The RCBC Library has many course textbooks on reserve. These books can be reserved for two hours at a time.
You can view which textbooks are available by subject on this guide:
Gain the knowledge of dental anatomy you need as a dental assistant or hygienist! Anatomy of Orofacial Structures: A Comprehensive Approach, 9th Edition provides an all-in-one resource for learning oral histology and embryology, dental anatomy, and head and neck anatomy. It offers all the benefits of a combined textbook and workbook, reinforcing your understanding with review questions in each chapter and tests in each unit. The book also includes flashcards for convenient, on-the-go study and reference. Supported with engaging activities on the Evolve website, this book provides a complete learning package! UNIQUE! Comprehensive coverage includes orofacial development, landmarks, veins, arteries, nerves, bones, and muscles of the head and neck region. UNIQUE! More than 600 anatomical illustrations include labeled line drawings, radiographs, and clinical photographs. Textbook/Workbook format includes chapter review quizzes, unit tests, and a perforated workbook section. Clinical Considerations boxes describe the real-world application of anatomical concepts. Flashcards provide a convenient study tool for tooth morphology and major head and neck structures, featuring an image of a tooth on one side and that tooth's identifying/important information on the other side. Learning resources on the Evolve website include chapter quizzes and the Body Spectrum anatomy coloring book. NEW! Thoroughly revised embryology and histology section features new illustrations. NEW! Updated art program includes new illustrations and clinical images.
This book aims to provide the dental team with an improved understanding of management of the oral health needs of the ageing population, in whom increasing cognitive, medical and physical disabilities impact significantly on oral health and dental care needs. All significant aspects of caring for older people are covered. The nature and implications of changing demographics are explained and information provided on common medical co-morbidities and the impact of cognitive conditions, including dementia, on dental treatment. The changing pattern of dental disease in older people is clearly described, with explanation of the consequences of these changes for periodontics, endodontics, prosthodontics, and implantology. Advice is given on considerations to be borne in mind during treatment planning, including the importance of prevention and utilization of dental care professionals. Provision of care for older people under general anaesthesia or sedation and domiciliary care are also covered. The book is written by specialist practicing clinicians and delivers information in an accessible way with a person-centered approach.
Print books are arranged on the shelf in Library of Congress Call Number order. Each call number begins with an alphanumeric base (e.g., "BF109.J8") that is followed by a cutter and a date of publication (e.g., "A25 1993"). See a librarian if you need assistance.
Call Number Range (where to look on the bookshelves)
RK- Dentistry
Please check the catalog or databases, or contact RCBC Library to see if book is currently available. This is not a complete list, but here are a few suggestions:
Head, Neck and Dental Anatomy by
Providing the most up-to-date coverage available, Short/Levin-Goldstein's HEAD, NECK & DENTAL ANATOMY, 5th Edition, combines engaging yet concise instructional content with full-color figures and photos that illuminate anatomical details of the mouth and teeth -- giving you a go-to resource throughout your education and career. More student friendly than ever, the new edition includes worksheets with additional multiple choice and labeling questions -- helping you maximize your success in the course and on the CDA exam. Photos of actual teeth are also included, and the most important features of each tooth are detailed in brief charts that make excellent study guides.
Essentials of Dental Anatomy and Oral Histology by
1. Introduction 2. The Deciduous (Primary) Teeth 3. The Permanent Teeth 4. Method of Tooth Carving 5. Vasculature and Innervations of the Teeth and Associated Structures 6. The Temporomandibular Joint and Muscles of Mastication 7. The Maxillary Sinus 8. Occlusion 9. Histological Techniques for Study of Oral Tissues 10. Development of Face and Oral Cavity 11. Development of Tooth 12. Eruption and Shedding of Tooth 13. Enamel 14. Dentin 15. Pulp 16. Cementum 17. Periodontium 18. Alveolar Bone 19. Oral Mucous Membrane 20. Salivary Glands Index
Dental Terminology by
Providing a solid foundation for the dental field, Kindle/Dofka's DENTAL TERMINOLOGY, 4th Edition, is a quick reference guide that breaks down complicated dental word parts so you can easily learn their meanings. Its innovative word-building approach helps dental assistants understand and remember terminology. Instead of a strict dictionary of dental terms, it serves as a word bank with pronunciation guides and definitions applied to specific practice areas. Chapters are organized by specialty area, so you can quickly find the information you need. The new edition has been thoroughly updated with current visuals, pictures and diagrams. Whether utilized in the classroom or on the job, DENTAL TERMINOLOGY is a valuable reference you can use for years to come.
