Cell Signaling provides undergraduate and graduate students with the conceptual tools needed to make sense of the dizzying array of pathways that cells use to detect, process, and respond to signals from the environment. By emphasizing the common design principles and molecular processes that underlie all signaling mechanisms, the book develops a broad conceptual framework through which students can understand diverse signaling pathways and networks. The book first examines the common currencies of cellular information processing and the core components of the signaling machinery. It then shows how these individual components link together into networks and pathways to perform more sophisticated tasks. Many specific examples are provided throughout to illustrate common principles, and to provide a comprehensive overview of major signaling pathways. Thoroughly revised, this second edition includes two new chapters and substantial updates to the text and figures throughout the book. Key features: The book provides a conceptual framework through which all signaling pathways can be understood without memorization of details It is extensively illustrated, including high-quality diagrams and schematics to elucidate important concepts and processes Each chapter concludes with a useful summary section that brings together the key concepts End-of-chapter review questions test the reader's understanding of the material covered Two new chapters have been written especially for this edition: "Signaling and Disease" and "Diversity in Signaling across Phylogeny"
This biography of Nobel Laureate Barbara McClintock (1902-1992) places her life and work in its social, scientific and personal context. The author examines the development of Barbara McClintock's scientific work and her influence upon individuals and upon the fields of cytogenetics and evolutionary biology in the period from 1902 to the present. The history documents years of McClintock's notable and lauded scientific work long before she discovered and named transposable elements in the mid-1940s for which she ultimately received the Nobel Prize. The biography employs documented evidence to expose, demystify, and provide clarity for legends and misinterpretations of McClintock's life and work. Key Features Exposes and demystifies myths and legends told about McClintock's time in Missouri Clarifies the changing language of genes and genetics Places in perspective the history of McClintock's research Documents McClintock's family and early life before college Provides documented details of McClintock's time in Nazi Germany
Introduction to Protein Mass Spectrometry, Second Edition provides a comprehensive overview of this increasingly important, yet complex, analytical technique. This book enables readers to understand how determinations about protein identity from mass spectrometric data are made. Coverage begins with the technical basics, including preparations, instruments, and spectrometric analysis of peptides and proteins, before exploring applied use in biological applications, bioinformatics, database, and software resources. This new edition is fully updated to include the latest developments in the field and will feature new content covering recent progress in the areas where there have been the most exciting advances. These include PNNL's multilevel-PCB-based SLIM realization, SLIM-Agilent QQQ field trials; employment of SLIM-IMS-cryo-IR combination in molecular structure determination; proximity-labelling mass spectrometry, and applications in neuroscience.
A highly visual guide to bright field, dark field, epifluorescence microscopy methods + Matt's new "manual lighting" technique. This book will teach you how to examine and evaluate soil, compost, roots, leaves, plant sap, microbes, mycorrhizae, and more using any microscope that can view at 40x - 1000x + even more methods that include epifluorescence techniques and specialized stains to see who's really alive and who's not!! If you are wanting to deep dive into soil microscopy, this is the book for you!!
Regenerative Soil - The Science & Solutions 2nd Edition covers soil management, remediation, generation, and the science from the biological, chemistry, and biochemistry perspectives and all connected to the natural farming methods, so we can see and calculate those methods for and at scale in all climates and situations from gardening to farming to large-scale remediation. You'll be able to see the cycles for each nutrient/element and why/how/when of their cycles - it builds a principle-based understanding that allows for improvisation and comprehension across disciplines, methods, and techniques.
Why evolution is like a network, not a family tree--and why it matters for understanding the health of all living things In The Network of Life, David Mindell explains why the conventional narrative of evolution needs to evolve. Ever since Darwin, evolution has largely been thought to work like a family tree in which species are related through a series of branching events. But, today, a growing knowledge of the ways species share genetic materials in a process known as horizontal evolution has revealed that evolution is actually a network of shared genealogy in which species are more interconnected than previously thought. In this book, Mindell presents this new narrative of life's evolution and its profound implications for all life on Earth. The Network of Life describes the drivers of horizontal evolution--interbreeding and genetic recombination, the merger of species, horizontal gene transfer, and coevolution. The network view of evolution that emerges supports a new symbiotic theory of health, which holds that the future health of humans, other species, and our shared environments depends on evolution and adaptation across life's network. Difficult times lie ahead for many of Earth's species as climates and habitats transform. At the same time, new and altered life-forms are arising and spreading in association with human activities. We are also learning to reshape and create life by mimicking the mechanisms of horizontal evolution, and we are coevolving with technology as we enhance our bodies, brains, and life spans. The Network of Life shows why and how increasing our knowledge of horizontal evolution can provide critical lessons as we navigate our looming challenges.
