Mental Health

A classic and long-trusted resource that provides short summaries of all the key theories, concepts and terminology associated with mental health. Each entry is neatly summarised and thoroughly referenced giving the reader an immediate and thorough entry point to the subject. Structured into four sections, the text starts with entries related to Mental Health and Mental Abnormality, before moving onto Mental Health Services and Society. The new edition offers: 70 concise chapters including new entries on social networks and loneliness   Updates across all chapters to align with contemporary, critical debates in mental health Appropriate consideration of the intersection of Covid-19 and mental health An essential guide for students of mental health studies, health, nursing, social work, education, psychology, counselling and psychotherapy.

Gain the essential knowledge and skills you need to succeed as a psychiatric nurse! Varcarolis' Essentials of Psychiatric-Mental Health Nursing: A Communication Approach to Evidence Based Care, 5th Edition provides a concise, easy-to-understand guide to today's leading psychiatric theories and therapeutic modalities. Emphasizing evidence-based care, the book balances coverage of scientifically based treatment approaches with insights into effective communication skills, so you will be prepared to offer the best possible care when you enter practice. Written by nursing expert Chyllia D. Fosbre, this edition adds new Next Generation NCLEX® (NGN) examination-style case studies to help you develop critical thinking skills and prepare for the NGN exam. Applying Critical Judgment questions introduce clinical situations in psychiatric nursing and encourage critical thinking. Neurobiology of the Brain feature includes illustrations depicting how a disorder affects brain function and how drugs help to mitigate the symptoms. Applying Evidence-Based Practice boxes in the clinical chapters pose a question, walk you through the process of gathering evidence-based data from a variety of sources, and present a plan of care based on the evidence. Vignettes describe real-world psychiatric patients and their disorders. Assessment Guidelines boxes summarize the steps of patient assessment for various disorders. Applying the Art boxes offer clinical scenarios demonstrating the interaction between a nurse and a patient, the nurse's perception of the interaction, and the mental health nursing concepts in play. Potential Nursing Diagnoses tables list possible nursing diagnoses for a particular disorder, based on ICNP terminology, along with the associated signs and symptoms. Nursing Interventions tables list interventions for a given disorder or clinical situation, along with rationales for each intervention. DSM-5 Criteria boxes identify the diagnostic criteria for most major disorders. Integrative Care boxes highlight the different types of therapy may be used to enhance treatment. Giddens Concept boxes at the beginning of each chapter tie concepts to the topics to be discussed. NEW! Next Generation NCLEX® (NGN) examination-style case studies are included in the clinical disorders chapters to promote critical thinking and help to prepare you for the NGN exam.

A bold, expert, and actionable map for the re-invention of America's broken mental health care system. "Healing is truly one of the best books ever written about mental illness, and I think I've read them all." --Pete Earley, author of Crazy As director of the National Institute of Mental Health, Dr. Thomas Insel was giving a presentation when the father of a boy with schizophrenia yelled from the back of the room, "Our house is on fire and you're telling me about the chemistry of the paint! What are you doing to put out the fire?" Dr. Insel knew in his heart that the answer was not nearly enough. The gargantuan American mental health industry was not healing millions who were desperately in need. He left his position atop the mental health research world to investigate all that was broken--and what a better path to mental health might look like.   In the United States, we have treatments that work, but our system fails at every stage to deliver care well. Even before COVID, mental illness was claiming a life every eleven minutes by suicide. Quality of care varies widely, and much of the field lacks accountability. We focus on drug therapies for symptom reduction rather than on plans for long-term recovery. Care is often unaffordable and unavailable, particularly for those who need it most and are homeless or incarcerated. Where was the justice for the millions of Americans suffering from mental illness? Who was helping their families?   But Dr. Insel also found that we do have approaches that work, both in the U.S. and globally. Mental illnesses are medical problems, but he discovers that the cures for the crisis are not just medical, but social. This path to healing, built upon what he calls the three Ps (people, place, and purpose), is more straightforward than we might imagine. Dr. Insel offers a comprehensive plan for our failing system and for families trying to discern the way forward.   The fruit of a lifetime of expertise and a global quest for answers, Healing is a hopeful, actionable account and achievable vision for us all in this time of mental health crisis.

