This guide is designed to assist you in your research.
A thorough reassessment of how domestic factors do and do not constrain the use of American military force abroad in the early twenty-first century. More than two decades have passed since the September 11th terrorist attacks resuscitated debates about the "imperial presidency" within the United States. During that same time, the United States has fought costly and inconclusive wars in Iraq and Afghanistan, pivoted to the Pacific to counter China, and pulled its gaze back to Europe and the Middle East in response to wars in Ukraine and Gaza. Moreover, new technologies and ways of funding and staffing wars have made the costs of war less visible to the public while polarization has increased and a new legal doctrine of presidential power has gained force. Against this backdrop, Checking the Costs of War reassesses how domestic factors have both constrained and failed to constrain the use of military power across different contexts and over time. Richly empirical chapters explore the varying effects of different kinds of potential checks: legislative, public opinion, and bureaucratic. Collectively, chapters offer new insight into the prospects for war and peace today.
Whether you're a lobbyist working for a law firm, public relations firm or multi-million dollar corporation, or a government affairs or public policy professional advocating on behalf of a nonprofit or charitable organization, labor union, trade association, or other public interest group, practitioners and clients alike must comply with certain laws that vary by jurisdiction. Keeping current with the all of the state and federal laws and regulations can be an arduous and time consuming task. The manual also contains descriptions of the legislative and executive branch decision-making processes, the constraints that apply to lobbyist participation in political campaigns, the techniques of grassroots lobbying, the professional norms of appropriate behavior that apply to lobbyists, and much more. The information contained in this handy guide is applicable at the federal, state and local levels and is designed for lawyers, government affairs professionals, legislative staff, regulators, professors and students or anyone who lobbies on behalf of an organization, interest group or client. You don't want to be without this valuable resource.
Introduced by presidential historian Ted Widmer, this work offers both the original texts and insightful essays by leading historians on each of the presidential inaugural addresses--from George Washington to Joseph Biden. Every four years, the incoming president of the United States delivers an inaugural address in a tradition that dates back to 1789, with the first inauguration of George Washington. The address tells Americans--and peoples around the world--what the country has been and what it has the potential to become. In a speech freighted with importance, they express their fears, their hopes, and their most personal aspirations for the nation and for democracy. This work brings together all of the inaugural addresses--from George Washington's first in 1789 through Joseph Biden's in 2021. What distinguishes it from other compilations of inaugural addresses are brief, original essays by leading scholars, speechwriters, historians, biographers, and editors of presidential papers that contextualize the speech within the presidential administration that followed. Each of the contributors explores what a president expected to be dealing with when entering the highest office in the land and what he hoped to do for the country. The authors examine decisions the president made and how this impacted the nation's trajectory. They also reflect on how the address relates to the president's legacy in and out of office. The essays also offer distinctive approaches: some consider the political, economic, and military status of the country; others the composition of the address itself; and still others the personal circumstances of the president at the time of his inauguration. Covering over 230 of years of American history, My Fellow Americans captures a snapshot of America at unique points in time, with perceptive commentaries by America's finest presidential historians and a broad-ranging introduction by Ted Widmer.
Everyday People provides a comprehensive assessment of Trump supporters including white supremacists, conspiracy theorists, the Christian right, and cult followers and offers students a discussion of how this group is a symptom of a much larger social issue and movement in the United States. McNamara examines the appeal of Trump as a president and explains why so many people voted for him in the first place. The text reviews the most recent and relevant literature on Trump supporters and their makeup including historical documents, government reports, research studies, and media sources, to unpack and understand the issues in an objective and empirical way. Students will understand the source and substance of the controversies surrounding Trump and his followers and understand how fear and complacency causes people to suspend rational thinking and to develop misguided loyalties.
Women, Politics, and Power provides a clear and detailed introduction to women's political participation and representation across all branches of government and a wide range of countries and regions. Using broad statistical overviews and detailed case-study accounts, authors Pamela Paxton, Melanie M. Hughes, and Tiffany D. Barnes document both historical trends and the contemporary state of women's political strength across diverse countries. The text considers experiences of women from a range of marginalized groups, including racial, ethnic, and religious minorities; indigenous peoples; and those that face discrimination based on their sexual orientation and gender identity. Readers will learn about cultural, structural, political, and international influences on women's access to political power, about the old and new barriers women continue to face like violence, and about the difference women make once in political office. Dedicated chapters on six geographic regions highlight distinct influences and patterns in different parts of the world. There is simply no other book that offers such a thorough and multidisciplinary synthesis of research on women's political power around the world. The fifth edition includes the latest information available on women in politics around the world, including current events as they have unfolded across the globe. The newest thinking in the field is presented, including on violence against women in politics and intersectional approaches.