Darby and Walsh Dental Hygiene by
Back and better than ever, Darby and Walsh's Dental Hygiene: Theory and Practice, 5th Edition offers everything you need to succeed in your coursework, at certification, and in clinical practice. No other dental hygiene text incorporates the clinical skills, theory, and evidence-based practice in such an approachable way. All discussions - from foundational concepts to diagnosis to pain management - are presented within the context of a unique patient-centered model that takes the entire person into consideration. New to this fifth edition is a much more streamlined approach - one that stays focused on need-to-know information, yet also houses expanded content on things like alternative practice settings, pediatric care, risk assessment, and dental hygiene diagnosis to give you added context when needed. This edition is also filled with new modern illustrations and new clinical photos to augment your learning. If you want a better grasp of all the dental hygienist's roles and responsibilities in today's practice, they Darby and Walsh's renowned text is a must-have. Focus on research and evidence-base practice provide proven findings and practical applications for topics of interest in modern dental hygiene care. Step-by-step procedure boxes with accompanying illustrations, clinical photos, and rationales outline the equipment required and the steps involved in performing key procedures. Critical thinking exercises, cases, and scenarios help hone your application and problem-solving skills. Feature boxes highlight patient education, law, ethics, and safety. UNIQUE! Discussions of theory provide a solid foundation for practice. Key terms are called out within chapters and defined in glossary with cross-references to chapters. Practice quizzes enable you to self-assess your understanding. NEW! Streamlined approach focuses on the information you need to know along with the practical applications. NEW! Added content covers alternative practice settings, new infection control guidelines, pediatric care, risk assessment, dental hygiene diagnosis, the electronic health record (EHR), and more. NEW! Modern illustrations and updated clinical photos give you a better picture of how to perform essential skills and utilize clinical technology. NEW! Online procedures videos guide you step-by-step through core clinical skills. NEW! Editorial team brings a fresh perspective and more than 30 years of experience in dental hygiene education, practice, and research.
Patient Assessment Tutorials: a Step-By-Step Guide for the Dental Hygienist, Enhanced Edition with Navigate 2 Advantage Access by
This updated Fourth Edition of Jill Gehrig's highly visual, step-by-step guide takes dental hygienists-in-training through the process of patient assessment, emphasizing both the actual physical assessment and the human interaction involved.The Fourth Edition includes four chapters on communication (including an all-new motivational interviewing chapter), as well as unique Human Element sections that include real-life experiences shared by patients, students, and clinicians.Enhanced by case studies, student learning aids, videos, and a new audio glossary, Patient Assessment Tutorials provides students with everything they need to succeed in the course and their future careers as dental hygienists.
Darby's Comprehensive Review of Dental Hygiene by
The most comprehensive dental hygiene review book available, Darby's Comprehensive Review of Dental Hygiene, 9th Edition offers an all-inclusive review to help you pass the National Board Dental Hygiene Examination (NBDHE) on the first try. Written by a team of expert editors and authors, this affordable, all-in-one review tool includes a wealth of chapter review questions, case studies, outline-style review of all exam topics, and four computerized practice exams that simulate the NBDHE test-taking experience. It's everything you need for NBDHE success! Comprehensive coverage offers an all-inclusive review for the NBDHE and is supplemented with practice questions. Outline format visually organizes the content and presents information in summary style for easy review and study. Logical chapter organization covers the three main areas of the NBDHE - the scientific basis for dental hygiene practice, the provision of clinical dental hygiene services, and community health and research principles. Case presentations throughout help you prepare for Component B of the board examination. Expert editor and chapter authors are leading educators, researchers, and practitioners in their specific areas who have an in-depth knowledge of what it takes to succeed on the NBDHE. NEW! Review chapter content includes new information on alternative practice settings, infection control guidelines, pediatric care, risk assessment, dental hygiene diagnosis, the electronic health record (EHR), and more. REVISED! Four simulated NBDHE exams on the companion Evolve website feature completely updated information and provide authentic test-taking experience with study and exam modes, question rationales, mapping to NBDHE categories, and timer functionality. UPDATED! Chapter review questions have been revised to reflect the latest developments in dental hygiene practice and include answers and rationales. NEW! Updated art program features modern illustrations and updated clinical photos to accompany content review and case studies.
