Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Journals and Articles
Here you will find databases and journals related to the subject of astronomy.
Scholarly Article Check List
_____Purpose- to share information?
_____Audience- Scholars, Professionals?
_____Author(s)- advanced degree or associated with professional organization?
_____At least 5 pages?
Subject Specific Databases
General and subject-specific reference materials • Browse with Mind Map, and direct link to other RCBC digital resources
Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia
Full encyclopedic entries • Maps, biographies and images
Magazines, reference books and primary source documents • Image collection with photos, maps and flags
Database for sciences and math; includes videos, diagrams, interactive experiments, biographies and news
Non-peer reviewed trade journal/magazine
Science and technology articles • Authors span multiple disciplines
General Databases to Find Scholarly Articles- RCBC Students
These databases are great for finding advanced information, research, and data from scholarly, peer-reviewed articles.
These journals are available for current RCBC students, staff, and faculty. You will need your library barcode and pin to access these resources.
The following is a small selection of available journals. For a larger listing, you can Search Journal Titles
Advances in Astronomy
"Publishes original research on all areas of astronomy and astrophysics."
Annual Review of Astronomy & Astrophysics
"Reviews the current research literature in astronomy and astrophysics; written by acknowledged experts in the field."
Features articles on all aspects of the universe.
Journal of Astrophysics & Astronomy
"Publishes papers on all aspects of Astrophysics and Astronomy, including Instrumentation."
Sky and Telescope
"Written for the knowledgeable amateur astronomer. Articles on space science, astronomy, observatories, planetariums, telescopes and celestial events."
Solar System Research
**Note: 1 year embargo per publisher
"Presents articles on the elements of the Solar System: planets & their satellites, asteroids, comets, meteroic substances, & cosmic dust."
Research assistance- help finding sources, evaluating sources
Online workshops for citing and plagiarism are held throughout the semester. To request a citing workshop, please email email@example.com