Becoming a Mental Health Counselor is a guide for students on the path to becoming licensed mental health therapists, as well as for those starting their careers. Filled with practical advice and tips, this book takes readers through early career milestones, including professional identity development, applying for jobs, and obtaining licensure.

The Clinical Handbook of Fear and Anxiety is a comprehensive guide to the understanding and treatment of clinical anxiety and related disorders. As the editors demonstrate, the clear delineations implied by DSM and ICD diagnoses are illusory when it comes to real-life clinical anxiety. This is because symptoms are shared among different diagnoses, meaning that the same patient can be diagnosed in a variety of ways -- leading clinicians to recommend different treatments that can have radically different outcomes. This volume therefore offers a shift in perspective. Chapters in Part I highlight the key psychological processes (e.g., intolerance of uncertainty, threat overestimation) that maintain clinical anxiety. Then in Part II, contributors examine empirically supported mechanisms of change (e.g., exposure, cognitive restructuring, acceptance) that are effective across a range of anxiety presentations and are found in a variety of effective treatments. The editors' transdiagnostic approach helps clinicians connect theory with the practical realities of mental health treatment.  

The #1 bestselling author explores the myriad ways readers can experience a life overflowing with tranquility.

This book is written for everyone who has experienced severe anxiety and wants to be free from abnormal fear. It is also for therapists, couselors, and other helping professionals who treat patients suffering from anxiety disorders.

There are many potential reasons a person may have mental disorders. A person's genetics, as well as their family history, can play a role in the higher likeliness of someone having or developing Anxiety at some point in their lifetime. Higher amounts of stress and unhealthy ways of coping with that stress can also be a factor in developing a social anxiety disorder. Social anxiety disorder can result from so many different factors which may include having to face major decisions in a person's life that have a heavy impact, being more fearful towards the world and how they live in it or having a traumatic experience.In this book, the author has professionally given you what you need to overcome that trauma facing you. To mention a few: A detail explanation of some of the major ailments that mitigate against our mental healthThe conceptions that people have about mental health and what it truly meansEnlightenment about the Cognitive Behavior Therapy and the various types of the CBT processExpectations from Mental Health Therapy Sessions. Do you find yourself debilitated by anxiety that is out-of-control? Anxiety and panic can cripple your life, leaving you living in a constant state of fear. This guide puts you on a healing path.The key to recovering from these disorders, is to first understand them. By understanding them, you begin to uncover the core reasons why your body is reacting in such severely distressing ways. Then, you can find your unique, personal formula for a full and life-changing recovery.

A handbook providing evidence-based advice on the cyclical nature of anxiety, helping you understand how anxiety works and how your loved one might be feeling. You will discover how you can best help someone: how to start a helpful conversation, and the importance of listening.

A 2017 AJN Book of the Year Award winner, Essentials of Psychiatric Mental Health Nursing: A Communication Approach to Evidence Based Care, 4th Edition,offers the perfect balance of essential nursing interventions and clinical content. It incorporates a reader-friendly style, and an emphasis on therapeutic communication and evidence-based practice. Perfect for shorter psychiatric nursing courses, this streamlined psychiatric text includes need to know information and key DSM-5 content you need to pass your course and prepare for the NCLEX®. A neurobiology of the brain teaching tool provides a visual depiction of how the disorder affects brain function - and what drugs are used to treat it. Additionally, this new edition includes Giddens Concept boxes, Integrative Care boxes, updated clinical disorders chapters, and new use of nursing diagnosis language International Classification for Nursing Practice (ICNP) which smooths your transition into practice, as this is a common language shared with many electronic health record documentation systems Neurobiology of the brain feature provides a visual depiction on how the disorder affects brain function and what drugs are used to treat the disorder. Applying Evidence Based Practice boxes throughout the clinical chapters pose a question, walk you through the process of gathering evidence-based data from a variety of sources, and present a plan of care based on the evidence. Vignettes describing psychiatric patients and their disorders add more practical application to the chapter material. DSM-5 diagnostic criteria identify medical diagnostic criteria for most major disorders. Applying Critical Judgment introduces clinical situations in psychiatric nursing at the end of all chapters with thought provoking questions that engage critical thinking. NEW! Integrative Care boxes address alternative therapies to treat psychiatric illnesses. NEW! Giddens Concept boxes at the beginning of each chapter tie to the topics discussed in that chapter. UPDATED! Clinical disorders chapters such as Schizophrenia, Bipolar Disorders and Somatoform Disorders, and many others reflect the latest evidence-based research and practice. NEW! ICNP nursing diagnosis language smooths your transition into practice, as this is a common language shared with many electronic health record documentation systems. UPDATED! Cultural Considerations sections include more updated and relevant material, whenever possible in the clinical chapters, and address cultural considerations with various patients and appropriate care.