Infection Control in the Dental Office by
This book reviews the principles of infection control and the guidelines and standards of care in multiple countries, discussing them within the context of the practice of dentistry. The aim is to enable dental practitioners to ensure that the appropriate measures are adopted for each patient contact, thereby minimizing the risk of transmission of infection - a goal that is becoming ever more important given the threats posed by new or re-emerging infectious diseases and drug-resistant infections. Readers will find information and guidance on all aspects of infection control within the dental office: hand and respiratory hygiene, use of personal protective equipment, safe handling of sharps and safe injection practices, management of occupational exposures, maintenance of dental unit water quality, surface disinfection, and the cleaning and sterilization of dental instruments. Infection Control in the Dental Office will be an invaluable asset for all dental practitioners, including dentists, dental specialists, dental hygienists, and dental assistants.
Dental Instruments by
Learn how to identify and use more than 300 dental instruments! Dental Instruments: A Pocket Guide, 7th Edition makes it quick and easy for dental assistants and dental hygienists to master the instruments and equipment used in everyday practice. It includes over 700 photographs and drawings of basic and specialty dental instruments, paired with text describing each instrument's use, characteristics, practice considerations, and sterilization. With a spiral-bound, flashcard-style, flipbook format, the book also makes it easy to review key information and to assess your knowledge. Dental Instruments is the perfect guide both for study and for chairside reference. Flashcard-style format makes it easy to quiz yourself and assess your knowledge of dental instruments. More than 700 high-quality photographs and illustrations include both full and close-up views to help you quickly and accurately identify and differentiate dental instruments. Clear, two-page spreads include a photo of each instrument along with its name, functions, characteristics, practice notes, and sterilization, with chapters progressing from basic instruments to more specialized instruments. Pocket size, spiral binding, and Velcro® closure makes the book easy to use and ideal for on-the-go study. Practice Notes and Sterilization Notes summarize common practice and state regulations. Interactive review activities on the Evolve companion website include chapter quizzes as well as tray setup questions and exercises. NEW content includes topics such as infection control, vital signs, sleep apnea, dental implants, and 3D printing. NEW! Updated images include the latest in infection control and emerging techniques, new original photos, and high-quality drawings of details that cannot be shown in a photograph. EXPANDED! In-use photos and illustrations show instruments or equipment within the context of dental care.
Applied Pharmacology for the Dental Hygienist by
With a focus on the most commonly used drugs in dentistry, Applied Pharmacology for the Dental Hygienist, 8th Editionprovides you with an in-depth understanding of the pharmacologic principles needed for safe and effective dental treatment and oral health care. It discusses drug properties and mechanisms of action, dosages, intended effects, interactions, and adverse reactions - both for the medications a patient may already be taking and for the drugs prescribed by the dentist. This new edition has been updated throughout to give you a firm foundation in pharmacology in order to assess and educate patients so they can maintain optimal oral health! IMPROVED! Test Bank with cognitive leveling based on Bloom's Taxonomy mapped to the National Board Dental Hygiene Examination (NBDHE) blueprint. Comprehensive coverage with a dental focus provides you with an in-depth understanding of the most commonly used drugs, how they work, and how they affect patients' oral health and dental treatment options. Multiple opportunities for classroom and board exam prep offers summaries and review questions at the end of each chapter, helping you to assess your knowledge of the material. Key terms are bolded and in color within each chapter and defined in a handy glossary. Full-color design engages the reader and includes additional illustrations showing basic principles and internal processes, along with photographs of oral conditions and side effects. Separate drug index provides easy look-up of specific drugs and types of drugs. Quick-reference appendixes include resources such as the top 200 drugs, medical acronyms, and information on herbal and dietary supplements. NEW! Updated drug content throughout, including new side effects and warnings for many commonly seen drugs. NEW! Elsevier Animation Collection clips on Evolve includes systemic anatomy and physiology.
