This timely volume is a comprehensive review of the evolution, diagnosis, prevention, control, and treatment strategies (both modern as well as complementary and alternative) being used against COVID-19. With chapters written by experts in diverse medical fields from around the world, the volume presents authentic and easily understood information on this novel and often deadly virus. The book is organized in sections that cover pathology, epidemiology, and diagnosis; prevention strategies; and treatment. The book first covers the morphology, pathogenesis, genome organization and replication of coronavirus (COVID-19) and then goes on to address epidemiology and pathogenesis, the psychological effects, and detection assays and techniques. Chapters on prevention strategies discuss social distancing and quarantine, face masks and hand sanitizers, lockdown strategies, and vaccines. The authors also cover diverse treatment strategies, including using medicinal plants, natural products, and traditional Chinese medicines as well as nanomedicines.
Coping with COVID-19: The Medical, Mental, and Social Consequences of the Pandemic provides readers with unique and timely insights about the single most disruptive and epoch-defining public health event of the last 100 years. Written in an easy-to-read and accessible style, widely respected psychiatrist and author Dr. Samoon Ahmad explores both the science of the virus and the lasting psychological, clinical, and professional implications of the pandemic in two well-organized parts. The first part of the book examines the historical precedents of pandemics, as well as the virology and symptomology of SARS-CoV-2. The second part covers the broader effects of the pandemic on society with special consideration being given to its impact on public health policy, the medical industry, and the individual psychology of children and adults. Discusses the historical background, initial outbreak, and early spread of COVID-19, followed by chapters on transmission models, pathology, and neurologic and psychiatric symptoms Covers mental health and other clinical concerns, public health, and professional implications for practicing physicians and other healthcare workers Shares the experience and knowledge of Samoon Ahmad, MD, Clinical Professor of Psychiatry at NYU Grossman School of Medicine, Unit Chief of Psychiatric Inpatient Unit at Bellevue Hospital Center, co-author of Medical Marijuana: A Clinical Handbook andco-editor of Kaplan & Sadock's Pocket Handbook of Clinical Psychiatry An excellent resource for psychiatrists, neurologists, primary care, family medicine, and critical care physicians, medical students, nurse practitioners, physician assistants, as well as the general public Enrich Your eBook Reading Experience Read directly on your preferred device(s),such as computer, tablet, or smartphone. Easily convert to audiobook,powering your content with natural language text-to-speech.
Organizations, strategic risk management and resilience : the impact of COVID-19 on tourism by
"Organizations, Strategic Risk Management and Resilience: The Impact of Covid-19 on Tourism aims to identify, analyse, and underline the importance of having a conceptual framework designed to develop and improve the risk management and resilience for organizations, in particularly during times of crisis. In the aftermath of COVID-19 it is of paramount importance to predict the trajectory of change in consumer behavior to help managers identify the basis of a resilience strategy to ideally respond to the current situation. In particular, the book focuses on the analysis and description of the Italian tourism sector, giving a description on how the tourism sector reacted to COVID-19, underlining the importance to adopt a resilient approach relevant for evaluating the effective impact of the pandemic dynamics and to provide support tools for decision-makers to be prepared for the unexpected and to be able to follow a smart adaptation. The book shows the latest state of knowledge on the topic and will be of interest to students at an advanced level, academics and reflective practitioners in the fields of strategic and risk management and the business of tourism"-- Provided by publisher.
