Things to note before your appointment:
Cost: A fee of $10 is assessed at the first visit. The is no reduction or increase in fee based on the services completed.
The Dental Hygiene Center is located in the Health Sciences Center on the RCBC Mount Laurel Campus at:
1000 Briggs Road
Mount Laurel, NJ 08054
(856) 291-4215.
Darby's Comprehensive Review of Dental Hygiene
by
**Selected for Doody's Core Titles® 2024 with "Essential Purchase" designation in Dental Hygiene & Auxiliaries** The most comprehensive dental hygiene review book available, Darby's Comprehensive Review of Dental Hygiene, 9th Edition offers an all-inclusive review to help you pass the National Board Dental Hygiene Examination (NBDHE) on the first try. Written by a team of expert editors and authors, this affordable, all-in-one review tool includes a wealth of chapter review questions, case studies, outline-style review of all exam topics, and four computerized practice exams that simulate the NBDHE test-taking experience. It's everything you need for NBDHE success! Comprehensive coverage offers an all-inclusive review for the NBDHE and is supplemented with practice questions. Outline format visually organizes the content and presents information in summary style for easy review and study. Logical chapter organization covers the three main areas of the NBDHE - the scientific basis for dental hygiene practice, the provision of clinical dental hygiene services, and community health and research principles. Case presentations throughout help you prepare for Component B of the board examination. Expert editor and chapter authors are leading educators, researchers, and practitioners in their specific areas who have an in-depth knowledge of what it takes to succeed on the NBDHE. NEW! Review chapter content includes new information on alternative practice settings, infection control guidelines, pediatric care, risk assessment, dental hygiene diagnosis, the electronic health record (EHR), and more. REVISED! Four simulated NBDHE exams on the companion Evolve website feature completely updated information and provide authentic test-taking experience with study and exam modes, question rationales, mapping to NBDHE categories, and timer functionality. UPDATED! Chapter review questions have been revised to reflect the latest developments in dental hygiene practice and include answers and rationales. NEW! Updated art program features modern illustrations and updated clinical photos to accompany content review and case studies.
Darby and Walsh Dental Hygiene
by
**2025 Textbook and Academic Authors Association (TAA) Textbook Excellence "Texty" Award Winner** **Selected for Doody's Core Titles® 2024 with "Essential Purchase" designation in Dental Hygiene & Auxiliaries** Darby & Walsh Dental Hygiene: Theory and Practice, 6th Edition offers everything you need to succeed in your coursework and clinical and professional practice. No other dental hygiene foundational text incorporates clinical competencies, theory, and evidence-based practice in such an approachable way. All discussions - from foundational concepts to diagnosis to pain management - are presented within the context of a unique person-centered model that takes the entire person into consideration. A veritable who's-who of dental hygiene educators, practitioners, and researchers cite the latest studies throughout the text to provide a framework to help you in your decision-making and problem-solving. New to this edition is an increased focus on new and emerging technologies, enhanced coverage of infection control in the time of COVID-19, and new chapters on telehealth and teledentistry and mental health and self-care. Focus on research and evidence-based practice offers insights from expert chapter authors (educators, practitioners, and researchers) from across the United States and beyond Expansive art program features modern illustrations and updated clinical photos to visually reinforce key concepts Step-by-step procedure boxes highlight key points with accompanying illustrations, clinical photos, and rationales; online procedure videos are included with new text purchase Human Needs Conceptual Model/Oral Health Related Quality of Life frameworks, in which all discussions are presented within the context of a person-centered care model, take the entire person into consideration Learning aids in each chapter include professional development opportunities; learning competencies; patient education tips; critical thinking scenarios; and discussions of legal, ethical, and safety issues, which help your practical application and problem-solving skills and bring the profession to life NEW! Increased focus on new and emerging technologies keeps you up to date with the latest advances in the field NEW! Telehealth chapter explains how to practice telehealth and teledentistry in nontraditional and community-based settings NEW! Mental Health and Self-Care chapter provides timely content on safeguarding mental health and wellness for the practitioner and the patient UPDATED! Enhanced coverage of infection control prepares you to practice as a dental hygienist in the time of COVID-19 and potential future pandemic events UPDATED! Coverage of Caries Management by Risk Assessment (CAMBRA®) for integrating into the dental hygiene process of care EXPANDED! Further integration of the current American Academy of Periodontology periodontal classifications throughout the text Integration of theory throughout the book includes content on how to incorporate the use of theory in practice
Ethics and Law in Dental Hygiene
by
**Selected for Doody's Core Titles® 2024 in Dental Hygiene & Auxiliaries** Learn professional, practical ways to handle ethical and legal issues in dental practice! Ethics and Law in Dental Hygiene, 4th Edition provides a solid foundation in ethical theory and laws relating to oral healthcare professionals, including ethical conduct and social responsibility. An ethical decision-making model helps you unpack and analyze ethical dilemmas, and case scenarios challenge you to apply concepts to the real world. Written by a team of experts led by educator Kristin Minihan-Anderson, this book helps Dental Hygiene students prepare for the NBDHE exam and also serves as an valuable reference for practitioners looking to continue their professional growth. Dental hygiene-focused coverage highlights need-to-know concepts and information on ethics and law Logical organization of content includes separate sections on ethics, law, and simulations and applications of both, building a solid foundation for practical application Concepts with real-world relevance make it easier to apply your knowledge to everyday situations Six-step decision-making model provides a framework with which to tackle ethical situations Chapters on legal concepts include information on risk management and state dental practice legislation Key terms are defined in each chapter and in the glossary Key vocabulary helps you understand complex content NEW! Updated illustrations visually support key content NEW! Updated case studies include realistic scenarios, helping students explore a wide range of situations and practice making sound ethical and legal decisions NEW! Updated testlets use short clinical scenarios to help students develop skills in critical thinking and problem solving, and prepare for the case-based component of the National Board Dental Hygiene Examination (NBDHE)
Oral Health: Care and Treatment