Fundamentals of Plant Physiology emphasizes essential concepts, offering a concise, accessible, and focused approach to the topic while maintaining the high standard of scientific accuracy and pedagogical richness for which the Taiz franchise is renowned. This concise and accessible textbook meets the needs of undergraduate students studying plant physiology and structure/function classes. This fundamentals version is a response to requests from educators for an up-to-date and accessible text, specifically tailored to students who may not have extensive training in organic chemistry, genetics, or molecular biology. The second edition has been updated to reflect recent and remarkable advancements in plant sciences. These advancements, coupled with rapid progress in molecular breeding genome editing techniques, have enabled the development of crops that can sustain various challenges including climate change, soil degradation, and the introduction of new pathogens and pests. Fundamentals of Plant Physiology addresses these new realities and explores topics that are closely linked to these advancements.
Encoding Bioethics addresses important ethical concerns from the perspective of each of the stakeholders who will develop, deploy, and use Artificial Intelligence systems to support clinical decisions. Utilizing an applied ethical model of patient centered care, this book considers the perspective of programmers, health system and health insurance leaders, clinicians, and patients when AI is used to support clinical decisions. The authors build on each of their experiences as a surgeon-bioethicist and a surgeon-AI developer to give the reader an accessible account of the relevant ethical considerations raised when AI systems are introduced into the physician-patient relationship.
A foundational text on animal population conservation featuring practical applications and case studies. The study of animal populations is integral to wildlife ecology and conservation. Analyzing population biology data can help facilitate the recovery of threatened species, manage overabundant species, and ensure sustainable levels of harvest. But for many students, the complex math involved is a barrier to understanding the importance of the data's applications. The emphasis on solving mathematical problems in traditional population biology texts may also seem far removed from the heart of conservation work that students find most compelling. The Biology and Conservation of Animal Populationsis built differently. It provides a thorough introduction to this fundamental science in an accessible context that centers conservation, not equations. This textbook, written by prominent conservation scientist, author, and wolf biologist John A. Vucetich, challenges students to think critically about big questions in conservation work--such as what does and does not count as an endangered species and why--and addresses these issues using practical examples and case studies. The crucial mathematics concepts needed to fully understand these issues are explained by directly connecting the equations with their use in efforts to conserve animal populations. Included in the text are explicit learning goals for each chapter, in-depth case studies, and step-by-step exercises demonstrating how to perform calculations and simulations in Excel, and online supplementary materials. Vucetich also gives substantive attention to the growing call for integrative learning by connecting population science to the ethical considerations that guide its application.
Travels with Trilobites by
Trilobites were some of the most successful and versatile organisms ever to exist. Among the earliest forms of complex animal life, these hard-shelled marine invertebrates inhabited the primal seas of the Paleozoic Era. Their march through evolutionary time began in the Lower Cambrian, some 521 million years ago, and lasted until their demise at the end of the Permian, more than 250 million years later. During this vast stretch of planetary history, these adaptable animals filled virtually every available undersea niche, evolving into more than 25,000 scientifically recognized species. In Travels with Trilobites, Andy Secher invites readers to come along in search of the fossilized remains of these ancient arthropods. He explores breathtaking paleontological hot spots around the world--including Alnif, Morocco, on the edge of the Sahara Desert; the Sakha Republic, deep in the Siberian wilderness; and Kangaroo Island, off the coast of South Australia--and offers a behind-the-scenes look at museums, fossil shows, and life on the collectors' circuit. The book features hundreds of photographs of unique specimens drawn from Secher's private collection, showcasing stunning fossil finds that highlight the diversity, complexity, and beauty of trilobites. Entertaining and informative, Travels with Trilobites combines key scientific information about these captivating creatures with wry, colorful observations and inside stories from one of the world's most prolific collectors.