A powerful and inspiring examination of the connection between the potential for great talent and conditions commonly thought to be "disabilities," revealing how the source of our struggles can be the origin of our greatest strengths. InThe Power of Different, psychiatrist and bestselling author Gail Saltz examines the latest scientific discoveries, profiles famous geniuses who have been diagnosed with all manner of brain "problems"--including learning disabilities, ADD, anxiety, Depression, Bipolar disorder, schizophrenia, and Autism--and tells the stories of lay individuals to demonstrate how specific deficits in certain areas of the brain are directly associated with the potential for great talent. Saltz shows how the very conditions that cause people to experience difficulty at school, in social situations, at home, or at work, are inextricably bound to creative, disciplinary, artistic, empathetic, and cognitive abilities. In this pioneering work, readers will find engaging scientific research and stories from historical geniuses and everyday individuals who have not only made the most of their conditions, but who have flourishedbecause of them. They are leaning into their brain differences to: *Identify areas of interest and expertise *Develop work arounds *Create the environments that best foster their talents *Forge rewarding interpersonal relationships Enlightening and inspiring,The Power of Different proves that the unique wiring of every brain can be a source of strength and productivity, and contributes to the richness of our world.

A unique resource for all health care practitioners caring for people with multiple sclerosis. Endorsed by The Consortium of Multiple Sclerosis Centers Multiple sclerosis (MS), a progressive neurologic disease, is characterized by a host of physical symptoms. But the neurobehavioral consequences of MS can be as devastating and debilitating as physical symptoms, and they are often unreported and undertreated. In this new book, Dr. Anthony Feinstein, a neuropsychiatrist, documents the effects of MS on cognition, information processing speed, learning and memory, executive function, personality, mood, and behavior. Feinstein touches on a number of topics, including * the common cognitive challenges that occur with MS, such as slowed information processing speed, impaired memory, and executive function deficits * psychiatric disorders that accompany MS, such as depression and psychosis * current neuropsychological, brain MRI, and treatment data applicable to the psychiatric and cognitive disorders Mind, Mood, and Memory in Multiple Sclerosis is enhanced both by the latest science and by eloquent case histories that illustrate each cognitive and emotional disorder. Feinstein also provides recommendations for evidence-based therapeutic interventions. Written in an immediate, accessible way, this book has a crossover appeal, making it of interest not only to neurologists, psychiatrists, neuropsychiatrists, neuropsychologists, psychologists, occupational therapists, and nurses but also to people with MS and their caregivers, family, and friends.

Details each of the 10 personality disorders, in a format that makes locating information easy.Personality Disorders systematically explores 10 personality disorders. Each chapter presents a comprehensive and in-depth picture of a particular disorder and its effects, not only on those who suffer from it but also on family, friends, and colleagues as well as the community at large. Chapters focus on important parameters such as symptoms, diagnosis, incidence, history, development, causes, effects, and costs. Relevant case histories and Up Close sections illustrate how the disorder may manifest in different environments and reveal how the disorder can affect a person's interactions within society, at work, and in personal relationships. Research and theories about each particular disorder are also included. Every chapter closes with a discussion of various treatment approaches and a brief list of references, providing for a meaningful presentation for readers at the undergraduate student level and beyond.