The Great Lockdown by
A collection of insider accounts describing the organizational impact of COVID-19 In The Great Lockdown: Lessons Learned During the Pandemic from Organizations Around the Globe, expert strategists Shivaji Das, Aroop Zutshi , and Janesh Janardhanan deliver an insightful exploration of this once-in-a-lifetime event to unearth invaluable learnings for the future. Told through the experiences of CXOs at billion-dollar companies, star start-ups, and non-profits from around the world, the book chronicles the ups and downs of sophisticated organizations as they navigated the COVID-19 crisis through initiatives impacting people, processes, and technology. Revealing case studies contributed by the CXOs of companies spanning multiple geographies - from the USA to Iran, Uganda to Hong Kong, and multiple sectors - social media, technology, aviation, luxury retail, healthcare, etc. Incisive analyses of the techniques and strategies that worked--or didn't--for organizations during the COVID-19 pandemic, covering the role and evolution of leadership, organizational culture, innovation and digitization Practical guidance for business leaders to apply to their own firms in times of great economic upheaval: the next pandemic, climate disasters, cyber-attacks The leaders contributing their organization's survival and revival stories include those from Julius Baer, SAP, Terumo, IndiGrid, Tapsi, Fonterra, Hornet Networks, Globalization Partners, beCuriou, GoGoX, Abacus Pharma, Real Wear Inc, SOS Children's Villages, Bangalore International Airport, and A Lange & Sohne. Perfect for executives, managers, and other business leaders, The Great Lockdown is an invaluable addition to the libraries of anyone interested in case studies of corporate resilience and endurance in the face of unprecedented economic challenges.
Pandemic Economics by
"Pandemic Economics applies economic theory to the Covid-19 era, exploring the micro and macro dimensions of the pre-pandemic, pandemic and post-pandemic phases. Using core economic tools such as marginal analysis, cost-benefit analysis and opportunity cost, this book explores the breadth of economic outcomes from the pandemic. It shows that a trade-off between public health and economic health led to widespread problems, including virus infections and under-employment. Taking an international and comparative approach, the book shows that because countries implemented different economic policies, interventions and timelines during the crisis, outcomes varied with respect to the extent of recession, process of recovery, availability of medical equipment, public health and additional waves of the virus. Pedagogical features are weaved throughout the text, including country case studies, key terms, suggested further reading, and discussion questions for solo or group study. On top of this, the book offers online supplements comprising PowerPoint slides, test questions, extra case studies and an instructor guide. This textbook will be a valuable resource for advanced undergraduate and postgraduate courses on pandemic economics, macroeconomics, health economics, public policy and related areas"-- Provided by publisher.
Economic Policy and the Covid-19 Crisis by
"This book offers an assessment of the different monetary and fiscal policy responses that have been implemented by national governments in major European and Asian countries faced with the Covid-19 crisis since 2020; it also deals with the case of the US experience as a benchmarking example. The book provides a comprehensive cross-country comparative study on health crisis management at the macroeconomic level. Its focus on monetary and fiscal policies across different countries in Asia, Europe and the USA makes it unique. Divided into three parts following a general introduction that sets the context of the study, the book deals with the case of the USA, EU and European countries as well as with that of key Asian countries. Of specific relevance is the European Union and euro-area contexts that serve as a framework to the different EU national monetary and fiscal policy responses. Each chapter deals with a specific country, including Italy and the UK in Europe and Singapore and South Korea in Asia, and covers the following topics: the extent of the outbreak of the public health crisis and its macroeconomic impact; the comparative examination of fiscal and monetary policy responses to both crises; and an overall assessment of the effectiveness of these policies along with the public health policy to mitigate the economic impact. Given the unprecedented nature of the Covid-19 crisis, anyone eager to know more about its macroeconomic impact and ensuing policies in a comparative framework will be keen to read this book. It will be essential reading to any researcher, policy maker and/or analyst working in the area of public policy and is also a unique contribution to the field of European studies, Asian studies and Comparative Economic Studies"--
Gastronomy, Hospitality, and the Future of the Restaurant Industry by
Gastronomic tourism has made remarkable progress within the past decade in both academia and within its own sector. However, many industries have suffered from the COVID-19 pandemic, and food tourism businesses had to take unique precautions for the health and safety of global consumers. Despite the economic turbulence of the COVID-19 pandemic, there are many strategies available for the restaurant industry to thrive. Gastronomy, Hospitality, and the Future of the Restaurant Industry: Post-COVID-19 Perspectives presents the most recent research surrounding food and gastronomy in relation to hospitality and tourism, highlighting emerging themes and different methods of approach. Concretely, it constitutes a timely and relevant compendium of chapters that offers its readers relevant issues in gastronomy and management strategies in the hospitality industry. Covering topics such as food tourism, organic food production, and restaurant communication, this book is an essential resource for managers, business owners, entrepreneurs, consultants, marketing specialists, government officials, libraries, researchers, academicians, educators, and students.