Conservation: a People Centred Approach by
This primer provides an introduction to the ideas of modern conservation biology, and the issues that constrain us from achieving sustainability.Opening with a consideration of ecology and conservation as a science, and the notion of different processes happening at different scales, the primer goes on to discuss the importance of populations and life histories. It also emphasises interactions between different species, a key area ofunderstanding for getting to grips with ecology. With a step up in scale, it then introduces the idea of ecosystem services, and the dependence of human life and well-being on these services. The long history of the impact of humans on the landscape leads to a discussion of myths such as the"balance of nature" and "pristine environments". These concepts are crucial to understanding modern ideas of the right way to conserve our world.Using the South Sinai in Egypt as a case study throughout, the primer explores explore the issues of how indigenous people can maintain their traditions in the modern world, and the relationship between their traditions and biodiversity. These form the key to understanding how humans can livesustainably with the natural world.
Rethinking wilderness and the wild : conflict, conservation and co-existence by
"Rethinking Wilderness and the Wild: Conflict, Conservation and Co-existence examines the complexities surrounding the concept of wilderness. Contemporary wilderness scholarship has tended to fall into two categories: the so-called 'fortress conservation' and 'co-existence' schools of thought. This book, contending that this polarisation has led to a silencing and concealment of alternative perspectives and lines of enquiry, extends beyond these confines and in particular steers away from the dilemmas of paradise or paradox in order to advance an intellectual and policy agenda of plurality and diversity rather than of prescription and definition. Drawing on case studies from Australia, Aoteoroa/New Zealand, the United States and Iceland, and explorations of embodied experience, creative practice, philosophy, and First Nations land management practices, the assembled chapters examine wilderness ideals, conflicts and human-nature dualities afresh, and examine co-existence and conservation in the Anthropocene in diverse ontological and multidisciplinary ways. By demonstrating a strong commitment to respecting the knowledge and perspectives of Indigenous peoples, this work delivers a more nuanced, ethical and decolonising approach to issues arising from relationships with wilderness. Such a collection is immediately appropriate given the political challenges and social complexities of our time, and the mounting threats to life across the globe. The abiding and uniting logic of the book is to offer a unique and innovative contribution to engender transformations of wilderness scholarship, activism and conservation policy. This text refutes the inherent privileging and exclusionary tactics of dominant modes of enquiry that too often serve to silence non-human and contrary positions. It reveals a multi-faceted and contingent wilderness alive with agency, diversity and possibility. This book will be of great interest to students and scholars of conservation, environmental and natural resource management, indigenous studies and environmental policy and planning. It will also be of interest to practitioners, policymakers and NGOs involved in conservation, protected environments and environmental governance"
Writing in the Biological Sciences by
"Writing in the Biological Sciences: A Comprehensive Guide to Scientific Communication" serves as a comprehensive "one-stop" reference guide to scientific writing and communication for budding professionals in the life sciences and related fields. The book is designed to function both as a free-standing textbook for a course on writing in the sciences and as an accompanying text or reference guide in courses with writing-intensive components. It covers all the basics of scientific communication that students need to know and master for successful scientific careers. The book lays the foundation for professional writing by starting with basic scientific writing principles and then by applying these principles to lab reports, summaries, and critiques and eventually also to full-fledged scientific research articles, review articles, and grant proposals. Practical advice for organizing academic presentations and posters as well as for putting together job applications is also included.
How the Biosphere Works by
How the Biosphere Works: Fresh Views Discovered While Growing Peppers offers a simple and novel theoretical approach to understanding the history of the biosphere, including humanity's place within it. It also helps to clarify what the possibilities and limitations are for future action. This is a subject of wide interest because today we are facing a great many environmental issues, many of which may appear unconnected. Yet all these issues are part of our biosphere. For making plans for the future and addressing our long-term survival and well-being, an integrated knowledge of our biosphere and its history is therefore indispensable. Key Features Documents what the biosphere is, and what our position as humans within it is today. Describes how the biosphere has become the way it is. Summarizes the novel simple theoretical model proposed in the book, and thus, how the biosphere functions. Predicts what the possibilities and limitations are for future human action Emphasizes how simple but careful observations can lead to far-reaching theoretical implications.
