Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Business

The RCBC Business Program offers a variety of opportunities for students to prepare for transfer to a four-year business programs, enter the workforce at entry-level and middle management positions, or supplement their current careers.

New Books!

Remote Workplace Culture

The way we work has changed and a strong, supportive company culture is key for success. When employees work remotely, even occasionally, HR professionals and business leaders need to think differently. Practitioners now need to motivate their workforce, support talent development, ensure an inclusive environment and protect their employees' mental health, all without being in the same physical space. A strong and effective company culture that is built specifically with this purpose in mind is crucial. Remote Workplace Culture is a practical guide that shows how to achieve this and explains why simply replicating what used to happen in the office in a virtual environment doesn't work. This book shows how a strong culture for remote, hybrid and flexible working helps attract the best talent, whether this is nationally or globally and explains how to prioritize inclusion. There is also specific guidance on wellbeing initiatives, how to replace social learning in a hybrid or remote working culture and how to avoid common pitfalls such as an overreliance on technology, the blurring of work/life boundaries and a misunderstanding of remote working etiquette. Supported by case studies from BBC, Salesforce, leading financial services brands and law firms, Remote Workplace Culture is essential reading for all HR professionals and business leaders needing to develop strong company culture in the new world of work.

The Economic Weapon

The first international history of the emergence of economic sanctions during the interwar period and the legacy of this development   "Valuable . . . offers many lessons for Western policy makers today."--Paul Kennedy, Wall Street Journal   "The lessons are sobering."--The Economist   "Original and persuasive. . . . For those who see economic sanctions as a relatively mild way of expressing displeasure at a country's behavior, this book . . . will come as something of a revelation."--Lawrence D. Freedman, Foreign Affairs   Economic sanctions dominate the landscape of world politics today. First developed in the early twentieth century as a way of exploiting the flows of globalization to defend liberal internationalism, their appeal is that they function as an alternative to war. This view, however, ignores the dark paradox at their core: designed to prevent war, economic sanctions are modeled on devastating techniques of warfare.     Tracing the use of economic sanctions from the blockades of World War I to the policing of colonial empires and the interwar confrontation with fascism, Nicholas Mulder uses extensive archival research in a political, economic, legal, and military history that reveals how a coercive wartime tool was adopted as an instrument of peacekeeping by the League of Nations. This timely study casts an overdue light on why sanctions are widely considered a form of war, and why their unintended consequences are so tremendous.

Affordability

Affordability is a new concept that allows the implementation of Continuous Improvement for any organization. It encapsulates contemporary methods that improve product and service profitability, increases market share, value, speed, quality and capability, and cuts down on cost. This new method addresses the needs of growing, improving, and sustaining an organization. It provides a framework and foundation for launching improvement initiatives, deploying continuous improvement, and maintaining the cultural habits and behaviors required to continue such efforts. Case studies from a variety of industries, businesses, and institutions are provided.

A Manager's Guide for Better Decision-Making

An important activity for an organization's leaders and managers is making decisions associated with problem-solving. Making decisions is a complex endeavor where choices are made from courses of action where resources are limited and in the presence of constraints. Written as a guide, this book offers a quantitative approach to decision-making. The process of decision-making is presented from a holistic point of view. This book offers a basic understanding of the issues and processes involved in decision-making by presenting the tools associated with problem analysis, tools that enable developing choices, as well as tools used to normalize judgment criteria achievement so that they are comparable across measures using different scales. Several solution methods for decision problems that have one evaluation criterion are explained first. Methods for problems with multiple criteria for evaluating alternate solutions are discussed as well. The multiple criteria methods include those that do not require any explicit preference or trade-off information from the decision-maker and those that do require the decision-maker's preference or trade-off information. The intended audience of the book includes technical and nontechnical professionals, managers, and supervisors at all levels, and engineering and business educators. The book would also be useful to undergraduate students, beginning graduate students, and recent graduates of professional programs, or in mathematics, computer science, natural sciences, and humanities.

Principles of Macroeconomics

In the years since 2007 the U.S. economy has endured a severe financial crisis, a Great Recession, and continuing heavy unemployment. These events have led to increasing discontent among many people contributing to a substantial vote for Bernie Sanders and the election of Donald Trump. Meanwhile, Europe has witnessed the rise of nationalist parties and Brexit. In the face of these problems and events, economics must change. Principles of Macroeconomics: Activist vs. Austerity Policies provides an antidote to the standard macro texts offering multiple points of view instead of one standard line, a fact-based focus on the causes and cures of instability in economics, and an examination of inequality in the United States. Readers are introduced to both the Classical view, which takes the conservative approach and argues for an austerity program to reduce the size of the government; and the Progressive view, which argues for government intervention to create a strong recovery. These ideas are applied to all the key macroeconomic topics including economic growth, business cycles, and monetary policy. Using the methodology of Wesley Mitchell and drawing on the work of Keynes, the authors also explore topics such as unemployment, the human cost of economic crashes, increasing inequality of income, and the history of capitalism. This second edition includes new material on the Obama recovery, the crisis in the Eurozone, the rise of populism, and the current state of healthcare, education, and environmental issues in America to bring the text fully up to date. It will be of great interest to undergraduate students and particularly those studying the economics of the United States.