Dental Ethics at Chairside by
In the last two decades, more than ever before dentists must determine how to properly maintain their focus on ethics and professionalism in the face of powerful commercial pressures. While there is encouragement for ethical conduct within the dental profession, there is still relatively little assistance available to dentists and dental students for judging what conduct is ethically best in concrete situations. For many years, Dental Ethics at Chairside has served as an invaluable resource for tens of thousands of dentists and dentistry students, and this third edition of the gold standard in the field is thoroughly revised and updated. In addition to exploring ongoing and critical issues such as the patient-professional relationship, patients with compromised capacity, confidentiality, justice and the inadequacies of society's health care systems, and dentistry as a business, the third edition addresses emerging ethical issues related to conflicts of interest, dental professionalism, advertising and social media, the serious indebtedness of graduating dental students, bad outcomes and bad work, the explosion of aesthetic dentistry, acquiring new skills and new technology, the impact of the market on the professional-patient relationship, and many others. The book includes fourteen realistic cases and commentary about dilemmas in dentistry, as well as online resources for further research and study.
Community Oral Health Practice for the Dental Hygienist by
Build the skills you need to provide effective community oral health care! Community Oral Health Practice for the Dental Hygienist, 5th Edition describes the role of the public health professional in improving the oral health care of people throughout the community. It discusses key topics such as access to care, the assessment needed for program planning, social responsibility and government policy, cultural diversity, and career options in public health. Written by respected dental educator Christine French Beatty, this book helps you prepare for the National Board Dental Hygiene Examination (NBDHE) and to develop the core competencies needed in the practice setting. Comprehensive, cutting-edge coverage provides everything you need to know to succeed in community dental hygiene practice. Practice-oriented content includes learning objectives in each chapter, opening statements with lists of key facts, mini-scenarios, and Dental Hygiene Competencies. Applying Your Knowledge sections in each chapter provide opportunities to apply what you have learned to local public health problems. Chapters on assessment and measurement help in planning and evaluating community oral health programs. Test-Taking Strategies and Community Cases chapter offers tips and practice questions to help you prepare for the NBDHE, and tests your understanding of content in relation to real-world community situations. Chapters on population health and oral health programs describe issues affecting access to care as well as common oral diseases and conditions affecting the community, helping you prioritize, plan, implement, and evaluate practical solutions. Learning resources on an Evolve companion website reinforce your understanding with quizzes and case studies. NEW! Comprehensive, cutting-edge content is updated on topics including national initiatives, Healthy People 2030, data on the status of oral health and factors that affect access to oral healthcare, cultural competence, oral health programs in the community, applied research, and the different career paths for dental hygienists. EXPANDED! Coverage of dental hygiene competencies and interprofessional collaborative practice is enhanced to reflect changes in the oral health profession. UPDATED! Community Case sections in each chapter include sample cases along with test questions. F EXPANDED! Additional photographs and illustrations depict key concepts.
Oral Pathology for the Dental Hygienist by
Oral Pathology for the Dental Hygienist: With General Pathology Introductions, 8th Edition offers the most trusted general and oral pathology information that's tailored to the specific role and responsibilities of the dental hygienist, while reflecting the content on the national board exam. Authors Ibsen and Peters incorporate the ideal mix of clinical photographs, radiographs, and focused discussions to help you learn how to successfully identify, understand, evaluate, and document disease formations at the skeletal and cellular levels. Tailored content focuses on the role of the dental hygienist in oral health care. Trusted author team makes this a text you can rely on to provide authoritative coverage of oral pathology. Pathology synopsis tables provide at-a-glance summaries to help you focus on the most critical information for each lesion, disease, or condition. Learning objectives clearly define expected outcomes for each chapter. Vocabulary resources include key term listings with definitions and pronunciations and a back-of-book glossary for handy UPDATED! Art program includes the latest high-quality radiographs and color clinical photos. REVISED! Chapter review questions written in the same multiple-choice style and formats as the National Board Dental Hygiene Examination provide valuable study and review opportunities.
