There are some databases where students can check out Ebooks, such as:
Compilation of books in electronic form • Subjects include social sciences, business, science and technology • Login is required
Large collection of college-level ebooks • Full-length ebooks in all subject areas ; includes a comprehensive reference collection
Beginning Writing 1 by
Themes: Hi-Lo, writing. Beginning Writing 1 Includes: Pre-writing, Brainstorming, Grammar Basics, Rewriting Fragments and Run-ons, Choosing Precise Adjectives and Adverbs, Linking Related Thoughts, and more...100 reproducibles. Beginning Writing was created to meet multiple standards while keeping the key qualities that define good writing in mind. Anchor standards for writing set out the broad educational goals of the Common Core. Short incremental lessons linked to the anchor standards provide you with the maximum flexibility in deciding when and how to use these one-page activities. All-important concepts in writing and language--ranging from recognizing parts of speech to constructing sentences and developing paragraphs to the nuances of vocabulary--are thoroughly presented. Each title includes a chart, linking the activities to a CCSS anchor standard, a table of contents with Traits of Writing correlation, 100 reproducible lessons, and an answer key. There is no such thing as too much writing practice. These two-part programs build skills incrementally from bright idea to polished final product. These stimulating lessons will enable students to actually enjoy the writing process. Includes Traits of Writing correlation.
Beginning Writing 2 by
Themes: Hi-Lo, writing. Beginning Writing 2 Includes: Writing to Describe or Persuade, Paraphrasing, Main Ideas and Details, Chronological Order, Parallel Construction, Editing and Revising, and more...100 reproducibles. Beginning Writing was created to meet multiple standards while keeping the key qualities that define good writing in mind. Anchor standards for writing set out the broad educational goals of the Common Core. Short incremental lessons linked to the anchor standards provide you with the maximum flexibility in deciding when and how to use these one-page activities. All-important concepts in writing and language--ranging from recognizing parts of speech to constructing sentences and developing paragraphs to the nuances of vocabulary--are thoroughly presented. Each title includes a chart, linking the activities to a CCSS anchor standard, a table of contents with Traits of Writing correlation, 100 reproducible lessons, and an answer key. There is no such thing as too much writing practice. These two-part programs build skills incrementally from bright idea to polished final product. These stimulating lessons will enable students to actually enjoy the writing process. Includes Traits of Writing correlation.
Lifeskills Vocabulary 1 by
With these workbooks you can teach real life words and skills that students can practice immediately. Furthermore, while teaching about employment forms and money management students are learning essential critical thinking, writing, and reading comprehension skills. Words are learned in context through a variety of high-interest activities including: safety signs and symbols, finding a job, personal health, cooking, smart shopping, legal documents, making a budget, and more. The self-directed activities require virtually no preparation and can be completed in one class period. Topics Include: Safety Signs and Symbols, Finding a Job, Employment Forms and Manuals, Personal Health Care, Government and Law, Media and Communication, and more...
Lifeskills Vocabulary 2 by
With these workbooks you can teach real life words and skills that students can practice immediately. Furthermore, while teaching about employment forms and money management students are learning essential critical thinking, writing, and reading comprehension skills. Words are learned in context through a variety of high-interest activities including: safety signs and symbols, finding a job, personal health, cooking, smart shopping, legal documents, making a budget, and more. The self-directed activities require virtually no preparation and can be completed in one class period. Topics Include: Citizenship, Legal Documents, Physical Fitness and Nutrition, Social Situations, Succeeding at School, Computer Technology, and more...
McGraw-Hill's Dictionary of American Idioms and Phrasal Verbs by
McGraw-Hill's Dictionary of American Idioms is the most comprehensive reference of its kind, bar none. It puts the competition to shame, by giving both ESL learners and professional writers the complete low-down on more than 24,000 entries and almost 27,000 senses. Entries include idiomatic expressions (e.g. the best of both worlds), proverbs (the best things in life are free), and clich e s (the best-case scenario). Particular attention is paid to verbal expressions, an area where ordinary dictionaries are deficient. The dictionary also includes a handy Phrase-Finder Index that lets users find a phrase by looking up any major word appearing in it.
The RCBC Library has many course textbooks on reserve. These books can be reserved for two hours at a time.
You can view which textbooks are available by subject on this guide:
Our ESL (English as a Second Language) books are located on the first shelf of the library on the ESL Bookcase. Our librarians will be happy to help you find a book!
ESL Reading: 25 New Passages by RCBC Library is part of the Burlington County Library System (BCLS)!
Your RCBC Library barcode allows you to check out physical material at other BCLS branches. (A separate BCLS Library card is needed to access their online resources.)
If another branch has a book that you are looking for, either call them to place it on hold for you, or as a RCBC librarian to call for you.
Note: a book that shows up as being in another branch may be currently in use by another patron. Save yourself a trip and call to double check the book's availability!
Inter-library Loans
If a book that you want is not available in the RCBC Library or BCLS, we can attempt to order the book from an outside library to be delivered to the RCBC Library. Note: this method may take 2 weeks or longer for the book to arrive at RCBC.
To order a book via inter-library loan, please either fill out a blank form from JerseyCat or contact Debbie Kolodziej at dkolodzie@rcbc.edu.
Faculty Book Requests