ADA Practical Guide to Effective Infection Prevention and Control, Fifth Edition by
This book outlines the importance of implementing comprehensive infection prevention and control practices in the dental office or other treatment setting. This revised edition features new chapters on Dental Water Quality and Special Considerations and Pandemic Preparedness and synthesizes the most current science-based recommendations for infection prevention and control in dental settings from the CDC and Federal agency rules and regulations, including OSHA, the FDA, and the EPA. The book is organized into five chapters: Chapter 1: Fundamentals of Infection Prevention and Control Chapter 2: Disinfection and Sterilization Chapter 3: Dental Water Quality Chapter 4: Infection Control During Clinical Procedures Chapter 5: Special Considerations and Pandemic Preparedness. Includes a self-assessment checklist of current infection control practices and review questions to reinforce important concepts. An accompanying CE quiz worth three credits is available at ADACEonline.org.
The Dentist's Drug and Prescription Guide by
The updated and authoritative reference to medications used in dental practice The revised and updated second edition of The Dentist's Drug and Prescription Guide offers a practical and quick reference to medications commonly prescribed in dental practice. With contributions from experts on the topic, this comprehensive book takes an accessible question-and-answer format, providing answers to common questions dentists ask about drugs. The most updated information on drugs is presented throughout, including the current antibiotic prophylaxis guidelines and newer osteoporosis drugs. A new section describes how to manage patients on medications, and includes new chapters on the important topics of opioid prescribing and abuse and pain management. Alternative effective medications for opioids are discussed in detail. Putting all the prescription and drug information needed in daily dental practice at your fingertips, The Dentist's Drug and Prescription Guide is an essential reference for practicing dental clinicians and dental hygienists. This important book: Offers a comprehensive and accessible guide to essential information about medications used in dental practice Presents detailed information about drugs in an easy-to-use question-and-answer format Provides answers to commonly asked questions about drugs Refers to current, evidence-based pharmacology information, tailored for the dental clinician Features information on opioid prescribing and abuse and pain management Written for both general and specialist dentists and dental hygienists, the revised second edition of The Dentist's Drug and Prescription Guide is a must-have reference for the most current information available on medications used in the dental profession.
Neuroscience for Dentistry by
A practical, reader-friendly guide for dental students on the neuroscience of the orofacial region Understanding neural mechanisms that control orofacial pain, proper masticatory function, taste, speech, swallowing, and proprioceptive input to the temporomandibular joint and teeth is an important facet of dentistry. Neuroscience of Dentistry by renowned educators Barbara J. O'Kane and Laura C. Barritt provides foundational knowledge on these topics. The text integrates fundamental concepts of general neuroscience with vital information on neural mechanisms of the orofacial region and associated pain pathways. The book is organized in two parts covering basic neuroscience and orofacial neuroscience. Part one is subdivided into four units on the central nervous system, brain and spinal cord gross anatomy, sensory systems, and motor systems. Part two features three units focused on orofacial structures and tissues, dental structures, and orofacial pain and anesthesia. Each generously illustrated, succinctly written, and consistently formatted chapter includes an introductory overview and learning objectives. Key Highlights Throughout the book, relevant clinical correlations emphasize the relationship between basic neuroscience and clinical practice Concise, high-yield illustrations, schematics, charts, and tables enhance understanding of general and orofacial neuroanatomy concepts Helpful overviews at the beginning of each chapter highlight key concepts National board style questions at the end of each chapter emphasize board-relevant information that enables self-study This is a must-have resource for dental students taking neuroscience during their first or second year of dental school. It will also benefit other health science and dental hygiene students, as well as oral and maxillofacial surgery residents.
Modern Dental Assisting by
Easily master all aspects of dental assisting with the most up-to-date and trusted text available. For more than 45 years, students and practitioners alike have relied on Modern Dental Assisting for its cutting-edge content, easy-to-grasp writing style, step-by-step procedures, and top-notch visuals. And the new 14th edition is no exception. With updated content - including the latest technological advancements, clinical photographs, and coverage of cultural diversity and how it relates to patient care - this new edition will guide you from your first day of class all the way to your first job in dental assisting. Comprehensive, cutting-edge content presented in an approachable writing style aids comprehension. Step-by-step procedures for general and expanded functions include helpful color-coding and photos. Chapter features include recall questions throughout; boxes on infection control and CDC practices; and end-of-chapter elements regarding patient education, law and ethics, future trends, and critical thinking. Key terminology list offers definitions, visual highlights within chapter discussions, and an alphabetized list in the glossary with cross-references to chapter locations. Learning and performance outcomes address didactic knowledge and clinical skills mastery. NEW! Expanded coverage of digital technology topics in general dentistry and dental specialties prepares you to work in modern dental settings. NEW! Additional illustrations enhance an already stellar art program, with more than 1,700 images. NEW! Consistent chapter organization with modernized learning outcomes help you understand important topics more easily. UPDATED! Dentrix Learning Edition based on Dentrix G7.3, available for download on the companion Evolve website, gives you experience working with practice management software. UPDATED! Revised Dentrix exercises on the Evolve companion website correlate with the updated Dentrix Learning Edition software.