Darwin's Reach by
"Evolutionary biology is applied to a wide range of practical problems in law, medicine, agriculture, the environment, and society. Although these applications can have a dark side, rapid progress is underway or should be expected in the near future due to recent advances in DNA sequencing, new gene editing tools, and computational methods"--
CRISPR People by
What does the birth of babies whose embryos had gone through genome editing mean--for science and for all of us? In November 2018, the world was shocked to learn that two babies had been born in China with DNA edited while they were embryos--as dramatic a development in genetics as the 1996 cloning of Dolly the sheep. In this book, Hank Greely, a leading authority on law and genetics, tells the fascinating story of this human experiment and its consequences. Greely explains what Chinese scientist He Jiankui did, how he did it, and how the public and other scientists learned about and reacted to this unprecedented genetic intervention. The two babies, nonidentical twin girls, were the first "CRISPR'd" people ever born (CRISPR, Clustered Regularly Interspaced Short Palindromic Repeats, is a powerful gene-editing method). Greely not only describes He's experiment and its public rollout (aided by a public relations adviser) but also considers, in a balanced and thoughtful way, the lessons to be drawn both from these CRISPR'd babies and, more broadly, from this kind of human DNA editing--"germline editing" that can be passed on from one generation to the next. Greely doesn't mince words, describing He's experiment as grossly reckless, irresponsible, immoral, and illegal. Although he sees no inherent or unmanageable barriers to human germline editing, he also sees very few good uses for it--other, less risky, technologies can achieve the same benefits. We should consider the implications carefully before we proceed.
Understanding Genes by
What are genes? What do genes do? These questions are not simple and straightforward to answer; at the same time, simplistic answers are quite prevalent and are taken for granted. This book aims to explain the origin of the gene concept, its various meanings both within and outside science, as well as to debunk the intuitive view of the existence of 'genes for' characteristics and disease. Drawing on contemporary research in genetics and genomics, as well as on ideas from history of science, philosophy of science, psychology and science education, it explains what genes are and what they can and cannot do. By presenting complex concepts and research in a comprehensible and rigorous manner, it examines the potential impact of research in genetics and genomics and how important genes actually are for our lives. Understanding Genes is an accessible and engaging introduction to genes for any interested reader.
Coral Reefs by
An eye-opening introduction to the complexity, wonder, and vital roles of coral reefs "Part memoir, part popular science, part call to action on climate change, the book makes a compelling case for why coral reefs deserve more attention. Sale's argument is as simple as it is powerful: as coral reefs go, so goes the rest of the planet." --Bryan P. Galligan, Commonweal When mass coral bleaching and die‑offs were first identified in the 1980s, and eventually linked to warming events, the scientific community was sure that such a dramatic and unambiguous signal would serve as a warning sign about the devastating effects of global warming. Instead, most people ignored that warning. Subsequent decades have witnessed yet more degradation. Reefs around the world have lost more than 50 percent of their living coral since the 1970s. In this book, distinguished marine ecologist Peter F. Sale imparts his passion for the unexpected beauty, complexity, and necessity of coral reefs. By placing reefs in the wider context of global climate change, Sale demonstrates how their decline is more than simply a one‑off environmental tragedy, but rather an existential warning to humanity. He offers a reframing of the enormous challenge humanity faces as a noble venture to steer the planet into safe waters that might even retain some coral reefs.