Newman and Carranza's Clinical Periodontology for the Dental Hygienist by
The complete health-focused approach makes this a must-have instructional resource to support you throughout your Dental Hygiene educational program and beyond. Based on the trusted content in Newman and Carranza's Clinical Periodontology, the most widely used periodontal textbook in the world, this resource provides the most up-to-date, complete, and essential information. The broad range of content covers everything from the biology of the periodontium - how it's structured and the functions it serves, the new classification of periodontal disease, the link between periodontal disease and systemic health, and more. An extensive clinical section contains a complete guide to everything from procedure instrumentation to patient management at the point of care. Full color photos, illustrations, radiographs show how to perform periodontal procedures. Case based practice questions and skill evaluation checklists promote board-exam readiness. The clear instruction and health-focused approach provides support throughout the Dental Hygiene program and beyond. Access to this product, which may be at the discretion of your institution, is up to 3 years of online and perpetual offline access. Elsevier reserves the right to restrict or remove access due to changes in product portfolio or other market conditions. Online student and educator support on Evolve. Dental hygiene emphasis and relevance provides solid foundational content. Comprehensive topic coverage focuses on the translation of the science to evidence-based practice and clinical decision making. Extensive full-color photos and illustrations clearly demonstrate core concepts and reinforce important principles. Case-based clinical scenarios incorporated throughout the book mimic the patient case format used in credentialing exams. Many new and important chapters on periimplantitis, resolving inflammation, evidence-based decision making, and critical thinking. Robust art program of clinical images, charts, graphs, and unique illustrations enhances engagement. The most complete atlas of periodontal pathology ever offered for the dental hygienist. Key information and highlights presented as call out boxes.
Dental Implants for Hygienists and Therapists by
An essential handbook for dental hygienists and therapists seeking a comprehensive resource covering dental implants Dental Implants for Hygienists and Therapists delivers an accessible and informative exploration of the fundamental principles of tooth replacement with dental implants, as well as the science and theory that underlies modern implants, and the factors impacting their success and survival. The book offers robust guidance on the assessment of peri-implant tissues in health and in disease, an evidence-based approach to their management, and instruction on when a referral should be made. It also covers function and anatomy in health and disease around dental implants and the supporting tissues as well as the factors that influence predictability and patient management. This book includes: Thorough introductions to the history of dental implants and osseointegration, including the difference between success and survival Comprehensive exploration of one-piece and two-piece implant systems, patient selection and indications for implant treatment Practical discussions of surgical (including augmentation) and prosthodontic protocols and peri-implant tissues In-depth examinations of maintenance care, including the management of peri-implant disease with non-surgical and surgical treatment, and the role of the hygienist Dental Implants for Hygienists and Therapists is invaluable to dental hygienists and therapists seeking a one-stop resource on dental implantology.
Phillips' Science of Dental Materials by
Keep current with the evolving technology of dental materials! Phillips' Science of Dental Materials, 13th Edition provides comprehensive, up-to-date information on the materials used in cosmetic and restorative procedures in dentistry. It introduces the physical and chemical properties that are related to selection and use of dental biomaterials, including their composition, mechanical properties, manipulative variables, and the performance of dental restorations and prostheses. This edition adds three new chapters and hundreds of new full-color photographs. Written by dental scientists Chiayi Shen and H. Ralph Rawls along with prosthodontist Josephine Esquivel-Upshaw, this leading text/reference helps dentists select the right materials for oral procedures and helps dental labs ensure high-quality restorations. 500 full-color photos and illustrations show concepts, dental instruments, and restorations. Key terms are defined at the beginning of each chapter, covering terminology related to dental biomaterials and science. Critical thinking questions stimulate thinking and emphasize important concepts and principles. Logical, five-part organization of chapters makes the content easier to read and understand, with units on General Classes and Properties of Dental Materials, Direct Restorative Materials, Indirect Restorative Materials, Fabrication of Prostheses, and Assessing Dental Restorations. Balance between materials science and manipulation bridges the gap of knowledge between dentists and lab technicians. Major emphasis on biocompatibility serves as a useful guide to the principles and clinical implications of restorative materials safety. Diverse and respected pool of contributors lends credibility and experience to each dental science topic. NEW! Three new chapters are added: Digital Technology in Dentistry, In Vitro Research of Dental Materials, and Clinical Research of Restorations.