How elements of masculinity manifest themselves in all aspects of American political life While hardly a new phenomenon, masculinity?which includes elements of toughness, independence, and leadership, among others?roared onto the national political stage in America with the 2016 candidacy, election, and presidency of Donald Trump. Research into masculinity dates back over a century, but little attention has been paid to the specific role of masculinity in politics beyond the conventional wisdom that it, rather than femininity, is the dominant force. This lack of research has led to a lack of knowledge on how exactly, and how much, masculinity shapes political structures, attitudes and behaviors, from children?s socialization to our masculine political world, to how a new generation views this traditional dominance. In Masculinity in American Politics, Monika L. McDermott and Dan Cassino bring together a prestigious group of interdisciplinary scholars to explore these questions and their implications for different aspects of political life. Topics include the challenge of defining and measuring masculinity, how perceptions of gender and masculinity can shape campaign messaging strategies and public opinion, and other discussions of political identity, including age, race, and ethnicity. With contributions from Melissa Deckman, Jill S. Greenlee, Amanda Bittner, and other high-profile scholars, this comprehensive volume provides insight into masculinity and its high-stakes political manifestations, particularly as Gen Z fights to redefine the contours of their own gender and sexuality. Drawing upon insights from politics, sociology, psychology, and the broader social sciences, Masculinity in American Politics pushes the field to look ?beyond the binary? and illuminate this brave, new world of political conflict and possibility.
This book examines U.S. defense policy toward Israel during the Cold War, emphasizing arms sales, intelligence sharing, and other security cooperation. It argues that strategic interests drove American policy with other considerations, such as domestic politics and shared liberal values, mattering far less. It begins with the presidency of John F. Kennedy and ends with the presidency of George H. W. Bush with a particular focus on government officials: presidents, secretaries of state, secretaries of defense, national security advisors, other administration officials, and senators and Congressmen. The book explores the primacy of security as American officials feared nuclear proliferation, regional war, and a cut-off of oil supplies. All the while, tensions and often bitter disagreements in the U.S.-Israel relationship abounded over what to do about threats in the Middle East. This volume will be of interest to those studying American relations with the rest of the Middle East and U.S. security partnerships around the world.
A comprehensive communication analysis of the 2024 presidential campaign Presidential campaigns are more than elections, they are cultural touchstones that shape national identity and political discourse. The 2024 presidential campaign was a defining moment in American history, marked by political polarization and cultural turns. In The 2024 Presidential Campaign: A Communication Perspective Robert E. Denton, Jr. and a team of esteemed scholars offer an incisive look at the strategies, narratives, and media that influenced this landmark election. Examining all key areas of the 2024 election through the lens of communication, this timely volume delves into critical facets of campaign messaging, including political advertising and established news media. Discussions of recent developments such as AI-generated content and the expansion of alternative media provide a deeper understanding of how rapid technological advancement impacts both presidential campaigns and American democracy. Each chapter provides unique insights, connecting communication theory to real-world electoral phenomena. Presents in-depth analyses of televised debates, social media strategies, and advertising Explores the use of humor in computer-generated images and political cartoons Includes chapters on candidate branding and political party conventions Addresses the impact of campaign finance on electoral outcomes Offers the latest insights into digital and mediated campaign practices Provides a unique perspective on cultural and generational shifts in U.S. politics The 2024 Presidential Campaign: A Communication Perspective is essential reading for scholars and students in Political Science, Journalism, and Communication, particularly those studying presidential campaigns, media and politics, and the presidency. Ideal for upper-level undergraduate and graduate courses, it is also a valuable resource for professionals in political campaign management.
Tackling perhaps the most contentious and socially urgent political movement of the last century, Scott R. Sehon lays bare the arguments for and against socialism, investigating their logical scaffolding and revealing exactly what is assumed in charged and often vital discussions of labor conditions and human well-being. Sehon provides a straightforward presentation and logical analysis of the arguments to make very clear which arguments work, and which do not.While the book aims to be fair to the arguments from both sides, Sehon ultimately sides with socialism and maintains that the arguments indicate that we should move in a strongly democratic socialist direction. Nearly every contemporary counterclaim to socialism is addressed and interrogated, and even the more dubious arguments in favor of socialism are taken up. Naturally, the defender of capitalism will deny these premises and claim that capitalism better promotes human well-being; many capitalists also claim that socialism does violate individual rights, particularly property rights. The bulk of the book sorts through the data and arguments on both sides, considering arguments from philosophers such as G.A. Cohen, Ronald Dworkin, David Schweickart, John Tomasi, and Jonathan Wolff, as well as prominent economists such as Milton Friedman and F.A. Hayek. The reader of Socialism will find a clear introduction to one of the most crucial social movements of our time.
Interest Groups and Lobbying shows how political organizations and their lobbyists play a crucial role in how policy is made in the United States. It cuts through the myths and misconceptions about interest groups and lobbyists with an accessible and comprehensive text supported by real-world examples and the latest research. New to the Third Edition Further updates and expands the discussion of social media and other online activity engaged in by interest groups, showing that they have become more sophisticated in their use of the internet - especially social media - for keeping current members informed and for their advocacy work. New case studies on more recent advocacy efforts. Updated data used in the book, including: Data on the ideological distribution of Washington interest groups Total number and types of interest groups lobbying in the 50 states Data on campaign contributions Data on amicus briefs and case sponsorship New discussion on the ethical and public interest obligations of lobbyists.
Need assistance? Contact us during our operating hours!
Our normal operating hours are:
Please check the RCBC Library homepage for closings and extended hours.
Research assistance - help finding sources, evaluating sources
Online workshops for citing and plagiarism are held throughout the semester. To request a citing workshop, please email library@rcbc.edu