The economics of banking

The Economics of Banking provides an accessible overview of banking theory and practice. It introduces readers to the building blocks of fundamental theories and provides guidance on state-of-the-art research, reflecting the dramatic changes in the banking industry and banking research over the past two decades.This textbook explores market failure and financial frictions that motivate the role of financial intermediaries, explains the microeconomic incentives and behavior of participants in banking, examines microlevel market stress caused by economic recessions and financial crises, and looks at the role of monetary authorities and banking regulators to reduce systemic fragility as well as to improve macroeconomic stability. It delivers broad coverage of both the micro and macroeconomics of banking, central banking and banking regulation, striking a fine balance between rigorous theoretical foundations, sound empirical evidence for banking theories at work, and practical knowledge for banking and policymaking in the real world.The Economics of Banking is suitable for advanced undergraduate, master's, or early PhD students of economics and finance, and will also be valuable reading for bankers and banking regulators.

Ethics and Economics

This textbook applies economic ethics to evaluate the free market system and enables students to examine the impact of free markets using the three main ethical approaches: utilitarianism, principle-based ethics and virtue ethics. Ethics and Economics systematically links empirical research to these ethical questions, with a focus on the core topics of happiness, inequality and virtues. Each chapter offers a recommended further reading list. The final chapter provides a practical method for applying the different ethical approaches to morally evaluate an economic policy proposal and an example of the methodology being applied to a real-life policy. This book will give students a clear theoretical and methodological toolkit for analyzing the ethics of market policies, making it a valuable resource for courses on economic ethics and economic philosophy.

The Effective Presenter

This book serves as a presentation resource for everyone from interns to executives in the private sector. It centers around a proprietary presentation framework and outlines the complete formula to preparing, designing and delivering an effective professional presentation. The Effective Presenter combines information, research and first-hand experiences to offer unique insights and outline common misconceptions of professional presentations. It provides a blend of practical skills and advice to supplement the optimal presentation formula and build confidence.

Print Books

​Call Number Range (Where to Find Books on the Bookshelves)

Print books are arranged on the shelf in Library of Congress Call Number order. Each call number begins with an alphanumeric base (e.g., "BF109.J8") that is followed by a cutter and a date of publication (e.g., "A25 1993"). See a librarian if you need assistance.

  • HD - Industries. Land use. Labor.
  • HF - Commerce
  • HG - Finance
  • HJ - Public finance

Suggested Reading

BCLS Books

Rowan College of Burlington County's Library has an agreement with the Burlington County Library System (BCLS) that allows our students to check out physical books from the BCLS system with their RCBC Library barcode. BCLS books can also be requested to be delivered to the RCBC Library for patron pickup and BCLS books can be returned to the RCBC Library.

Suggested eBooks

Ebooks are accessible directly from the Library catalog. If you're interested in finding ebooks only, head to eBook Collection. To log in, use the barcode located on the back of your student ID and your pin number. You have the option to download ebooks to a device, but we strongly recommend reading them online to take advantage of the full suite of available tools. Create a personal account using your Library barcode and PIN to manage and organize your ebook reading and research.

Need A Book We Don't Have?

  • RCBC Library is part of the Burlington County Library System (BCLS)

    • Your RCBC Library barcode allows you to check out physical material at other BCLS branches. (A separate BCLS Library card is needed to access their online resources.) 

    • If another branch has a book that you are looking for, either call them to place it on hold for you, or as a RCBC librarian to call for you.

    • Note: a book that shows up as being in another branch may be currently in use by another patron. Save yourself a trip and call to double check the book's availability!

  • Inter-library Loans

    • If a book that you want is not available in the RCBC Library or BCLS, we can attempt to order the book from an outside library to be delivered to the RCBC Library. Note: this method may take 2 weeks or longer for the book to arrive at RCBC.

    • To order a book via inter-library loan, please either fill out a blank form from JerseyCat or contact Debbie Kolodziej at dkolodzie@rcbc.edu.

  • Faculty Book Requests

    • For more information, please contact Rachel Pieters at rpieters@rcbc.edu or ext. 1269.
 

Library Services

  • Research assistance - help finding sources, evaluating sources

  • Online workshops for citing and plagiarism are held throughout the semester. To request a citing workshop, please email library@rcbc.edu