Mosby's Dental Drug Reference by
No dental office should be without this quick-reference drug handbook! Ideal for chairside use by the entire dental team, Mosby's Dental Drug Reference, 13th Edition provides guidelines for safe, accurate drug administration. More than 800 drug monographs make it easy to find the information most relevant to oral healthcare practitioners, including indications and dosages, contraindications, interactions, side effects, serious reactions, and dental-specific drug data. From lead editor Arthur Jeske, a well-known researcher and author on dental pharmacology, this pocket guide provides the current, concise drug information needed at the point of care. More than 800 drug monographs include each drug's generic name, pronunciation, brand names, drug class, controlled substances schedule, mechanism of action, uses or indications, pharmacokinetics, doses and routes of administration, side effects/adverse reactions, contraindications, precautions, drug interactions of concern to dentistry, and more. Durable, pocket-sized format provides essential drug information at a glance, and makes this guide ideal for chairside use. Detailed dental considerations at the end of each monograph include an easy-to-use, bulleted list of specific dental-related information as well as general drug information, saving you time with information that is dentistry-focused and easy to use. Convenient reference information in the front of the guide includes a primer on the management of medically compromised patients, and the back of the guide includes convenient appendices on abbreviations, drugs associated with dry mouth, drugs that affect taste, oral contraceptives, preventing medication errors, and improving medication safety. Emphasis on oral health, prevention, and treatment from the dental hygienist's perspective makes it easier to use drug information for patient and family education. Coverage of oral contraceptives provides dental information on these commonly used drugs, often known to patients only by their brand names. Evolve website includes more than 100 additional monographs, including new monographs on monoclonal antibodies, images of common pathologic conditions, and information on common oral complications, alternative medicine, and drugs of abuse. NEW! More than 70 new monographs are included on the Evolve website for newly released, FDA-approved monoclonal antibody drugs, plus up-to-date content on the latest drug therapies.
Dental Radiography by
Set yourself up for success with this must-have oral radiography text. Dental Radiography: Principles and Techniques gives you a comprehensive foundation for the safe, effective use of radiation in the modern dental office. This combination textbook and training manual features easy-to-understand content combined with step-by-step techniques and a stellar art program to help you apply what you've learned to practice. Plus, new content focuses on pediatrics and the latest in digital and three-dimensional technology! Comprehensive coverage offers all the information you need to know to prepare for board exams. Step-by-step procedures help ensure technique mastery and serve as a valuable reference tool. Technique Tips help you to recognize and prevent the most common performance pitfalls. Quiz questions provide valuable self-assessment of important concepts. Key terminology is highlighted in chapter discussions and defined in a back-of-book glossary. Learning objectives and chapter summaries serve as goal-setting study tools. EXPANDED! Content on pediatrics/adolescents, digital imaging, and three-dimensional radiography ensures that you're prepared to practice in the modern dental office. UPDATED! Art program depicts the newest technology and equipment and includes new illustrations of anatomy and technique. UNIQUE! Helpful Hint boxes isolate challenging material and offer tips to aid your understanding. NEW! Laboratory Manual provides workbook-style questions and activities to reinforce concepts and step-by-step instructions for in-clinic experiences. UNIQUE! Chapter on three-dimensional imaging helps you to prepare to enter private practice. UNIQUE! Full-color presentation helps you comprehend complex content.
Ebooks are accessible directly from the Library catalog. If you're interested in finding ebooks only, head to Ebook Central or eBook Collection. To log in, use the barcode located on the back of your student ID and your pin number. You have the option to download ebooks to a device, but we strongly recommend reading them online to take advantage of the full suite of available tools. Create a personal account using your Library barcode and PIN to manage and organize your ebook reading and research.
The Dentist's Drug and Prescription Guide by
The updated and authoritative reference to medications used in dental practice The revised and updated second edition of The Dentist's Drug and Prescription Guide offers a practical and quick reference to medications commonly prescribed in dental practice. With contributions from experts on the topic, this comprehensive book takes an accessible question-and-answer format, providing answers to common questions dentists ask about drugs. The most updated information on drugs is presented throughout, including the current antibiotic prophylaxis guidelines and newer osteoporosis drugs. A new section describes how to manage patients on medications, and includes new chapters on the important topics of opioid prescribing and abuse and pain management. Alternative effective medications for opioids are discussed in detail. Putting all the prescription and drug information needed in daily dental practice at your fingertips, The Dentist's Drug and Prescription Guide is an essential reference for practicing dental clinicians and dental hygienists. This important book: Offers a comprehensive and accessible guide to essential information about medications used in dental practice Presents detailed information about drugs in an easy-to-use question-and-answer format Provides answers to commonly asked questions about drugs Refers to current, evidence-based pharmacology information, tailored for the dental clinician Features information on opioid prescribing and abuse and pain management Written for both general and specialist dentists and dental hygienists, the revised second edition of The Dentist's Drug and Prescription Guide is a must-have reference for the most current information available on medications used in the dental profession.