The marine environment and biodiversity by
Written primarily for 16-19 year old students, this primer introduces the key features of the marine environment and explores definitions of marine biodiversity at different levels of biological organization: genetic, species, ecosystem, and functional. It also discusses how changes in oceanfeatures due to human activities are having a negative impact on marine biological diversity.The primer aims to extend students' knowledge and inspire them to take their school-level learning further. It explores topics that are familiar from the curriculum and also introduces new ideas, giving students a first taste of the study of biology beyond school-level and demonstrating how conceptsfrequently encountered at school are relevant to and applied in current research.This is an ideal text to support students who are considering making the transition from studying biology at school to university.Digital formats and resourcesThe book is available for students and institutions to purchase in a variety of formats, and is supported by online resources:- The e-book offers a mobile experience and convenient access along with functionality tools, navigation features, and links that offer extra learning support: www.oxfordtextbooks.co.uk/ebooks- Online resources include multiple choice questions for students to check their understanding, and, for registered adopters, figures and tables from the book
Origins of biodiversity : an introduction to macroevolution and macroecology by
This book is a unique introduction to the fields of macroevolution and macroecology, taking an enquiry-led approach to exploring the evolution and distribution of biodiversity across time, space and lineages.The only introduction to macroevolution and macroecology to adopt an innovative enquiry-led, case study-based framework to encourage active learning and critical thinking, this book:Extends the study of evolutionary biology and ecology beyond the topics covered in typical undergraduate texts Explores the nature of scientific investigation by emphasizing hypothesis testing and highlighting the range of analytical tools available to contemporary researchers Encourages active student-driven learning by using open questions and current debates to promote critical thinking, identify interesting and important problems, and demonstrate how to frame testable research hypotheses Combines these three skills--an understanding of macroevolutionary and macroecological principles and patterns, a grasp of hypothesis testing, and the ability to identify important questions--to allow students to look at the world with new eyes, and develop an understanding of why the biological world is as it is. This title is available as an eBook. Visit VitalSource for more information or to purchase.
Cell Biology by
An accessible and straightforward intro to cell biology In the newly revised Fourth Edition of Cell Biology: A Short Course, a distinguished team of researchers delivers a concise and accessible introduction to modern cell biology, integrating knowledge from genetics, molecular biology, biochemistry, physiology, and microscopy. The book places a strong emphasis on drawing connections between basic science and medicine. Telling the story of cells as the units of life in a colorful and student-friendly manner, Cell Biology: A Short Course takes an "essentials only" approach. It conveys critical points without overburdening the reader with extraneous or secondary information. Clear diagrams and examples from current research accompany special boxed sections that focus on the importance of cell biology in medicine and industry. A new feature, "BrainBoxes" describes some of the key people who created the current understanding of Cell Biology. The book has been thoroughly revised and updated since the last edition and includes: Thorough introduction to cells and tissues, membranes, organelles, and the structure of DNA and genetic code Explorations of DNA as a data storage medium, transcription and the control of gene expression, and recombinant DNA and genetic engineering Discussion of the manufacture of proteins, protein structure, and intracellular protein trafficking Description of ions and voltages, intracellular and extracellular signaling Introduction to the cytoskeleton and cell movement Discussion of cell division and apoptosis Perfect for undergraduate students seeking an accessible, one-stop reference on cell biology, Cell Biology: A Short Course is also an ideal reference for pre-med students.
The Lives of Fungi by
A fascinating and richly illustrated exploration of the natural history of fungi We know fungi are important, for us as well as the environment. But how they live, and what they can do, remains mysterious and surprising. Filled with stunning photographs, The Lives of Fungi presents an inside look into their hidden and extraordinary world. The wonders of fungi are myriad: a mushroom poking up through leaf litter literally overnight, or the sensational hit of umami from truffle shavings. Alexander Fleming cured infections with mold and spiritual guides have long used psychedelic mushrooms to enhance understanding. Then there are the tiny threads of fungi, called hyphae, that create a communications network for the natural world while decomposing organic matter. Combining engaging and accessible text with beautiful images, The Lives of Fungi lays out all the essential facts about fungi for the mycologically curious.
Photosynthesis in Action by
Photosynthesis in Action examines the molecular mechanisms, adaptations and improvements of photosynthesis. With a strong focus on the latest research and advances, the book also analyzes the impact the process has on the biosphere and the effect of global climate change. Fundamental topics such as harvesting light, the transport of electronics and fixing carbon are discussed. The book also reviews the latest research on how abiotic stresses affect these key processes as well as how to improve each of them. This title explains how the process is flexible in adaptations and how it can be engineered to be made more effective. End users will be able to see the significance and potential of the processes of photosynthesis. Edited by renowned experts with leading contributors, this is an essential read for students and researchers interested in photosynthesis, plant science, plant physiology and climate change.
How Zoologists Organize Things by
Discover how categorisation has shaped our view of the natural world with How Zoologists Organize Things. The book unveils wild truths and even wilder myths about animals, as perpetuated by zoologists - revealing how much more there is to learn, and unlearn.
