Filippo Castiglione, Francesco Pappalardo, Carlo Bianca, Giulia Russo, Santo Motta, CC BY 4.0 <https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/4.0>, via Wikimedia Commons
Extraordinarily detailed, step-by-step anatomic atlas informs learning and medical practice Thieme Atlas of Anatomy: Internal Organs, Fourth Edition, by renowned educators Michael Schuenke, Erik Schulte, and Udo Schumacher, along with consulting editor Wayne Cass, expands on prior editions. This volume features reorganized and updated sections, including additional coverage of clinical applications, radiologic procedures, and illustrations covering organs of the thorax, abdomen and pelvis, and perineum. As with the widely acclaimed prior editions, anatomic concepts are presented in a step-by-step sequence with system-by-system and topographical views. The book lays a solid foundation of anatomic knowledge, with an introductory overview of each of the organs, including discussion of embryologic development. Each of the two regional units starts with a short overview chapter, followed by the structure and neurovasculature of the region and its organs. Subsequent chapters covering topographic regional anatomy support classroom learning and active dissection in the laboratory. The new edition further delineates anatomic relationships of inner organs, and the innervation and lymphatic systems of these organs. Key Highlights A total of 1,437 images, including new, exquisitely realistic illustrations by Markus Voll and Karl Wesker that reflect gender and ethnicity diversity A new chapter delineates cross-sectional thorax anatomy, with stunning images by vertebra level Organs of the Digestive System and their Neurovasculature features new diagnostic imaging for colorectal and small intestine tumors, as well as hepatic illustrations Salient points for each organ are summarized in 22 high-yield fact sheets This atlas provides a robust resource for gross anatomy course instructors and medical and allied health students looking for a deeper dive into organ system anatomy. It also provides an outstanding reference for physical therapists, yoga instructors, and related professionals. The THIEME Atlas of Anatomyseries also includes two additional volumes,General Anatomy and Musculoskeletal SystemandHead, Neck, and Neuroanatomy. All volumes of the THIEME Atlas of Anatomy series are available in softcover English/International Nomenclature and in hardcover with Latin nomenclature. This print book includes a scratch off code to access a complimentary digital copy on MedOne. Publisher's Note: Products purchased from Third Party sellers are not guaranteed by the publisher for quality, authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product.
An authoritative presentation without excessive detail, Juris' Immunology offers the most contemporary view of the concepts, scientific research, and cutting-edge applications in the field today. Immunology offers the most contemporary perspective on the science available, providing a clear, easy-to-follow introduction to the discipline suitable for undergraduate students. In a course where students often get lost in vast amounts of detail and the sheer complexity of the immune response, Immunology helps students see "the big picture" with an approachable narrative that presents the exquisite details of immunology while emphasizing the connections between key themes that students so often lose sight of when learning the material. Immunology features an exceptional illustration program and includes simple, clear explanations, abundant examples, and features that unravel the mysteries of immunology through accounts of classical discoveries and recent, cutting-edge research. Since many students in the course are preparing to enter careers in research, medicine, and other health professions, an appropriate amount of applied knowledge and clinical content is included in the narrative, features, and engaging case studies. Students will easily be able to make connections, moving beyond memorizing just what we know to truly understanding how we know what we know--and why.
Nowadays, genetics focuses on DNA. Just like the first edition, the theme of this new edition, Introduction to Genetics: A Molecular Approach, is therefore the progression from molecules (DNA and genes) to processes (gene expression and DNA replication) to systems (cells, organisms and populations). This progression reflects both the basic logic of life and the way in which modern biological research is structured. The molecular approach is particularly suitable for students for whom genetics is part of a broader program in biology, biochemistry, the biomedical sciences or biotechnology. This book presents the basic facts and concepts with enough depth of knowledge to stimulate students to move on to more advanced aspects of the subject. This second edition has been thoroughly updated to cover new discoveries and developments in genetics from the last ten years. There are new chapters that introduce important techniques such as DNA sequencing and gene editing, and the applications of genetics in our modern world are covered in chapters describing topics as diverse as gene therapy and the use of ancient DNA to study prehistoric ecosystems. Key Features: This book provides a molecular approach to the study of genetics. It is a highly accessible and well-structured book with chapters organized into four parts to aid navigation. It presents high-quality illustrations to elucidate the various concepts and mechanisms. Each chapter ends with a Key Concepts section, which serves to summarize the most essential points. Self-study questions enable the reader to assess their comprehension of chapter content, and discussion topics facilitate a deeper understanding of the material by encouraging conversation and critical evaluation. Key terms are emboldened throughout the text and are listed at the end of each chapter, and definitions can be found in the Glossary. For instructors who adopt the book, an affiliated question bank is free to download.