In this book, a psychologist and a professor detail the history, psychology, and effects of this little-studied condition that has altered individuals and societies worldwide, arguing that the disorder deserves its own classification. Psychoanalyst Erich Fromm in 1964 developed the term "malignant narcissism," believing it to be the worst form of psychopathology, a disorder that essentially epitomized evil. Malignant narcissism, however, has never been identified as a clinical condition in the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders; instead, it is seen as a conglomeration of several other disorders. Yet researchers since Fromm have described malignant narcissists as unique in their callous nature and proclivity to extreme violence, with a component of sadism bringing them pleasure when inflicting pain. The largest concern about malignant narcissists is that "some have the ability and wherewithal to rise to great positions of power and influence" and to affect large numbers of people. Authors Smith and Hung explain the differences between malignant narcissists, "everyday" narcissists, and psychopaths, illustrating these conditions with vignettes of historic public figures and people in popular culture, among others.

The fascinating and controversial history of personality disorders. The concept of personality disorders rose to prominence in the early twentieth century and has consistently caused controversy among psychiatrists, psychologists, and social scientists. In Personality Disorders, Allan V. Horwitz traces the evolution of defining these disorders and the historical dilemmas of attempting to mold them into traditional medical conceptions of disorder. Using the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, or DSM, as a guide, Horwitz explores the group of conditions that make up personality disorders and considers when they have been tied to or separated from other types of mental illnesses. He also examines how these disorders have often entailed negative moral and cultural evaluations more focused on perceived social deviance than on actual medical conditions. Deep conflicts exist in a variety of disciplines in determining the nature of these disorders. During the twentieth century, a particularly sharp division arose between researchers who study personality disorders and the clinicians who treat them. Because researchers strive to develop general laws and clinicians attempt to understand individuals' specific problems, their values, methods, and goals often conflict. Synthesizing historical and contemporary scholarship, Horwitz examines controversies over the definitions and diagnoses of personality disorders and how the perception of these illnesses has changed over time.

This book explores the issue of violence in detail, taking into account the role of contextual factors, as well as the epidemiology, risk factors and clinical aspects of violence related to the main mental disorders. It also offers practical information on its management - from prevention to treatment. Covering all aspects of the problem of violence in mental disorders, the book is divided into four parts: general aspects; risk factors, phenomenology and characteristics of violence in mental disorders; contexts of violence; and prevention and management of violence in mental health. It also discusses violence in the various settings of mental health system, an aspect that has not previously been fully addressed. The volume is intended for all those who are interested in mental health, including scholars, professionals, and students.

The majority of individuals with eating disorders also experience symptoms of anxiety, depression, post-traumatic reactions, and/or obsessive-compulsive disorders. Most research-supported treatments for eating disorders, however, do not integrate interventions for these co-occurring conditionsin a unified way.The Renfrew Unified Treatment for Eating Disorders and Comorbidity was developed to help people who struggle with any type of eating disorder as well as intense emotions like anxiety, sadness, anger, and guilt. Eating disorders include symptoms such as efforts to restrict eating, binge eating orovereating, and compulsive or unhealthy efforts to lose weight, alongside strong, distressing feelings about the importance of shape, weight, or eating control. The goal of this Workbook, which is designed to accompany the companion Therapist Guide, is to help people overcome their individual eatingand emotional issues using a common set of scientifically tested tools. The steps and exercises in this book are intended to help readers identify and better understand how eating and emotional issues interact, to address some of the core thoughts and behaviors that underpin both eating andemotional disorders, and to develop new flexibility and capacity in areas of life that have been affected. The strategies included in this book are based on common principles found in existing empirically supported psychological treatments, and have been extensively tested in research studies. Theresearch to support these interventions is included in the companion Therapist Guide.