Animal bioethics : old dilemmas and new challenges by
"The philosophical background of monistic and dualistic concepts of the human-animal relationship is considered in detail. Experimental models in drug development and pain testing are analyzed, and the translational aspect of in vivo experiments discussed. One chapter is dedicated to neuroethics, taking into account the importance of animal experiments for examining brain function. Finally, an overview of modern legislation related to animal experiments is given, the ethical basis of the principles of Good Laboratory Practice is assessed, and the importance of animal bioethics for writing scientific projects is shown."
Waisted: the Biology of Body Fat by
Waisted: The Biology of Body Fat outlines the fascinating, often misunderstood and sometimes controversial biology of fat, otherwise known as adipose tissue. It provides a comprehensive, evidence-based perspective on fat biology and its crucial role in human evolution, health, disease, andsociety.The content draws upon biomedical, epidemiological, social and evolutionary research to understand the striking relationship between body fat distribution and health outcomes. Using digestible analogies, real-world examples and images, it highlights the multi-faceted relationship between adiposebiology and society. Waisted clearly conveys the key concepts and assumptions that can lead to negative perceptions of fat, and reframes these challenges to highlight the underappreciated importance of adipose tissue in humans.Waisted is an accessible yet in-depth exploration of the subject that is suitable for both specialists and non-specialists alike. It is a highly valuable resource for clinicians, health practitioners, biomedical researchers, and students who study adipose biology, obesity, and diseases related tofat dysfunction. This book also provides an interesting sociological and anthropological read for anyone who wants to gain a broader and deeper appreciation of the unique role that adipose tissue plays in human evolution and society, by considering how biological and social factors intersect.
DNA Demystified by
"For all those who fear they cannot understand the science of DNA -- they will soon find that they can and it's fascinating." -- Matt Ridley, author of Genome: The Autobiography of a Species in 23 Chapters DNA, once the exclusive domain of scientists in research labs, is now the darling of popular and social media. With personal genetic testing kits in homes and GMO foods in stores, DNA is an increasingly familiar term. Unfortunately, what people know, or think they know, about DNA and genetics is often confused or incorrect. Contrary to popular belief, for instance, genes don't "skip a generation" and, no, human DNA is not "different" from DNA of other species. With popular misconceptions proliferating in the news and on the internet, how can anyone sort fact from fiction? DNA Demystified satisfies the public appetite for and curiosity about DNA and genetics. Alan McHughen, an accomplished academic and public science advocate, brings the reader up-to-speed on what we know, what we don't, and where genetic technologies are taking us. The book begins with the basic groundwork and a brief history of DNA and genetics. Chapters then cover newsworthy topics, including DNA fingerprinting, using DNA in forensic analyses, and identifying cold-case criminals. For readers intrigued by the proliferation of at-home DNA tests, the text includes fascinating explorations of genetic genealogy and family tree construction-crucial for people seeking their biological ancestry. Other chapters describe genetic engineering in medicine and pharmaceuticals, and the use of those same technologies in creating the far more controversial GMOs in food and agriculture. Throughout, the book raises provocative ethical and privacy issues arising from DNA and genetic technologies. With the author's comprehensive expertise, DNA Demystified offers an informal yet authoritative guide to the genetic marvel of DNA.
Immunology by
Immunology offers the most contemporary perspective on the science available, providing a clear, easy-to-follow introduction to the discipline suitable for undergraduate students. In a course where students often get lost in vast amounts of detail and the sheer complexity of the immuneresponse, Immunology helps students see "the big picture" with an approachable narrative that presents the exquisite details of immunology while emphasizing the connections between key themes that students so often lose sight of when learning the material.Immunology features an exceptional illustration program and includes simple, clear explanations, abundant examples, and features that unravel the mysteries of immunology through accounts of classical discoveries and recent, cutting-edge research. Since many students in the course are preparing toenter careers in research, medicine, and other health professions, an appropriate amount of applied knowledge and clinical content is included in the narrative, features, and engaging case studies. Students will easily be able to make connections, moving beyond memorizing just what we know to trulyunderstanding how we know what we know--and why.
Plants, Genes, and Agriculture by
What needs to happen if we are going to feed almost 10 billion people by the year 2050 in a sustainable way? This interdisciplinary textbook for non-majors addresses this challenging question, presenting biological, economic, and sociocultural issues to consider the complexity of feedinghumanity and increasing food production sustainably.