PEATE'S BODY SYSTEMS THE NERVOUS SYSTEM A CONCISE, ILLUSTRATED, AND ACCESSIBLE GUIDE TO THE NERVOUS SYSTEM Each of the twelve volumes in Peate's Body Systems series is rooted in the belief that a deep and thorough understanding of the human body is essential for providing the highest standard of care. Offering clear, accessible and up-to-date information on different body systems, this series bridges the gap between complex scientific concepts and practical, everyday applications in health and care settings. This series makes for an invaluable resource for those committed to understanding the intricacies of human biology, physiology and the various systems that sustain life. The Nervous System is the perfect companion for students and newly registered practitioners across nursing and allied health fields with an interest in neurological care, providing a comprehensive yet easy-to-digest guide for both academic and clinical application. Equips healthcare students and practitioners with the necessary information to provide safe and competent care Features colourful illustrations to aid comprehension, clarify complicated concepts, and render content more engaging and accessible Empowers readers to adapt to a rapidly evolving healthcare landscape, preparing them for the future of healthcare delivery Contains information necessary for effective patient care of those with stroke, dementia, Multiple Sclerosis (MS), and other diseases and conditions of the nervous system
Introduction to the range of molecular techniques to investigate unique facets of plant growth, development, and responses to the environment Plant Genomics introduces the complex relationship between the genome, microbiome, genes, and epigenetics of plants, as well as the range of molecular techniques applicable to investigating the unique facets of plant growth, development, and response to the environment. State-of-the-art science in the field is discussed, as well as future outlooks on what the next decade is likely to bring. This book includes new techniques for modifying the plant genome and their impact on modifying plants to combat the impact of biotic and abiotic stresses, including those associated with climate change, new technologies including long and short read sequencing and proximity ligation and the combination of these technologies for assembling sequence data into chromosomes, a new chapter on the sequences of the chloroplast and mitochondrial genomes, and a dedicated chapter to epigenetics and the importance in gene regulation. Written by a highly qualified author with significant published research contributions to the field, Plant Genomics includes information on: Structure and information content of the chloroplast and mitochondrial genomes and their use in phylogeny Use of transcriptomes from various tissues to identify expressed sequences and their identification as genes Function of small regulatory RNAs and long non-coding RNAs and involvement of small RNAs in the control of gene expression Epigenetic silencing of transposable elements and their release by stress and cross-generational contribution of epigenetic variation Use of the pan-genome to assemble a comprehensive germplasm for a particular crop species Plant Genomics is an ideal textbook for undergraduate courses on plant biology, particularly those focusing on molecular descriptions, and a helpful auxiliary text to plant biology laboratory courses. It will also be of interest to students in plant molecular biology, agricultural and food sciences, and plant, food, and crop bioengineering.
Introduce students to the diversity embraced by the discipline of biogeography, revised and updated throughout Biogeography: Space, Time and Life provides a comprehensive introduction to the study of large-scale geographic distributions of life, focusing on ecology, evolution, physical geography and conservation. Now in its second edition, this award-winning textbook illustrates key concepts in biogeography using engaging empirical examples of modern plant and animal distributions, long-term evolutionary history and current conservation challenges. With an accessible style and clear structure, Biogeography defines fundamental terms from biology and physical geography, describes ecological biogeography and the biological features of the physical environment, explains key concepts in historical biogeography, explores the Earth's diverse biogeographic subdivisions, current issues in conservation and more. Student-friendly chapters cover topics including biological interactions, speciation and extinction, changing continents and climates, human evolution, modern biodiversity, the relationship between humans and plants, animals and other organisms, and the role of biogeography in conservation. Introduces basic concepts in the study of animal and vegetation distributions, including various human and environmental impacts on these distributions Examines how biological factors such as heat and predation impact different species of plants and animals Features short biographical sketches of major figures in the field and examples of the natural histories of various species Considers the application of biogeographic theory and techniques for the benefit of conservation and sustainability Includes a companion website for students, as well as an instructor's site with supplementary teaching resources Designed for students across a wide range of disciplines, from the biological and physical sciences to the social sciences and humanities, Biogeography: Space, Time and Life, Second Edition is an excellent textbook for undergraduate courses in biogeography, Earth systems science, and environmental studies.
From Darwin's The Origin of Species to the twenty-first century, Peter Bowler reinterprets the long Darwinian Revolution by refocussing our attention on the British and American public. By applying recent historical interest in popular science to evolutionary ideas, he investigates how writers and broadcasters have presented both Darwinism and its discontents. Casting new light on how the theory's more radical aspects gradually grew in the public imagination, Evolution for the People extends existing studies of the popularization of evolutionism to give a more comprehensive picture of how attitudes have changed through time. In tracing changes in public perception, Bowler explores both the cultural impact and the cultural exploitation of these ideas in science, religion, social thought and literature.
Need assistance? Contact us during our operating hours!
Our normal operating hours are:
Please check the RCBC Library homepage for closings and extended hours.