by
Oral health is an indicator of quality of life, well-being and overall health. It incorporates a wide variety of conditions and diseases, which include tooth loss, dental caries, periodontal disease, oro-dental trauma, noma, oral cancer, and birth defects, like palate and cleft lip. Majority of the oral conditions and diseases share changeable risk factors with major non communicable diseases, such as diabetes, cancer, cardiovascular diseases and severe respiratory diseases. The risk factors consist of alcohol consumption, tobacco use, and unhealthy diets having high sugars. Poor oral health causes devastating pain and can affect the effectiveness of the individuals in various formal settings, which can result in personal and social problems. Furthermore, the psychological effect of oral diseases can substantially decrease the quality of life. The topics included in this book on oral health are of utmost significance and bound to provide incredible insights to readers. Also included herein is a detailed explanation of the care and treatment required for good oral health. Those in search of information to further their knowledge will be greatly assisted by this book.
Oral Health and Systemic Diseases
by
Oral health is essential for maintaining systematic health. A good oral health can decrease the risk of various systemic diseases, such as rheumatoid arthritis, cardiovascular disease and diabetes. Oral diseases are linked to other diseases of the body due to the natural reaction of the human body towards harmful stimuli, which is known as inflammatory response. It is the body's warning response towards viruses and infections. The common symptoms of inflammation include pain, swelling, redness, heat and limited function. Rheumatoid arthritis, cardiovascular disease, gum diseases and diabetes all have similar type of inflammatory response. Severe gum disease can increase systemic inflammation, which develops in the background and may turn into severe systemic diseases. Oral bacteria trigger the formation of C-reactive proteins (CRPs), which cause inflammation resulting in the formation of clots in the arteries, thereby increasing the risk of stroke and heart diseases. The topics included in this book on oral health and systemic diseases are of utmost significance and bound to provide incredible insights to readers. It will serve as a valuable source of reference for graduate and post graduate students.
Wilkins' Clinical Practice of the Dental Hygienist
by
Wilkins' Clinical Practice of the Dental Hygienist, Fourteenth Edition progresses through crucial topics in dental hygiene in a straightforward format to ensure students develop the knowledge and skills they need for successful, evidence-based practice in today's rapidly changing oral health care environment.This cornerstone text, used in almost every dental hygiene education program in the country, has been meticulously updated by previous co-authors, Linda Boyd, and Lisa Mallonee to even better meet the needs of today's students and faculty, while reflecting the current state of practice in dental hygiene. Maintaining the hallmark outline format, the Fourteenth Edition continues to offer the breadth and depth of coverage necessary not only for foundation courses bur for use throughout the entire dental hygiene curriculum.The workbook is now included with Navigate Premier Access! The engaging workbook reinforces important concepts of the main text and provides hands-on exercises that put those concepts into practice.Key Features and Updates of the Fourteenth Edition:Chapters have been extensively updated with the best available evidence, edited, and reorganized to minimize redundancy.New content areas include: new sections on airborne transmission of disease (including coronavirus), new information on respiratory protection, new data on infection control related to aerosol generating procedures, updates related to silver diamine fluoride (SDF), and much more! A step-by-step format of instruction covers all aspects of dental hygiene from radiologic diagnosis and technique to treating patients with special needs and dental/medical areas of concern, such as infectious disease, allergic reactions, blood disorders, and medications.Each new print copy includes Navigate Premier Access that unlocks an interactive eBook, Navigate TestPrep, video, and much more. © 2023 | 1312 pages
The ADA Practical Guide to Dental Implants
by
This clinically oriented book gives dental practitioners and students a hands-on guide to incorporating dental implants into their practices. Taking a clear and concise approach to the subject, the book offers basic information on all aspects of dental implants. Topics covered encompass the pros and cons of implants, patient factors, clinical considerations to success and failure, and implant restoration. Photographs, radiographs, and illustrations support the text, demonstrating the concepts discussed. The ADA Practical Guide to Dental Implants starts with a brief history of the subject then examines the clinical and economic considerations for implants. Patient factors, including systemic, oral, and periodontal health, diet, age, gender, and more are discussed. The book also looks at the experience of the clinician, followed by clinical considerations such as case planning, implant design, surgical techniques, antibiotics, and more. The last chapters cover post-surgical follow-up and the many factors that lead to a successful outcome. Discusses all aspects of dental implantology in the practice setting Supports dental practitioners in incorporating dental implants into their practices Considers pros and cons, patient factors, clinical considerations, success and failure, and implant restoration Offers foundational information on dental implants in an easy-to-read format Includes photographs and drawings to depict the concepts discussed The ADA Practical Guide to Dental Implants is a useful introduction and guide to dental implants for any practitioner interested in incorporating implants into clinical practice.