How to Use Evidence-Based Dental Practices to Improve Clinical Decision-Making by
This book is a one-stop resource for learning how to harness the power of the latest scientific information and optimize patient care. How to Use Evidence-Based Dental Practices to Improve Your Clinical Decision-Making is the definitive resource for dental students and practitioners who want to learn from leaders in the field of evidence-based dentistry (EBD); quickly conduct searches for the latest research; master the skill of critically appraising clinical studies; confidently apply the latest research to patient care; teach others how to inform their practice with the latest clinical evidence; and access everything they need to become an EBD all-star. The ADA Center for Evidence-Based Dentistry oversaw the development of this publication. Dental teams and educators alike will find it a useful resource for incorporating the most up-to-date scientific evidence in clinical decisions and instilling others with the curious mindset needed to provide evidence-based health care. Includes link to e-book.
Medical Emergencies in the Dental Office by
This resource from the American Dental Association helps train the dental team to prepare for, identify, and manage any health issues that may arise on site. Duty sheets with detailed instructions and four accompanying videos train each team member to prepare forf their tasks during a medical emergency. Topics include fainting, asthma attacks, allergic reactions, seizures, diabetic events, high and low blood pressure, strokes, cardiac arrest. provides three CE credits. Features: List of recommended equipment and supplies for a dental emergency kit; Detailed duty sheet instructing each team member of their tasks during a medical emergency; Step-by-step instructions to aid in identifying and managing common medical emergencies, such as: Fainting, Asthma attacks, Allergic reactions, Seizures, Diabetic events, High and low blood pressure, Strokes, Cardiac arrest. Staff training videos: It Won t Happen Here: Explains what constitutes a medical emergency, factors that increase the likelihood of a medical emergency, and the components of a medical emergency kit; My Role in a Crisis: Details the assignment and duties of roles in a medical emergency; Using Medical Equipment: Provides a brief overview on how to use common medical equipment during an emergency; Crisis in a Clinic: Shows a dental team successfully managing a medical emergency. Includes 3 hours of CE.
Natural Oral Care in Dental Therapy by
Because of increasing antibiotic resistance, stronger antibiotics are reserved for serious active infection, paving the way for a greater use of herbal antibiotics. This book helps dentists in implementing safe and effective natural medicine therapies to complement the current practice guidelines. Oral diseases continue to be a major health problem world-wide. Oral health is integral to general well-being and relates to the quality-of-life that extends beyond the functions of the craniofacial complex. The standard Western medicine has had only limited success in the prevention of periodontal disease and in the treatment of a variety of oral diseases. The dentist needs to be more informed regarding the use, safety and effectiveness of the various traditional medicines and over-the-counter products. Herbal extracts have been used in dentistry for reducing inflammation, as antimicrobial plaque agents, for preventing release of histamine and as antiseptics, antioxidants, antimicrobials, antifungals, antibacterials, antivirals and analgesics. They also aid in healing and are effective in controlling microbial plaque in gingivitis and periodontitis and thereby improving immunity. The 26 chapters in this unique book explore all the measures to utilize the natural oral care obtained from plants, animals and mineral drugs for dental care.
RCBC Library is part of the Burlington County Library System (BCLS)!
Your RCBC Library barcode allows you to check out physical material at other BCLS branches. (A separate BCLS Library card is needed to access their online resources.)
If another branch has a book that you are looking for, either call them to place it on hold for you, or as a RCBC librarian to call for you.
Note: a book that shows up as being in another branch may be currently in use by another patron. Save yourself a trip and call to double check the book's availability!
Inter-library Loans
If a book that you want is not available in the RCBC Library or BCLS, we can attempt to order the book from an outside library to be delivered to the RCBC Library. Note: this method may take 2 weeks or longer for the book to arrive at RCBC.
To order a book via inter-library loan, please either fill out a blank form from JerseyCat or contact Debbie Kolodziej at dkolodzie@rcbc.edu.
Faculty Book Requests
Research assistance - help finding sources, evaluating sources
Online workshops for citing and plagiarism are held throughout the semester. To request a citing workshop, please email library@rcbc.edu