All humans need space to think, to be, and to process without constant distraction. This is especially true of adolescents and young adults, for whom identity formation is a consuming task. Social media has generated both a place for the creation of identity and an audience. But constant connection leaves little space without intrusion from others. For those with body dissatisfaction and/or eating disorders, living in today's world can be especially challenging, and viewing images on social media and other online formats can be devastating. Shauna Frisbie utilizes phototherapy techniques to view client-selected images (whether they be of themselves or others) to help uncover underlying messages that are impacting their relationship to their bodies. Integrating concepts of healing narratives, neuroscience, and phototherapy, this book will help any therapist promote self-compassion, self-reflection, and healing in their clients.

Pick up a magazine, turn on the TV, and you'll find few women who haven't been fried, dyed, plucked, or tucked. In short, you'll see no body outlaws. The writers in this groundbreaking anthology reveal a world where bodies come in all their many-splendored shapes, sizes, colors, and textures. In doing so, they expand the national dialogue on body image to include race, ethnicity, sexuality, and power--issues that, while often overlooked, are intimately linked to how women feel about their bodies. Body Outlaws offers stories by those who have chosen to ignore, subvert, or redefine the dominant beauty standard in order to feel at home in their bodies.

Whether they are rich or poor, tall or short, liberal or conservative, most young American women have one thing in common--they want to be thin. And they are willing to go to extraordinary lengths to get that way, even to the point of starving themselves. Why are America's women so preoccupied with weight? What has caused record numbers of young women--even before they reach their teenage years--to suffer from anorexia and bulimia? In Am I Thin Enough Yet?, Sharlene Hesse-Biber answers these questions and more, as she goes beyond traditional psychological explanations of eating disorders to level a powerful indictment against the social, political, and economic pressures women face in a weight-obsessed society. Packed with first-hand, intimate portraits of young women from a wide variety of backgrounds, and drawing on historical accounts and current material culled from both popular and scholarly sources, Am I Thin Enough Yet? offers a provocative new way of understanding why women feel the way they do about their minds and bodies. Specifically, Hesse-Biber highlights the various ways in which American families, schools, popular culture, and the health and fitness industry all undermine young women's self-confidence as they inculcate the notions that thinness is beauty and that a woman's body is more important than her mind. The author builds her case in part by letting her subjects tell their own story, revealing in their own words how current standards of femininity lead many women to engage in eating habits that are not only self-destructive, but often akin to the obsessions and ritualistic behaviors found among members of cults. For instance, we meet Delia, a bulimic college senior who makes the startling admission that "my final affirmation of myself is how many guys look at me when I go into a bar." We even learn of six-year-olds like Lauren, already preoccupied with her weight, who considers herself "a real clod" in ballet class because she is not as thin as her peers. We are introduced to women (and men) from different cultures who themselves have acquired eating disorders in pursuit of the American standard of physical perfection. And we learn of the often tragic consequences of this obsession with thinness, as in the case of Janet, who underwent surgery to reduce her weight only to suffer from chronic illness and pain as a result. The book concludes with Hesse-Biber's prescriptions on how women can overcome their low self-image through therapy, spiritualism, and grass-root efforts to empower themselves against a society obsessed with beauty and thinness. Am I Thin Enough Yet? brings into sharp focus the multitude of societal and psychological forces that compel American women to pursue the ideal of thinness at any cost. It will remain a benchmark work on the subject for many years to come.

Selected as a Doody's Core Title for 2022! Nutrition Essentials for Nursing Practice, 9th Edition gives nursing students the understanding of nutrition theory and application to ensure effective client care across the life cycle and the health-illness continuum. Incorporating nutrition throughout the nursing care process, Susan Dudek's concise yet thorough text equips tomorrow's nurses with the latest evidence-based practices and recommendations to facilitate nutrition on the front lines of nursing practice, from assessment and nursing diagnoses to implementation and evaluation.    The most up-to-date resource of its kind, this revised edition includes the Dietary Guidelines for Americans, 2020-2025 and makes need-to-know information more accessible than ever with a student-friendly format, improved organization, engaging case studies, and adaptable content optimized for use in standalone courses, online, or a fully integrated curriculum.