics such as solid-state chemistry, organometallic chemistry, chemistry of main group elements, inorganic chemistry, and physical chemistry. This introductory textbook is ideal for chemistry courses for non-science majors as well as health sciences and preparatory engineering students.
Chemistry and industrial techniques for chemical engineers by
This book, Chemistry and Industrial Techniques for Chemical Engineers, brings together innovative research, new concepts, and novel developments in the application of new tools for chemical and materials engineers. It contains significant research, reporting new methodologies, and important applications in the fields of chemical engineering as well as the latest coverage of chemical databases and the development of new methods and efficient approaches for chemists.
With clear explanations, real-world examples, this volume emphasizes the concepts essential to the practice of chemical science, engineering, and technology while introducing the newest innovations in the field.
Chemistry and Energy by
This book focuses on the processes and materials behind energy technologies. The author details the underlying chemistry of renewable sources, such as biofuels and wind power, as well as the traditionally used coal and gas. Chapters on energy storage technologies and the connection between energy generation and climate change round off this uniquely concise overview of the relationship between chemistry and energy.
Foundations of Molecular Structure Determination by
The renowned Oxford Chemistry Primer series, which provides focused introductions to a range of important topics in chemistry, has been refreshed and updated to suit the needs of today's students, lecturers, and postgraduate researchers. The rigorous, yet accessible, treatment of each subjectarea is ideal for those wanting a primer in a given topic to prepare them for more advanced study or research. Moreover, cutting-edge examples and applications throughout the texts show the relevance of the chemistry being described to current research and industry.The learning features provided, including questions at the end of every chapter and online multiple-choice questions, encourage active learning and promote understanding. Furthermore, frequent diagrams, margin notes, further reading, and glossary definitions all help to enhance a student'sunderstanding of these essential areas of chemistry.Foundations of Molecular Structure Determination covers a range of common spectroscopic and diffraction methods alongside frequent worked examples and problem questions to assist beginning undergraduates in developing their skills in structure analysis. Furthermore, the practical application ofthese techniques is emphasized, especially to biological and medical systems.Online Resource CentreThe Online Resource Centre to accompany Foundations of Molecular Structure Determination features:For registered adopters of the text:* Figures from the book available to downloadFor students:* Downloadable CIF data files* Multiple-choice questions for self-directed learning* Full worked solutions to the end-of-chapter exercises
Ebooks are accessible directly from the Library catalog. If you're interested in finding ebooks only, head to eBook Collection. To log in, use the barcode located on the back of your student ID and your pin number. You have the option to download ebooks to a device, but we strongly recommend reading them online to take advantage of the full suite of available tools. Create a personal account using your Library barcode and PIN to manage and organize your ebook reading and research.
Hawley's Condensed Chemical Dictionary by
1471 new definitions, 5,236 revised or updated definitions, a new Chemical Abstract Number index, and an update of all trademarks Significant expansion of both chemical and biochemical terms including the addition of biochemical terms in the emerging fields in biology and biological engineering such as synthetic biology, highlighting the merging of the sciences of chemistry and biology Updates and expands the extensive data on chemicals, trade name products, and chemistry-related definitions Adds entries for notable chemists and Nobel Prize winners, equipment and devices, natural forms and minerals, named reactions, and chemical processes Update on toxicological profiles
Inorganic Chemistry by
Using classification, diagrams and crystallography elements, we describe in this book the bonds in the crystals using the basic patterns. The use of various criteria such as ionicity character of the bonds, the use of hard sphere models, the Pauling rules and the spatial availability of ions all together make it possible to better understand the spatial organization of typical crystals. Through original representations, the structure and the nature of the bonds in binary crystals of MX- and MX2- types as well as the ternary crystals of the perovskite and spinel type are studied.
Fundamentals of Medicinal Chemistry and Drug Metabolism by
"The primary objective of this 4-volume book series is to educate PharmD students on the subject of medicinal chemistry. The book set serves as a reference guide to pharmacists on aspects of chemical basis of drug action. This first volume of the series is comprised of 8 chapters focusing on basic background information about medicinal chemistry. It takes a succinct and conceptual approach to introducing important fundamental concepts required for a clear understanding of various facets of pharmacotherapeutic agents, drug metabolism and important biosynthetic pathways that are relevant to drug action. Notable topics covered in this first volume include the scope and importance of medicinal chemistry in pharmacy education, a comprehensive discussion of the organic functional groups present in drugs, and information about four major types of biomolecules (proteins, carbohydrates, lipids, nucleic acids) and key heterocyclic ring systems. The concepts of acid-base chemistry and salt formation, and their applications to the drug action and design follow thereafter. These include concepts of solubility and lipid-water partition coefficient (LWPC), isosterism, stereochemical properties, mechanisms of drug action, drug receptor interactions critical for pharmacological responses of drugs, and much more. Students and teachers will be able to integrate the knowledge presented in the book and apply medicinal chemistry concepts to understand the pharmacodynamics and pharmacokinetics of therapeutic agents in the body. "
Engineering Chemistry by
Engineering Chemistry includes comprehensive, lucid and accurate presentations of the subject matter, which is easy to understand and stimulates the interest of students. It provides the in-depth information required to understand the principles and practice of applied chemistry, and presents coherent and adequate coverage of various topics. The fundamentals have been explained with the help of illustrations, diagrams and tables to facilitate better understanding. A balance between theoretical and applied aspects have been maintained in this book. The solved examples in the chapter and exercises at the end of each chapter help in strengthening the theoretical concepts.
