Evening Train by
"Evening Train, Denise Levertov's new collection of poetry, is her twenty-first book with New Directions and one of her best. It shows Levertov at her most moving and musical, impressive and meditative, addressing the nature of faith, the imperiled beauty of the natural world (her new home in the Northwest brings mountains, herons, eagles), the horrors of the Gulf War, the pain and tenderness of love. What is remarkable throughout is the precision of her craft and her presence of mind: "Levertov's gift for detail," as the Village Voice noted, "is matched by the way she can make yearnings and ideas seem almost physical, as if she held them in the palm of her hand." Welling up through these poems is longing: longing for peace, for the survival of her cherished earth, for love, for the experience of the divine which comes like "a strain of music heard/then lost, then heard again." Contemplative, personal, universal, the poems reveal in themselves depth after depth."--BOOK JACKET.Title Summary field provided by Blackwell North America, Inc. All Rights Reserved
Circles on the Water by
More than 150 poems from her seven books of poetry written between 1963 and 1982.
Nailing up the Home Sweet Home by 
If They Come for Us by
"A debut poetry collection showcasing both a fierce and tender new voice."--Booklist "Elegant and playful . . . The poet invents new forms and updates classic ones."--Elle "[Fatimah] Asghar interrogates divisions along lines of nationality, age, and gender, illuminating the forces by which identity is fixed or flexible."--The New Yorker NAMED ONE OF THE TOP TEN BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY THE NEW YORK PUBLIC LIBRARY * FINALIST FOR THE LAMBDA LITERARY AWARD an aunt teaches me how to tell an edible flower from a poisonous one. just in case, I hear her say, just in case. From a co-creator of the Emmy-nominated web series Brown Girls comes an imaginative, soulful debut poetry that collection captures the experiences of being a young Pakistani Muslim woman in contemporary America. Orphaned as a child, Fatimah Asghar grapples with coming of age and navigating questions of sexuality and race without the guidance of a mother or father. These poems at once bear anguish, joy, vulnerability, and compassion, while also exploring the many facets of violence: how it persists within us, how it is inherited across generations, and how it manifests itself in our relationships. In experimental forms and language both lyrical and raw, Asghar seamlessly braids together marginalized people's histories with her own understanding of identity, place, and belonging. Praise for If They Come for Us "In forms both traditional . . . and unorthodox . . . Asghar interrogates divisions along lines of nationality, age, and gender, illuminating the forces by which identity is fixed or flexible. Most vivid and revelatory are pieces such as 'Boy,' whose perspicacious turns and irreverent idiom conjure the rich, jagged textures of a childhood shadowed by loss."--The New Yorker "[Asghar's] debut poetry collection cemented her status as one of the city's greatest present-day poets. . . . A stunning work of art that tackles place, race, sexuality and violence. These poems--both personal and historical, both celebratory and aggrieved--are unquestionably powerful in a way that would doubtless make both Gwendolyn Brooks and Harriet Monroe proud."--Chicago Review of Books "Taut lines, vivid language, and searing images range cover to cover. . . . Inventive, sad, gripping, and beautiful."--Library Journal (starred review)
Eyes, Stones by
In this debut collection, Eyes, Stones, Elana Bell brings her heritage as the granddaughter of Holocaust survivors to consider the difficult question of the Israeli-Palestinian conflict. The poems invoke characters inexorably linked to the land of Israel and Palestine. There is Zosha, a sharp-witted survivor whose burning hope for a Jewish homeland helps her endure the atrocities of the Holocaust. And there is Amal, a Palestinian whose family has worked their land for over one hundred years -- through Turkish, British, Jordanian, and now Israeli rule. Other poems -- inspired by interviews conducted by the poet in Israel, the Palestinian territories, and America -- examine Jewish and Arab relationships to the land as biblical home, Zionist dream, modern state, and occupied territory.
A Message from the Poetic Messenger by 
Kicking Daffodils by
This book calls for a new approach to poetry criticism. Eighteen brilliant essays offer challenging new theoretical approaches by examining the work of twentieth-century women poets. Poets covered include the most famous - Sylvia Plath, Elizabeth Bishop, Jackie Kay, Liz Lochhead, Grace Nichols, Eavan Boland - and the more neglected such as Una Marson, Jean Binta Breeze, Lorine Niedecker and Denise Riley. The essays are grouped into six sections: women poets and modernism; the politics of place; (post)colonial contexts; the body; radical poetics; and reconfigurations; and within these areas, war poetry, Caribbean, Irish and Scottish women's poetry, birth poetry and science poetry are also discussed.
Victorian Women Poets by
This is part of the Everyman series which includes an introduction, chronology of the authors' lives and times and a summary of theme and style. The books also contain an annotated bibliography, selected notes and criticism. It contains poems in differing styles by 30 women who published between 1830 and 1900. Elizabeth Barrett Browning, the Bronte sisters and Christina Rossetti are amongh this period's chief proponents.
100 Great Poems by Women by
"Pulitzer Prize-winning poet Carolyn Kizer has compiled the second volume in the Golden Ecco Anthology series. This collection is devoted to one hundred of the finest poems written by women." "Kizer begins with a woman writing anonymously in the fifteenth century, and takes us up to the present with important contemporary authors such as Marianne Moore, Louise Bogan, Gwendolyn Brooks, Amy Clampitt, Adrienne Rich, Margaret Atwood, Sharon Olds, Louise Gluck, Jorie Graham, and Thylias Moss. This extraordinary anthology also contains major poets such as Emily Dickinson, Sylvia Plath, and Gertrude Stein. And there is a generous selection of relatively unknown and wonderfully eccentric poets who wrote in obscurity during the past five hundred years."--BOOK JACKET.Title Summary field provided by Blackwell North America, Inc. All Rights Reserved
Shadowed Dreams by
The first edition of Shadowed Dreams was a groundbreaking anthology that brought to light the contributions of women poets to the Harlem Renaissance. This revised and expanded version contains twice the number of poems found in the original, many of them never before reprinted, and adds eighteen new voices to the collection to once again strike new ground in African American literary history. Also new to this edition are nine period illustrations and updated biographical introductions for each poet. Shadowed Dreams features new poems by Gwendolyn Bennett, Anita Scott Coleman, Mae Cowdery, Blanche Taylor Dickinson, Alice Dunbar-Nelson, Jessie Fauset, Angelina Weld Grimké, Gladys Casely Hayford (a k a Aquah Laluah), Virginia Houston, Georgia Douglas Johnson, Helene Johnson, Effie Lee Newsome, Esther Popel, and Anne Spencer, as well as writings from newly discovered poets Carrie Williams Clifford, Edythe Mae Gordon, Alvira Hazzard, Gertrude Parthenia McBrown, Beatrice Murphy, Lucia Mae Pitts, Grace Vera Postles, Ida Rowland, and Lucy Mae Turner, among others. Covering the years 1918 through 1939 and ranging across the period's major and minor journals, as well as its anthologies and collections, Shadowed Dreams provides a treasure trove of poetry from which to mine deeply buried jewels of black female visions in the early twentieth century.