The ADA Practical Guide to Effective Infection Prevention and Control, Fifth Edition
by
This book outlines the importance of implementing comprehensive infection prevention and control practices in the dental office or other treatment setting. This revised edition features new chapters on Dental Water Quality and Special Considerations and Pandemic Preparedness and synthesizes the most current science-based recommendations for infection prevention and control in dental settings from the CDC and Federal agency rules and regulations, including OSHA, the FDA, and the EPA. The book is organized into five chapters: Chapter 1: Fundamentals of Infection Prevention and Control Chapter 2: Disinfection and Sterilization Chapter 3: Dental Water Quality Chapter 4: Infection Control During Clinical Procedures Chapter 5: Special Considerations and Pandemic Preparedness. Includes a self-assessment checklist of current infection control practices and review questions to reinforce important concepts. An accompanying CE quiz worth three credits is available at ADACEonline.org.
The Chairside Instructor
by
This is an invaluable resource for dental practices as a patient education tool, and as a learning resource for students of dentistry, hygiene, and assisting, with more than 220 images across 50 topic areas. This resource can be used to explain conditions to patients or illustrate a treatment plan. It can also be used to help teach dental hygiene or dental assisting students to identify signs and symptoms and discuss treatment options with patients. Topics include: Plaque and its effects; Sealants; Stages of gum disease; Periodontal surgery; Gum recession; Tooth decay; Crown preparation and placement; Root canal therapy; Tooth replacement options; Mouth and throat cancer; Orthodontic treatment; Veneers; Temporomandibular disorders (TMD). With 50 new images, including: periodontal disease, tooth decay, inlays and onlays, cavities, placing an implant, clear aligners, veneers and more. New topics: fluoride, dry mouth, wisdom teeth removal, sleep apnea, children's airways and dental emergencies.
Complying with the HIPAA Breach Notification Rule
by
Complying with the HIPAA Breach Notification Rule will publish in late Spring 2023. It will be available to preorder closer to the publication date. HIPAA requires a covered dental practice to have written policies and procedures on breach notification and to adhere to them before, during and after a breach. Failure to do so can result in penalties. Your practice's HIPAA policies and procedures can help you prevent and prepare for a data breach. This user-friendly book will guide you through the steps of creating a compliant breach notification program, emphasizing how to prevent breaches and how to react if a breach is suspected. Even a dental practice that is fully HIPAA compliant can have a data breach, but preparation can help manage stress, expenses and even help prevent missteps if a data breach does occur. This resource will help you know what to do when a data breach happens so your time away from patient care can be kept to a minimum. It walks you through the requirements of the HIPAA Breach Notification Rule, explains what a breach is and how to send a breach notification and includes tips and sample forms that can help smooth the way to compliance. The time you spend developing and implementing your HIPAA compliance program is time well spent This book includes how to Secure protected health information (PHI) Send a breach notification Notify affected individuals Notify the Office of Civil Rights (OCR) Delete social media posts Encrypt a computer It also addresses Written policies and procedures Training Document retention Ransomware Sample forms Enforcement examples
Dental Communication
by
Helps dental practices correspond with ease with existing patients, potential patients, the community, vendors, staff. Includes more than 150 templates that can be used for many methods of communication, including letters, press releases, newsletter items and social media posts. Formerly called TheADA Practical Guide to Dental Letters, this book has been fully revised, reorganized and updated to reflect the situations dental practices may encounter during closures for large-scale catastrophes such as global pandemics. It still contains the professionally written templates that you have come to know and trust, but also contains new communications for important issues such as: The closing and opening of dental practices due to pandemic events; an overview of a practice's infection control protocols and assurance of the measures that have been taken; and welcome back messages so patients know you are open for appointments and ready to help get their oral health back on track. Templates are adaptable for many purposes, including: drafting letters for patients, colleagues, vendors, dental benefit plans and more; creating content for social media and the web; developing and customizing forms for patients in your practice; promoting yourself or your practice in the media; and applying for jobs, fellowships and grants, and other volunteer opportunities. Dental Communication helps practices save time crafting formal messages by providing professional templates that can be used in a variety of situations, from conducting everyday business, to office announcements and special occasion messages. Digital letter templates are included for easy customization and in-office printing.
A Dentist's Guide to the Law
by
This resource addresses the wide array of new and longstanding legal issues relevant to dental practices in a user-friendly format with additional related references and resources in each chapter. With sample contracts, checklists, and other helpful supplementary materials. Includes e-book access.