Applied Pharmacology for the Dental Hygienist by
With a focus on the most commonly used drugs in dentistry, Applied Pharmacology for the Dental Hygienist, 8th Editionprovides you with an in-depth understanding of the pharmacologic principles needed for safe and effective dental treatment and oral health care. It discusses drug properties and mechanisms of action, dosages, intended effects, interactions, and adverse reactions - both for the medications a patient may already be taking and for the drugs prescribed by the dentist. This new edition has been updated throughout to give you a firm foundation in pharmacology in order to assess and educate patients so they can maintain optimal oral health! IMPROVED! Test Bank with cognitive leveling based on Bloom's Taxonomy mapped to the National Board Dental Hygiene Examination (NBDHE) blueprint. Comprehensive coverage with a dental focus provides you with an in-depth understanding of the most commonly used drugs, how they work, and how they affect patients' oral health and dental treatment options. Multiple opportunities for classroom and board exam prep offers summaries and review questions at the end of each chapter, helping you to assess your knowledge of the material. Key terms are bolded and in color within each chapter and defined in a handy glossary. Full-color design engages the reader and includes additional illustrations showing basic principles and internal processes, along with photographs of oral conditions and side effects. Separate drug index provides easy look-up of specific drugs and types of drugs. Quick-reference appendixes include resources such as the top 200 drugs, medical acronyms, and information on herbal and dietary supplements. NEW! Updated drug content throughout, including new side effects and warnings for many commonly seen drugs. NEW! Elsevier Animation Collection clips on Evolve includes systemic anatomy and physiology.
Local Anesthesia for the Dental Hygienist by
Binder-Ready Edition: This loose-leaf copy of the full text is a convenient, accessible, and customizable alternative to the bound book. With this binder-ready edition, students can personalize the text to match their unique needs! Learn the safe use of local anesthesia with the only book written specifically for dental hygienists! Local Anesthesia for the Dental Hygienist, 3rd Edition provides a complete guide to pharmacology and anesthetic techniques, helping you learn procedures before you work with actual patients. Detailed drawings show dental anatomy and full-color photos illustrate specific injection techniques; case studies let you apply your knowledge to clinical practice. The Evolve website includes procedure videos and prepares you for success on board exams with practice questions and a mock licensure exam. Writing in a warm, humanistic style, dental hygiene educator Demetra Logothetis will allay any fears you may have in working with local and topical anesthetics. Clear, approachable writing style makes it easier to learn proper techniques and gain confidence, acknowledging not only the patient's fear of injection but also the fears of the inexperienced clinician. More than 400 full-color photographs and illustrations show techniques, procedures, and instruments. Procedures boxes provide illustrated, step-by-step instructions for performing specific procedures, including indications, contraindications, nerves and teeth affected, operator and patient positioning, insertion point, penetration, amount of anesthetic, and working time. Case studies make it easier to apply concepts to the clinical setting and to develop problem-solving skills. Review questions at the end of each chapter provide the opportunity to assess your understanding, and the Evolve website provides chapter practice quizzes and a 55-question mock examination. Dental Hygiene Considerations boxes summarize key points and tips for optimal care. Expert author Demetra Logothetis is an educator with more than 20 years of experience teaching local anesthesia administration for dental hygienists. Key terms are highlighted within the text and defined in the glossary. NEW! Updated information is provided on local anesthesia guidelines. NEW! Videos of 15 local anesthesia procedures on the Evolve website demonstrate how to perform procedures. NEW! Updated clinical photos are added to show examples of both proper and improper technique. NEW! Updated case studies, procedure boxes, and multiple-choice review questions allow you to measure your progress.
Mosby's Dental Drug Reference by
No dental office should be without this quick-reference drug handbook! Ideal for chairside use by the entire dental team, Mosby's Dental Drug Reference, 13th Edition provides guidelines for safe, accurate drug administration. More than 800 drug monographs make it easy to find the information most relevant to oral healthcare practitioners, including indications and dosages, contraindications, interactions, side effects, serious reactions, and dental-specific drug data. From lead editor Arthur Jeske, a well-known researcher and author on dental pharmacology, this pocket guide provides the current, concise drug information needed at the point of care. More than 800 drug monographs include each drug's generic name, pronunciation, brand names, drug class, controlled substances schedule, mechanism of action, uses or indications, pharmacokinetics, doses and routes of administration, side effects/adverse reactions, contraindications, precautions, drug interactions of concern to dentistry, and more. Durable, pocket-sized format provides essential drug information at a glance, and makes this guide ideal for chairside use. Detailed dental considerations at the end of each monograph include an easy-to-use, bulleted list of specific dental-related information as well as general drug information, saving you time with information that is dentistry-focused and easy to use. Convenient reference information in the front of the guide includes a primer on the management of medically compromised patients, and the back of the guide includes convenient appendices on abbreviations, drugs associated with dry mouth, drugs that affect taste, oral contraceptives, preventing medication errors, and improving medication safety. Emphasis on oral health, prevention, and treatment from the dental hygienist's perspective makes it easier to use drug information for patient and family education. Coverage of oral contraceptives provides dental information on these commonly used drugs, often known to patients only by their brand names. Evolve website includes more than 100 additional monographs, including new monographs on monoclonal antibodies, images of common pathologic conditions, and information on common oral complications, alternative medicine, and drugs of abuse. NEW! More than 70 new monographs are included on the Evolve website for newly released, FDA-approved monoclonal antibody drugs, plus up-to-date content on the latest drug therapies.