Global Pandemic, Security and Human Rights by
"This book presents an international and comparative exploration of how the COVID-19 global pandemic has affected and impacted on issues of human rights, security and law. Throughout the world the COVID-19 global pandemic has fundamentally impacted and altered our way of life. As this book sets out, all states have had to contend with similar challenges as well as competing interests and obligations affecting human rights and security. These challenges present very few simple choices but nonetheless carry enormous consequences. Organised into two thematic and distinct, yet interrelated parts, first on theoretical and practical challenges for human rights and second on threats to personal, collective and global security, the book examines how the ability of states to safeguard our fundamental rights and security, broadly defined, has been challenged and that questions about the legality and legal impact of recent responses to COVID-19 will persist for some time. It is often said that global problems require coordinated global solutions, but the various responses to the pandemic by states suggest a notable lack of a consensus amongst the international community"-- Provided by publisher.
Covid-19 and Health and Safety Law - the Essential Guide by
The law relating to Health and Safety has implications for every aspect of how workplaces are managed and how jobs are done. The impact of the COVID-19 pandemic has been considerable and immediate. Companies, contractors and sole traders need clarity on how to amend their working practices to reflect the new risks associated with the virus and its transmission. This book is designed to give practical advice to those who manage H&S risks and their legal advisors. It considers each stage of the relevant process, from investigation to enforcement, with an eye on what expectations the Health and Safety Executive will have when they engage with businesses and what steps can be taken to demonstrate that duty-holders are assessing and managing new and existing risks to a high standard. ABOUT THE AUTHOR Edward Hetherington is a practising barrister and a member of Albion Chambers in Bristol. He is instructed by the prosecution and defence in complex and serious cases across England and Wales. He is a Grade 4 CPS Panel Advocate and a member of the Regulatory Advocates in Health & Safety and Environmental Law Panel. Before coming to the Bar, Edd was a university law lecturer. He remains involved in designing and delivering bespoke lectures to groups of legal professionals and organisations. He is regularly involved in advocacy training as well as providing accredited CPD and training to professionals from across the country. Edward obtained a law degree from the University of Durham, before going on to gain a Master's Degree. He was Called to the Bar (Middle Temple) in 2006, having been awarded the JJ Powell scholarship. CONTENTS Chapter One - Covid-19 and Risk Assessments Chapter Two - PPE and Coronavirus Chapter Three - Social Distancing and the Law Chapter Four - Covid and Vehicle Usage Chapter Five - Work Premises - Particular Coronavirus Considerations Chapter Six - Protecting Home Workers Chapter Seven - Workers With Pre-Existing Vulnerabilities Chapter Eight - Other Offences and Health and Safety Chapter Nine - Covid-19 and the RIDDOR Reporting Regime Chapter Ten - Inspection and Enforcement
Creative Resilience and COVID-19 by
"Creative Resilience and COVID-19 explores arts, culture, and everyday life as a way of navigating through and past COVID-19. Drawing together the voices of international experts and emerging scholars, this volume navigates themes of creativity and resilience in relation to the crisis, trauma, cultural alterity, and social change wrought by the pandemic. The cultural, social, and political concerns that have arisen due to COVID-19 are inextricably intertwined with the ways the pandemic has been discussed, represented, and visualized in global media. The essays included in this volume are concerned with how artists, writers, and advocates uncover the hope, plasticity, and empowerment evident in periods of worldwide loss and struggle-factors which are critical to both overcoming the COVID-19 pandemic and fashioning the post-COVID-19 era. Elaborating on concepts of the everyday and the outbreak narrative, Creative Resilience and COVID-19 explores diverse themes including coping with the crisis through digital distractions, diary writing, and sounds; the unequal vulnerabilities of gender, ethnicity, and age; the role of visuality and creativity including comics and community theatre; and the hopeful vision for the future through urban placemaking, nighttime sociability, and cinema. The book fills an important scholarly gap, providing foundational knowledge from the frontlines of the COVID-19 pandemic through a consideration of the arts, humanities, and social sciences. In doing so, Creative Resilience and COVID-19 expands non-medical COVID-19 studies at the intersection of media and communication studies, cultural criticism, and the pandemic"-- Provided by publisher.
