Modern Dental Assisting
by
Easily master all aspects of dental assisting with the most up-to-date and trusted text available. For more than 45 years, students and practitioners alike have relied on Modern Dental Assisting for its cutting-edge content, easy-to-grasp writing style, step-by-step procedures, and top-notch visuals. And the new 14th edition is no exception. With updated content - including the latest technological advancements, clinical photographs, and coverage of cultural diversity and how it relates to patient care - this new edition will guide you from your first day of class all the way to your first job in dental assisting. Comprehensive, cutting-edge content presented in an approachable writing style aids comprehension. Step-by-step procedures for general and expanded functions include helpful color-coding and photos. Chapter features include recall questions throughout; boxes on infection control and CDC practices; and end-of-chapter elements regarding patient education, law and ethics, future trends, and critical thinking. Key terminology list offers definitions, visual highlights within chapter discussions, and an alphabetized list in the glossary with cross-references to chapter locations. Learning and performance outcomes address didactic knowledge and clinical skills mastery. NEW! Expanded coverage of digital technology topics in general dentistry and dental specialties prepares you to work in modern dental settings. NEW! Additional illustrations enhance an already stellar art program, with more than 1,700 images. NEW! Consistent chapter organization with modernized learning outcomes help you understand important topics more easily. UPDATED! Dentrix Learning Edition based on Dentrix G7.3, available for download on the companion Evolve website, gives you experience working with practice management software. UPDATED! Revised Dentrix exercises on the Evolve companion website correlate with the updated Dentrix Learning Edition software.
Newman and Carranza's Clinical Periodontology and Implantology
by
Learn and master a range of clinical techniques and achieve therapeutic goals with Newman and Carranza's Clinical Periodontology and Implantology, 14th Edition! Unmatched for its comprehensive approach, this resource provides detailed, up-to-date information on the etiology and pathogenesis of periodontal disease. Basic and advanced evidence-based information on the various treatment modalities employed in periodontics and implantology is presented in an easy-to-read format, with callout boxes throughout the text highlighting the clinical relevance of foundational basic science information. Full-color photos and radiographic images depict periodontal conditions and procedures, and the Atlas of Periodontal Pathology is one of the most comprehensive ever compiled in a periodontal textbook. Written by a team of leading experts led by Michael G. Newman, this text not only demonstrates how to perform periodontal procedures but explains the evidence supporting each treatment and provides knowledge on how to achieve the best possible outcomes of periodontal therapy and implant treatment. An eBook version is included with print purchase, providing access to all the text, figures, and references, plus the ability to search, customize content, make notes and highlights, and have content read aloud. The eBook version included with print purchase also includes Periopixel 3D color illustrations, a periodontal classification calculator and interactive learning tool, review questions, case studies, videos, 3D animations, and more! This edition features new chapters on Precision Medicine, Pocket Reduction Therapy, Periodontal Referral, and Digital Implant Workflows, as well as an updated glossary of terms linked to the eBook. It also features first-of-its-kind content on the effects of COVID-19 on treatment from key opinion leaders in this area. Case studies reflect the new format of the Integrated National Board Dental Exam (INBDE). Full-color photos, illustrations, radiographs, animations, simulations, and videos demonstrate how to perform periodontal and implant procedures. Current information on clinical techniques in periodontology and the latest advances in basic science. Evidence-based treatment planning provides knowledge on how to achieve the best possible outcomes of periodontal therapy and implant treatment. Extensive color atlas of periodontal pathology Internationally known experts contribute chapters on their areas of specialty. An eBook version is included with print purchase, providing access to all the text, figures, and references, plus the ability to search, customize content, make notes and highlights, and have content read aloud. NEW! Chapters on Precision Medicine, Periodontal Referral, and Digital Implant Workflows provide comprehensive information for these key areas of implant dentistry. NEW! Pocket Reduction Therapy chapters discuss the use of lasers in pocket reduction therapy. NEW! Updated discussions cover the use of digital dentistry in periodontics and implant dentistry as well as new content on the effects of COVID-19 on treatment. NEW! Updated format reflects current learning principles, the integrated curriculum design used in most dental schools, and the format of the Integrated National Board Dental Examination (INBDE). NEW! Periopixel 3D color illustrations are included in the text and eBook version included with print purchase, in addition to 3D animations, author videos, clinical videos, and more. NEW! Periodontal classification calculator and interactive learning tool is available in the eBook version included with print purchase.
Practical Periodontics
by
The second edition of this popular textbook provides a concise and easy-to-follow guide that will increase the confidence of students and clinicians alike in managing all aspects of periodontal care. Practical Periodontics provides evidence-based information on the essentials of clinical periodontology, written by internationally renowned contributors in an accessible, practical style. It covers all aspects of the discipline, including the aetiology of periodontal diseases, clinical management, patient education, paediatric care, and the interaction of periodontology with other dental disciplines such as implant dentistry and orthodontics. This book will be invaluable to all undergraduate dentistry, hygiene and therapy students. It is also highly relevant for practising dentists, dental hygienists and therapists as a source of up-to-date, evidence-based information on periodontics. Supported by a wide range of online material, including video, case reports and revision questions Practical approach that brings learning to life Accessible style, chapter overviews, learning objectives and key points boxes to aid revision Full colour illustrations to demystify complex processes New chapter on implants Aligns with European Federation of Periodontology and British Society of Periodontology and Implant Dentistry guidelines for care and management of patients with periodontitis Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Dental Care and Oral Health Sourcebook
by
"Provides basic consumer health information about dental hygiene, preventive care, and oral health concerns for children and adults, with facts about surgical, orthodontic, and orofacial procedures, and diseases of the mouth and jaw. Includes index, glossary of related terms, and other resources"--
Newman and Carranza's Clinical Periodontology for the Dental Hygienist
by
The complete health-focused approach makes this a must-have instructional resource to support you throughout your Dental Hygiene educational program and beyond. Based on the trusted content in Newman and Carranza's Clinical Periodontology, the most widely used periodontal textbook in the world, this resource provides the most up-to-date, complete, and essential information. The broad range of content covers everything from the biology of the periodontium - how it's structured and the functions it serves, the new classification of periodontal disease, the link between periodontal disease and systemic health, and more. An extensive clinical section contains a complete guide to everything from procedure instrumentation to patient management at the point of care. Full color photos, illustrations, radiographs show how to perform periodontal procedures. Case based practice questions and skill evaluation checklists promote board-exam readiness. The clear instruction and health-focused approach provides support throughout the Dental Hygiene program and beyond. Access to this product, which may be at the discretion of your institution, is up to 3 years of online and perpetual offline access. Elsevier reserves the right to restrict or remove access due to changes in product portfolio or other market conditions. Online student and educator support on Evolve. Dental hygiene emphasis and relevance provides solid foundational content. Comprehensive topic coverage focuses on the translation of the science to evidence-based practice and clinical decision making. Extensive full-color photos and illustrations clearly demonstrate core concepts and reinforce important principles. Case-based clinical scenarios incorporated throughout the book mimic the patient case format used in credentialing exams. Many new and important chapters on periimplantitis, resolving inflammation, evidence-based decision making, and critical thinking. Robust art program of clinical images, charts, graphs, and unique illustrations enhances engagement. The most complete atlas of periodontal pathology ever offered for the dental hygienist. Key information and highlights presented as call out boxes.