Neuroscience Fundamentals for Communication Sciences and Disorders by
Neuroscience Fundamentals for Communication Sciences and Disorders is a comprehensive textbook designed for undergraduate neural bases or graduate neuroscience courses in communication sciences and disorders programs (CSD). Written with a fresh user-friendly conversational style and complemented by more than 350 visually rich and beautifully drawn full-color illustrations, this book emphasizes brain and behavior relationships while also ensuring coverage of essential neuroanatomy in an integrative fashion. With a comprehensive background in neuroscience fundamentals, students will be able to better understand and apply brain-behavior relationships to make appropriate clinical assessments and treatment decisions. Neuroscience Fundamentals for Communication Sciences and Disorders is designed to provide CSD students with a broad overview of the principles, processes, and structures underlying the workings of the human nervous system. Extending well beyond traditional neuroanatomy-based textbooks, this publication is designed to satisfy three major goals: Provide neuroanatomical and neurophysiological detail that meets the real-world needs of the contemporary CSD student, as they move forward toward clinical practice, and into the future where advancements in the field of health and brain sciences are accelerating and contributing more and more to rehabilitation. Provide clear, understandable explanations and intuitive material that explains how and why neuroanatomical systems, processes, and mechanisms of the nervous system operate as they do during human behavior. Provide a depth and scope of material that will allow students to read, better understand, and appreciate a wide range of evidence-based literature related to behavior, cognition, emotion, language, and sensory perception--areas that directly impact treatment decisions. Key Features: An emphasis on fundamental information on neuroanatomy, neurophysiology, and functional processes using an analogy-driven and relaxed conversational writing style. More than 350 new and beautifully illustrated full-color neuroanatomical and neurophysiological figures that work to bring the written material to life. Content is divided into four major sections that build upon each other to foster a comprehensive understanding of the nervous system from the cellular to systems. Three summary chapters on the neural bases of speech, language, and hearing that help integrate the basic information from earlier chapters with content specific to CSD. Each chapter begins with an introduction and learning objectives and ends with a top ten summary list of key take-home concepts and study review questions. Bolded key terms throughout with a comprehensive glossary of definitions. Clinical Importance boxes highlight clinically relevant disorders and syndromes that compliment topic coverage. Further Interest boxes highlight interesting and exciting facts about the nervous system's structure, physiology, and functionality.
Hospital Wastewater Treatment: Global Scenario and Case Studies by
The features of hospital wastewater (HWW) are identical to domestic wastewater in general, but a subset of HWW includes toxic/nonbiodegradable/infectious contaminants. The hospital effluents include a wide range of chemicals utilized in medical, laboratory, and study settings, as well as patient excreta. Antibiotics, lipid inhibitors, among other medications and their metabolites are among the wastes. This book will help in understanding through the case studies from around the globe how to deal with HWW effectively, as well as help Governments to modify laws relating to it.
RCBC Library is part of the Burlington County Library System (BCLS)!
Your RCBC Library barcode allows you to check out physical material at other BCLS branches. (A separate BCLS Library card is needed to access their online resources.)
If another branch has a book that you are looking for, either call them to place it on hold for you, or as a RCBC librarian to call for you.
Note: a book that shows up as being in another branch may be currently in use by another patron. Save yourself a trip and call to double check the book's availability!
Inter-library Loans
If a book that you want is not available in the RCBC Library or BCLS, we can attempt to order the book from an outside library to be delivered to the RCBC Library. Note: this method may take 2 weeks or longer for the book to arrive at RCBC.
To order a book via inter-library loan, please either fill out a blank form from JerseyCat or contact Debbie Kolodziej at dkolodzie@rcbc.edu.
Faculty Book Requests
Research assistance - help finding sources, evaluating sources
Online workshops for citing and plagiarism are held throughout the semester. To request a citing workshop, please email library@rcbc.edu