COVID-19 : social inequalities and human possibilities by
"COVID-19: Social Inequalities and Human Possibilities examines the unequal impact of the COVID-19 pandemic on individuals, communities, and countries, a fact seldom acknowledged and often suppressed or invisible. Taking a global approach, this book demonstrates how the impact of the pandemic has differed as a result of social inequalities, such as economic development, social class, race and ethnicity, and access to health care and education. Economic inequality between and within nations has significantly contributed to the chances of individuals contracting and dying from the virus. Developing nations with weak health care systems, workers whose jobs cannot be performed remotely, the differences between those with and without access to soap and water to wash their hands, or the ability to practice social distancing, also account for the unequal impact of the virus. Racial and ethnic minorities experience higher death rates from the virus, which has also unequally affected indigenous peoples and urban and foreign migrants around the world. Inequality is also embedded in national and international responses to the pandemic, as giving and receiving aid is often impacted by inequalities of demographic and national power and influence, resulting in national and global competition rather than the collaboration needed to end the pandemic Along with the other titles in Routledge's COVID-19 Pandemic series, this book represents a timely and critical advance in knowledge related to what many believe to be the greatest threat to global ways of being in more than a century. COVID-19: Social Inequalities and Human Possibilities is therefore indispensable for academics, researchers, and students as well as activists and policy makers interested in understanding the social impact of the COVID-19 pandemic and eradicating the inequalities it has exacerbated"-- Provided by publisher.
Social Analysis and the COVID-19 Crisis by
"This book is a collective journal of the COVID-19 pandemic. With first-hand accounts of the pandemic as it unfolded, it explores the social and the political through the lens of the outbreak. Featuring contributors located in India, USA, Brazil, UK, Germany, and Bulgaria, the book presents us with simultaneous, multiple histories of our time. The volume documents the beginning of social distancing and lockdown measures adopted by countries around the word and analyses how these bore upon prevailing social conditions in specific locations. It presents the authors' personal observations in a lucid conversational style as they reflect on themes such as the reorganization of political debates and issues, the experience of the marginalized, theodicy, government policy responses, and shifts into digital space under lockdown, all of these under an overarching narrative of the healthcare and economic crisis facing the world. A unique and engaging contribution, this book will be useful to students and researchers of sociology, public health, political economy, public policy, and comparative politics. It will also appeal to general readers interested in pandemic literature"-- Provided by publisher.
Voices from the Pandemic by
From the Pulitzer Prize-winning Washington Post reporter, a powerful and cathartic portrait of a country grappling with the Covid-19 pandemic--from fear and overwhelm to extraordinary resilience--told through voices of people from all across America The Covid-19 pandemic was a world-shattering event, affecting everyone in the nation. From its first ominous stirrings, renowned journalist Eli Saslow began interviewing a cross-section of Americans, capturing their experiences in real time: An exhausted and anguished EMT risking his life in New York City; a grocery store owner feeding his neighborhood for free in locked-down New Orleans; an overwhelmed coroner in Georgia; a Maryland restaurateur forced to close his family business after forty-six years; an Arizona teacher wrestling with her fears and her obligations to her students; rural citizens adamant that the whole thing is a hoax, and retail workers attacked for asking people to wear masks; patients struggling to breathe and doctors desperately trying to save them. Through Saslow's masterful, empathetic interviewing, we are given a kaleidoscopic picture of a people dealing with the unimaginable. These deeply personal accounts make for cathartic reading, as we see Americans at their worst, and at their resilient best.